with engineering experience?
Guyana constantly affected tides, level, and the change get our
work
need in place.
Anyone with engineering experience?
Guyana is constantly affected by high tides, rain and flood, and it will get worst since the country in under sea level, and the climate change is expected to get worst. What can be done to avoid all of this? We can start with our coastline first!
Suggestions:
1. Drainage and pumps don't seem to work effectively.
2. The water problem is permanent, and we need a better mechanism in place.
are you saying that the Genuises in the PPP cant solve that problem. What a surprise.
Or the money to thief is not much.
What's your problem, sir? Are you an engineer with experience to help in this area? I am not speaking on behalf of any government. I don't believe this thread is for you.
READ THIS PRINCE:
In the 1740s, when Dutch sugar planters moved their estates from Kyk-over-al to other locations towards the coastal belt, they had to spend large sums of money and organize an army of manpower on sea defence, drainage and irrigation.
The Guyana coastland is six feet below high-tide level and is vulnerable to flood-water from the sea. In addition, the planters had to combat water draining down from the highlands behind their estates and were threatened with flooding every rainy season. Faced with this dual agony, the Dutch planters devised a system of water control that is used up to this day.
They built a sea-dam at the front of their estates and a backdam behind the estates. To keep out water from the surrounding undrained lands they built side-line dams. They dug canals alongside the side-line dams to collect excess water from the estates through a network of smaller trenches.
These side-line canals flowed towards the sea-dam where kokers or sluices were erected to control the outflow. Today, kokers stand like sentinels at strategic points along Guyana's low-lying coastal plain, offering round-the-clock protection to people, animals and property.
The original sea-dams were later reinforced with concrete sea-walls. While the Dutch were masters at digging canals, they also built Guyana's main roads. Each planter was legally bound to build a public road in front of his plantation. Planters were also responsible for maintaining the roads. Failure to carry out road repairs could result in the forfeiture of a planter's entire estate.
Did the Dutch planters create Guyana's infrastructure and early market economy by themselves? Without the labour of African slaves sugar-cane and other large-scale crops could not be planted and harvested, canals could not be dug, sea-walls and roads could not be built.
Click on the link to read more:
http://www.landofsixpeoples.co...01/gydutchlegacy.htm
Guyana is constantly affected by high tides, rain and flood, and it will get worst since the country in under sea level, and the climate change is expected to get worst. What can be done to avoid all of this? We can start with our coastline first!
Suggestions:
Prince, it's not so much one of technology as (Rev pointed out) the Dutch and others have mastered this craft. It is an issue of money bear in mind, we focus on the sea wall, but to address, you also have to build sea walls 15-20 miles up the banks of the rivers and add kokas to all the drainage inlets.
The Govt is faced with many priorities and means are not finite. Added to this, they have to deal with the pariahs who insists of wanting handouts and spreading mayhem and destruction when they don't get it. If these people start pulling their weights and stop destroying, I'm sure things will be addressed in due course.
What's your problem, sir? Are you an engineer with experience to help in this area? I am not speaking on behalf of any government. I don't believe this thread is for you.
Isnt that the PPP responsibility. one of the problen for floddinng in GY is the disposal of the Plastic bottles that clogs up the drains. The PPP gove collects GY$10.00 (US$0.05) on every bottles/cans imported into Guyana for the dosposalof these bottles/ cans. Where is this money none of it goes towards the intended porpose. Somebody probably THIEFING it .
so long the PPP in power and they can't find a good engineer?
Stinger posted this photo in social---a little tsunami and Guyana gone fuh channa:
Remember the flooding when the conservancy dam broke a few years ago ?
Look at that photo above---a little tsunami and Guyana will be under 50 feet of water.
Only Moses can hold back the sea. It is written in The Bible.
Vote AFC for a better sea defence.
Suggestions:
Prince, it's not so much one of technology as (Rev pointed out) the Dutch and others have mastered this craft. It is an issue of money bear in mind, we focus on the sea wall, but to address, you also have to build sea walls 15-20 miles up the banks of the rivers and add kokas to all the drainage inlets.
The Govt is faced with many priorities and means are not finite. Added to this, they have to deal with the pariahs who insists of wanting handouts and spreading mayhem and destruction when they don't get it. If these people start pulling their weights and stop destroying, I'm sure things will be addressed in due course.
You cannot help parsing any answer in terms of your bigotry. The government does not give any hand out differentially to anyone as you insist.
The seawall is infrastructure and it should come first before pie in the sky wishful thinking as the Marriott. But that exists because of the need to feed the need for graft and nepotistic patronage
So what if one has to address the kokers etc? Is that not part of the devils bargain we take in wanting to live so close to the coast? You cannot want your cake and eat it. We need to build the necessary infrastructure if we want to use the areas under threat of flooding.
Suggestions:
You cannot help parsing any answer in terms of your bigotry. The government does not give any hand out differentially to anyone as you insist.
The seawall is infrastructure and it should come first before pie in the sky wishful thinking as the Marriott. But that exists because of the need to feed the need for graft and nepotistic patronage
So what if one has to address the kokers etc? Is that not part of the devils bargain we take in wanting to live so close to the coast? You cannot want your cake and eat it. We need to build the necessary infrastructure if we want to use the areas under threat of flooding.
Hmm, you should stick to growing cassava. You see, Guyana needs economic development to invest in all such infrastructure. It cannot put everything on hold for sea defense which is a long term issue. As I said, there are many priorities and resources are not finite. We all want everything solved at once and people want their handouts are freeness to go. It all cannot be done as everyone wants it done.
Prince, the PPP is addressing the problem via the hope canal. Rev posted a valuable piece of information that showed the logic behind the backdam, sideline dam and the seawall + kokers. When the heavy rain water from the mountains come down this causes flooding as the flow rate to the sea can not compensate for the volume from the highlands, especially if there is high tides. The Hope canal will divert much of this highland water to provide relief to the farmers who are affected by the flooding. Living on the coast land below sea level is an expensive proposition no doubt.
Suggestions:
I agree that it's a matter of getting priorities right. Who will come to stay in a 4 or 5 star hotel located a floodprone volatile place for vacation or conference? The garbage and clutter have to be cleared. Gt is a garbage city and it stinks. The only attempts to clear it away is when things like this happen and when the Koker broke in kingston a few weeks ago. There has been one business proposal to deal with the plastic bottle waste that sadly was not supported. there are other ways if only there was the will.
Suggestions:
Hmm, you should stick to growing cassava. You see, Guyana needs economic development to invest in all such infrastructure. It cannot put everything on hold for sea defense which is a long term issue. As I said, there are many priorities and resources are not finite. We all want everything solved at once and people want their handouts are freeness to go. It all cannot be done as everyone wants it done.
This is your second post saying "resources are not finite" so you must know something that no one else knows
Suggestions:
This is your second post saying "resources are not finite" so you must know something that no one else knows
Economics 101. The GoG, USG, EU, Russians, Saudis, no one has money to do everything. There is only so much to go around at any point in time. The GoG have choices given the many needs and limited resources.
Suggestions:
Say if u agree with me.
Guyanese equipped with the knowledge of adding to the development in all facets of the country is grossly misunderstood. These endeavours takes time in planning and implementations.
Take NICIL for example, if a Guyanese shows up with a Business Plan say for re-newable power development for the country, they enquire about the amount of ppl it will employ, a five years projections, your profit margins and so and so on. They doan get it that projects of these goes through developmental stages. A Chinese fella shows up there with ficticious numbers and they give everything with a handshake.
Another thing, in all government ministries, they will tell u they doan have money for developmental projects unless a donor provides it. Where is all the gold money going and also Nrway funds?
Suggestions:
Say if u agree with me.
Guyanese equipped with the knowledge of adding to the development in all facets of the country is grossly misunderstood. These endeavours takes time in planning and implementations.
Take NICIL for example, if a Guyanese shows up with a Business Plan say for re-newable power development for the country, they enquire about the amount of ppl it will employ, a five years projections, your profit margins and so and so on. They doan get it that projects of these goes through developmental stages. A Chinese fella shows up there with ficticious numbers and they give everything with a handshake.
Another thing, in all government ministries, they will tell u they doan have money for developmental projects unless a donor provides it. Where is all the gold money going and also Nrway funds?
There are many things to parse out here and address. I have my girlfriend pissed that I spending so much time here, she want to go to movies and see real stuff. I have tough choices, just like the GoG.
Suggestions:
1. Guyana has been and will continue for eternity to be below sea-level.
2. The sea defenses has been serving their purpose for a very long time.
3. Guyana's coast land is unique in that it is subject to cyclic erosion; caused specifically by the influence of the Orinoco and the Amazon rivers. Prof. Ven Te Chow's published specific issues on this aspect for Guyana/British Guiana. Cyclic erosion means that anywhere along the Guyana coast land and islands, erosion will occur unexpectedly. Many may remember the times when a place will have nice sandy beach and the next day, it will vanish.
4. Engineers in Guyana are doing their best with the situation and available resources.
5. The drainage system is designed to retain flows during the high tide and empty in the low periods. However, there are numerous situations when a number of natural conditions would indeed cause flooding plus making the system to function far below capacity.
6. A few times on GNI, I provided detailed explanations of the issues.
Suggestions:
1. Guyana has been and will continue for eternity to be below sea-level.
2. The sea defenses has been serving their purpose for a very long time.
3. Guyana's coast land is unique in that it is subject to cyclic erosion; caused specifically by the influence of the Orinoco and the Amazon rivers. Prof. Ven Te Chow's published specific issues on this aspect for Guyana/British Guiana. Cyclic erosion means that anywhere along the Guyana coast land and islands, erosion will occur unexpectedly. Many may remember the times when a place will have nice sandy beach and the next day, it will vanish.
4. Engineers in Guyana are doing their best with the situation and available resources.
5. The drainage system is designed to retain flows during the high tide and empty in the low periods. However, there are numerous situations when a number of natural conditions would indeed cause flooding plus making the system to function far below capacity.
6. A few times on GNI, I provided detailed explanations of the issues.
The man DG, book of facts. There are benefits being around for a few years.
Attend to the young lady's choices.
Otherwise, you might loose both corn and husk.
I had a lil HAHAHA for it, it aright.
Should I respond in kind and say that as a descendent of outcastes of clan lohar, pillar danglyar, and chamar, etc you should stick to tanning hides or hunting rats or emptying the local open pit latrine? As noted earlier, you are not only a bigot but suffer from their endemic disease; heads bigger than the contents it pretends to contain. Worse you are a vile creature at that.
As you need walls to have a house and so be protected from the wind and the rain you need the Seawall to restrain the sea if where you build your house is subject to flooding. To say you cannot invest in that is to say you are completely out of your mind and should not be put in charge of any decision making. You obviously cannot think on the necessary steps to preserve your community.
As usual you return to your usual racist harping about "freeness". First, you need to ask yourself who in the government own anything to give away? It is a matter of allocation of resources and obviously the Seawall comes first.
BTW where did I suggest that resources are infinite? To the contrary you I said it was a matter of priority. Why build a hotel if the sea will wash it away? In any event, for one who so often clamor about economics, any fool will tell you the first law of economics is the law of scarcity so there was no need to yelp stupidly on the obvious about finite resources.
Guyana which has important parts that are very much below sea level is in severe trouble because of global warming and the melting of artic/antartic glaciers. Engineers cannot perform miracles. The only solution is to move Georgetown and other towns further inland. And start doing that right away.
The defence against flooding is a joke in Guyana. But it is an unimportant joke under the PPP. Building a new airport and hydro electric plant are far more important. But nobody has yet told the PPP that you can't land in the water with a jet unless it is an emergency landing. And water and electricity don't mix.
Should I respond in kind and say that as a descendent of outcastes of clan lohar, pillar danglyar, and chamar, etc you should stick to tanning hides or hunting rats or emptying the local open pit latrine? As noted earlier, you are not only a bigot but suffer from their endemic disease; heads bigger than the contents it pretends to contain. Worse you are a vile creature at that.
As you need walls to have a house and so be protected from the wind and the rain you need the Seawall to restrain the sea if where you build your house is subject to flooding. To say you cannot invest in that is to say you are completely out of your mind and should not be put in charge of any decision making. You obviously cannot think on the necessary steps to preserve your community.
As usual you return to your usual racist harping about "freeness". First, you need to ask yourself who in the government own anything to give away? It is a matter of allocation of resources and obviously the Seawall comes first.
BTW where did I suggest that resources are infinite? To the contrary you I said it was a matter of priority. Why build a hotel if the sea will wash it away? In any event, for one who so often clamor about economics, any fool will tell you the first law of economics is the law of scarcity so there was no need to yelp stupidly on the obvious about finite resources.
You, like TK are high-end theoreticians who can write a good dissertation however, 99% of people and Govts have to exist in the "real" world.
Suggestions:
Economics 101. The GoG, USG, EU, Russians, Saudis, no one has money to do everything. There is only so much to go around at any point in time. The GoG have choices given the many needs and limited resources.
NOW you get it. When you said "resources are not finite" that could only mean that you were saying that resources are infinite, no? And if indeed that was what you were saying I was interested in that secret you seemed to know about Guyana's infinite resources. I'm glad that you have seen the light i.e., Guyana's resources are finite but the corollary to that is that priorities must be soundly set.
The AFC/PNC rabble rousers would have us believe that Guyana should drop every issue and spend all the country's money on sea defense. Even the great America have volume of ills, failing bridges, roads, poverty, hunger, homelessness and jihadists but yet they find money to give to Israel and other nations. These fools must never be allowed to lead the nation again, they will build the strongest sea walls while the people starve, then a tsnumi will come and they will cry that it was an act of god.
Suggestions:
NOW you get it. When you said "resources are not finite" that could only mean that you were saying that resources are infinite, no? And if indeed that was what you were saying I was interested in that secret you seemed to know about Guyana's infinite resources. I'm glad that you have seen the light i.e., Guyana's resources are finite but the corollary to that is that priorities must be soundly set.
Ahh, slip, I meant "finite". You got me there, baseman "boweth" to da angel!!
Originally Posted by baseman:You, like TK are high-end theoreticians who can write a good dissertation however, 99% of people and Govts have to exist in the "real" world.
Is that as smart a response you can devise? Let me again inform you of a common sense notion: a wise man does not of necessity have to know how to perform a task, he has to know how to source those and manage those who can in order of priority and according to his available resources. In any event, I am sure I have had more experience building things by mid twenties than those lungheras in office ever had when they took office.
Another invented personality, now an engineer and architect by his mid 20ties. What a guy, from dollar store clerk to builder.
Former yes latter no but the premise still stands. None of those crooks in office was ever renown for running a cake shop. Ramotar's Gimpex experience does not make him an engineer or an architect. In any event, take my sparce resume as a 25 year old to heart as an illustration of the lack of talent in the ruling lot in the PPP.
Originally Posted by baseman:You, like TK are high-end theoreticians who can write a good dissertation however, 99% of people and Govts have to exist in the "real" world.
Is that as smart a response you can devise? Let me again inform you of a common sense notion: a wise man does not of necessity have to know how to perform a task,.
Unfortunately for you, you are neither a wise man nor do you know how to get things done. You are a long-winded huff-puff empty barrel.
Similarly, experience as a dollar store clerk does not qualify you to be an expert on running a country.
Being an architect or engineer is not a requirement for being president of a nation.
In fact the PPP has done relatively well compared to other administrations around the Caribbean as they keep leading the country to year over year growth, despite challenges with claims of corruption and mo fiah slow fiah to drive away investors. Note that phantomizing seem to have positive effects as we see greater investor confidence evidenced by long time US residents returning to open businesses and build opulent buildings.
Is that as smart a response you can devise? Let me again inform you of a common sense notion: a wise man does not of necessity have to know how to perform a task,.
Unfortunately for you, you are neither a wise man nor do you know how to get things done. You are a long-winded huff-puff empty barrel.
Long or short you make as much sense as a bull with tits. The simple matter is you are a defending the corrupt and on reasons no worse than you are a racist pig.
Similarly, experience as a dollar store clerk does not qualify you to be an expert on running a country.
Being an architect or engineer is not a requirement for being president of a nation.
In fact the PPP has done relatively well compared to other administrations around the Caribbean as they keep leading the country to year over year growth, despite challenges with claims of corruption and mo fiah slow fiah to drive away investors. Note that phantomizing seem to have positive effects as we see greater investor confidence evidenced by long time US residents returning to open businesses and build opulent buildings.
As I noted, were I a clerk I would make a damn good one which is not saying much for the crooks in office.
We have growth on begging. We have no viable industry except the begging bowl. If gold goes the last bastion of productive capacity is through the door. The man living on a credit card is fine until the bills come due.
Dude, not everyone comes home from work and sits on a couch until bed time. Some,like myself,use time wisely and we learn/we teach.
I won't bother posting my accomplishments because of the idiotic statements that would come from people like yourself who's aim is to put down anyone smarter than them, because they truly believe that everyone else is as stupid as they are.
As I noted, were I a clerk I would make a damn good one which is not saying much for the crooks in office.
We have growth on begging. We have no viable industry except the begging bowl. If gold goes the last bastion of productive capacity is through the door. The man living on a credit card is fine until the bills come due.
Who is we? You have no vested interest in Guyana nor do you pay taxes there. What gives you the impression that you are a good dollar store clerk? Your job is limited to adding up items and multiplying by 1, then stocking empty shelves.
Your analysis is flawed with regards to the growth in Guyana. The entrepreneurs are uplifting the country with micro industries in conjunction with mining. Expats are returning in droves, buying up property and adding to the economic boom. You don't know enough about Guyana to make these statements.
Who is we? You have no vested interest in Guyana nor do you pay taxes there. What gives you the impression that you are a good dollar store clerk? Your job is limited to adding up items and multiplying by 1, then stocking empty shelves.
Your analysis is flawed with regards to the growth in Guyana. The entrepreneurs are uplifting the country with micro industries in conjunction with mining. Expats are returning in droves, buying up property and adding to the economic boom. You don't know enough about Guyana to make these statements.
Who are you to decide on your own what are my vested interests? I am here and have been for 12 years so there has to be some interest however remote you may categorize it.
None of what you say shows up on any economic analysis. It only shows up in your head. We are a begging bowl economy and it will remain that way until we can find means to bootstrap local industries. To this point they are all crippled and only or non renewable resources produce income.
Who are you to decide on your own what are my vested interests? I am here and have been for 12 years so there has to be some interest however remote you may categorize it.
None of what you say shows up on any economic analysis. It only shows up in your head. We are a begging bowl economy and it will remain that way until we can find means to bootstrap local industries. To this point they are all crippled and only or non renewable resources produce income.
What economic analysis have you done? I have been there and seen for myself all the growing micro industries ranging from agriculture, fishing, logging, furniture making, quarrying and the list goes on and on. Go visit instead of referencing the same study as caribj.