“At 74, it’s time I give way to young people,” he told Guyana Times during an exclusive interview on Monday.
In fact, he contended that many Ministers and other persons currently in positions of authority are not young people.
“The [David] Granger Administration has a fair amount of mature people, myself included. You got people like [Winston] Felix, who is in his late 60s, Prime Minister [Moses] Nagamootoo, who turned 70 the other day, Carl Greenidge, who is late 60s, [Joseph] Harmon is 65, you see what I mean?”
The APNU/AFC Government has been constantly criticised, especially by the parliamentary Opposition, for sidelining youths, particularly since the majority of its Cabinet members are above the age of 50.
‘Pleased’
It was under his watch that the four sugar estates were shut down, sending thousands of persons on the breadline. These are the Wales Estate, the Enmore Estate, the Skeldon Estate and the Rose Hall Estate. Asked if he had any regrets about the decision or the way in which it was executed, Holder replied in the negative.
“So, I am quite happy with what we’ve done with the sugar industry,” he posited, assuring that with the current Government’s plan, the industry will “become viable again”.
Among of his achievements, he said, are the appointment of a Chief Agricultural Officer – a position which did not previously exist, the passage of the Food Safety Act, and making several semi-autonomous agencies like the Guyana Rice Development Board and the Pesticides and Toxic Chemical Control Board self-sufficient and self-financing.
AFC PNC is made up of dinosaur fossils. No wonder youths are now supporting the PPP. These old AFC PNC dinosaurs 🦕 will be booted out of office !
Unless a person is old they would not understand how assinine that statement is. In the First World where the fools making that comment will be working in their mid eighties if they are healthy. The government doan have the money to sustain the benefits. In Guyana, life is cheap and living is cheap, maybe ppl there can stop working at 50. Hell, many are already liming on overseas money.
Old men in Guyanese politics are useless anyway.
Old men and women are normally reluctant to let go of their occupations and only legally stipulated retirement age makes them hang up their gloves. Politicians don't have a binding retirement age. So they usually work until illness or death steps in.
Not only in the field of work but also in leisure are old men and women prone to be active and reluctant to step down. GNI Political Discussion Forum is an example. The majority of us are in our 60s, 70s and even 80s and we collectively clamor to voice our opinions.
Having said the above, I must also say that the old APNU+AFC politicians have held on to power at the expense of youths. Despite its 2015 manifesto promises the Coalition disgracefully disregarded youths, depriving them from contributing meaningfully to societal development. Shame on those Grangerite geezers.
Ow bai, me not in the 60, 70 and 80 group. Me still a spring chicken yet.
DJ said that he is trying to bring back some old GNI members. He is doing exactly what Granger did when he took office by stacking his cabinet with dinosaur fossils.
So, I believe it’s time for us, having brought some maturity to the system, it’s time that we move on and hand over to the youn
This bloody dunce think he is talking to Jackasses. Maturity my ass when they ran with their marbles crying after Charandaas and CCJ. FRIGGIN IDIOT!!!