Bus slams into several vehicles then turns turtle

NOVEMBER 7, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

A route 44 minibus, BRR 8028 carrying several passengers, turned turtle on Main Street, Georgetown after first slamming into motorcar PMM 2442, then another PHH 1190 before toppling minibus GNN 8381 from its parking space in front of Palm Court, pitching it several feet onto the road.

The minibus that turned turtle on Main Street, Georgetown.

Some persons were taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital for minor injuries and they were discharged.  Many persons at the scene expressed their disgust at speeding minibuses and passengers’ acceptance of such. It was even noted that persons could have been severely injured if they were along the roadway.

According to a passenger who was travelling in the route 44 minibus; a  motorcar PMM 2442 which was travelling east on Hope Street Cummingsburg made a turn North onto Main street slamming into the   minibus, which in turn slammed into two other vehicles before coming to a stop.
“The car come right through; the car didn’t stop, it just come right around the turn. It didn’t even stop or anything; it just come around, seven persons were in the bus, but people received minor injuries,” James Ford, a passenger of the bus said.

According to the driver of motorcar PMM 2442, Alan Atherly, the minibus had collided with another vehicle across the road before slamming into his car. The minibus then crashed into another bus before turning on its side.
“I wasn’t driving speed, the minibus which might have been going 90KPH and lost control then hit my car,” a traumatized Atherly said.

The damaged motorcar PMM 2442

Just when you think cutlass chopping, shooting, murders and committing  suicide is not enough for one day, the speeding, drinking and driving, and reckless driving is another safety concern Guyanese have to worry about daily. You can hop onto a mini-bus and minutes later you could find yourself at the Lyken funeral home. Funeral business must be doing well in Guyana these days. Guyana is becoming the wild, wild west where people are carefree about their lives, the lives of others or the public safety. 

Any bloody FOOL can bribe their way to a License.

Did you say bribe? I can't believe you said that, Nehru! Now, who should we blame after 20 years, the PPP or the PNC?

I blame the Police and Stupid Guyanese who pay the Bribes. The Govt is responsible for tackling Bribery which they are doing a very POOR job. Until civil society rise up and demand and practice higher standards, Guyana will remain in the position it is!!!

stuuups

Originally Posted by raymond:

stuuups

Why I knew you would ask for an explanation.. Bhai, you in a league of your own.

I hate to say that CJIA has to be connected to some government officials to be continue along the path of bribery and corruption and in many cases the cause of death by leaking passengers private information to criminals. The government of the day must be held accountable for all security failure the country has suffered for 20 long years. In my younger days, I would eat dried bread and live happier and safer in the PNC era. Today, in the wee morning hours, Guyanese are woken up by bandits with guns to your face. I read another story in New Amsterdam where Bandit's tied-up Mrs. Fook and robbed her of her life savings. The bandits were so comfortable that they spent almost two hours taunting the woman and taking everything in sight. Thief man job has never been so sweet before.

Cobra, Don't make me blow meh Flute at you. I AGREE with you that the GOVT is WEAK on Crime. Yuh saw dat Movie Nagin??

Yes, long time ago. Reena Roy and somebody with a snake.  I was reading Mrs. Fook story. So sad.