New Music Tuesday  - Neon Faith- Escape

“Just a few kids in Jamaica, Queens making music in the basement. â€

Influences - Tribe Called Quest, Patsy Cline, Daft Punk, Otis Redding

Members - Lay, Fef, Megan Faye

Neonfaith is a indie electronica band from New York City.  What I love about this track is the mixture of indie rock, dark electronic, paired with the subtle hip hop grooves in the background. Megan’s voice reminds me Lana De Rey in the manner that its both haunting and  pretty at the same time. They are a band on the up and up so check out their ambient music one could ****, dance, and chill to! 

Review Courtesy of Pretty Much Amazing 

“It’s hard to find much about the New York band Neonfaith on the internet (unless you’re looking for new-agey churches across America), so you have to let their two released singles craft your opinions for you. Neonfaith give you a lot to work with on “Tied Together” and “Escape” – the first is a slowly percolating, Nicolas Jaar-level minimalist (that’s pretty damn minimalist), soul-influenced cut that poises fantastic, lovelorn female vocals over layered percussion and keyboards, while the latter is a little more in-your-face, with interwoven guitars and electronics and a deliriously catchy drums-and-keyboards backbeat that sounds appealingly nostalgic. Check out both tracks below.”

http://musical-hipster-feed.tu...-faith-escape-just-a

Originally Posted by Freaky:
Impressive stuff there bro
Jus happy these kids are  movin away from Rum mih bruddah seh kinda lyrics

The band is made up of my sister, a Black guy, and a white girl. They were most recently invited to play at Cambridge University in England for some aristocrats.

My sister was trained on the piano since she was a small child in formal lessons.

But yea, Rum Kill Meh Bruddah is not music to every coolie . And there's a whole world out there outside of Richmond Hill.

I'm pretty proud of my up and coming sister because she has a dream, talent, and she's pursuing it.

P.S...this is gonna inflame Cousin Cobra but my sister has mastered dance and hip hop to such an extent that it makes Black people ask if she has Black blood

Check Out: Neonfaith - "Tied Together" + "Escape"

Neon-Faith

It’s hard to find much about the New York band Neonfaith on the internet (unless you’re looking for new-agey churches across America), so you have to let their two released singles craft your opinions for you. Neonfaith give you a lot to work with on “Tied Together” and “Escape” – the first is a slowly percolating, Nicolas Jaar-level minimalist (that’s pretty damn minimalist), soul-influenced cut that poises fantastic, lovelorn female vocals over layered percussion and keyboards, while the latter is a little more in-your-face, with interwoven guitars and electronics and a deliriously catchy drums-and-keyboards backbeat that sounds appealingly nostalgic. Check out both tracks below.

Bonus: Check out Neon Faith's recent remix of Little Dragon's "Ritual Union"

The band is made up of my sister, a Black guy, and a white girl. They were most recently invited to play at Cambridge University in England for some aristocrats.

My sister was trained on the piano since she was a small child in formal lessons.

But yea, Rum Kill Meh Bruddah is not music to every coolie . And there's a whole world out there outside of Richmond Hill.

I'm pretty proud of my up and coming sister because she has a dream, talent, and she's pursuing it.

P.S...this is gonna inflame Cousin Cobra but my sister has mastered dance and hip hop to such an extent that it makes Black people ask if she has Black blood

Kudos to your sister.

http://emergingindiebands.com/...eponymous-ep-review/

Emerging Indie Bands

The best new bands from around the world

Neonfaith – Eponymous – EP review

Neonfaith from New York in the USA have a new six track EP set for release on the 1st October.

Neonfaith

Neonfaith

Running at just under 25 minutes Neonfaith continue with their exploration of the luxuriant in this release.

Opening with Escape, a beautifully textured track that rings of the imagery that flows through the music put out by the trio (don’t be confused by the four heads in the artwork). The opener harks of ’70s funfair sounds which have been muted as though through the lens of time.

Next is Lowlands has reversed scratch reflecting in the pools of ebbing water as the band digs ever deeper into the sub-woofer stretching territory. A delightful four and a half minutes of dream electronica.

Tied Together is more percussion led which gives it a more stark and earthy feel and although it only runs for just under three minutes is my pick of the release as it demonstrates the ability Neonfaith to wrest the most out of the least.

Darkest Light heads back towards the opener and is a far lighter texture as the notes are dampened almost as-though recorded through a microphone in a soundproofed room. Superb.

Fifty Three 51 in contrast brings out big echoes and fuzzing to deliver a aurally intoxicating piece of music.

The concluding track Mercury was my introduction of the band almost a year ago and a pleasure to hear again on the EP.

Neonfaith are masters at creating evocative tracks that draw in the listener to settling back and dimming the lights to allow the ambient flickers to gently float around the brain.

Join Emerging Indie Bands on Facebook for more of the best new releases.

Originally Posted by Django:

Kudos to your sister.

Thanks. My mother's "dark skinned" blood seems to have served us well

http://www.famemagazine.co.uk/...hing-else-out-there/

NEONFAITH ‘BETWEEN THE LINES': ‘UNLIKE ANYTHING ELSE OUT THEREâ€Ķ’

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrEmail this to someone

Neonfaith1Queens, NYC based exciting urban electronic project Neonfaith – Lay, Fef, Megan Faye – spent the last year taking their hip hop infused sexy indie sound and pushed it past anything that’s out there on the scene right now. ‘Between The Lines’ is the first single off their new EP ‘Jungle Fever’ (coming out in August).

Their first self-titled EP is still available for free downloadâ€Ķ

Can you talk about ‘Between The Lines’ and your second EP ‘Jungle Fever’?

We’re very excited about our second EP, Jungle Fever, which will be coming out in August. We’ve spent the last year listening to a wide variety of genres and artists and trying to take elements of the best of the best, like Michael Jackson’s Thriller, or Daft Punk, Kanye West, LCD Sound System, and so on, and really fused them to expand upon the indie electronic sound we put together on our first EP. Our previous music brought a lot of hip hop elements to the sounds coming out of the indie scene currently, and for our new EP we really wanted to create a batch of songs that evolves this and sounds like nothing else out there. Our single Between the Lines is the first example of this genre mashing, but we picked it because we feel it’s still very sonically accessible to most people; there are a lot of familiar hip hop and pop elements mashed in with the indie electronic vibes. I think as we release music from Jungle Fever it will become clear that the songs we’ve crafted for this EP are unlike anything else out there at the moment.

What were your influences whilst writing Jungle Fever?

We listened to a lot of music that we felt really surprised and captured people when it was first released and took the genre to another level, like we were aiming to do with our own music. We figured in order to create the best music possible we had to listen to the best music possible. For this record we were really aiming to combine hip hop sounds with the strong baselines found in a lot of 70s and 80s funk and pop music, and modern electronically based music. As I mentioned above, we really studied titans of their genres like Michael Jackson, Kanye West, Daft Punk, Beyonce, and so on. The music scene at the moment has a lot of bleed over across various genres, and even pop artists are really experimenting with sounds, so we felt it was important to look at a variety of music and see how we could take those sounds and use them in our own urban electronic style. Neonfaith2How has your music evolved since your first EP?

We’re very proud of our first EP and feel that we created some unique sounds, and we wanted to continue with that, but this EP is filled with a lot of rich baseline and heavy drums that lend a certain danceability to our indie electronic music. The sound of this EP is very strong and vibrant and thick. We basically took our previous EP and tried to step up our game in terms of creating music we haven’t heard anywhere else but would be taken with even if it wasn’t our own.

Are you planning any live shows and what will they be like?

We wanted to wait to play live shows until we had a completely new set. Now that we’re putting the finishing touches on this EP we’ll be playing to support it in the NYC area and wherever else opportunities might come up. Our shows have always consisted of the music being fully played live, which is unique for such electronically based music. We like to break down all of the sounds and samples across two keyboards, so that the sounds from the tracks are actually played out in real time rather than having someone just press play on a laptop. We think it brings a lot of intensity and creates for a more interesting live experience. This time around we’re discussing adding live drums to our set to take the live experience one step further.

What do you have planned next?

We’re planning on dropping a couple of singles before we put out the full EP at the end of the summer, and we’re excited to see how everyone responds to it! We’re really open to seeing what opportunities arise regarding shows and however else we might be able to take our music to the next level. We feel this is our best work yet and we’re hoping we can get the music out to as many people as possible.

By Fabrizio Belluschi ÂĐFAMEMAGAZINE.co.uk

Best of luck to your sis and her group

are they gonna perform at Naresha Place?

Ah doan know bai. She has recognition in the UK but she ain't mek it on Liberty Avenue yet

Ah wonda if we could get de Weasel to arrange something? Maybe as a warm up act for The Great Adesh Samaroo?

I can just see it now.

Originally Posted by TK:

Good stuff bai Shaitaan...hope the band keeps climbing.

Thanks on her behalf. Surprisingly their small but growing fan base is principally in Europe. Then again I know little about music, pop culture, and what kids are into so I can't explain their music which is described as "urban, Euro, electronic, hip hop" etc. etc.

They get a lot of gigs and travel a bit. Mercedes Benz apparently features up and coming bands so her trio was selected some time ago. My father plays the drums and the sax. My brother plays the guitar. And my sister has the piano. I'm the only one without a musical talent along with my eight year old youngest brother.