May 29, 2019

https://www.nytimes.com/2019/0...source=pocket-newtab

Ibram X. Kendi on books to help America transcend its racist heritage.

By Ibram X. Kendi

No one becomes “not racist,” despite a tendency by Americans to identify themselves that way. We can only strive to be “antiracist” on a daily basis, to continually rededicate ourselves to the lifelong task of overcoming our country’s racist heritage.

We learn early the racist notion that white people have more because they are more; that people of color have less because they are less. I had internalized this worldview by my high school graduation, seeing myself and my race as less than other people and blaming other blacks for racial inequities.

To build a nation of equal opportunity for everyone, we need to dismantle this spurious legacy of our common upbringing. One of the best ways to do this is by reading books. Not books that reinforce old ideas about who we think we are, what we think America is, what we think racism is. Instead, we need to read books that are difficult or unorthodox, that don’t go down easily. Books that force us to confront our self-serving beliefs and make us aware that “I’m not racist” is a slogan of denial.

New Press, 2011

Ethnicity

Some of the same forces have led Americans to believe that the recent success of black immigrants from the Caribbean proves either that racism does not exist or that the gap between African-Americans and other groups in income and wealth is their own fault. But Model’s meticulous study, emphasizing the self-selecting nature of the West Indians who emigrate to the United States, argues otherwise, showing me, a native of racially diverse New York City, how such notions — the foundation of ethnic racism —

Here is one mentioned, there are more click on  link

The Indo KKK can read this but this will not change their views.  In addition the racial issues of Guyana are completely different from those of the USA. 

Here there is a dominant group which assigns others to a subordinated status and segments of it are paranoid that these groups are becoming too numerous. 

In Guyana its tit for tat tribalism because both groups are afraid of each other.  Both now being not that different in size when one adds that portion of the mixed population which has similar political behavior as does the Afro population.

So we buse each other down.  One side if bare foot and the other side is savage.

It is a shame that cribby allow django to be so condescending to blacks in posting this type of article. Its as if blacks can't defend themselves therefore the great indo godfather has to step in and defend them. 

he is trying to upgrade your education...it is for your sake.

I see you are an expert on Blacks...and Indos...now....next you gon teach us about the Arawaks and the Caribs.

me nah edumacated lakka you and vishm. meh can't hardly read and write, but sufficient to put blows pun yall rass. 

I see you are an expert on Blacks...and Indos...now....next you gon teach us about the Arawaks and the Caribs.

Meh nah expert pun non race expect the human race. a collie man should not be the mouthpiece for blacks. There are sufficient intellectuals in the black community to defend themselves.  even loudmouth d2 purports to speak on their behalf since he claim to have black relatives, suddenly that bottom feeder is qualified as an expert on black affairs. I would more respect your opinion as you claim to be dougla. 

me nah edumacated lakka you and vishm. meh can't hardly read and write, but sufficient to put blows pun yall rass. 

your burden not mine....Give not that which is holy unto the dogs, neither castye your pearls before swine

In fact you are wrong, it is not a burden but rather frees me from the shackles of higher expectations.  I see yuh stupid rass quoting de book of matthew, a clear contradiction of a self confessed atheist. Clearly a sign that you were christian at some point before de devil tek ova yuh head. Find some pagan verses to quote. 

In fact you are wrong, it is not a burden but rather frees me from the shackles of higher expectations.  

You're worried that others would expect too much of you? Stop worrying. That ship sailed long ago. We do not expect much of you.

the only blows connected to you is when you are getting some good black vegetables.