Recently-wed store owner gunned down by bandits
APRIL 20, 2016 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS
-body run over by car
A young store owner from the island of Wakenaam on the Essequibo River lost his life after he was shot during a daring daylight robbery and then run over by a passing motorcar at Robb and Alexander Streets, Georgetown yesterday.
Twenty six-year-old Mahendra Persaud, of Lot 22 Good Success, was pronounced dead
Mahendra Persaud recently wed his sweetheart, Parvena
on arrival at the Georgetown Public Hospital, minutes after he was picked up from the roadway.
The police in a statement yesterday said that about 10:45hrs, Persaud was with his driver in a vehicle when he was attacked by a man armed with a firearm. The man demanded a bag with money that Persaud had in his possession.
According to the police, Persaud put up resistance and a struggle ensued during which he was shot to the neck. He subsequently fell on the roadway and in the process, was run over by motor vehicle, PVV 3157.
This newspaper was told by eyewitnesses that a licenced firearm holder who was in proximity, exchanged gunshots with the gunman, who subsequently managed to escape on a waiting Honda CG motorcycle ridden by an accomplice. It is believed that the bandit was shot in the process and fled leaving the bag with cash behind.
Investigators are convinced that Persaud was trailed by the bandit and his accomplice, who waited for the right opportunity to strike.
A police source, informed this publication that Persaud had previously visited two stores and was about to visit a third when he was confronted by the bandit. He had in his possession approximately $700,000, the source revealed.
The bag with the money was reportedly recovered by the police.
The police, after examining CCTV footage, said that they were able to identify the bandit and are making every effort to have him arrested.
Meanwhile, the driver of the car that ran over Persaud, took him to the hospital and later vanished, leaving the vehicle in the hospital compound. It was reported that he subsequently sent another man along with a mechanic to switch the licence plates on the vehicle. The two men were caught in the act and were arrested.
While they were handcuffed and sat at the back of a police pickup, one of them told media operatives that he was unaware of the incident. He continued that he was just parked next to the mechanic when the police approached him and said that he was involved in the death of someone.
Persaud’s aunt, who was at the hospital, told media operatives that her nephew, who got married just over a month ago, would usually come to the city to buy goods to take back to the island where he and her father ran a general store together. She stated that there were several attempts made in the past, but never to this extent.
When this publication contacted Persaud’s wife Parvena by telephone yesterday, she recalled that her husband left the Essequibo island at around 07:00 hrs for his usual trip to the city to purchase stocks for his business.
With him was his driver and trusted friend. The woman said that sometime around 11:00 hrs she received a telephone call, informing her that her husband was shot. She was advised to prepare herself to travel to the Georgetown Hospital where they had taken her husband.
But as she was about to leave her house she received the dreaded call that her husband had succumbed and she should no longer travel.
“It’s only about two months now since we got married…..I have to try,” Parvena Persaud cried.
She said that her husband’s driver is still in shock after seeing his close friend gunned down and he could not have done anything to help him.
“He said that by the time he got out of the car, they had already shot my husband and a car ran over him; he could do nothing,” Parvena Persaud told this newspaper.
A post mortem examination is to be performed on Persaud’s body today.
Indos are worse off today. This useless government must be held accountable.
Where is the clown Rumjattan ?
https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/wa...fter-shot-on-robb-st
Wakenaam businessman dies after shot on Robb St.
Time for Indos to speak out on the slaughter of their business people.
Django, this is a completely different article.
Why are you defending the slaughter of Indos under the PNC ?
Shame on you !
The genocide is in full swing as we see the sinister plan of the pnc-afc in motion to reduce the info population in time for 2020 elections.
Drugb posted:The genocide is in full swing as we see the sinister plan of the pnc-afc in motion to reduce the info population in time for 2020 elections.
PNC plan was to con Moses and Ramjattan and then execute their master plan.
Two idiots rubbing each other, aiaiaiaiai
Racists like some here on GNI could care less about Indos.
Cain, your low IQ is revealed by your indecency, vulgarity and constant cussing down.
Is that your best response ?
This is a sad trend
Indos must speak out now. They must pressure Ramjattan to make a statement.
Paging Ramjattan.
yuji22 posted:Indos are worse off today. This useless government must be held accountable.
Where is the clown Rumjattan ?
When Indos were also being killed, prior to May 2015, did you blame Rohee?
Drugb posted:The genocide is in full swing as we see the sinister plan of the pnc-afc in motion to reduce the info population in time for 2020 elections.
When Indos were being slaughtered under the Jagdeo era did you blame him?
yuji22 posted:Racists like some here on GNI could care less about Indos.
Not only Indians are victims of crime. Yet your care is only about Indians.
Look in YOUR mirror to see who the racist is!
The new P W Botha in town!!!!!!!!
caribny posted:Drugb posted:The genocide is in full swing as we see the sinister plan of the pnc-afc in motion to reduce the info population in time for 2020 elections.
How many Indians were slaughtered under the Jagdeo era?
Bibi Haniffa posted:caribny posted:Drugb posted:The genocide is in full swing as we see the sinister plan of the pnc-afc in motion to reduce the info population in time for 2020 elections.
Check nuh you may be surprised also lots of Afro.
Bibi Haniffa posted:caribny posted:Drugb posted:The genocide is in full swing as we see the sinister plan of the pnc-afc in motion to reduce the info population in time for 2020 elections.
Are you really asking that question? Crime has been out of control for the last 15 years.
The Canadian retirees must be having orgasms over another Indian death by murder.
caribny posted:Drugb posted:The genocide is in full swing as we see the sinister plan of the pnc-afc in motion to reduce the info population in time for 2020 elections.
I blamed the PNC/AFC and I will continue to do so as they were instrumental in supporting criminal activity, even to the point of handing out guns and organizing criminal gangs to commit genocide against Indians.
Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
Go back to Bihar where you'll be at home shitting in the streets and preserving your culture.
yuji22 posted:Racists like some here on GNI could care less about Indos.
Cain, your low IQ is revealed by your indecency, vulgarity and constant cussing down.
Is that your best response ?
To your kind, yep.
RIP our brother. May Krsna open the gates of heaven for you.
This is a sad reality for our Indo brothers and sisters in Guyana.
PNC made Ewing a hero but our brother is just another murder number for this uncaring AFC/PNC administration.
Those who came out swinging for Ewing are in silence in fear of the Harmonium Harmun for speaking out.
Mars posted:Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
Go back to Bihar where you'll be at home shitting in the streets and preserving your culture.
This is GNI Jackass.
Ignore this moron Prashad , he has nothing good to say.
ian posted:Mars posted:Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
This is GNI Jackass.
Ignore this moron, he has nothing good to say.
Ian, if someone told him about going back to Africa, there will be shouts of racism. Let us leave the donkey Alone. Let him bray his racism, it exposes his hate for Indos.
ian posted:Mars posted:Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
This is GNI Jackass.
Ignore this moron Prashad , he has nothing good to say.
Prashad really has something good to say by advocating for the separation of Guyana based on racial division. That's so progressive.
yuji22 posted:ian posted:Mars posted:Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
This is GNI Jackass.
Ian, if someone told him about going back to Africa, there will be shouts of racism. Let us leave the donkey Alone. Let him bray his racism, it exposes his hate for Indos.
I don't recall hearing about any of my ancestors coming from Africa or wanting to go there so why would that bother me stupid man?
yuji22 posted:ian posted:Mars posted:Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
This is GNI Jackass.
They would kick he Ass in Africa.
Yuji, he must be hungry. Someone dry coconut he hustling.
ian posted:yuji22 posted:ian posted:Mars posted:Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
This is GNI Jackass.
I'm not like you dunces living hand to mouth in somebody's basement and working in a factory all your life.
Mars posted:ian posted:yuji22 posted:ian posted:Mars posted:Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
This is GNI Jackass.
I'm not like you dunces living hand to mouth in somebody's basement and working in a factory all your life.
Keep braying, the Molasses coming.
Banna I am doing well for myself.
Yo reply remind me of how them antiman fighting.. tek it easy it's fullmoon.
ian posted:Mars posted:ian posted:yuji22 posted:ian posted:Mars posted:Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
This is GNI Jackass.
You doing well living a somebody's basement. Congrats.
The only antiman around here is you picking up firerage for your man Prashad.
Mars posted:ian posted:Mars posted:ian posted:yuji22 posted:ian posted:Mars posted:Prashad posted:The only solution is an independent country for East Indian brothers and sisters.
This is GNI Jackass.
You doing well living a somebody's basement. Congrats.
The only antiman around here is you picking up firerage for your man Prashad.
Moron I don't live in a basement, living in someone's basement is not a crime.
Don't bray so hard, yo disturbing the neighbors KUMBAYA.
ian posted:Moron I don't live in a basement, living in someone's basement is not a crime.
Do you even know the meaning or origin of Kumbaya, Numbnuts? Seriously, where do they find you dumbasses from?
It's not a crime to live in a basement. I guess every man's home is his castle even for nudniks like you.
For those who see us as subhuman because of our race I say to them"koolie lives matter ".
Mars posted:ian posted:Moron I don't live in a basement, living in someone's basement is not a crime.
Do you even know the meaning or origin of Kumbaya, Numbnuts? Seriously, where do they find you dumbasses from?
It's not a crime to live in a basement. I guess every man's home is his castle even for nudniks like you.
Eh a ya you say.
Me ead hut me whole night with you braying. Gan so.
If you continue braying today, I wouldn't leave you alone.
Prashad posted:For those who see us as subhuman because of our race I say to them"koolie lives matter ".
Yes "Koolie lives matter ". Like this one.
The afc/apnu have painted the Indian businessman as evil and unscrupulous, deserving of being murdered. When in opposition they claimed every successful indian businessman was a drug dealer.
Drugb posted:The afc/apnu have painted the Indian businessman as evil and unscrupulous, deserving of being murdered. When in opposition they claimed every successful indian businessman was a drug dealer.
Drug Boy why don't you get a life? You are like a broken LP.
Prashad posted:For those who see us as subhuman because of our race I say to them"koolie lives matter ".
Yeah! Coolies do not burn businesses down. Their strengths lie in hard work and not a single match.