New Public Service Minister intends to take WPA positions to Cabinet; getting oil cash transfers to poor a priority

Minister of the Public Service, Tabitha Sarabo-

Newly-appointed Public Service Minister, Tabitha Sarabo-Halley says she plans to take the positions of her party, the Working People’s Alliance (WPA), to Cabinet and among her priorities is cash-transfers from oil revenues to the working poor.

She said, as WPA Chairperson, she would help to bridge the gap between her party and the coalition government of A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC). “It will help with what has been sort of a disconnect between the party and the government,” Sarabo-Halley told Demerara Waves Online News.

Opting not to refer to whether the WPA’s views had been reflected adequately in Cabinet by her predecessor, Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, Sarabo-Halley expressed confidence that she has “the ability” to be “the liaison between the two entities and to be able to respectfully put forward the party’s perspectives on policies and hopefully we’ll get Cabinet to go in the direction that we would like.”

The WPA Chairperson, who was sworn in as Public Service Minister by President David Granger on Thursday, hoped that she would be able to push for benefits to “the working class of this country”.

Sarabo-Halley said her priority issues would include pushing for cash transfers to sections of the working poor, a recommendation that Distinguished Economics Professor Clive Thomas floated last year. “One of the main issues that we have been advocating outside and will bring it to Cabinet is the issue of cash transfers. That is one of the issues that is pertinent and relevant at this time and we will be addressing it at the level of Cabinet as well,” the WPA Chairperson said.

The WPA, for its part, hoped that Sarabo-Halley’s membership of Cabinet would “greatly enhance relations between the WPA’s Executive and the Cabinet.” “For us, this marks a new and significant phase in our relations within the APNU, the Coalition and the Government. We are confident that her appointment will strengthen our collective efforts to prevail in the general and regional elections, whenever they are held,” the party said.

Since the APNU+AFC coalition won the May, 2015 general and regional elections, the WPA had complained publicly on several occasions that the People’s National Congress Reform-dominated APNU had not been meeting to craft policies and strategies as well as address concerns by the parties.

That party also hailed Dr. Roopnaraine’s contribution to the government and Guyana’s political landscape. “Even as we offer best wishes to our sister Tabitha, WPA also takes this opportunity to place on record our profound appreciation to Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine for his years of selfless service in advancing the interests of the people of Guyana and offer our continued support to him in keeping with his desire to serve the people of Guyana,” the WPA said.

Before she was nominated to replace Dr. Roopnaraine, Minister Sarabo-Halley was employed at the Ministry of the Presidency.

Roopnaraine, Carl Greenidge, Dominic Gaskin and Joseph Harmon resigned last month from their ministerial posts as well as from their role as lawmakers because the High Court and Court of Appeal ruled that it is unconstitutional for dual citizenship holders to be candidates or parliamentarians.

Dem people gon tek the money and buy Kentucky and Chinese foods tea, breakfast, and dinner.  They won't want to wuk boy.  Bad move to give poor money. Give them jobs so they can earn it.

Them bhais say, these poor people Tek credit to buy new clothes and fancy wig and big big planning fo a dance hall party fo the first check 

The infusion of cash from the oil industry would result in higher wages in all segments of Guyana's society so I can see the working poor being paid more for what they currently do. I don't see anything wrong with her position. This is much better than the reparation argument made last year by that other fool.

People pra pra counting on that 2% Royalty from Exxon.  Be assured that their 71,000 employees, and shareholders, and investors, and other stakeholders come before any Guyana hungry belly person waiting for a government handout.

Black people in TNT complains a whole lot about wealth being in the hands of other racial groups.  I think the Caribs and his ilks will continue do the same even after huge amounts of oil riches flow in. The complaints and blame game will never be over.

The lazy will get lazier.  In America, the land of plenty and opportunity, they sit in front their tv all day and wait for Trump to send their monthly check and food stamps.  Landlord done get him Section 8 rent check automatically deposited in his checking account.

Life is good.  Nothing to worry about.  

The lazy will get lazier.  In America, the land of plenty and opportunity, they sit in front their tv all day and wait for Trump to send their monthly check and food stamps.  Landlord done get him Section 8 rent check automatically deposited in his checking account.

Life is good.  Nothing to worry about.  

Venezuela is suffering because they used their oil dollars on heavy imports from foods to fancy cars.  The population pays $.25 per gallon for gas and -0- for electricity.  Vast of amounts subsidized gasolene have been smuggled out of the country

More Indo Nazi screaming but Chief is in their cheering section saying nothing, but calling my name out.

Amazing.

The First thing she eye deh pun upon swearing in, is the OIL MONEY.

I guh geh sheh skont some good ile. 😀

Now, now Ksazma ... how much oil you will give ?

Economics of the lazy!

I could understand some transitional support as people attain skills to partake in the economy.  But to start a welfare state?  PNC seems very short of ideas!

Cribby, you need to go teach them what you learn here in America!

More dan sheh reservoir can hold. 

People pra pra counting on that 2% Royalty from Exxon.  Be assured that their 71,000 employees, and shareholders, and investors, and other stakeholders come before any Guyana hungry belly person waiting for a government handout.

Speak prapa Guyanese. Meh hear yuh like fuh play pre pre on your knees. 

Economics of the lazy!

I could understand some transitional support as people attain skills to partake in the economy.  But to start a welfare state?  PNC seems very short of ideas!

In fact Jagdeo was screaming about how APNU cut back on some "allowances" that they offered, so maybe both parties have a welfare approach.

More dan sheh reservoir can hold. 

Bai she want de hile fuh do some massaging. Coconut hile too light. The woman prefers light crude.

Banna, me nah tink dah ohman want anyting light. Especially if sheh is country ohman. "City girls wine and dine, country girls bump and grind". 

Druggie relatives already rubbing dem hand in anticipation. Whether pnc or ppp in power, dem gun mek money. Let them give money to the poor,  it will eventually end up in the hands of the business class and a welcome injection into the depressed economy. Money makes the world go around. Cribby will claim that is Indo is the business class and he will be correct. 

Is Lilly drunk again?  Good thing Ramjattan didn't give you that GRA job.

I see like yuh  see some dry weather lately and a lot in the horizon. LHM

Economics of the lazy!

In fact Jagdeo was screaming about how APNU cut back on some "allowances" that they offered, so maybe both parties have a welfare approach.

The allowances to which he referred were bonus payments to the military and law enforcement.  The other allowances were for school kids.

Not sure how this promotes a welfare society.  

PNC talking about giving out free money!    

I see like yuh  see some dry weather lately and a lot in the horizon. LHM

Banna you pra pra wutliss!!