September 23, 2015 6:26 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

Omawattie Samaroo and her baby girl following her delivery.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – For several months, Omawattie Samaroo was convinced by doctors that she was pregnant with twins, but on the day she gave birth, via caesarean, she awoke to be greeted by one baby with no pliable explanation from doctors at the Anamayah Memorial Hospital on the whereabouts of her other child.

This has since left the puzzled mother with more questions than answers, since it was the same private health institution which advised her that she was pregnant with twins and even treated her accordingly during her pregnancy.

Samaroo is a mother of a 16 – year – old child and hails from Number 2 Village, East Canjie, Berbice. She has since provided documentation, which shows “both fetuses with good weight and size for gestational age…twin pregnancy with 36 weeks X LMP.”

iNews understands that four ultrasounds were done, revealing that she should expect twins, but now the doctors at the hospital allegedly told her they made a mistake and that “something was wrong with the machines.”

Samaroo’s mother, Sunita Devi told iNews during a telephone interview on Tuesday, September 22, 2015 that the doctors at the hospital informed her daughter during her second visit that she is pregnant with twins and gave her medication so that the babies would develop properly.

Devi explained that one of the Cuban doctors at the hospital even congratulated the mother and showed her the babies’ heartbeats. According to the woman, the family eventually met with Dr Adrian Anamayah, who also congratulated them on the twins, revealing that one weighed 5 ¾ pounds and the other, 5 pounds and some ounces.

Devi told iNews that the doctors were only able to determine the gender of one of the twin, claiming that the other baby was in a difficult position; preventing them from determining its gender.

The woman further explained that a decision was then taken to have September 12 be the date for the caesarean; a day which proved to be rather traumatic for the family.

“Me and she husband sit down and ah wait now…while waiting, me hear wan baby holla…so me see the nurse and everybody busy, busy and meh show them sign ‘wuh happen?’ but dem’ nah badda to me; all me hear wan nurse on the phone telling somebody, ‘you have to be here very fast, hurry, hurry the driver coming fuh yuh,” Devi told iNews.

She further revealed, “So now me see the man move towards a red car and in ten minutes he come back with the doctor that do the ultrasound and they gone in a room so now them come outside and call me…three doctors and me and meh Son-in-Law and one of the nurse and dem’ nah say anything, so me get scared now because me seh something happen to me data; so me seh doc wuh happen…he said nothing to worry about because there was only one baby.”

According to Devi, the family became confused and was invited into Dr Ramayah’s office, where they questioned what happened with the other twin.

The woman claims that Dr Ramayah allegedly told them that he did not know what happened.

“So I don’t know what really happened…they keep saying it’s only one baby and they put it [the blame] on the machine,” a frustrated Devi said.

Devi feels that something went wrong during the C-Section, which might have harmed one of the babies and accused the hospital of trying to cover it up.

“To me thinking, me feel if the baby bin born and one dead, they would have give us the baby, but me feel…that when they cut she that day, they cut the baby and if they show us, them know is them fault and it gon be dangerous for them; that is my opinion,” Devi said.

Hospital denies wrongdoing

Meanwhile, iNews contacted Dr Adrian Anamayah, who in a written response, clarified that there was nothing sinister about the delivery of the baby, pointing out that the woman never carried twins.

“The patient never carried twins and did not deliver twins. There was a misunderstanding/misdirection with respect to the interpretation of the ultrasound,” the doctor told iNews.

He further noted that the Hospital Administration spoke to the mother and the family at length and explained all that transpired.

“…They were satisfied with the explanation. No Baby was stolen, No baby died. It is unfortunate that some individuals with ulterior motives have resorted to the social media to spread misinformation and make unfounded and damaging allegations against the Hospital,” Dr Anamayah said.

He believes that there is a “politically motivated attempt to besmirch the good name of the Hospital.”

“It is also unfortunate that what appears to be the patient’s medical information is being made public by these individuals,” he concluded in his statement.

Like Amamayah senior, who was debarred and the PPP also, these guys don't have the best of track record.

It would seem anyone who have dealings with Jagdeo, becomes like him.

How the hell does a scan shows two babies and only one is delivered ?

We service medical equipment, something here don't smell right.

Django, what do you think about the scanner malfunctioning ?  

Originally Posted by Tola:

Like Amamayah senior, who was debarred and the PPP also, these guys don't have the best of track record.

Anything the PNC + House Slaves touch, turns to FILTH!!!!!!!!!!!

Get over the whining arready

Four and a half years to go.

Ah told you aready to shut yo skuny

Medical electronic devices pass through some rigorous

test during manufacturing,malfunctioning device will

give diagnostic error that the equipment need service,

this sound like a cock and bull story i am sure they

should have copies of the images to back up their claim

that it was an error.

How the r...s you come to that conclusion,did the

"highlighted"was operating the medical device.

Four and a half years to go.

Fuh what...keep on hoping.

They would retain the scans so she should ask for them. She actually should have been given one. The ultra sound scanner may not be malfunctioning. The operator possibly was. And why four scans? That is not healthy.

Clearly you are more delusional than RAA.

If this issue goes to court, the hospital might do a 'Nixon secretary' with the scans and it might be gone forever.

The brothers as legal persons have a long track record and the lady should file court documents so the scans can be preserved.

These guys follow what their father did and also represent the PPP in Berbice, so you can guess the rest.   

If this issue goes to court, the hospital might do a 'Nixon secretary' with the scans and it might be gone forever.

The brothers as legal persons have a long track record and the lady should file court documents so the scans can be preserved.

These guys follow what their father did and also represent the PPP in Berbice, so you can guess the rest.   

It would be to their advantage to retain the scans. I believe they misdiagnose the scans and the woman became convinced she had two babies. I doubt they are such scoundrels to take one of her children at birth. Why? There are so many people with kids they do not want so kids are not a premium to steal in Guyana. The PPP were making 10k  a hit in facilitating the give away of poor people kids.

There is an answer to it. It is called PNC KoKoBeah and it is real.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

It would be to their advantage to retain the scans. I believe they misdiagnose the scans and the woman became convinced she had two babies. I doubt they are such scoundrels to take one of her children at birth. Why? There are so many people with kids they do not want so kids are not a premium to steal in Guyana. The PPP were making 10k  a hit in facilitating the give away of poor people kids.

They probably misdiagnose the scan,the charge the

patient for more than one scan plus treatment for twin

pregnancy,so they made money for treatment that was

not required.

These guys father was crooked under the PPP that got him disbarred, now sons are the same  with the PPP.  Check de defense lawyer  when Jagdeo or Beri Beri goes to court. 

Dem like to milk de PPP fowl-cock fa all dem got.

You used to be dumb, now you are a real fkin jackass. Your posts are stupid, very fkin stupid.

You people talking from your back end again, the entire Anamayah brothers are PPP cronies, who benefit from  the PPP government and still do milking the PPP with Jagdeo and Beru Beri in court.

Like their father, these people are heartless and will screw anyone, even the PPP hand that feeds them.

If the new government make them a better offer, they will abandon the PPP in no time flat.