Originally posted by Wally:

This large scale Hydro project is going to stick the government with a large us dollars bill for many many years to come. Plus, they will have to find the money to keep the jungle from taking over the hydro. Thus, making maintence cost another factor in the expanded cost. I think they should either scrap the project or scale it down to a small hydro.

Personal myopic views.

Large scale hydroelectric development will become a reality in Guyana.
I am still for the Project since it will benefit GUYANA.
Originally posted by raymond:

why yuh don't shut yuh rass...you and your fellow PPPites on GNI were big time supporters of this fiasco when plenty here on GNI were saying this whole thing stinks...

Jagdeo should be investigated and face charges because I think he is going to get a huge payday from his buddy Flip
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

This large scale Hydro project is going to stick the government with a large us dollars bill for many many years to come. Plus, they will have to find the money to keep the jungle from taking over the hydro. Thus, making maintence cost another factor in the expanded cost. I think they should either scrap the project or scale it down to a small hydro.

Personal myopic views.

Then I hope you don't end up to rot in the jungle with the equipment. Like what happen in the past. That large scale western style hydro is going to knock the government with a massive bill to pay in the future.

My approach is wind turbines around the shores of the Atlantic ocean, combined with Solar sheet fields and small hydro projects at short distances from cities and towns.

What is the comparison with your ideas and what were actually studied for the area?

Guyana don't have wind corridor according to some foreign experts so it can't work for them large wind turbine. I am not talking about large turbines. Those things are expensive. I am talking about putting up about 50 small windmills it can produce just as much energy as the large wind mill. Put them out my the Atlantic. You gon tell me that they not gon produce energy.

Personal myopic views.

Then I hope you don't end up to rot in the jungle with the equipment. Like what happen in the past. That large scale western style hydro is going to knock the government with a massive bill to pay in the future.

Continued display of nonsense.

As a Guyanese, I was the first person appointed to the newly created position as Specialist Hydropower Engineer, Guyana Government.

My experience also included hydroelectric power development in Canada, Africa and other parts of the world.
Well you got a point there Billy Ram. We could not maintain that one. Replacing the parts was expensive and the manufacturer stop making the parts because they start making new models.

Maybe we should stick to water mills. That way we just get stone, cement, wood. wire and generator motor which we can get from anywhere.
Rev Al, the mistake I made was I should have posted this stuff when Jagdeo was looking for ways to have cheap energy for the Guyanese people.

Wally:

It's never too late!

You need to educate and enlighten Ramotar and his administration about the cheap energy possibilities.

Guyana, the land of many waters, will surely benefit from those smaller projects you're proposing---especially the hinterland areas.

I know more about Guyana than some foreign expert who spend three months in Guyana living in some expensive hotel in Georgetown while occasionally visiting the interior of the country and then telling the Guyana government that wind and solar cannot work. I am not looking at the large scale wind mills that are massive but many small windmills that are cheap to maintain and repair while together produce just as much energy as the larger models.

Also having fields of solar sheets can contribute alot of energy. The large scale Hydro is the way to go but in the Guyana context it cannot work because it will be hell to build and maintain in the thick dense jungle. Small scale Hydros near cities and towns would be better. The government should identify areas rivers and creeks near cities and towns by etc where smalle scale hydros can be set up to generate electricity

You gon tell me that a country like Guyana with so much rivers and creeks cannot construct water mills like the one in the picture to produce energy. Water mills might be made of wood and is old time technology for the west but in Guyana (with plenty of wood) it would not cost much to maintain and is sustainable, If we build 40 water mills in creeks and rivers think about how much energy it will produce. Every creek on the linden Highway should have a water mill.

Sure according to you, you are an expert. Which international body can vouch on your expertise and what scientific study gives credence to your claims of cost effectiveness of smaller hydro projects as opposed to the large ones.
Don't try to knock me. Is common sense I telling you. It seems you have fallen hook, line and everything for large Scale Hydro marketing ploy that these Companies are putting out. I first learned about the use of micro energy systems when I was in Laughlin, Nevada. I saw first hand how small hydro systems are used on the Colorado river.
Micro hydro systems info

Written by Ned Haluzan
Monday, 22 November 2010 10:01

http://www.renewables-info.com...ower/hydropower.html

Micro hydro systems are hydroelectric power installations that typically produce up to 100 kW of power, and are mostly used to provide power to an isolated home or small communities.

In some areas micro hydro systems are used to complement for solar energy panels. This is because in the winter, when the amount of sunshine is at minimum, available hydropower is at its maximum.

Micro hydro systems unlike large hydropower plants usually do not have a dam or reservoir because these systems compared to large hydropower plants require minimal flow of water to be available year-round.

Micro hydro systems are very efficient because they require a very small amount of flow to generate electricity (around two gallons per minute should be enough). They are also very reliable, and their peak energy season is during the winter when water flow is the highest.

Micro hydro systems are not connected with high costs. A small-scale hydro-power system in average costs from $1,000 – $20,000, depending on site electricity, requirements and location. Maintenance costs are also fairly low.

Many energy experts believe small hydro systems would be one of the best energy options for developing countries because they are connected with low costs, and last for long time.

The main disadvantage of micro hydro systems are low power in the summer months because during the summer months there is less flow. Another disadvantage is the fact that is not that easy to find the suitable site to build these projects because you need to consider many factors like stream size, flow rate, distance from the power source, etc.

Micro hydro systems use several different types of water turbines, depending on the head of water, the volume of flow, and other factors like the availability of local maintenance and transport of equipment to the site. For mountainous regions where a waterfall of 50 meters or more may be available, a Pelton wheel is mostly used. For low head installations, Francis or propeller-type turbines are used while very low head installations of only a few meters may use propeller-type turbines in a pit.

Micro hydro systems have minimal environmental impact. Still, when building these systems constructors need to be cautious to ensure there will be no damaging impact on the nearby ecosystems.
Micro hydro systems are hydroelectric power installations that typically produce up to 100 kW of power, and are mostly used to provide power to an isolated home or small communities.

Ha hahahha, this is all micro hydro will provide for, a few house or isolated community? hahhahaha

How is that a good investment? What is the impact on interrupting the river and ecology numerous times with hydro for minimal gain instead of once with a big payoff. hahaahah
Originally posted by BGurd_See:

Ha hahahha, this is all micro hydro will provide for, a few house or isolated community? hahhahaha

How is that a good investment? What is the impact on interrupting the river and ecology numerous times with hydro for minimal gain instead of once with a big payoff. hahaahah

Like I said before having large scale hydro is taking a massive risk for a country like Guyana.

We are basically making the same mistakes that Burnham made. There were a number of reasons why the project failed with Burnham and it is not only based on mismanagement. We are dealing with basically unexplored, unsettled and untamed jungle and borrowing massive amounts of money that future generations have to repay.

Micro hydro, water mills, small wind turbines, solar fields and the turbine tidal stream generators are the way to go for Guyana. Minimal risk with sustainable low cost maintence.
Originally posted by Rev Al:
Originally posted by Mr.T:
I too consider the whole thing just a big con.

Mr. T:

Ask yourself this question:

If Sithe Global is willing to pay con-man Motilall $12 million--how many tens of millions will Sithe Global be pocketing for themselves ?

THERE IS SOMETHING FISHY ABOUT SITHE GLOBAL & THIS AMAILA FALLS HYDRO PROJECT.

The Rev supports development in Guyana---but this hydro project stinks to high heaven.

Keep em honest AL. It does not matter if they are PPP, PNC or AFC. This is the way forward.