Guyana don't have money, yet the PNC/AFC have no problem of spending the nation money wastefully on old year's night fete. Eat and drink all one night and beg with a calabash tomorrow.

Unofficial Golden Jubilee launch cost $10M – Minister Henry

50th Independence anniversary

BY EDWARD LAYNE

The Old Year’s night unofficial launch of the calendar of activities to mark Guyana’s 50th independence anniversary.

inister with the Education Ministry’s Department of Culture, Youth and Sport Nicolette Henry

independent nation has cost some $10 million, Minister with the Education Ministry’s Department of Culture, Youth and Sport Nicolette Henry has confirmed.
Speaking to Guyana Times on Tuesday, Minister Henry confirmed that the event was funded from the public coffers.

She explained that the accounts department of the Ministry is still tabulating the books and as such, a comprehensive report will be available “by close of play this week.”
There are scores of activities planned in and outside of Guyana to mark the country’s 50th Independence during the course of 2016, including a number of concerts similar to the Old Year’s night launch.

However, member of the National Commemoration Committee Bobby Vieira told this publication that the bulk of the local celebrations will take place from May 15-31.
Meanwhile, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo has confirmed that the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) will participate in the observances, but added that their participation will be limited to state functions and “low cost” celebratory events.

“We will participate in activities to commemorate our 50th anniversary. What we will do, we will participate in those State functions, not the bacchanal. We want to celebrate too, but we are not going to do this like it’s designed to rape the treasury. We have celebrated in the past without using up all the money from the treasury… We don’t want to get involved in that sort of thing that will use the resources of our treasury in an extravagant and wanton way. We will participate in State activities and tastefully low cost celebrations,” Jagdeo told a news conference last Thursday.

Transparency and
accountability

Meanwhile, Jagdeo said already there is confusion over who are the organisers of the events as there are significant questions about accountability, even before the celebrations actually begin.

“We have a total lack of transparency about spending in relation to this issue. We have advisers overseas who claim they are collecting money on behalf of the Government to celebrate 50th anniversary of our independence; you have a Minister who is involved, you have a person who claims he is involved overall, not the Minister. We are not sure about the activities, we are not sure about the legal firm they hired in New York, how much that firm is paid to celebrate our independence, why can’t they give it to the people is Brooklyn, the Queens and the Bronx if they want to do that?… we are not sure how much money will be spent on the partying here,” Jagdeo said.

Last year, Guyana celebrated its independence with a massive inauguration ceremony of President David Granger at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence, East Bank Demerara, which has still left a number of unanswered questions regarding the cost involved, and who actually financed the activities.

http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/2...-10m-minister-henry/

I have to Agree with Amral. The spinoff from revenue coming in will be equal to or exceed the amount spent. 

It is a historic time in our nation's history and we should not play politics here.

It is a win, win for everyone.

Amral posted:

You have to spend money to bring in money. Hopefully at the end of the 50th celebrations the country does do well

The money was spent mostly on entertainment. It wouldn't full a teeth hole to boost the country's economy from the loses that businesses incurred since May 15, 2015. Business and consumers confidence is dead in Guyana. 

From the few folks I am in contact with, they are not complaining much. And these are Indians on the WCD. We would like to think that those back home are miserable, but the fact is, they may not be as fortunate as we are living in NA. But they are far more happier and better off than we are here.

Amral

How exactly spending 50K US on an old years night party would benefit the nation? The people sporting and having a good time at the expense of Guyanese taxpayers are afc/apnu supporters. I don't see the benefit to the nation. 

Jagdeo would have spent US$ 500k, and you would have been hysterically screaming that he had a right to do so, as he is God.   Look how often Jagdeo used to waste money on extravaganzas at the stadium.

Amral posted:

From the few folks I am in contact with, they are not complaining much. And these are Indians on the WCD. We would like to think that those back home are miserable, but the fact is, they may not be as fortunate as we are living in NA. But they are far more happier and better off than we are here.

People are going about their business as normal. Reading the hype on this board you would think the sky is falling.  Much to do about nothing. Just noise. They lost the election and they are just bitter. 

Jagdeo would have spent US$ 500k, and you would have been hysterically screaming that he had a right to do so, as he is God.   Look how often Jagdeo used to waste money on extravaganzas at the stadium.

He is the leader of the Indian nation. He is entitled to do whatever he pleases.

One moment the PPP is claiming it is too much money, and then the next moment they asking what can be done with so little money. You guys have to make your mind up if you want rain or sunshine.

FC posted:
Amral posted:

People are going about their business as normal. Reading the hype on this board you would think the sky is falling.  Much to do about nothing. Just noise. They lost the election and they are just bitter. 

This has nothing to do with winning or losing election. It has everything to do with the coalition government accountability of taxpayers money. They continue to get low grade on their performance since they took office. They campaign on one thing and deliver failure. The economy is in poor state of health. The crime and unemployment rate are exceeding. The country is racially dividend and the ministry of social cohesion is unuseful in this regard. This government only preach accountability, but doesn't practice it.

Jagdeo has been out of office for 4 years, like he stuck in your craw?

Remember the last president was Ramoutar. 

Regardless, stop distracting from the wasteful spending of this government. When the PPP was in office, they were criticized for spending. So I expect you to join me in condemning splurging of the tax payers money by this current government, even if you support the APNU. 

Cobra posted:
. The economy is in poor state of health. The crime and unemployment rate are exceeding. The country is racially divided.

And you really think that all of this started after May 11th.

Listen Guyanese flee to all those little islands, and even after 2008 when they encountered difficulties, few returned to Guyana.

Just another day in the Cooperative Republic of Guyana.

Jagdeo has been out of office for 4 years,

Really?  So why is he leader of the opposition now, when Ramotar should have been?

Jagdeo pulled a Putin, and you are too dumb to see this!  And this is what we all know he would do, when the constitution prevented him from running a 3rd consecutive term.

And at what point did you criticize the PPP when they were in power?  I will criticize APNU with folks like Cain, Django and others who criticized the PPP.  NOT with a racist hypocrite like you.

Jagdeo has been out of office for 4 years,

Really?  So why is he leader of the opposition now, when Ramotar should have been?

Jagdeo pulled a Putin, and you are too dumb to see this!  And this is what we all know he would do, when the constitution prevented him from running a 3rd consecutive term.

I am not here to defend or apologize for Jagdeo, you can contact him if you like. Let us discuss the wastage of money under the apnu. You are using Jagdeo as a distraction from the real issue, the incompetency of the govt that you now support. 

I will criticize the APNU (and I did so even as recently as today) with people who criticized the PPP.

It isn't that waste concerns you.  It is merely that blacks are in power.

When the PPP wasted $$$ with their white elephant projects you had orgasms of glee.  I recall your ardent support for Buddy's "Hotel", when you screamed that it was going to transform Guyana.  Several years later,  no one even bothers with the Princess Hotel.

I will criticize the APNU (and I did so even as recently as today) with people who criticized the PPP.

It isn't that waste concerns you.  It is merely that blacks are in power.

When the PPP wasted $$$ with their white elephant projects you had orgasms of glee.  I recall your ardent support for Buddy's "Hotel", when you screamed that it was going to transform Guyana.  Several years later,  no one even bothers with the Princess Hotel.

Wasting 50K US to sport a few while public servants still suffer with low wages is a crime.   The PPP is no longer in charge, they are a vestige of the past, I encourage you to join me in criticizing these new crooks in office just as you criticized the previous govt. Don't fall into the trap of double standards.