APNU plans to‘re – fashion’ Budget 2015 – Harmon

January 24, 2015 12:58 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Tracey Khan – Drakes

Attorney - at - Law and Opposition Parliamentarian, Joseph Harmon. [iNews' Photo]

Attorney – at – Law and Opposition Parliamentarian, Joseph Harmon. [iNews’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – General Secretary of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Joseph Harmon says the ongoing budget preparation by the ruling People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Government will be ‘re-fashioned’ by the political Opposition in the 11th Parliament.

In his explanation of Government’s action in this regard, Harmon told iNews that the political Opposition was not consulted for the preparation of budget 2015.

During a telephone interview with iNews, Harmon acknowledged that it is the responsibility of the Government to prepare a national budget but inclusion of key stakeholders is pivotal in this process to ensure the Guyanese people benefit.

“In any event, in a next Government we are not bound by the framework which this Government establishes in the preparation of a budget. I believe our focus will definitely be a different one from what the PPP is focused on, what they call transformational projects to the expense of the poor people, the working class of this country. We have to refashion that budget,” Harmon said.

He believes that the government is now spending money unlawfully and expects that the 11th Parliament will ratify their unlawful spending.

Harmon questioned government’s certainty of the outcome of the next general and regional elections, slated for May 11, 2015.

“I don’t know why Dr. [Roger] Luncheon is assuming that the PPP will be in government in the 11th Parliament and so he believes they can actually spend money and not account for it at that time, it is I believe contentious, it is an obnoxious statement for him [Dr Luncheon] to make.”

Cabinet Secretary, Dr. Roger Luncheon on Friday announced that the life of the 10th Parliament is “history’; however preparations are still ongoing for budget 2015.

On November 10, 2014, President Donald Ramotar decided to prorogue Parliament in order to avoid an Opposition sponsored No Confidence Motion against the government.

The President is yet to make a proclamation for the dissolution of Parliament, in order to make May 11 the official ‘E’ day.

General Secretary of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Joseph Harmon says the ongoing budget preparation by the ruling People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Government will be ‘re-fashioned’ by the political Opposition in the 11th Parliament.

APNU plans to‘re – fashion’ Budget 2015 – Harmon, January 24, 2015 12:58 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-, By Tracey Khan – Drakes, [www.inewsguyana.com]

"Opposition parties can join in the approval or rejection of the entire budget."

The opposition parties can debate and differ on aspects of the budget.

Proposed changes can be provided, as a completely separate issue, for the government to consider.

When will the opposition ever get the chance to do this?

Look yeh, the man more or less said after PPP gets turfed, the new Government will re-fashion the budget...you ketch?

Cainster

De PNC Hydro Engineer is a Ole Flip Burger.

Flipping between PPP & PNC.

He say Jagan send him to study Free and

Burnham give he wuk and sign he Card.

Dis Geeza enjoy he days in PPP & PNC.

So Kwame & Jagabat was not de first Practicing Nastiness.

When will the opposition ever get the chance to do this?

Look yeh, the man more or less said after PPP gets turfed, the new Government will re-fashion the budget...you ketch?

Cain how can you re-fashion

refashion sheath dress by thisblogisnotforyou.com

De PNC Hydro Engineer.....

to PPP/GINA Floor Cloth.

I guess he is too close to Kwame

In May 2015 the PPP/C be elected to form the government.

You been helping stuff boxes nuh? Did you also help the PNC back in de days?

Cain ....

yuh see why Ray

tell them to "F" off....

Dem want Re-Fashion PPP.....

De PNC Hydro Engineer & Kwame

Focused on fiction rather that real issues seem a major challenge for you.

DG

You mess up de man.

He is now going to draw up a bunch of pictures and post profanity.

So tell us Cleo, how did you come up with the results already?

DG

You mess up yuh pants.

When ya gotta go...276961_195209553871470_6346310_n.jpg

So tell us Cleo, how did you come up with the results already?

We all have our approaches on this matter.