However, on Wednesday morning, the man’s relatives became suspicious and headed to Number 55 Village to search. During the search, residents contacted Ghanie’s relatives and reportedly told them that the youth’s boss was seen lighting a “big fire” in the cemetery behind his house.

Zorrina noted that the family had filed a missing person’s report on Wednesday at the Whim Police Station and at the Number 51 Police Station. However, after residents related the information about the fire to the police, Ghanie’s boss was arrested on Thursday.

After his arrest, residents said they noticed the man’s sons lighting another fire behind their father’s house. As a result, one of the sons and a worker were arrested.

Razack stated that on Friday the family decided to head to the location where the fires were reportedly lit. “We went 51 station and ask for a police go with us and them say none police na deh, so we decide to go we alone,” he explained, before noting that one of the man’s sons subsequently went to the station and accused him of threatening him. “…But them police end up put he in the lock up too… Then them police say let we go back, me and me cousins them go search again and I see a fire spot and two short piece of bone and me start juk more and me call me cousin and then we call the police,” he added.

According to Razack, the police arrived on the scene some one hour after they were phoned.

According to Ghanie’s sister, some time ago her brother and his boss were involved in a fight after the man accused her brother of stealing a sim card. “…Them did argue and Sanjay did stop work and then them make up and everything been seem okay,” the young woman noted. She could not think of any motive for why the man would want to hurt her brother.

Ghanie had been living with his mother, two sisters and a brother at Bloomfield. His father is expected to return to Guyana today.