Ali, Phillips, Jagdeo reaffirm PPP/C Govt will change governance model to increase inclusivity

With the national elections recount of the March 2 votes finally over and reconfirming that the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) has won with a massive lead over its rivals, its leaders have all assured Guyanese that they will govern for all and non-supporters will be treated equally.

PPP/C Presidential Candidate, Dr Irfaan Ali along with Prime Ministerial Candidate Brigadier (ret’d) Mark Phillips and the party’s General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo

In an interview with the media after he exited the recount site, PPP/C Presidential Candidate, Dr Irfaan Ali assured Guyanese that his party will ensure inclusivity in governance since this was an integral feature of their manifesto. He was referring to Sec 4 which speaks of fair governance and stated: “We remain committed to inclusive and participatory governance.”
“This is where we need to take our country, to a position where the policies, the programmes, the agenda and the arms of Government is wide enough to embrace all Guyana, ensuring that everyone feels comfortable and that they are a part of the future.”
Ali was also asked about the party’s position on “executive shared” governance. According to the Presidential Candidate, the party is open to discussions on ensuring inclusive governance. However, he reminded that there is no model which states that executive power is the best form of inclusivity, since the issue of inclusive governance is a much broader one and depends on the specificity of local conditions.
“It is how do we include ideas. How do we make the Parliament better functioning, more involved, how do we ensure that each arm of Government manages and governs in the best interest of the people and how do we ensure the development agenda and resources is spent in a manner that all Guyanese can benefit?” Ali said.
Meanwhile, PPP/C General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo expressed gratitude for all right-thinking Guyanese who stood up and fought for democracy and due process. Special thanks were reserved for Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Chair, Retired Justice Claudette Singh, whose input was crucial in supporting one half of the Commission in their efforts to have a number of disputed ballot boxes included in the tabulation and thus, bringing an end to the 33-day recount.
“I want to thank all the people, not just PPP. Because there are tons of people, decent people, who don’t support the PPP but who stood up and took a solid position. They may not like us, but they took a position in favour of our country and in favour of democracy.”
“We’re thankful that the recount is over. The Chair has spent every day here. that was beyond the call of duty and we’re thankful for her. I think the entire country wanted her to take charge of the process, after what happened at the Ashmins building. She led the process from the front and the Commission was there to give guidance.”

Inclusivity
The former President, who brought back Guyana from being a highly indebted poor country to an upper-medium income level country, also sought to assure all Guyanese that the party has no interest in victimising anyone or reprisals and that their platform is one based on governing in the interests of all.
“This is democracy and the PPP has made it clear. We have to manage Guyana, in the interest of all Guyanese. We have outlined even how we will approach some sectors. Like the oil and gas sector. We want a bi-partisan approach. We want to make sure every Guyanese, wherever they live, whatever their political affiliation or race, they can equally benefit.”
He spoke on the need to change the governance model to ensure more inclusive governance. Some areas he cited that needed improvement was the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), which he said should be mandated in the future to publish all its Statements of Poll (SoPs) before they even start counting the votes. According to Jagdeo, it is important that the country is never put in the position it was put in after 2020’s election.
Asked specifically about “executive power-sharing” Jagdeo explained that his party, once in Government will be looking at all power-sharing models – from Europe and elsewhere – but cautioned there are no silver bullets and no substitute for Governments of all types to work on the ground with all communities. He specifically mentioned his party’s work in Region 10 (Upper Demerara-Berbice) in the past.
However, Jagdeo pointed to the changes the PPP/C Government has already made to ensure power-sharing, after the constitutional changes of 2000 for instance at the level of the rights commissions and the standing committees of Parliament.
Prime Ministerial Candidate of the PPP/C, Brigadier (retired) Mark Phillips, has already been on record as saying that Constitutional Reform would be high on the agenda of his party’s new Administration, and that this would include a consensus structure of inclusive governance.
According to the former Guyana Defence Force (GDF) chief, who spoke when the recount process had not started, it is only after the democratic process of electing a new Government is completed that the party would be engaged “in any discussion about constitutional reform and about inclusive governance.”
“It is only through a democratic process we must determine who win or who lose; and after then, only after then, after respecting the democratic process, we must engage in any discussion about constitutional reform and about inclusive governance,” Phillips had said recently. This is a point reinforced by Jagdeo on Sunday.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/ali-...ncrease-inclusivity/

Hey hey hey...me na deh know Jagdoe deh pon de ticket? Me taut Irfaan/Philip ticket? Suh inclusive mean yu choose yu own blackman? Hey hey hey...

You will be surprised what Jagdeo dea pan, after he tek ova from Ali and Philip, like he did wid Ramotar.  Jagdeo is de biggest con man around. 

@Tola posted:

You will be surprised what Jagdeo dea pan, after he tek ova from Ali and Philip, like he did wid Ramotar.  Jagdeo is de biggest con man around. 

Hey hey hey...yuh doan have to tell me bai Tola...me doan ever trust dat banna. Me doan want even touch he wid wan 50 feet bamboo. Me walk in me lane when it come to dat banna 

@Tola posted:

The man has brains.   He smartest President Guyana ever had. He is the Leader of the Party that won the election.    He hires and fires Presidents and Prime Ministers.

Hey hey hey...me na deh know Jagdoe deh pon de ticket? Me taut Irfaan/Philip ticket? Suh inclusive mean yu choose yu own blackman? Hey hey hey...

Jagdeo juss like TK, he Pot Salt😀

@Ramakant-P posted:

The man has brains.   He smartest President Guyana ever had. He is the Leader of the Party that won the election.    He hires and fires Presidents and Prime Ministers.

Duh lil Rustic coolie bai from a lil skountry Skool Outdo all dem Ivy Leggs and bad-ass Blackman to become the Grand Guyatollah. He gi nuff people nuff nuff shittins’.

Me thinks Claudette kech sense when she realize PNC titanic Mekkin duh last roll before dem guh under. She ain’t sign of fuh no suicide orchestra conductor wuk.  She value she America visa raant.  

Suh she jump ship....

and leff Mingo in he shittt!!!

Fat boi Ali needs to share his roti with all Guyanese.

The small parties will watch him like a hawk. Looks like Tim Jonas and Shuman running in 2025. He will have his work cut out as they are both smarter than him.

Welcome back Sean!

Me back for the summer and will disappear in the winter. Just like how poster Rev used to do. Me planning a trip to Guyana when PPP settles in to get me two barrel aile. Dem owe me big time.

Your nonsense is sickening. You damned well know what's going on because big minister job waiting for you.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Well, that says more about his followers than him.

The small parties will watch him like a hawk. Looks like Tim Jonas and Shuman running in 2025. He will have his work cut out as they are both smarter than him.

I honestly believe that the PPP appreciated the support it got from the small parties and will reward them with some high visibility positions. PPP will welcome them. PNC cannot expect anything.

Doh is true...hey hey hey. Dat TK is wan big loud mout pot solt like BJ. 

Too bad your PNC buddies can't match their expertise.    They had 5 years to govern and they succeeded in destroying the country, yet you still want them to continue.   It's a good thing those decent Douglas and Amerinds saw the light at the end of the tunnel. The light that will shine brighter than ever as soon as Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali take over as the next President of Guyana.  He will rebuilt the country with help of the Great ones in the PPP.      

The Prime Minister Elect will have no Problem escorting Granger, Harmon et all from their offices on June 11th.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Too bad your PNC buddies can't match their expertise.    They had 5 years to govern and they succeeded in destroying the country, yet you still want them to continue.   It's a good thing those decent Douglas and Amerinds saw the light at the end of the tunnel. The light that will shine brighter than ever as soon as Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali take over as the next President of Guyana.  He will rebuilt the country with help of the Great ones in the PPP.      

The Prime Minister Elect will have no Problem escorting Granger, Harmon et all from their offices on June 11th.

Please don't forget. Let us give those decent PNC black supporters some recognition for standing with the PPP and help defeat a party of fraudsters. I hope the PPP recognize this and govern for all the people. We will still see some disappointment and nastiness from some of the PNC supporters.

@Totaram posted:

Well, that says more about his followers than him.

I know you worship the man in secret.   You just playing the fool. Am I not right? I see you taking turns with Tola to bash the PPP.

I have one more thing to say to you,

Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali is a man whom money cannot bribe. Praise be Allah.

@Ramakant-P posted:

I know you worship the man in secret.   You just playing the fool. Am I not right? I see you taking turns with Tola to bash the PPP.

I have one more thing to say to you,

Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali is a man whom money cannot bribe. Praise be Allah.

With Chief's blessing, I can say "Allah Hu Akbar". I hope he doesn't put a fatwah on my head.