Amaila Hydro project… Sithe Global’s future input in doubt - Company reportedly pulls out

August 10, 2013, By   Filed Under News, Source

President of Sithe Global, Brian Kubeck, yesterday maintained that “a public-private partnership of this magnitude requires a national consensus in order for us to proceed further.”

President of Sithe Global Brian Kubeck

Several hours later there were unconfirmed reports that Sithe Global had pulled out of the Amaila Falls Hydro Electric Project, but there was no confirmation from any official source on any such development.

Kubeck was referring to the fact that the political opposition was divided on the pieces of legislation it had to consider in relation to the venture.

The news from Sithe Global comes following the vote on Thursday morning.

The Alliance for Change (AFC) voted in support, while A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) took an opposing position.

Kaieteur News made contact with Kubeck yesterday and according to the Sithe Global President “We will make an announcement in the papers on Sunday. In the meantime, I will say that our position remains unchanged.”

Kubeck in a statement to the media earlier in the week said, “We can only proceed further if there is a uniform consensus amongst all of PPP, APNU and AFC, communicated via Parliament, that you support this project… Without such consensus, Sithe Global will be forced to withdraw.”

Meanwhile sources within the APNU have indicated that they are unconvinced that the equity partner is ready to pull out, given the investments already made.

Head of State, Donald Ramotar, speaking to this publication last evening, insists that the administration will do what it must in order to ensure the survival of the project.

APNU voted against the amendments following this past week’s debate and according to its financial spokesperson, Carl Greenidge, “if the Private Sector believes that the project is so ironclad, then let it put its money where its mouth is.”

Meanwhile, the Sithe Global President had said that the company cannot continue its development efforts “without the same level of commitment from our partners in Guyana:”

According to Kubeck “It would be our honour to work with Guyana to carry through this important public-private partnership, if we have the collective support of our future partners.”

Kubeck had earlier stated that failing to vote in support of the project would be “simply an acknowledgement that, after US$16M and six years of intense effort by Sithe Global to progress the Project, the country is not prepared to proceed”.

At the time the Sithe Global President said, “the unfortunate consequence is that it would be many years before any similar project could be resurrected and, as such, Guyana would remain saddled with a 19 US cent cost of power and complete exposure to fuel price swings for imported oil.”

At the time it was indicated that “Sithe Global strongly believes that the Project will have lasting and profound benefits for the country by delivering improved electricity reliability and cost savings versus the status quo.”

Sithe Global insists that the project has been vetted by numerous third-party firms and has been determined to be Guyana’s “least cost” power option.

Kubeck claims “bids were sought and received in a transparent and fair process by five international construction firms with the lowest cost contractor, China Railway, chosen. The technical development of the project is done – design drawings supporting the start of construction are complete and have been reviewed by two independent parties (including MWH Global, one of the world’s leading hydropower design firms) in addition to China Railway.”

Kubeck, however, while in consultation with local stakeholders had said that the final designs had not been completed.

This was echoed in Parliament on Thursday morning when APNU’s Carl Greenidge had said “the design for the Hydro Electric Plant is not absolutely finished, neither has the exact location for the plant been determined.” He argued that “there are serious issues to be addressed and you have to set out a manner to compare and contrast what you say.”

PNC is comfortable with Guyana being kept in darkness, it's how they had things for decades.

The PNC saved us from deep debt on this one. You and the PPP think you alone have the brains to execute projects on behalf of the Guyanese people. Well, the PNC represent one half and they have to be included. No more private party for PPP, its family members and groupies. The days of naked thievery is over.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

PNC is comfortable with Guyana being kept in darkness, it's how they had things for decades.

The PNC saved us from deep debt on this one. You and the PPP think you alone have the brains to execute projects on behalf of the Guyanese people. Well, the PNC represent one half and they have to be included. No more private party for PPP, its family members and groupies. The days of naked thievery is over.

Nah, watch and see.

They are busy manking an Institute for a waxed dictator to remind Guyanese of the dark days of history.

Danyeal: You don't know if you're going or coming. You're like shit all over the place with your foolish opinion. You would say anything as long as it's against the PPP. You is a bloody waste. 

The PNC saved us from deep debt on this one.

The Hydro Electric Project will function in about five years.

as a guyanese me and you wish for a hydro project but i do not think it will be this one the government have to go back to the drawing board and start include all guyanese and not their own cronies

Boy Hold on to your Wishes

Donald & David could fulfill yuh Dreams....

Anything is possible.....

with a Very Weak PPP and a Very Desperate PNC....

Da Green PNC Shirt can change easily

Into a Red PPP Shirt

At least you have conviction, unlike many of the flip floppers in the AFC. Did you get a refund on your campaign contribution to Ramjattan as yet?

as a guyanese me and you wish for a hydro project but i do not think it will be this one ....

We will see the development in time.

as a guyanese me and you wish for a hydro project but i do not think it will be this one ....

You said that to your boss Forbs Burnham half a century ago...

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

Ignorance, uneducated expressions, wandering in the wilderness, etc., are overflowing with some individuals.

They are busy manking an Institute for a waxed dictator to remind Guyanese of the dark days of history.

Danyeal: You don't know if you're going or coming. You're like shit all over the place with your foolish opinion. You would say anything as long as it's against the PPP. You is a bloody waste. 

Nothing profound comes from low life scumbags. The PPP are naked thieves so there is nothing to come from them ever that will be worthy. They have not introduced one new person into their little close knit clan this past congress. Even the c.oolie sheep is not worthy of their company. They are, as I note more often than not, your new Brahmins.Only sons and daughters of the clan get any offering. At least the PNC had a party card and one can hope to bypass the bread line. These parasites are about themselves completely and without shame.

Were I you I would look after my own rather than expect to live in the reflected glow of success( through thievery). That is all you will ever achieve under these crooks.

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

Ignorance, uneducated expressions, wandering in the wilderness, etc., are overflowing with some individuals.

Burnham spirit still "wandering in the wilderness"after half a century still waiting for your prediction to come true.... 

Slo fiah, mo fiah, bring down the PPP at all costs, even at the detriment of the Guyanese progress. Back to the Burnham days...Guyanese were lean and mean...from starvation and spending all day in lines.

Originally Posted by TI:

Slo fiah, mo fiah, bring down the PPP at all costs, even at the detriment of the Guyanese progress. Back to the Burnham days...Guyanese were lean and mean...from starvation and spending all day in lines.

Slow Fella, Mo Fella, bring down the PPP at all cost, even at the detriment ofall the Indians who supported Jagan and make Guyana progress. Back to Burnham Days when House of Isreal Thugs Lamumba, Kit Nascimento, Norman McClean, Kwame McCoy, Hamilton and Philip Bynoe reign freely.....Guyanese were lean and mean...from starvation and spending all day in lines......

Da Green PNC Shirt can change easily

Into a Red PPP Shirt

who is taking us back there??????

Originally Posted by TI:

Wah yuh guh do bai...Burnham days you had the money but no food to buy but now you have all flour and aloo...but no money...the PPP teef out all...

Originally Posted by TI:

The PPP needs to forge an accommodation with the PNC in the strategic interest of all Guyanese.  The AFC has been very disruptive and allowed themselves to be played by extremist within the PNC which helped increase the leverage of these extremists to the detriment of more moderate forces.

Ramotar needs to leverage this failure to debase the Jagdeo camp within and try to chart a new path.  We (Indians) saw the failures of the PNC during their tenure as a vindication of our position, i.e. lack of participation.  Now the shoe is on the other foot, we should be sensitive to the position of the PNC camp.  It is clear the international community want to see more consensus and better overall governance in Guyana.

Originally Posted by TI:

The PPP needs to forge an accommodation with the PNC in the strategic interest of all Guyanese.  The AFC has been very disruptive and allowed themselves to be played by extremist within the PNC which helped increase the leverage of these extremists to the detriment of more moderate forces.

Ramotar needs to leverage this failure to debase the Jagdeo camp within and try to chart a new path.  We (Indians) saw the failures of the PNC during their tenure as a vindication of our position, i.e. lack of participation.  Now the shoe is on the other foot, we should be sensitive to the position of the PNC camp.  It is clear the international community want to see more consensus and better overall governance in Guyana.

The PPP, at this point has been reduced to a grasping rent seeking party with its only interest being its family clan base enrichment.

The international community wants to see strengthening of the organs of democracy; the judiciary, a meaningful parliament party reforms with transparency and countability as its key.

You speaking for Indians is also a laugh. I would fain think Indians do not need a pernicious racist speaking for them

Originally Posted by TI:

The PPP, at this point has been reduced to a grasping rent seeking party with its only interest being its family clan base enrichment.

The international community wants to see strengthening of the organs of democracy; the judiciary, a meaningful parliament party reforms with transparency and countability as its key.

You speaking for Indians is also a laugh. I would fain think Indians do not need a pernicious racist speaking for them

Sithe pulled out due to "lack of national consensus".  That implies they wanted the PNC on-board.

Originally Posted by TI:

Sithe pulled out due to "lack of national consensus".  That implies they wanted the PNC on-board.

so if thed wanted the PNC on board, why did they participate in PPP only project development? 

Originally Posted by TI:

so if thed wanted the PNC on board, why did they participate in PPP only project development? 

Fool, the PPP is the ligit Govt.  It was for the PPP to gain national consensus so any future Govt [by the PNC] is bound to any long-term commitment.  If they go ahead and the PNC gain power sometime, they [PNC] could balk and ask for re-negotiation, at which time they [Sithe] will have very little options.

Originally Posted by TI:

Fool, the PPP is the ligit Govt.  It was for the PPP to gain national consensus so any future Govt [by the PNC] is bound to any long-term commitment.  If they go ahead and the PNC gain power sometime, they [PNC] could balk and ask for re-negotiation, at which time they [Sithe] will have very little options.

sithe went into this deal thinking the ppp will bully this hydro pass the guyanese people like the ppp they think the guyanese is stupid well this was good for guyana because of the ppp weakness guyana will get local government election this one of the project that will be the down fall of the ppp 

Originally Posted by TI:

sithe went into this deal thinking the ppp will bully this hydro pass the guyanese people like the ppp they think the guyanese is stupid well this was good for guyana because of the ppp weakness guyana will get local government election this one of the project that will be the down fall of the ppp 

I partially blame the PPP for not working towards a political consensus much earlier.  The PNC exercised their political prerogative to shunt the PPP and that's their democratic right.

Originally Posted by TI:

I partially blame the PPP for not working towards a political consensus much earlier.  The PNC exercised their political prerogative to shunt the PPP and that's their democratic right.

this is the right way any good government will work towards a inportant project this project should be about guyana and not politics

Sithe pulled out not because they are sensitive to PNC support, but because they are afraid of PNC record of violence and destruction. They might burn down the hydro plant and loot the equipment. Remember when the PPP finally gained office, even the toilet bowls were looted from govt buildings.

Originally Posted by TI:

Sithe pulled out not because they are sensitive to PNC support, but because they are afraid of PNC record of violence and destruction. They might burn down the hydro plant and loot the equipment. Remember when the PPP finally gained office, even the toilet bowls were looted from govt buildings.

yaaaaaaaawwwn . . . light another match antiman