Amerindian Affairs Minister deems 2013 a good year for indigenous people

AMERINDIAN Affairs Minister, Pauline Sukhai Monday hosted a year-end press conference in that Ministry’s conference room to highlight the successes and challenges of the Amerindian Affairs Ministry for 2013.

Minister Pauline Sukhai addresses the media at a press conference Monday

The minister told the gathering that 2013 was a good year, since the ministry rolled out several projects to enhance the lives of the indigenous peoples.
She added that the ministry launched several projects, including the Amerindian Development Fund; the Youth Entrepreneurship Programme; the Arawak Revival programme; the ICT Hinterland Development component of OLPF; Amerindian land titling; and the Annual Disbursement of Grants.
Detailing the work of that ministry, Sukhai said it successfully assisted two Amerindian communities to create better livelihoods in that the ministry generated employment for the youths through land titling projects, which expanded the base of the indigenous people.
She noted that, in several villages, certificates of titles of land were presented to villagers, many communities were also de-marked, and extensions were approved by the ministry in the three-year project.
In that project she said, 27 villages benefited from $95M disbursed through the Hinterland Community Development project this year. She said the money was for Amerindians to secure livelihoods.
$5M was also disbursed to support, repair and effect maintenance to aquaculture.
Sukhai pointed out that there had been a delay earlier this year in the President’s Grant Fund for production/economic projects. The ministry received the 2013 disbursement in November due to budget cuts, but managed to sustain the investment fund for the village councils in the income generating project.
She said that in the education aspect, the ministry enrolled 430 students annually in the Hinterland Scholarship Project, with 200 being awarded regionally while 229 were awarded on the national level.
Sukhai disclosed that overcrowding at the various dormitories is a challenge for the ministry, but she said that would be addressed in the New Year. She disclosed that the students had done well in exams, with an 85% pass rate.
She admitted that more emphasis needs to be placed on Mathematics and English but the ministry continues to finance students through the Hinterland Scholarship programme annually.
The minister said that in the Youth Apprenticeship Programme, the ministry registered 156 youths, and the feedback from the various Village Councils has been good so far, and several training programmes have also been embarked on.
Sukhai told the media that the ministry spent $25M to promote heritage and culture at both the regional and national levels. She also highlighted the successes of the National Toshaos Council held annually.
She said that, for this year, the ministry provided financial assistance for burials, transportation and related expenses. These were paid to service providers.
Sukhai added that the ministry recorded six domestic violence cases for 2013, and those were referred to the relevant authorities. There were also eight sexual offences cases, followed by nine court cases and seven that were referred to the Ministry of Labour.
She noted that the ministry had seven welfare cases but received significant support services from the Legal Aid Clinic to deal with persons who required services in accident-related cases, deaths, assaults, and missing persons.
Sukhai told the press conference that the ministry has seen a reduction of birth certificate issues this year, but has recorded 1,719 cases in that regard. The survey, she said, shows that more persons are getting registered.
She said the solar electrification project had been stalled by means of no funding, since the ministry had no funds for that project. She said funding for that project comes under the Office of the Prime Minister, Samuel Hinds, who is responsible for energy, and he had experienced budget cuts; so the ministry was unable to procure solar units in several hinterland communities.

Excerpts from the Guyana Chronicle

What IS an indication of Progress IS that The Amerindian People's lives has been improved ten folds since 1992. The Amerindians are getting the HELP they were denied and they are using the Resources to improve themselves and their Community. gob bless Guyana and our Amerindian brothers and sisters.

from 80% to 70% below the poverty line with increased disintegration of families due to encroachment by miners and lumber companies? Amerind was never denied any right under t he PNC. Their rights were in instances neglected.Under the PPP and their concoction called the act of 2006 we have deliberate fabrication of systems to deny rights and worse, to create they have a land rights! Amerinds do not need god. They need what is their natural patrimony...their land!

Originally Posted by Danyael:

What IS an indication of Progress IS that The Amerindian People's lives has been improved ten folds since 1992. The Amerindians are getting the HELP they were denied and they are using the Resources to improve themselves and their Community. gob bless Guyana and our Amerindian brothers and sisters.

from 80% to 70% below the poverty line with increased disintegration of families due to encroachment by miners and lumber companies? Amerind was never denied any right under t he PNC. Their rights were in instances neglected.Under the PPP and their concoction called the act of 2006 we have deliberate fabrication of systems to deny rights and worse, to create they have a land rights! Amerinds do not need god. They need what is their natural patrimony...their land!

Before you criticize the PPP why don't you look around the world and tell us how the US, Canada and Australia and the Caribbean islands dealt comparatively with their indigenous population.

the point is you are recent import. The white man is not here. When he left he said work it out and left some guidelines. You carpetbaggers want more than your share. And you wonder why the Fijians say no way!

This coming from a white man pretending to be buck.  Speak to what your race did in the US, CA and Australia. How they disenfranchised the indigenous folks and took their lands without retribution. At least the PPP is honoring the Amerindian Act of 2006. There is no stealing of land as per the treaties as you claim. 

where the hell you get these material from out of your ass 

I think the AFC should be condemned for this massive act of corruption against the Amerindian people- some 2 million acres of their land- gifted away to a company that harvest logs and did not keep its promise to create jobs.

This is the message someone like Rohee would want you to believe.-Goebel anyone?

Forestry deal with India’s coffee maker

raises questions

April 10, 2011 | By | Filed Under News

…no permission for harvesting yet – GFC

In what is being considered one of the largest local deals of its kind, Guyana has awarded some 1.8 million acres of forest lands to an Indian coffee making company, but government yesterday said that the process is still ongoing with no harvesting permission granted. Yesterday, the Alliance For Change (AFC) described the deal as a shady one and said that it will be demanding answers. While the deal with India’s CafΓ© Coffee Day was made last year, they were no announcements in the local media.

India’s coffee maker mogul, V. G. Siddhartha, has acquired 1.8M hectares of Guyana’s forest.

The 1.8M acres would be less than half of the Barama Company Limited, a Malaysian-owned logging and plywood manufacturing company, which has been here since the 90s and which controls more than 1.6M hectares of forest lands. The news was made public on Friday in the Times of India, the world’s largest English selling newspaper in that country. And according to the Times of India, V. G. Siddhartha, best known for his Cafe Coffee Day (CCD) chain, has taken 1.85 million acres of Amazonian forestland on a 30-year lease from  Guyana in South America, to start a furniture business in India. The idea is to transport cut logs on chartered ships from the Guyanese capital Georgetown to the Mangalore Port and then carry them via road to the Coffee Day Group’s furniture plant in Chikmagalur.

I do not have to speak to those places as an excuse for near and present injustices.  They can honor the act all they want but it makes no difference since it is their fabrication to legalize the disenfranchisement of native peoples.

As a white man you should first address your sins against the indigenous people of the world before throwing stones at others. 

drugabeer

I would be white if you were not black...self hatingfool!!!

If you were truly a buckman you would see it as a compliment to be called white. Only a white pretending to be buck would get upset over being called white.

I know you are daft but this is a gem. I grew up in a house with a white grand father and an Amerind mother so why in the world do you think there would be a preference of one over the other for me? You being black as sin and complaining about black people is the worse of sins. The fact your son can fit in with "Boys to Men" and no one would even blink as to whether he is black or not should have made you more understanding. I have a   son with honey colored black woman and he would be less likely to be accepted as a brother than your progeny. Wake up fool...race matters little to me. My identity as a person with a cultural identity does.

You have a reputation for inventing personalities as it suits your particular needs. You possible suffer from Dissociative Identity Disorder.  The problem with chronic liars like yourself is that you lose track of all the lies you told and eventually are exposed. You mentioned many times that you were Amerindian mixed with Indian. Now you have conveniently changed Indian to White as I have informed you that buckman would be proud to be mistaken for white.

Shut yuh rass. You are an incorrigible liar who would lie on your own mother.

drugabeer

Last edited by Mitwah

I dare say you are as real as a that graveyard pose we have here! I have said here from day one I am of mixed heritage and that my maternal grand mother is a madrasse as black as coal and my grandfather was white.

You and the PPP may think you have special skills to see into the minds of native peoples but that is  your delusion not mine.

You mentioned many times that you were Amerindian mixed with Indian.

I remembered the above. I think this joker is an AfroAmeridian parading as multicultural genius to suit his arguments. I think he's been off his meds for a while.

Sorry, It would have improved my chances as a more complete person if I had a little more exotica in my blood stream from a black ancestor. Alas I was not that lucky. I am stuck between Amerind and White with Indian in the middle.

I suggest old man that you go after some pharmaceuticals. Given you have seen seven decades or more and you still reek from that half made syndrome is a terrible chronic affliction. It is a pity you probably will see your day of reckoning as a chronic bigot.

You mentioned many times that you were Amerindian mixed with Indian.

I remembered the above. I think this joker is an AfroAmeridian parading as multicultural genius to suit his arguments. I think he's been off his meds for a while.

Sorry, It would have improved my chances as a more complete person if I had a little more exotica in my blood stream from a black ancestor. Alas I was not that lucky. I am stuck between Amerind and White with Indian in the middle.

I suggest old man that you go after some pharmaceuticals. Given you have seen seven decades or more and you still reek from that half made syndrome is a terrible chronic affliction. It is a pity you probably will see your day of reckoning as a chronic bigot.

Purrfeck Balls and Shrivelled Dick,

I wish I would live to see seven decades. Not because I retired, I retired at the retirement age. What a jackass! Some of us are fortunate enough to be able to afford to retire early and still enjoy a meaningful life. I am able to torture your mindless soul and will do so for a long time.