American and British Diplomats dismiss Jagdeo’s claim of interference as laughable misrepresentation

At least two Western Diplomats in Guyana have responded with consternation to claims by Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo that the new government is allowing itself to take instructions from foreign representatives in managing the affairs of Guyana.

The Opposition Leader, at a Tuesday press conference said

“foreign representatives from where-ever seem to be instructing the government on what to do on a daily basis and they comply.”

However, his comments are not sitting well

with several foreign diplomats in Guyana.

In an invited comment on Wednesday,

ChargÉ d’Affaires of the U.S Embassy in Georgetown,

Bryan Hunt brushed aside such claims and

said it was not only a misrepresentation of the U.S engagement

with the government but is also far from the truth.

“I don’t believe anyone who knows [President] David Granger

or [Prime Minister] Nagamootoo would believe

they would take instructions from anyone

much less a career diplomat likes myself,” Hunt said.

He explained that there are in fact

certain areas of policy difference that exist

but said his role as a diplomat

is to engage with the government

and find areas of commonalities and support those areas.

According to Hunt, the U.S Embassy in Georgetown

still intends to hold the government

to account on areas that they differ.

11908103_10153565986187604_1955968578_n

US Officials during a recent meeting with the Opposition Leader

“I think the Leader of the Opposition, with due respect,

misrepresents what is the state of affairs.

The APNU+AFC has been clear on its policy position

and have worked to advance that position…

they are very much their own men or women

and do not take instructions from any diplomats,” he added.

The U.S ChargÉ d’Affaires was supported in his contention

by British High Commissioner to Guyana Greg Quinn.

“The idea that foreign diplomats are instructing the government

is not true and is in fact laughable…

the government very clearly does what it wants to do,

we have never

instructed them in any way or form,” Quinn added.

He said the beauty about democracy

is that the Opposition Leader

has a right to voice his opinion.

On a separate note,

Hunt said he was recently reviewing

the list of commitments made by the government

for the first 100 days

and believes that by any measure

they have done “quite well.”

“They have managed to organize

most of the stakeholder meetings they have promised

and managed to make progress

on several key pieces of legislation…

I think we are well advanced

towards planning for local government elections,” Hunt added.

He said outside of the list of promises,

the government has demonstrated

through its budget and other work

a desire to inject a level of transparency

and accountability into the management

of the state and state resources.

The British High Commissioner recently told News Source

that his personal belief is that the government

has done extremely well

over the last three months in office.

(Kurt Campbell)

Granger have the British and Americans deeply embedded in Guyana's internal affairs. While they want to discount it as laughable, the observation was overwhelming to be noted. Dr. Jagdeo was correct to say it the way he sees it. The majority of the Guyanese population agrees with the former President.

Dr. Jagdeo will NOT allowed the PPP to be manupliated by foreign interference as Granger would like his government to be a puppet to them.
Granger have the British and Americans deeply embedded in Guyana's internal affairs. While they want to discount it as laughable, the observation was overwhelming to be noted. Dr. Jagdeo was correct to say it the way he sees it. The majority of the Guyanese population agrees with the former President.

Dr. Jagdeo will NOT allowed the PPP to be manupliated by foreign interference as Granger would like his government to be a puppet to them.

Granger and the House Slaves will SELL Guyana to the Limeys and Yankees for Peanuts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dr. Jagdeo is the only man that can take on the government side in parliament. He is knowledgeable as former president, a former finance minister, and an international fame in foreign policy. That's why Granger accepted his offer to help his government recover lost minies.

How does a Govt go about losing money?

How does the past leader of a Govt go about recovering the monies he once lost?

Hmmmm!!!!!

How does a Govt go about losing money?

How does the past leader of a Govt go about recovering the monies he once lost?

Hmmmm!!!!!

Jagdeo is covering his ass for some sympathy.

Eva hear about the criminal who try helping to  solve the case.  

Tola, apparently you missed the boat. Jagdeo is not a criminal nor a thief. He made good offers because of his wealth of knowledge he possesses. In good faith the government accepts his offer. I thought you wanted Guyana to move forward?

Jagdeo does not want Guyana to move forward. Else, he would meet with the Honorable Nagamootoo.

Jagdeo needs to get rid of his ego from a pedestal and as self-imposed opposition leader, be able to have talks with all members of the government, including Nagamootoo.

Or he rass should  go back to school. 

I respectfully disagree that Moses Nagamootoo or Khemraj Ramjattan are honorable as politicians. They're both compulsive liars to the people of Guyana.

To each his own.....

You love, defend, practice & Support Kwameism.

Cobra see nothing wrong with Buggerism....

and he wants us to trust his Judgement as being Honorable.

We know the yardstick

Cobra use to measure Honor...

and see how he come up with

Jagdeo & Kwame as Honorable.

I see that Maduro.......ooops I mean Jagdeo is suffering from some paranoid manic attack where he really thinks that Cameron and Obama really care about Guyana.  Being intelligent men, they have heard of Guyana, and know that it is an impoverished nation, where two tribes have been waged in an undeclared war for THREE generations.

Aside from that Guyana affairs are handled by some 24 y/o on his first assignment.

Jagdeo needs to get a grip. 

The foreign observers at the last general election helped rigged the polls in favour of the Alliance.   A recount was necessary as in 2000 Florida but was denied by the Elections commission.  Foreign diplomats  should stop interfering in Guyana internal affairs. 

The last election was rigged by the PPP under the command of Kwame. But unfortunately for them they did not stuff enough false names on the electoral list. They were short of 2000 extra names. The PPP were the only ones who had access to an alternative pressing plant to make up false ballot papers. You guys have been caught fiddling the election and now you crying you did not thief properly.

Jackass

Fix yuh Mouth....

Nothing was wrong

when Commonwealth made Jagdeo

A foreign Observer for Elections in Sri Lanka...

The PPP was Happy...

Now Foreign Observer does Rig Elections....

Commonwealth Observers,

headed by Jagdeo found Sri Lanka Elections

was marked by large-scale abuse of state resources...

http://www.inewsguyana.com/com...-of-state-resources/

Jagdeo is an Official of the Commonwealth Observers

and PPP Crablouse & Cockroach....

now saying De Overseas Observers Rigg the Polls....

http://thecommonwealth.org/med...rve-guyana-elections

Let Jagdeo go tell

The Commonwealth Secretary General....

His Foreign Observers are Fraud.