APNU+ AFC predicts 62% win at May 11 polls

May 8, 2015 1:30 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

Presidential Candidate of the APNU+AFC Coalition, Brigadier David Granger. [iNews' Photo]

Presidential Candidate of the APNU+AFC Coalition, Brigadier David Granger and WPA Member, Dr Rupert Roopnarine [iNews’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Presidential Candidate of the APNU+AFC Coalition, Brigadier David Granger and his team are expecting to receive between 58 % – 62% of the votes on May 11 when Guyanese head to the polls.

At a news conference on Friday, May 08, the Presidential Candidate reminded that in 2011, the APNU and AFC were able to acquire 51% of the votes combined.

As such he noted that the coalition is now looking at an additional of 7% to 10% of the votes.

According to Granger, “there is a large uncommitted voter population, they are uncommitted. From the studies that we have seen and it is our view that we will be able to tap into that uncommitted voter population.

“People are appalled at the level of corruption of this country; people are appalled at the level of crime and failure of the PPP to deal with criminality, people are appalled at the level of cronyism which continues and the PPP seems to have lost any sense of objectivity.”

The Presidential Candidate noted that the ruling People’s Progressive Party is sliding towards a fall from power in the 2015 general and regional elections.

He said the Party has been in decline for several years as its “core” supporters deserted the Party in disgust.

“The PPP’s electoral performance has been declining over the past eighteen years. The PPP claimed 220, 667 votes in the controversial 1997 general and regional elections. Its tally fell to 210,013 in 2001. It then fell to 182,156 in 2006. It finally crashed to 166, 340 in 2011 when it lost its majority in the National Assembly to APNU and the AFC,” Granger told the news conference.

He further noted that Ramotar’s brief presidency has been plagued by a wave of angry public protests, highlighting protests on the coastland – from paddy farmers, public servants, university lecturers, human rights activists and other groups. There were also protests in hinterland communities – from the Indigenous people living there and in Bartica, Mabaruma, Mahdia, Lethem and Port Kaituma.

“The result is that the PPP is now facing a ‘tsunami’ of troubles which grows more threatening by the day,” the APNU+AFC Presidential Candidate said.

The PPP installed an extremely burdensome tax (VAT) on the backs of the impoverished Guyanese people. And despite their boast of raking in billions annually, have not fixed any of Guyana's decayed infrastructure. Where does the money go you ask? One can only use their common sense to deduce why the PPP government is deemed the most corrupt in the region.

That statement by the DAG (David Arthur Granger) will no doubt drive the uncommitted Indian voters back to the PPP/C from the AFC.  The APNU/AFC has all along been counting their chickens before they were hatched. Now they come up with this stupidness. I wonder, whether they are preparing their supporters  to create violence, if they loose, by saying that the PPP/C stole their votes. Every move a political party makes carries a deep meaning and purpose. 

At a news conference on Friday, May 08, the Presidential Candidate reminded that in 2011, the APNU and AFC were able to acquire 51% of the votes combined.

As such he noted that the coalition is now looking at an additional of 7% to 10% of the votes.

APNU+ AFC predicts 62% win at May, 11 polls,May 8, 2015 1:30pm,  Category: latest news A+ / A-
By Fareeza Haniff

AFC clearly stated in 2011 that it is independent of the PPP/C and PNC. Immediately after the 2011 election, the AFC coalesced firmly with the PNC to the effect that it-AFC is now emerged with the PNCR.

The dynamics has changed for the 2015 elections, and while one may speculate that the voters in 2011 still remains firmly with the AFC, information has shown that the support for the AFC is declining from that obtained in 2011.

The election is clearly between the PPP/C and the PNCR.

LMAO LMAO

62%

Have you all taken leave of your senses?

If black people turn out ( mixed +black) and vote as they usually do plus the APNU-AFC is able to poach 10%  of Indian votes plus as much of the Amerindian votes as they did the last time combined, that is not out of reach. I however doubt it, all things being equal.  They will win with around 53 percent if the do and lose by 1 if they lose.

LMAO LMAO

62%

How can AFC-APNU win?

They do not use State Funds to Buy Sperm?

Sperm Turns into Votes - Isn't that Right. 

How can AFC-APNU win?

AFC-APNU did not pay for your Hotel stay in Guyana?

Anil Dhar Poke used Guyana Govt money to Pay- Isn't that Right?

How can AFC-APNU win?

They did not thief State funds to Pay for your Hotel Stay?

Moses treat you with scorn when the discover your Dishonesty -Isn't that Right?

How can AFC-APNU win?

They did not use state Resources to accommodate

you during your stay in Guyana?

They knew you were just another Coolie Thief -Isn't that Right?

How can AFC-APNU win?

Shyte Jihaji Racism or Goat-Shit does not fit anywhere in the Partnership?

Your Racism & Goat Shit nonsense do not fit with Honesty and Integrity - Isn't that Right?

How can AFC-APNU win?

They did not promise you Wuk or Position in Govt in Guyana?

Were you hoping to hide this from GNI - Isn't that Right?

How can AFC-APNU win?

Did They Ignore your request to be the Counsel General in any city overseas?

Now that the truth is out, How will you face CaribJ and Others - You are a Shameless Racist Jihaji Crab-Louse - Isn't that Right?

How can AFC-APNU win?

Shitty Shyte got Jalil Banned from GNI until After Elections ..... so all the Racist Jihaji secrets are kept undercover and not mentioned.

Now....R U going to try to get Kishan Banned too - Is that Right?

APNU+ AFC predicts 62% win at May, 11 polls,May 8, 2015 1:30pm,  Category: latest news A+ / A-
By Fareeza Haniff

AFC clearly stated in 2011 that it is independent of the PPP/C and PNC. Immediately after the 2011 election, the AFC coalesced firmly with the PNC to the effect that it-AFC is now emerged with the PNCR.

Bugger-Man Kwame been Saying

PNCR = APNU

Therefore here is the Proof

DG = Bugger-man Kwame

The dynamics has changed for the 2015 elections, and while one may speculate that the voters in 2011 still remains firmly with the AFC, information has shown that the support for the AFC is declining from that obtained in 2011.

PNCR = APNU

DG = Bugger-man Kwame

The election is clearly between the PPP/C and the PNCR.

PNCR = APNU

DG = Bugger-man Kwame

Originally Posted by Vish M:

62 % is too low, maybe they want 92%.

Wednesday, the numbers will be realistic.

in the meanwhile surf along

Not 92%

100% of the Bogus Airline Operating Permit

will be cancelled.

That Operating Permit

that Mr Samaroo was kind enough to Share

with CaribJ and others on GNI.

LMAO LMAO

62%

If black people turn out ( mixed +black) and vote as they usually do plus the APNU-AFC is able to poach 10%  of Indian votes plus as much of the Amerindian votes as they did the last time combined, that is not out of reach. I however doubt it, all things being equal.  They will win with around 53 percent if the do and lose by 1 if they lose.

Stormy,you are close to my prediction.

LMAO LMAO

62%

You probably think that its the PPP which will get that, thanks to all those panicked Indians who feel that a vulgar black woman will send them to the gas chambers.

Having said that APNU AFC 52%.  The rant by the Indo KKK scaring away the few non Indian PPP voters from the PPP.  Also dismaying many Indians (more than you think).

What should be evident is that Guyanese are tired of the fighting and want dialogue.  APNU AFC have proven that they do.  The hysterical screams of apan jhat by the PPP proves that they do not.

LMAO LMAO

62%

That's roughly about what I've said before, they actually should be getting no less than 65%. I am appalled if they do get less and if PPP manages to tief enough votes and get in, it would make me very sorry for my ignorant country people.

This is still a close election. The logic says APNU-AFC by a 51 - 49% of the vote count and a slim 1 seat majority. However, we've seen how polling in the UK was off target and Netanyahu was upposed to be overtaken by the Centrist Hertzog party (Shaitaan will take hope), and how momentum by the Obama campaign in 2008 swept him beyond the logic numbers. The same  dynamic may render the logic of a 1-seat difference - that is momentum, which seems to be on the side of the APNU-AFC coalition. If momentum plays a big part the coalition can easily bump up that majority by another 4 seats or so. The X-factor, the apaan jhaat factor, that proponents like Shaitaan believe is that Indians will get cold feet in the privacy of the booth. Nah gon happen. The world has moved on. Even canecutters get it. The PPP did a good job to mek dem get it - all the thievery, corruption, cronyism and lawlessness.

Between now and Monday the PPP WILL come up with some shenanigan(s) and those sitting on the shelf will need that push to make them jump for change. Watch dem words come through banna.

Honestly I was expecting a Closer Elections,

a better fight from PPP

but Donald is left looking like a Jackass

and total Failure and waste.

Jagdeo Godey was too heavy

for Donald to carry.

Donald lost 10-15% support

because of Berri Ramsarran.

And it is all because of Jagdeo Godey.

Berri Berri leaving the Govt work

to run behind Jagdeo Court case.

All those who feel sorry for Donald

must know Jagdeo give him

a Basket to fetch water....

PPP Landslide Defeat

Big_Seed must be glad

he write off the PPP

when we show him the light...

PPP got 5 years to clean up

See you again in 2020

Quote "

According to Granger, “there is a large uncommitted voter population, they are uncommitted. From the studies that we have seen and it is our view that we will be able to tap into that uncommitted voter population.

“People are appalled at the level of corruption of this country; people are appalled at the level of crime and failure of the PPP to deal with criminality"

Could this large percentage of first time voters see the APNU/AFC obtaining a larger percentage, taking into consideration that the Corrupt and thieving PPP/C has been in a slump since 1997 to the last Elections, would their slump continues?

One of the reasons that will see the PPP/C going down, is because of the many lies told by Donald Duck.....those lies are coming back to bite his arse.

David Granger conscientiously learned from the late Forbes Burnham and Desmond Hoyte, starting in the late 1960's, and he will be implementing basically their approaches.

low bhai,smh

like Shaitaan believe is that Indians will get cold feet in the privacy of the booth. Nah gon happen. The world has moved on. Even canecutters get it. The PPP did a good job to mek dem get it - all the thievery, corruption, cronyism and lawlessness.

Kari APNU AFC have at least 90% of the non Indian vote.

So if the PPP comes in with 49% an awful lot of Indos would have panicked.

I keep on warning you to be careful about what you say because come May 12th some people will be called "racial" when the reality is that they are merely "racially insecure".

Originally Posted by asj:

Quote "

According to Granger, “there is a large uncommitted voter population, they are uncommitted.

Could this large percentage of first time voters see the APNU/AFC obtaining a larger percentage,

Uncommitted young voters usually don't vote.  The youth are quite passionate, and not jaded with cynicism like older people.

So if at this stage they are still uncommitted it isn't, "who should I vote for?,"  But "why should I vote"?

This election will turn on who shows up.  If African/mix vote heavily APNU AFC wins.   If young voters show up APNU AFC wins. 

If the uncommitted are PPP supporters who either didn't vote last time, who voted for Moses, and others who voted PPP last time, but are frustrated with Ramotar and the blatant corruption, then the PPP loses.

I suspect in a highly charged election like this many of the uncommitted don't plan to vote.

David Granger conscientiously learned from the late Forbes Burnham and Desmond Hoyte, starting in the late 1960's, and he will be implementing basically their approaches.

You do need to believe that.

Problem is that Hoyte was no Burnham and many people no longer care about a man who died 30 years ago.

PPP/C cannot escape the inevitable fall from power – Granger

May 9, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

After traveling the length and breadth of the country on a vigorous election campaign, Presidential Candidate of A Partnership for National Unity plus Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC), David Granger, is convinced that there is an enormous movement in favour of the coalition.

APNU+AFC Presidential Candidate, David Granger

At a press conference held at the coalition’s headquarters in Queenstown yesterday, Granger told members of the media that he is absolutely confident that his party will win a majority in the upcoming election.

The Presidential hopeful said that come May 11, the electorate will have an opportunity to choose between

the APNU+AFC coalition’s commitment

to establish a ‘government of national unity’

or

the People’s Progressive Party/ Civic’s (PPP/C) determination

to continue its ‘winner-takes-all’ approach.

Granger said, too, that the PPP/C is sliding towards a fall from power in the 2015 general and regional elections. He stated that the government has been experiencing a decline in its support base for several years.

He then pointed to the PPP/C’s electoral performance to justify his conclusion.

“The PPP claimed

220,667 votes in the controversial 1997

general and regional elections.

Its tally fell to 210,013 in 2001.

It then fell to 182,156 in 2006.

It finally crashed to 166,340 in 2011

when it lost its majority in the National Assembly

to APNU and the AFC.

The decline started in August 1999

when Bharrat Jagdeo replaced Janet Jagan.

“Jagdeo, despite his boastful behaviour

and swaggering style,

was the author of the PPP’s problems,

losing over 54,000 votes from Janet Jagan’s

assumed tally in 1997.

His tenure ended in 2011

after the failure of ineffective manoeuvres

to seek a new term of office,”

The Opposition leader expressed.

Granger said, too,

that the PPP/C during the “Jagdeo era”

persistently failed to address

the people’s basic needs for public services

and embarked instead on a series of expensive

but misconceived mega-projects

such as the Fibre Optic Cable Project,

the Specialty Surgical Hospital and

the Amaila Falls Hydro-power Project road.

The politician recalled that the government

tried to subordinate the National Assembly

to the Executive branch of government on several occasions.

He said that it also impaired regulatory

and law-enforcement agencies 

such as the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit,

the Environmental Protection Agency

and the Guyana Energy Agency

by depriving them of adequate assets,

equipment and finance to such an extent

as to diminish their capability to function effectively.

He contended that the PPP even cultivated

the state-owned communications media –

the Government Information Agency (GINA),

Guyana National Newspapers Limited

(publishers of the Guyana Chronicle)

and the National Communications Network (NCN) –

as Party organs to systematically exclude dissenting opinions.

But in focusing on stifling the opposition

and the nation as a whole,

Granger said that the party failed to address

the country’s most pressing problem,

the public security crisis.

He said that government has never accepted

its responsibility for the high rate of armed robberies,

the murderous maritime piracy,

the rampant gun-running

and contraband smuggling

and other violent crimes

that rage along the coastland.

“The entire nation is alarmed

at the rising homicide rate.

There have been more than 2,100 murders

over the past 15 years

during the two deadly Jagdeo and Ramotar presidencies.

Guyana’s murder rate is three times higher

than that of the United States.

The PPP failed to advance local democracy

by destroying neighbourhood democratic councils

and delaying local government elections.

It failed to maintain educational standards

which are now characterized by poor performance

from the level of primary schools to the university,”

Granger added.

Because of its poor governance and negligence,

the APNU+AFC Presidential Candidate

said that the PPP/C is now facing a ‘tsunami’ of troubles

which grows more threatening by the day.

As such, Granger opined that government

“cannot escape the inevitable fall from power”

when general and regional elections

are held on May 11.

His Shadow Minister of Agriculture,

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine asserted

that observer groups asked the coalition

if it is prepared to deal with the possibility of the results

being in favour of the PPP/C.

The politician said that it was related to the missions

that once there is no violation

of the electoral process, laws and practices,

then the APNU+AFC would find no difficulty

in accepting results of the elections.

He said that this sentiment

was also communicated to its supporters.

“We have, at every rally and public meeting,

stressed to people that we want a peaceful election

and post-election period,

but there is such a surge of hope…

and if they individually detect

that there are deliberate attempts

to frustrate the process,

then I fear they will be difficult to restrain…

but we will do our best to try to calm the people,”

the APNU Executive expressed.

Two days more to go before Elections dawns on Guyanese, and so far I do not see any reasonable indication/s that the PPP/C will muster over 50 percent of the votes.

If I were to follow a trend over the years, what do I find?

In 1997 the PPP/C got 220,667 Votes

In 2001 the PPP/C got 210,013 Votes

In 2005 the PPP/C got 182,156 Votes

In 2011 the PPP/C got 166,340 Votes

Following the trends from above, there is no viable reason to assume that the PPP/C will muster more votes in May 11/2015.

Other reasonable phenomena to take into consideration, for the past five years or so, the cry of the Guyanese Population has never been so hot as to the thieving and Corruptions within the PPP/C.

Because of the above, sometimes I am at a loss to figure why would the Corrupt and thieving PPP/C now at this time where their Popularity has dwindled, muster more votes.

Another reason of importance, these pricks, even the President, Donald Duck and his PPP/C Ministers has been making promises, to left right and centre, and when time comes to fulfill same, they would not.

Finally come May 11th 2015, we all would know what to expect, unless of course the PPP/C would put all their goons (those PNC thugs) that they employs to work........and make this election a mirror to Burnham's type of Election.

Let the PPP/C knows that "Dem ah watch you"