In the midst of all that plagues the impoverished Guyanese-be it neglect of the present government to provide essential services or to show some respect, we now have this episode of wanton actions concerning our natural

wealth-foreign entities raping the forest. Which nation would be so bold to cut every tree down in another person's country-at the rate they are going. And what kind of people would allow this travesty happen. And no respect to even answer to the nation.

It is often said, "The public has a short memory." Hopefully, I trust the affairs concerning those foreign companies never be drown out of our minds. We should never let these neglectful managers be allowed to rest in peace. They have no conscience.

It must be their downfall and removal from the seat of government.

There has been no time in our sixty four years of political history that events are so lined up to usher us into a new political direction.

A progressive movement awaits us.

To avoid too much reading I would be brief. If the stars should move our minds in cooperation, then more words and thoughts shall be added.

The present government feels there is no one, no group or no political movement that can challenge them. They behave in total disrespect for subordinates as well superiors.

A weakened Peoples National Congress gives the government more opportunities to be reckless with our assets. But this weakness in the PNC is an opportunity for the citizens to be free. A new political choice that is inclusive rather than rewarding political cronies with perks for being the survivors in an old political party. 

The people on the ground in Guyana battling corruption, injustices, bullyism, etc, etc must know that there is hope for them. They do not see it-but keep the fight going. WE CAN GIVE THEM THAT HOPE. 

On this Bulletn Board, several contributors here have been high lighting the gross inadequacies of the government for months-if not years. IT IS TIME THAT WE FORGE TOGETHER A NATIONAL EFFORT.

A CONCENTRATED CONCOSCIENTOUS CAMPAIGN.

The diaspora is referred to a Region 11-any where in the world that we are found. WE ARE AFFLUENT, SOCIAL MEDIA CONSCIOUS, EDUCATED, etc, etc. It is us that the present group of politicians come to when they require financial patronage.

THINK WHAT WE CAN DO FOR THOSE WHO FIGHT IN GUYANA FOR EQUALITY.

To form a Progressive Movement, we can begin with cells in different countries. For example: those in Ontario, Canada can choose a neutral meeting place such as Toronto. Those in New York, perhaps in Queens, and so on and so on.

All we need to do is start. It has been said, "A thousand mile journey begins with the first step."

Wah yuh all think?  

You people in the opposition have already forgotten about all the sweet deals the PNC gov't. of Desmond Hoyte gave to an English investor and other asian logging companies. All the deals were riddled with bribes. The very people who filled their pockets are now playing saints. We know who you are and we know you long to get back into the gov't. so can resume dirty ways.

The US and Canada have issues with logging companies. Guyana has its share of problems too. We must be concerned about illegal and destructive harvesting of timber in our country. We must be wary of those charlatans who are out to con us by wearing the environmental protection jacket.

Were you informed when Jim Jones was given half of Guyana?? Not that I am comparing but I simply want to point out that WORST has happened. I am confident Guyana is currently getting benefits for the People. All Jin Jones did was provide sex for Burnham and his Cabinet. Why don't we wait for all the facts to come out before we make judgement. I can assure you that ANYONE who is involved in Corruption, and that include the President will hear from Uncle Nehru.

IT IS TIME THAT WE FORGE TOGETHER A NATIONAL EFFORT.

Seigy bai:

* Maybe you mean well. But all this talk about "forging together a national effort" is all FANCY TALK---it's plain and simple drivel, baloney, hooey and hot air from people like you who probably live away from Guyana and have not visited the homeland in ages.

* Guyana has a long way to go in terms of economic development, but under the PPP we are seeing little progress day by day. And we all know that little progress day by day will eventually add up to big results.

* You can keep HATING on the PPP seignet, but come election time, the real Guyanese people, the ones who live in Guyana, not blowhards like you and the Rev who live in foreign, those real Guyanese will make what they believe is the best decision for themselves and their country.

IT IS TIME THAT WE FORGE TOGETHER A NATIONAL EFFORT.

Seigy bai:

* Maybe you mean well. But all this talk about "forging together a national effort" is all FANCY TALK---it's plain and simple drivel, baloney, hooey and hot air from people like you who probably live away from Guyana and have not visited the homeland in ages.

* Guyana has a long way to go in terms of economic development, but under the PPP we are seeing little progress day by day. And we all know that little progress day by day will eventually add up to big results.

* You can keep HATING on the PPP seignet, but come election time, the real Guyanese people, the ones who live in Guyana, not blowhards like you and the Rev who live in foreign, those real Guyanese will make what they believe is the best decision for themselves and their country.

Hip Hip Hooray!!!   Too many Wannabe Guyanese are so pompous that they really think they have the answers to Guyana's problems. Seignet, I am not referring to you. The usual Culprits will know who  they ARE.

I was told once that Guyana has tremendous progress. In the past, cane-cutters used to walk to the estate pay office bare-footed to collect their pay pockets, now they wear nike boots and drive their cars to collect their pay. I wonder what part their overseas children play in such progress.

That's not true. They still collect their weekly wages on Friday when they finish working. Taking a car to go somewhere is only a $100.00(.50 cents or less(US)). Guysuco provides each cane cutter 2 pars of boots per crop(not nike).
Counterfeit Nike boots in Guyana are very cheap, about $400.00 per pair. They may last for about a month or two.

I was told once that Guyana has tremendous progress. In the past, cane-cutters used to walk to the estate pay office bare-footed to collect their pay pockets, now they wear nike boots and drive their cars to collect their pay. I wonder what part their overseas children play in such progress.

That's not true. They still collect their weekly wages on Friday when they finish working. Taking a car to go somewhere is only a $100.00(.50 cents or less(US)). Guysuco provides each cane cutter 2 pars of boots per crop(not nike).
Counterfeit Nike boots in Guyana are very cheap, about $400.00 per pair. They may last for about a month or two.

HELLO SHUT UP,people will laugh at you

Wah de rass you know? When lass you went to Guyana? You probably never seen a sugar factory or seen a sugar cane field. Hate to say this to a brother.. "Shut you rass; you ain't no wan damn shit about sugah produckshan or de peeple who wuk deh".

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

You people in the opposition have already forgotten about all the sweet deals the PNC gov't. of Desmond Hoyte gave to an English investor and other asian logging companies. All the deals were riddled with bribes. The very people who filled their pockets are now playing saints. We know who you are and we know you long to get back into the gov't. so can resume dirty ways.

The US and Canada have issues with logging companies. Guyana has its share of problems too. We must be concerned about illegal and destructive harvesting of timber in our country. We must be wary of those charlatans who are out to con us by wearing the environmental protection jacket.

what does Hoyte mistake have to do with the Present PPP allowing the plunder of our forests? I believe that way back in the late nineties there was complaint against Barama and demands that they do not get a license renewal. Unfortunately, Cheddi went to Malaysia and told the predatory logging family there they can come and be welcome. I believe I posted a long list of infractions of the logging industry on the thread protesting Beal Areospace proposed 99 year lease by the PPP of NW lands. You can find that possibly on the Wayback machine archive of GN&I

By the way, the idea of an exploratory lease was an instrument invented by Navin Chanderpaul to circumvent and 5 year international moratorium on logging. It has now morphed into a license for loggers to come in and survey our forest and take choice pickings presumably to test its viability.

It is pure nonsense so when ramotar speaks of BaiShanLin not using their 25% recovery cost for such explorations he is talking pure unadulterated crap. It is a cost they invent. Loggers do not have to come and test their plunder options!