I take it as my duty once again to share my experience with this group due to all this
lose view of what this "slapping" implies and under what circumstances it took place! Last monday and tuesday we indigenous and non indigenous people took over the town of Santa Elena de Uairen, due to the murder of an arabian businessman by thieves, which was the last straw that brought the town to it's, what should I say? to it's maximun level of tolerance. We closed down everything and block of the main entrance to our town! We decide to maintain our posiciones and if the army or the national guards were thrown at us, then the indigenous people would fight them as we have always done! That was not neccesary, a high level government comission came and we had them sit infront of the assambly and my dear fellow guyanese, our people literally cursed them in their faces, the town's mayor was just one fist away from getting beaten up physically. Everyone was there, even drunks asking to speak and curse these government officials for being openly corrupted and imcompetent in all public functions! Several high government officials were all very closed to being slapped, however, we controlled things! What was the result, the police force is about to be eliminated from this town, and all the corrupted national guards were inmediately removed and are being tried for corruption! All the "malandros" are being rounded up and send of to prison and we are watching this to make sure that it is being done! On monday we have another meeting to evaluate how things are going! 
My point is, the issue in John Adams case is not him being drunk, nor his caracter flaws as a human being, it's the simple fact that he was slapped for "heckling", which is not a crime, at a political meeting IN an indigenous community by government officials body guards. I am not surprise at the diverse opinions that this has caused within and out of the indigenous circle, what I feel sad about is, the lack of capacity of the indigenous leaders and thosau council to handle the case. In no democratic country a government official slaps a citizen much less his body guard, unless, the person is openly threatning the presidents life and in that case, body guards not "slap" the person, thay are trained to tackle this threat and even they are the ones to take the bullet for the president! John Adams, I have spoken to you personally and I have heard all the recordings of what went on that day, so I Lisa Henrito as a stunch defender of indigenous rights within my country and overseas, I openly reject this action and urge John to stand up for his rights. And just be prepared for the lashbacks, even your family can turn against you in these cases but since you're clear and have a good foundation for your cause, GO FOR IT! (Please excuse my english writing, not too good but I do hope my message gets over)

How will β€˜discipline’ play out in the Teacher Adams case?

Posted By Staff Writer On January 10, 2015 @ 5:03 am In Letters | No Comments

Dear Editor,

Now that it has been confirmed via an Aishalton Village Council release to the Teaching Service Commission (SN, January 8) that the school teacher, John Adams, was indeed slapped by a Presidential Guard during the President’s visit to Aishalton, the bigger question being asked is what will happen to the guard who physically assaulted the teacher and those who did all in their power to ensure a cover up?

This incident became public news again recently with an apparent sustained effort to have the teacher disciplined and even removed from his village as a consequence of the incident. So in light of this recent sustained effort against the teacher, the letter by the authority of Aishalton Village, the Aishalton Village Council, takes on greater importance and relevance. The letter by the Village Council vindicates what teacher Mr Adams was saying and brings into question that which was released by the Head of the Presidential Guard.

So now that disciplinary action is in the air regarding this incident, how will this new revelation by such a powerful authority as the Aishalton Village Council factor into the actions to be taken?

For starters, all of those who denied the incident ever took place need to feel the full brunt of disciplinary action. Starting with the guard who committed the actual physical assault, to those who seemed bent on denying such an incident ever took place, to those who came out in full denial and who even went into political mode by branding Teacher John an opposition political activist.

During this political season, many will be waiting and watching to see how this β€˜discipline’ plays out. Amerindians, in particular will be looking on with keen interest.

Yours faithfully,

(Name and address provided)

The John Adams slap could be the catalyst for a resounding collective Amerindian slap against the high-handed corrupt undemocratic PPP on Elections Day.

Just as one-one dutty mek dam, one-one slap mek thunderclap.

Gilly I am reassured by many of my friends in the Amerindian community that the John Adams slap is quietly becoming a rallying cry amongst amerindian communities to revolt and vote against the PPP.

Originally Posted by Tola:

We work at Lethem, Paramakatoi, Kato, Mabaruma, Kangaruma and other AmerIndian villages, not one good thing was said about the government.

Yet they slap the people and want their votes.

After the elections you will still have to say "President Ramotar". Don't worry, you don't have to learn anything new. 

We work at Lethem, Paramakatoi, Kato, Mabaruma, Kangaruma and other AmerIndian villages, not one good thing was said about the government.

After the elections you will still have to say "President Ramotar". Don't worry, you don't have to learn anything new. 

You will continue saying president ramotar even after the Majority of the people will have told him and the PPP to bend over for a second time in a row.

The Majority of Guyanese will continue to vote against the PPP.

The John Adams slap could be the catalyst for a resounding collective Amerindian slap against the high-handed corrupt undemocratic PPP on Elections Day.

Just as one-one dutty mek dam, one-one slap mek thunderclap.

Gilly I am reassured by many of my friends in the Amerindian community that the John Adams slap is quietly becoming a rallying cry amongst amerindian communities to revolt and vote against the PPP.

Thanks for relaying the good news, brother.

Question for you. When the PNC wins 145k votes and the PPP gets 146K votes, with the AFC picking up 50k votes what will you do?  Prorogue parliament again so you can rule by decree?

How can you ever back a filthy corrupted government as the PPP and have the balls to say this to Tola who works with those people? This is the same shit that will have the PPP govt fall like a hot potatoe. Hope the army steps in soon and throw those fkers out.

How will β€˜discipline’ play out in the Teacher Adams case?

Posted By Staff Writer On January 10, 2015 @ 5:03 am In Letters | No Comments

Dear Editor,

Now that it has been confirmed via an Aishalton Village Council release to the Teaching Service Commission (SN, January 8) that the school teacher, John Adams, was indeed slapped by a Presidential Guard during the President’s visit to Aishalton, the bigger question being asked is what will happen to the guard who physically assaulted the teacher and those who did all in their power to ensure a cover up?

This incident became public news again recently with an apparent sustained effort to have the teacher disciplined and even removed from his village as a consequence of the incident. So in light of this recent sustained effort against the teacher, the letter by the authority of Aishalton Village, the Aishalton Village Council, takes on greater importance and relevance. The letter by the Village Council vindicates what teacher Mr Adams was saying and brings into question that which was released by the Head of the Presidential Guard.

So now that disciplinary action is in the air regarding this incident, how will this new revelation by such a powerful authority as the Aishalton Village Council factor into the actions to be taken?

For starters, all of those who denied the incident ever took place need to feel the full brunt of disciplinary action. Starting with the guard who committed the actual physical assault, to those who seemed bent on denying such an incident ever took place, to those who came out in full denial and who even went into political mode by branding Teacher John an opposition political activist.

During this political season, many will be waiting and watching to see how this β€˜discipline’ plays out. Amerindians, in particular will be looking on with keen interest.

Yours faithfully,

(Name and address provided)

Very important discovery - the Amerinidians will dump the PPP this time.