All rogue cops must go – Minister Ramjattan

June 5, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

– describes former Attorney General’s criticism as “utter idiocy”

“I want the police out there to know that there will be zero tolerance for any harassment, whether sexual or harassment of people’s rights, bullyism, or the more serious one of torture, they will have to go, and criminal prosecution will follow.”

By Jarryl Bryan

Vice President and Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan has issued a stern warning to police

Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan

officers, who are inclined to be abusive, that under the new dispensation they will not be tolerated or sheltered within the force. He also blasted former Attorney General Anil Nandlall’s recent criticism of the recent sacking of a policeman who was found liable for the torture of a teenager a few years ago, stating that his objection was “utter idiocy” and should not be emanating from someone who once had responsibility for the Government’s legal affairs. Ramjattan was speaking to members of the media at the Ministry of Public Security on Brickdam, following several courtesy calls by members of the Diplomatic community. Commenting on the decision to sack former police Corporal Mohanram Dolai, who was placed before the courts for allegedly burning the genitals of 15 year old Twyon Thomas while he was in custody at the Leonora police station in 2009, Ramjattan declared that justice had been meted out to the cop for the sadistic act. “I am very happy that at least one of them has been dismissed in the Public’s interest. There are two categories of ranks: from the ordinary ranking to Inspector and above.” Ramjattan, who is also an Attorney-at-Law, had represented Thomas in court, winning a $6.5M judgment for the teen in 2011. He pointed out that ranks from Inspector and above could only be dismissed by the Police Service Commission (PSC), while ranks below Inspector level came under the jurisdiction of the Commissioner of Police.

Narine Lall

Narine Lall

This was in defence against challenges from Nandlall, who had pronounced in sections of the media recently that Ramjattan’s agitation for Lall’s dismissal was unconstitutional and a manifestation of being a “control freak”. “That is utter idiocy…for a former Attorney General to regard that as control freakish. It is justice! Notwithstanding it took six years in coming.” Ramjattan also noted that the promotion of the two cops after being charged with torture happened under the previous administration during the tenure of Nandlall as Attorney General. “I convinced the Commissioner that our Police Force must not have rogue cops who are going to put methylated spirits on a person’s privates and then strike a match to burn it.” “That is torture. It is inhuman, degrading treatment and it is criminal. In other countries more oriented, they would have been jailed. And notwithstanding that there was no jail term; that does not mean that they are not rogue cops.” “There was a finding by a senior judge, Justice (Roxanne) George, in the High Court, that this was torture. Torture is criminal in my book and they must not be retained in the Force, much less be promoted.” Ramjattan also affirmed that all other rogue cops, especially those whose wrongdoing Judges would have

Mohanram Dolai

pronounced on, would be removed from the Force. “Even those cops who have had serious allegations internally, once there have been investigations and they are found culpable, they will go too.” “I want the police out there to know that there will be zero tolerance for any harassment, whether sexual or harassment of people’s rights, bullyism, or the more serious one of torture, they will have to go and criminal prosecution will follow.” Regarding the continued presence in the Police Force of Inspector Narine Lall, who was also found culpable for the teen’s torture, Ramjattan made no bones about his intent to have that officer stripped of his duties through the PSC. “The next step is to write to the PSC, sending Justice George’s judgment, along with its findings, and remind them that it is the policy of this administration to get rid of rogue cops.” “And I will be urging that there be a revisitation of the Inspector’s retention in the Police Force and that he be removed by them, as the proper authority.” In a case that plunged the previous administration and the Guyana Police Force into a sea of controversy, both locally and internationally, 15-year-old Twyon Thomas had his genitals doused with methylated spirits and set alight by ranks during a murder investigation in 2009. Dolai and Lall were subsequently charged with the brutal act. After that matter ended in the Magistrate’s Court without conviction for the two accused, Ramjattan brought a civil case against the two cops, the then Commissioner of Police and the Attorney General. A judge found that the state was liable and awarded $6.5M to the injured teenager.

Abusers need to be outed but fair investigation must be done. You see how quickly our good AG in Baltimore back peddling of charging cops.  Guyana is no different.  Police job is dangerous.

nothing in the GY siuation(s) even remotely related to Baltimore

carry yuh wannabe con-man rass daside

Baseman, It is simple but Ramjhaaaaaaaatan is too DUNCE to Understand.  He has NO Authority to fire Cops.  There IS a REASON we have a Police Service Commission that was constitutionally set up!!!  Sometimes I wonder where this Guy got his Law Degree from!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not sure.  Accusing cops too quickly!  Due process must be followed.  Remember everyone thought Zimmerman and OJ were guilty.  As I said, due process must be respected.  Now, regarding burning that bai lolo, well someone needs to be outed for that as it was clearly a violation under any circumstance.

Baseman, It is simple but Ramjhaaaaaaaatan is too DUNCE to Understand.  He has NO Authority to fire Cops.  There IS a REASON we have a Police Service Commission that was constitutionally set up!!!  Sometimes I wonder where this Guy got his Law Degree from!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Because they talk fat during campaign then have to follow thru.  Circumventing due process is plain wrong and dangerous, if that was done, which I don't know, just saying.

Not sure.  Accusing cops too quickly!  Due process must be followed.  Remember everyone thought Zimmerman and OJ were guilty.  As I said, due process must be respected.  Now, regarding burning that bai lolo, well someone needs to be outed for that as it was clearly a violation under any circumstance.

who's against due process? . . . straw man alert!!!

again, NOTHING TO DO WITH BALTIMORE!

btw, neither Zimmerman nor OJ were cops, arite?

AHOLE, What you need explain to you about DUE PROCESS?????????

isn't there something more useful you could be doing like cleaning up with a lil douche and wipe down

I was referring to due process and the pursuit of justice.  Cops or civilians, the same standards apply.  My point, the "obvious" is not always that "obvious".  Ok Ferguson, for a cop example.  Ok Mr "straw man"?

inapposite stupidness

next

There are over 100 black police officers who are under inditement for committing various crimes against the people. 

Go Ramjat Go.. 

WE ALL want Rogue Cops to be fired BUT there is a LEGAL way to do so!!!

inapposite stupidness

next

Best come back, Mr "straw-man"?  Try to stay out of the sun today.

inapposite stupidness

next

Best come back, Mr "straw-man"?  Try to stay out of the sun today.

yaaaawwn

i suggest you look up the meaning of "inapposite" . . . u already fully familiar wid the "stupidness" part

it's cloudy in NYC today

First, agree that the police officers must be held responsible for their action. Second, there is a process to deal with illegal activities by members of the police force. This needs to be followed in all instances. Does it now become the minister's discretion. He does not have the authority. The authority rests with the Police Service Commission, a constitutionally empowered body. Mr Ramjattan needs to understand the limits to his authority. Third, mr. Ramjattan's main job is policy formation. It is not within his authority to participate in administrative matters. He may examine administrative matters with a view to making policy changes. Fourth, was it not Mr. Ramjattan who represented the teenager in the civil suit? How is it that his client did not show up at the trial of the officers. Am I missing something here? I want to stress that I do believe that severe penalties be instituted against the officers after the process has been followed and it was deemed that it was deserved.

Z

No! The standard is not same. The bar is raised a little bit higher for  cops.

Originally Posted by Zed:

First, agree that the police officers must be held responsible for their action. Second, there is a process to deal with illegal activities by members of the police force. This needs to be followed in all instances. Does it now become the minister's discretion. He does not have the authority. The authority rests with the Police Service Commission, a constitutionally empowered body. Mr Ramjattan needs to understand the limits to his authority. Third, mr. Ramjattan's main job is policy formation. It is not within his authority to participate in administrative matters. He may examine administrative matters with a view to making policy changes. Fourth, was it not Mr. Ramjattan who represented the teenager in the civil suit? How is it that his client did not show up at the trial of the officers. Am I missing something here? I want to stress that I do believe that severe penalties be instituted against the officers after the process has been followed and it was deemed that it was deserved.

enough with the stupidness and ignorance . . . where exactly did Minister Ramjattan usurp the authority of the Police Service Commission?

Who sacked the one who was fired? Who convinced the commissioner? Please clarify for me if I made a wrong conclusion. Thanks.

Z

Who sacked the one who was fired? Who convinced the commissioner? Please clarify for me if I made a wrong conclusion. Thanks.

yes, he leaned on the PPP compromised Commissioner to fire the former corporal . . . what of it?

ranks Inspector and above are handled by the PSC

read and understand!

Understood. I will like to see something more than being fired.But, you have not explained whether this is part of his duty as a minister. Also, please e plain the part about PPP compromised Commissioner. I know that he was hired under the PPP government. Is this a logicAl conclusion or there are things that are not in the public domain?

Z

Understood. I will like to see something more than being fired.But, you have not explained whether this is part of his duty as a minister. Also, please e plain the part about PPP compromised Commissioner. I know that he was hired under the PPP government. Is this a logicAl conclusion or there are things that are not in the public domain?

how is explaining to your Commissioner that a finding in the High Court that your officer is guilty of torture means that he should not be promoted or remain on the force "not part of his [Ramjattan's] duty as a minister"?

that this blot, this shame and abomination in the eyes of international conventions on human rights and international law happened and was allowed to stand under the previous regime explains my "PPP compromised" comment

i am, of course, being charitable to Commissioner Seelall Persaud in assuming that he was not, then, utilizing independent judgment promoting these uncivilized, gangster 'policemen'

if u know otherwise, please share