The PPP's nightmare has begun. What the PPP feared most is going to happen as sure as Monday follows Sunday.

Being the incumbent party, claiming credit for progress and prosperity, the PPP could have campaigned reasonably on its track record and let the voters judge for themselves.

Instead, from early days this year the PPP unofficially began its negative campaigning, trying to scare Berbicians and other Guyanese about the terrible PNC 28-year regime.

After ruling Guyana for 22 years, the PPP is still obsessed about the PNC's past. The PPP viciously attacks the AFC not for being the AFC but for tactically joining with APNU/PNC in the National Assembly to vote down PPP motions and bills.

What the PPP refuses to acknowledge is the large proportion of voters who are relatively young, who were born after big bad Burnham, and who prefer to focus on their future rather than the Burnham era.

Enter Tarron Khemraj, Gerhard Ramsaroop and others, educated and intelligent young people who refuse to swallow the PPP pill, who are capable of making their own informed analyses, and who will definitely give the PPP a run for their money in future elections.

As far as today's letter co-signed by Tarron and Gerhard is concerned, I understand their reasoning and wish them success in spreading the word.

Instead, from early days this year the PPP unofficially began its negative campaigning, trying to scare Berbicians and other Guyanese about the terrible PNC 28-year regime.

After ruling Guyana for 22 years, the PPP is still obsessed about the PNC's past. The PPP viciously attacks the AFC not for being the AFC but for tactically joining with APNU/PNC in the National Assembly to vote down PPP motions and bills.

The above is music to Caribny's ears. It validates everything he's been saying, and thus why should the PNC NOT apologize to the nation.

Here's the brilliance in that - it works!

Does that not lend validity to the notion that the PNC need to remove this PNC Bogeyman the PPP uses to scare Berbicians and other Guyanese? And how do you remove it? Try "No Apology" and see if youi can airbrush this distrust mindset away.

Kari if people want to be scared by the PPP a PNC apology will not change that.  In fact the PPP will take the apology to validate their accusations, and in the meantime anointing themselves the more high ground.

You do not demand an apology from the PPP so a moral high ground they will get.  Gilbakka told you so.  Even baseman told you so.  So why is it so hard for you to jump off of your sinking ship as the only people who agree with you are folks who will NEVER vote PNC, and that is yuji and company.

You can resort to laughter and endless permutations of your question marks and smiles and that fact will remain. This call for an apology is manna to the spear carriers and nothing  else.

So Kari, chief, yuji, Nehru, cobra and conscience can ask for a PNC apology.

NO ONE else thinks that such a request makes sense.

While there is lot to castigate the current PPP for I can understand the deep mistrust of the PNC. It is not about an accounting ledger; it's about a mind-set; and this is where the discussion about the PNC re-branding itself comes in. Dolly Hassan would couch it in terms of the new PNC distancing itself from the PNC that created this ugly mindset. [When Nehru, Cobra, et al rail on this forum, I do have some empathy for their sentiments - and its because of what the PNC - then and now - represents in their minds, whether it's true or false. And here is where the "apology" sentiment makes its appearance.

I haven't read all of TK's letter above but I'm reminded that the Hoyte's PNC was NEVER elected legitimately, and whatever the reason for a postponement of the 1990 elections to 1992, that Hoyte regime overstayed by 2 years. I worked for Hoyte and he's a decent man who had to fight the ghosts of the PNC factions that created this ugly mistrust. HE liberalized the Guyana economy and is rightly credited for it. He stomped out the kick-down-the-door bandits and received accolades for this. But the Hoyte PNC remaineda big caricature of the Burnham's PNC.

Granger, who as Dolly Hassan pointed out keeps the enemy close and asl of his base some sacrifice (a good tactic) is yet to distance the current incarnation of the PNC from the ugly one in the minds of the voters who will never vote PNC. This is why those who look askew at calls for an apology or a recognition of the dep scars of PNC past, will never make inroads in the mid set of the likes of Nehru, Cobra, etc, who do represent a significant mind-share of Guyanese back home. MEanwhile the beneficiaries are the PPP and one wonders if Redux and Carib are not being enablers in the PPP's free ride.

you admit that u "haven't read all of TK's [and Gerhard's] letter" yet feel qualified to comment stupidly (at length) on the subject @ hand . . . which is the LETTER

does that make any sense?

how fraudulent!

....and what about my comments following my limited reading of the first post? Do you have anything to say about these comments?

Kari....cari-cature......

Redux.....Robb Street dankey

mmmmmm......the symmetry is fascinating.....

ahmmm . . . is that the new "strategy" to cover up yuh privates when u stand stand naked and exposed bai . . . 'clever' banter and comedy?

sadly, u have neither the vocabulary, intelligence nor wit to pull it off successfully

[weak] but serviceable effort though

carry on

Originally Posted by Kari: will never make inroads in the mid set of the likes of Nehru, Cobra, etc, who do represent a significant mind-share of Guyanese back home. MEanwhile the beneficiaries are the PPP and one wonders if Redux and Carib are not being enablers in the PPP's free ride.

==============================================

And you are foolish enough to think that the likes of the people like the ones named will vote PNC with an apology.

I already hear them, plastering the apology as evidence that the PNC is bad and the PPP is good, because no one demanded an apology from them.

This while large chunks of the black grass roots will view this as another attempt to humiliate black people and will look at Granger as having not stood up to the Indian elites and demanded them also to apologize.

I wonder why you view black voters as a static group who you don't think that you also need to factor into the equation.  Why Kari? While many Indians might remain dalits frozen into inaction by the PPP because they "friken black man".

Granger is no Burnham so lacks the ability to mesmerize blacks the way he did until hunger hit their bellies around 1978.  Our legacy of slaver has always taught us to beware if our leaders are silently drinking soup offered by the oppressor while they pretend to represent the flock.  They caught Corbin with his lips wrapped around Jagdeo's (soup?).

It is safe to conclude that a few individuals were trying to be relevant. 

They tried to buy credibility by jumping on the Granger bandwagon in Richmond Hill.

My recommendation for these opportunistic individuals is to get involved in the politics of the Guyanese diaspora here in the USA. 

For starters, there is a need for a functioning Guyanese/Caribbean Bar Association.

For our educators, focus on what is good for Richmond Hill children and residents. Create your own Adult Education program, do not be a facilitator. create you own. Next Richmond Hill High School needs all your help.

Please show us you generally care for your local community then focus on the wide world

Vish M
Originally Posted by Vish M:

They tried to buy credibility by jumping on the Granger bandwagon in Richmond Hill.

My recommendation for these opportunistic individuals is to get involved in the politics of the Guyanese diaspora here in the USA. 

For starters, there is a need for a functioning Guyanese/Caribbean Bar Association.

For our educators, focus on what is good for Richmond Hill children and residents. Create your own Adult Education program, do not be a facilitator. create you own. Next Richmond Hill High School needs all your help.

Please show us you generally care for your local community then focus on the wide world

Me can see you point. Is a good point you make. You have you self interest and you is an opportunist as you blame other people. You still angry with Mr Mike Persaud?

MR HARRIPAUL COMMENT on Stabroek News:

Attention all paid PPP Bloggers! Please respond to the following:

In mid1970’s the Cuban Communist Party ordered the PPP to merge with PNC. Cheddi Jagan, cognizant of Indians’ cry of betrayal, instead adopted “critical support” for Burnham’s PNC. Almost all the Marxist cadres of the PPP,led by Rani Chandisingh, defected tothe PNC in 1975.

In1977, when Burnham was under pressure from the WPA, the PPP proposed a National Front Government with the PNC.

In1979 the PPP proposed a National Patriotic Front Government with the PNC.

In1980 the PPP betrayed a group of men on the West Demerara causing the PNC to arrest and charge them.

In 1979 the PPP ordered its members and supporters not to cooperate with the WPA, not to attend WPA meetings, and not to march with the WPA.

Soon after Walter Rodney was assassinated on Fri13thJune 1980, the Jaganites and the Burnhamites commenced secret power sharing talks.

HALLEY in SN comment:

This is an excellent, well argued letter that will be saved to my hard drive. The analogy of PNC Part 1 and Part 2 resonates well with young people because they understand the difference between Web 1.0 and Web 2.0. I agree with the well-argued points that PNC 2.0 under Hoyte was an enlightened creature and that the Hoyte years can be used as an apology for PNC 1.0 excesses.

I strongly suggest that the PNC public relations people broadcast to the nation the ideas of this letter night and day. They must also indicate to the masses how PNC 3.0 intends to broaden and deepen the work of "Desmond Persaud".

WOW Mr CaribJ: 

Granger is no Burnham so lacks the ability to mesmerize blacks the way he did until hunger hit their bellies around 1978.  Our legacy of slaver has always taught us to beware if our leaders are silently drinking soup offered by the oppressor while they pretend to represent the flock.  They caught Corbin with his lips wrapped around Jagdeo's (soup?).

Dolly Hassan, your slip is showing!

June 15, 2014 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Freddie Kissoon 

I don’t know who Dolly Hassan is (hereafter referred to as Dolly). I got to like the name Dolly after my brother took me to Empire Cinema in 1970 to see Dolly Baksh dance to the phenomenal guitar sound of Carlos Santana’s fantastic hit, “Samba Pa Ti.” I really like the name Dolly. I was smitten by Louis “Satchmo” Armstrong’s, “Hello Dolly,” which will remain one of the world’s favourite songs.

Dolly is a real person, lives in "Little Berbice" in Richmond Hill in New York, and probably belongs to a die-hard group of Richmond Hill PPP supporters who probably will never face history the way it should be or even care to glimpse into the rivers of Guyanese history for a fleeting moment.

My own take on history is that it holds the key to self-liberation. But why glance on the sea of history for freedom when you think you are already liberated? Dolly probably thinks she is.

Dolly was quoted as telling David Granger in New York, recently, that the PNC should apologize for the things it did when it was in Government. Dolly didn’t state whether it should be Mr. Burnham or Hoyte, but she couldn’t mean Hoyte, who remains the best president this country had. Dolly must know Hoyte was from the PNC. I hope she does.

Dolly followed up her brazen demand with letters in the Stabroek News last week in which she boldly stated the current PPP Government is a democratic one, because it allows critics to condemn the PPP but the PNC Government did not do that. Now, Dolly is either a very serious person or a very comical Guyanese.

If the PNC Government prevented its critics from speaking out, then how did the PPP survive? How did the PPP newspapers, Mirror and Thunder survive on the sprawling real estate in Ruimveldt, and the Mirror outlived Burnham? How did GAWU survive to become the richest union in the Caricom area, with the largest head office for any trade union in the Caricom area?

Now I do believe Burnham was an authoritarian president, but it is for Dolly to answer these questions. I don’t think Dolly will reply.

My contacts told me that Dolly belongs to a group in "Little Berbice" which counts as its influential leaders Vishnu Bisram, Anand Boodram and Ravi Dev who are die-hard Indian supporters of the PPP and who think that Freddie Kissoon is a madman. Vishnu Bisram has four letters in the Chronicle over the years that labeled me a madman.

Ravi Dev in the Kaieteur News suggested I see a psychiatrist. And Anand Boodram had a letter in the Chronicle four years ago that declared me clinically sick.

I never got around to asking Boodram what he thinks of the mental health of his very best friend, Vishnu Bisram. It was Bisram who replied to Mike Persaud in this very newspaper and told Persaud that he, Bisram, has a number of Masters and doctorates. It is this same Bisram who has been writing letters in both KN and SN the past ten years telling Guyanese that he conducts opinion surveys in a wide list of countries around the world throughout the calendar year, yet this same Bisram tells us in the same breath that he is a school teacher in Richmond Hill.

Well it is either Bisram is mad like me or he is the greatest acrobat since civilization began, that he can be in two places at the same time.
Bisram’s best friend, Boodram, thinks Freddie Kissoon is mad. But Boodram is yet to comment on his friend’s mental state. So do I think that both Bisram and Boodram are mad? I will stick to what I was trained in – history and philosophy. I know nothing about psychiatry, so I will return to the topic of the woman whose first name is one of my favourite appellations – Dolly.

So Dolly wants David Granger to apologize for the wrongs of the PNC government. But Dolly, the PPP regime committed the identical wrongs. What about twenty years of PPP evil? Don’t tell me Dolly doesn’t know about that.  Dolly, what about the death of Ronald Waddell? Dolly, don’t be asinine and deny who killed him.

Dolly what about Mark Thomas ('Kerzorkee') who was about to confess to the PPP’s role in extra-judicial killings and mysteriously died in police custody?  Dolly, the identical circumstances existed with David Leander ('Biscuit').

But shouldn’t the PPP or you Dolly, apologize to my family? I was attacked twice, saw my UG contract terminated and ended up three days on remand for an innocuous traffic offence. Dolly, your slip is showing and from the peep I got, it is expensive designer lingerie.  Dolly, do you know the devil wears Prada?

Originally Posted by Vish M:

I do not know what is your point here. People went out to meet Granger because he is the opposition leader of their country. Yes their country where their sense of who they are will forever elicit the suffixGuyanese Americans.

It is quite arrogant for you to say these folks  seeks to "buy" credibility. Do you know what motives reside in the inner sanctum of their being? Were you not being accused as a piddler, intruding where you do not belong and seeking relevance when you had none? Do not make the same  mistake of assuming the authority as the arbiter of relevance or motives

After Roopnarain, Totaram et al who thinks the Guyanese Bar association is an incubator of the credible and worthwhile?

You see involvement in the community as your forte. Some people simply do not have the time negotiating a terribly obstinate and apathetic group. If your strength is to persevere over endless head banging on rocks maybe you will be that special person who broke through a concrete wall of indifference. I wish you luck. Do not see it as a measure of who we are.

Maybe it is the legacy of the corrupt, and despised pillagers as elders in the community, inclusive of the Bar association leaders that you have to over come. There is no rewards in what you do. While you do it, do not develop the arrogance and contempt for modesty and small efforts of people to connect to who they are. You are not yet our elder. You are yet to earn your stripes.

A health debate started since Mr Granger went to Queens NY. Let the discussion go on and on. PPP and PNC must apologise. 

I know of Dolly. She is a Naipaul scholar and immigration legal specialist. She does her part for her community. I like her.

Indeed this conversation is a good fulcrum for investigations into who the PPP are as well. Maybe this Rodney thing will be what the PPP never intends, a descaling of the PPP fish!

To break the barriers the PNC has to do what it is loathe to do

Posted By Staff Writer On June 16, 2014 @ 5:04 am In Letters | 

Dear Editor,

I am extremely surprised by all the brouhaha over the call for the PNC to state whether certain policies of its dictatorial rule were ill conceived.

I decline the temptation to answer each hysterical criticism levelled against me because I know that it will be counterproductive and won’t advance our common goal for a better Guyana.

No one is asking for a pound of flesh here. The question on many minds is simply this: will the PNCR be taking Guyana back to those rough times when terror and fear enveloped the nation? Is it not a natural concern of the average voter? This is not about ‘Remembrance of Things Past’; this is the future

Certain writers reason thus: Dr Hassan asked the PNCR to admit the party made some mistakes; therefore, she must be a supporter of the PPP. Nowhere—I mean nowhere—in any of my writings can you find anything in which I say I support or oppose the PPP. That is irrelevant. We are not talking about the PPP here. That is totally a separate issue.

Those who know my history know that I have always aligned myself with fair and free elections in Guyana—not with any one particular party. (And I may very well criticize something that a party does and yet, considering the totality of circumstances, vote for it.)   But whenever there is disagreement people always oversimplify and hastily generalize. What I would really like to see is an election whereby Guyanese go to the polls and vote on issues. That is why it is important to know where the PNC stands on the issues.

But such is the level of the debate. And why is it that when a call is made to admit a mistake, it must be conditioned on someone else’s admission of some other unrelated mistake? What does A have to do with B? Are we still in Second Grade? Johnny will only apologize if Timmy apologizes? Why is it the PNCR has a difficult time understanding that a sizeable number of Guyanese—Indians, Africans, and others—want an articulation on its stand on certain issues?

It is unfortunate that Mr Granger is calling for “evidence” of the wrongs committed against the Guyanese people. No, don’t let’s go there—but let’s close the wounds. To break the barriers (we know what they are) the party has to do what it is loathe to do. The longer it waits, the harder it gets.

We all have to stop this caterwauling and work together for a strong democracy—together.

Yours faithfully, 
Dolly Z Hassan

Dear Editor,

I am extremely surprised by all the brouhaha over the call for the PNC to state whether certain policies of its dictatorial rule were ill conceived.

I decline the temptation to answer each hysterical criticism levelled against me because I know that it will be counterproductive and won’t advance our common goal for a better Guyana.

No one is asking for a pound of flesh here. The question on many minds is simply this: will the PNCR be taking Guyana back to those rough times when terror and fear enveloped the nation? Is it not a natural concern of the average voter? This is not about ‘Remembrance of Things Past’; this is the future

Certain writers reason thus: Dr Hassan asked the PNCR to admit the party made some mistakes; therefore, she must be a supporter of the PPP. Nowhere—I mean nowhere—in any of my writings can you find anything in which I say I support or oppose the PPP. That is irrelevant. We are not talking about the PPP here. That is totally a separate issue.

Those who know my history know that I have always aligned myself with fair and free elections in Guyana—not with any one particular party. (And I may very well criticize something that a party does and yet, considering the totality of circumstances, vote for it.)   But whenever there is disagreement people always oversimplify and hastily generalize. What I would really like to see is an election whereby Guyanese go to the polls and vote on issues. That is why it is important to know where the PNC stands on the issues.

But such is the level of the debate. And why is it that when a call is made to admit a mistake, it must be conditioned on someone else’s admission of some other unrelated mistake? What does A have to do with B? Are we still in Second Grade? Johnny will only apologize if Timmy apologizes? Why is it the PNCR has a difficult time understanding that a sizeable number of Guyanese—Indians, Africans, and others—want an articulation on its stand on certain issues?

It is unfortunate that Mr Granger is calling for “evidence” of the wrongs committed against the Guyanese people. No, don’t let’s go there—but let’s close the wounds. To break the barriers (we know what they are) the party has to do what it is loathe to do. The longer it waits, the harder it gets.

We all have to stop this caterwauling and work together for a strong democracy—together.

Yours faithfully, 
Dolly Z Hassan

Dolly Hassan attended Saraswat, Indians and Muslim Education Trust College before migrating to the United States to join members of her family and to study in Washington, D.C.

She earned her Bachelors and Masters degrees from Howard University and her Ph.D. (English) from George Washington University. Her doctoral dissertation, VS. Naipaul and the West Indies, famous for its sharp analysis of Naipaul's works and for its comprehensive bibliography, has generated favorable reviews in several literary journals, and has been published. Her enthusiasm in teaching English to international students drove her—even after her doctorate—to complete a program in "Teaching English as a Second Language" at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Hassan began her multi-faceted career by teaching. Her first teaching job was at Brookwein Business Institute, Washington, D.C., where she was honored by that institution for her contribution to the education of underprivileged students. She taught English and Literature, both at Howard and George Washington Universities, and again received several awards for excellence in the profession, including a commendation for distinguished service on Howard's Academic Standards and Policy Committee.

After returning from a two-year stint, teaching English in Tabuk, Saudi Arabia, she studied law, interning at the Immigrants Rights Project at the ACLU and at CIR. She was admitted to practice law in New York and a few other jurisdictions, including Washington, D.C.

When she is not busy advocating for her clients, she writes for several ethnic newspaper. In 1993, the Asian/Indian Pacific Law Students Association of CUNY Law School presented her with a plaque for her varied roles as Educator, Advocate and Author.

She is deeply committed to assisting young community based groups, such as JACSSO (Jamaican-American Cultural and Social Services Organization) which presented her with an award. She still offers pro bono services to different organizations, and has committed herself to the St. Stephen’s Church to advise on immigration matters on a monthly basis.

Currently, Dr. Dolly Hassan is the Supervising Attorney at the Liberty Center for Immigrants, Inc. in Queens, NY. Concurrently, she is also an Adjunct Professor at CUNY Law School. When she finds time she enjoys country music.

========================

JB, Dolly is a brilliant woman. We have to take her seriously.

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully, 
Dolly Z Hassan

Dolly Hassan attended Saraswat, Indians and Muslim Education Trust College before migrating to the United States to join members of her family and to study in Washington, D.C.

She earned her Bachelors and Masters degrees from Howard University and her Ph.D. (English) from George Washington University. Her doctoral dissertation, VS. Naipaul and the West Indies, famous for its sharp analysis of Naipaul's works and for its comprehensive bibliography, has generated favorable reviews in several literary journals, and has been published. Her enthusiasm in teaching English to international students drove her—even after her doctorate—to complete a program in "Teaching English as a Second Language" at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Hassan began her multi-faceted career by teaching. Her first teaching job was at Brookwein Business Institute, Washington, D.C., where she was honored by that institution for her contribution to the education of underprivileged students. She taught English and Literature, both at Howard and George Washington Universities, and again received several awards for excellence in the profession, including a commendation for distinguished service on Howard's Academic Standards and Policy Committee.

After returning from a two-year stint, teaching English in Tabuk, Saudi Arabia, she studied law, interning at the Immigrants Rights Project at the ACLU and at CIR. She was admitted to practice law in New York and a few other jurisdictions, including Washington, D.C.

When she is not busy advocating for her clients, she writes for several ethnic newspaper. In 1993, the Asian/Indian Pacific Law Students Association of CUNY Law School presented her with a plaque for her varied roles as Educator, Advocate and Author.

She is deeply committed to assisting young community based groups, such as JACSSO (Jamaican-American Cultural and Social Services Organization) which presented her with an award. She still offers pro bono services to different organizations, and has committed herself to the St. Stephen’s Church to advise on immigration matters on a monthly basis.

Currently, Dr. Dolly Hassan is the Supervising Attorney at the Liberty Center for Immigrants, Inc. in Queens, NY. Concurrently, she is also an Adjunct Professor at CUNY Law School. When she finds time she enjoys country music.

========================

Mr Gilbakka. That is why I post she article. She is a good role model for everybody and girls too. 

. . . But such is the level of the debate. And why is it that when a call is made to admit a mistake, it must be conditioned on someone else’s admission of some other unrelated mistake? What does A have to do with B? Are we still in Second Grade? Johnny will only apologize if Timmy apologizes? Why is it the PNCR has a difficult time understanding that a sizeable number of Guyanese—Indians, Africans, and others—want an articulation on its stand on certain issues?

Yours faithfully, 
Dolly Z Hassan

apparently taking lessons from (not-too-brite) kari, the sly ms Hassan perches on a mangy dankey of incoherence and dissimulation in service to the PPP racial division push (not 'healing' as 'advertised)  . . . [see NCN/Chronicle 'reporting' on the Rodney COI if u think i lie]

perhaps the "2nd Grade" tossoff is Freudian . . . which is where her 'argument' belongs

memo to the wannabe smart[wo]man . . . this is ABOUT POLITICS, not an  elementary school game

That's why South Africa had a TRUTH & RECONCILIATION COMMISSION!

you have heard about THAT . . . rite Dolly?

Yes me agree. TRUTH & RECONCILE COMMISSION now. It dont have anything to do with Johnny and Timmy. What year Ms Hassan migrate from Guyana?

The Rodney COI is Guyana's Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

And Prezzi Ramotar says he will pardon all sinners who confess to the Rodney COI.

Phulouri Joe Hamilton done confess and get pardon already. That's why he still Permanent Secretary and PPP MP.

Norman Mc Unclean gon get pardon, da convict Bates gon get pardon, everybaddy go get pardon except Retired Brigadier General David Granger.

The PPP and Prezzi Ramotar already agree that Granger's sins are unpardonable, unforgivable and jailable.

Allyuh cyaant expeck a betta Truth and Reckon-silly-asian Commission.

ONLY TK and Gerhard Ramsaroop think otherwise.  Thank you JOE - a real man and real person.  I know him personally.

Source SN

I was introduced to Dr Dolly Hassan in 1982/3 when she was residing in Washington DC by Mr Paul Tennassee in NYC at a meeting. I know her for years!
I also happened to be an invitee at Mike Persaud house for the meeting with Mr Granger.
I would like to say that Dolly is a conciliatory person: she is not a racist: She stood up against elements in Queens, NY against racist attack on Obama in 2008 .
Any support from Dolly is a treasure and Mr Granger knows this. I firmly believed as I was privy to the discussions that both Mike Persaud and Dolly Hassan can be persuaded to join the ranks of Mr Granger for the sake of their love of Guyana.But of course they have their conditions! Dolly loves people! She even loves animals.
So can we be civil and stop commenting about seeing her slip and about her age,etc...
You bet if the PPP/C is subject to the same scrutiny as Mr Granger in the same setting, their feet will be roasted with questions!
Thanks
Joe Ragnauth

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

ONLY TK and Gerhard Ramsaroop think otherwise.  Thank you JOE - a real man and real person.  I know him personally.

Source SN

I was introduced to Dr Dolly Hassan in 1982/3 when she was residing in Washington DC by Mr Paul Tennassee in NYC at a meeting. I know her for years!
I also happened to be an invitee at Mike Persaud house for the meeting with Mr Granger.
I would like to say that Dolly is a conciliatory person: she is not a racist: She stood up against elements in Queens, NY against racist attack on Obama in 2008 .
Any support from Dolly is a treasure and Mr Granger knows this. I firmly believed as I was privy to the discussions that both Mike Persaud and Dolly Hassan can be persuaded to join the ranks of Mr Granger for the sake of their love of Guyana.But of course they have their conditions! Dolly loves people! She even loves animals.
So can we be civil and stop commenting about seeing her slip and about her age,etc...
You bet if the PPP/C is subject to the same scrutiny as Mr Granger in the same setting, their feet will be roasted with questions!
Thanks
Joe Ragnauth

Hey Hey Hey. Eh eh bai Sase/Rev Al/KishanB yuh sey how yu attend de meetin at Mikie. Yu change ova to Teekah...hey hey hey.

. . . But such is the level of the debate. And why is it that when a call is made to admit a mistake, it must be conditioned on someone else’s admission of some other unrelated mistake? What does A have to do with B? Are we still in Second Grade? Johnny will only apologize if Timmy apologizes? Why is it the PNCR has a difficult time understanding that a sizeable number of Guyanese—Indians, Africans, and others—want an articulation on its stand on certain issues?

Yours faithfully, 
Dolly Z Hassan

apparently taking lessons from (not-too-brite) kari, the sly ms Hassan perches on a mangy dankey of incoherence and dissimulation in service to the PPP racial division push (not 'healing' as 'advertised)  . . . [see NCN/Chronicle 'reporting' on the Rodney COI if u think i lie]

perhaps the "2nd Grade" tossoff is Freudian . . . which is where her 'argument' belongs

memo to the wannabe smart[wo]man . . . this is ABOUT POLITICS, not an  elementary school game

Redux, be serious for a minute.

• Show me where Dolly Hassan praises the PPP.
  • Show me where Dolly exploits racial fears

Tell me that you do not know the following:

• Dolly Hassan has a greater yearning than you to get rid of this PPP
  • Dolly Hassan, like you know the mistrust caused by the PNC's years in office when Guyana went to the dogs, and that's why supports calls for a clean slate to make inroads into a segment of the population that can swing away from the PPP to the opposition in elections.

While you're at it you don't get brownie points for the sophomoric "mangy dankey of incoherence and dissimulation in service" idiocy. Get away from some pissing contest. You are fighting shadows and straw men - not unlike Don Quixote. When are you going to grow up?

It was Ronald Reagan who said "TRUST BUT VERIFY"!!!!!!!

Those two NAIVE FOOLS want the Guyanese People to become as STUPID as they are!!!!!!!!!!!!

What an ignorant man you is.

Is that what yuh mamoo seh?

No. Me dont need mamoo insight to know Mr Nehru is talking nonsense. Me mamoo tell me about hard questions and history. 

Yours faithfully, 
Dolly Z Hassan

Redux, be serious for a minute.

[and which klown associate sold you the idea that that 4th rate mind of yours is qualified to arbitrate "seriousness" on this BB, eh?]

• Show me where Dolly Hassan praises the PPP.
    [show me where i said she did - red herring #1]
  • Show me where Dolly exploits racial fears
    [show me where i said she did - red herring #2]

Tell me that you do not know the following:

[do u know how stupid u sound?]

• Dolly Hassan has a greater yearning than you to get rid of this PPP
    [remind me again how it is possible to 'disprove' dis? lol]
  • Dolly Hassan, like you know the mistrust caused by the PNC's years in office when Guyana went to the dogs, and that's why supports calls for a clean slate to make inroads into a segment of the population that can swing away from the PPP to the opposition in elections.
    [ms. Hassan made NO CASE FOR THE REMOVAL OF THE PPP for their years in office (and continuing) resulting in Guyana moving from the poorhouse into the sewer . . . indeed, she makes it quite clear that she prefers the PPP over the APNU or AFC because of the incumbent kriminal party's relative? "maturity" . . . hmmmmmm?]

While you're at it you don't get brownie points for the sophomoric "mangy dankey of incoherence and dissimulation in service" idiocy. Get away from some pissing contest. You are fighting shadows and straw men - not unlike Don Quixote. When are you going to grow up?

[banna, it's good to see that u learning a lil bit about the use of complex metaphors and ting by studying my posts . . . i should be charging a freaking fee for the lessons; but is arite since yuh still using dem wrang.

now, i getting a lil bit of a chuckle watching u emptying yuh bladder, standing in a puddle of pee with yuh d!ck in yuh haan admonishing me about getting involved in "some pissing contest" . . . go seek professional help, joker]

my responses to your nonsense bracketed in bold/red above

The PNC should concede that certain mistakes were made during its tenure

Posted By Staff Writer On June 11, 2014 @ 5:08 am In Letters |
I recall in the 1980s when Dr Jagan was in the wilderness and had few friends, he came to speak at Howard University, in Washington, DC, where I was a lecturer and an active member of a non-partisan group, advocating free and free elections in Guyana
After all, what guarantees will voters have that we won’t be returning to the PNC’s modus operandi of the 1980s? It takes a big man to say mistakes were made. Where are the men in the PNC?
To criticize every single act of the PPP and to attribute every problem in the nation to the PPP destroys the PNC’s credibility.
â€Ķâ€Ķ
...Gokarran Sukhdeo, ,,, states, “Everything the PNC has done the PPP has done in multiplicity.” Really? â€Ķ. My father would have said that such comparison is like “chalk to cheese.”
â€Ķ We must decline to take that road of reliving each gory atrocity committed by any side. Can we now find a way to fix the mess we have become?

â€Ķ.And I absolutely reject any suggestion, as another one of my friends espoused, that the solution to Guyana’s race problem is partition. Guyana won’t be the Guyana I love were we to be separated and torn asunder. We are one people and as I have said multiple times, we are stronger together. We are capable of growing up.

If I were to cast my ballot today it would not be for the PNC—or the AFC. They have not yet developed the maturity and wisdom to govern. â€Ķ..

Yours faithfully,
Dolly Z Hassan

The above are my excerpts of Dolly's work. Let me say I respect her but I do not have to agree with her on account of her credentials of my respect for her. Speaking personally I also disagree with much in her dissertation about Naipaul but that is another day.

Let me also say I was there the day Cheddi Came to HU. I need not remind her it was Guyanese if all ilk welcoming him and in him much was invested that he did not live up to when he came into office  a decade later. We ended up with no progress in our democracy and old communist turned crony capitalist ( change is indeed possible!)

Dolly asks that the PNC must concede that mistakes were made. She then proceed to offer the excuse about why not the PPP as well. She offered up the self contradictory response  that we are not counting who did what!  Note later on she denied the PPP did worse!  Is guess she missed all the PPP church mice who are not obscenely wealthy! And there is the matter of extrajudicial murders!

This kind of confused thinking is why we do not need anyone apologizing. Any such is fodder for the same race baiting that we see is the norm in the society. If there is a need for  societal and political transformation then we do it the proper way, start with an no fault clause as they do in these instances and begin to negotiating on a human needs basis possible solutions.

Also, we are not one people. That is bull. We are many peoples with independently developed cultures seeking to create communal space.

The PNC skeletons at this forum are starting to crawl out. The likes of D2, TK, redux, carib etc are now exposing themselves.

Ignoramuses can only parse discourse in terms of PNC/PPP. Get it both have a legacy of crookedness. The PPP is our present burdens and that is my focus. I do not care that I had a broken arm last year. I care of the present pain if it presently is in that state.

To the contrary, the only exposing done is how threadbare is you reasoning.

The PNC skeletons at this forum are starting to crawl out. The likes of D2, TK, redux, carib etc are now exposing themselves.

Being PNC is not bad. We need a strong and viable opposition.  What is bad is the radical Afro racists like Caribj, Redux, etc who wants nothing less than a return to the old order.

The PNC needs to deal strategically with its past

Posted By Staff Writer On June 17, 2014 @ 5:06 am In Letters | 

Dear Editor,

There seems to be a multi-pronged approach to a new propaganda blitz involving the PNC. There are those who accept that it has a sordid history but say it happened so long ago it should be ignored, while others are in denial and yet others attempt to whitewash this history.

None other than Mr David Granger is reported to have said in an article in the SN dated June 14, 2014 captioned ‘“No blanket apology’ for PNC government,” that every government everywhere makes mistakes and he called upon all to point out the errors and they would be investigated. Some time ago Granger said he would not apologise as Mr Jagdeo has many things to apologise for.

Each party would be judged and possibly trusted again by the level of remorse they demonstrate. It remains to be seen who is the principled man among them who is willing to show some remorse and apologise for the “mistakes.” I find it difficult though to regard the deliberate hijacking of ballot boxes and stuffing them with fake ballots; the throwing out of polling agents by the army, and literally stealing successive governments; the murder of political activists; and the beating and wholesale arrest of opposition activists, etc, as “mistakes.”

Well, we are fighting to remove the PPP and since the PNC is also guilty of “mistakes” like the PPP we have to fight them too as these are two peas in a pod.

On the other hand there are those like Gerhard Ramsaroop and Tarron Khemraj working to separate the Hoyte years from Burnham’s years and listing all the positive actions of Hoyte and ignoring his negative deeds.

Every single time the PPP is accused of anything its puerile answer is look at what the PNC did. Here the question of the PNC apologizing is raised and the answer is that the PPP have got things to apologise for also. I personally do not want the PPP to apologise for the atrocities, the deep-rooted corruption, the lack of proper governance, the extra-judicial killings and undemocratic resistance to much needed local government elections. I want them to go, period. So that leaves the PNC. In a letter dated June 9, 2014, captioned ‘We are fooling no one with the patchwork apologies and bogus information,’ the writer stated the following: “Furthermore, I do believe the PNC no more owes the Guyanese people an apology than does the PPP. If the PNC is guilty of rigging, the PPP is equally guilty of racially manipulating the Indo-Guyanese into voting for them. If the PNC is guilty of abusing state resources for party purposes and winning elections, so is the PPP.”

What I gleaned here is that, yes, the PNC should apologise as should the PPP.

The actions of the PNC can in a meaningful manner shape the future of this country. It is a mass-based force supported mainly by Afro-Guyanese. It needs to deal strategically with its past. The writer of the letter referred to above made it clear that the PNC is guilty of so many things, and I include the violence of 1992, 1997 and 2001. It’s hanging over their heads. So how they deal with it is important.

Has the PNC changed? It is recognized that the violence has ceased but is the PNC seriously willing to change? Is it serious about making a fresh start? Is it desirous of uniting with others to change the government of the day? Can it honestly face the Guyanese people, especially the victims of its rule, and say, look things have changed, we have new blood, we see things differently, we will never repeat the mistakes we have made in the past, there is a need for some kind of unity and we are prepared to go the way necessary for change and the betterment of the Guyanese people.

But I do not believe they understand this as a recent letter in the KN seeks to whitewash the history of Hoyte’s rule. This letter written by Gerhard Ramsaroop and Tarron Khemraj is captioned ‘To be fair, we must compare the PPP to PNC part 2 and not part 1,’ and is dated June 12, 2014. These two opined that the good deeds of Hoyte actually constitute an apology when they wrote in their letter “Sukdeo hits the nail on the head here. The Hoyte years precisely constituted the PNC apology.”

Well neither Hoyte nor Granger thought of that, and it is indeed hilarious.

They wrote they cannot find a single incident of being harassed or victimised by PNC part 2. Here they profess to speak for everybody. When and where did the good Dr do his research? They know of my history when I was transferred from a secondary to teach Prep A because I publicly criticized the PNC. For them Hoyte doing business with businessman Boyo Ramsaroop, Gerhard’s father, giving Jagdeo a job are major apologies, as were the removal of banned items and the freeing up of the media and the ushering in of free and fair elections.

Well the radio station and the Chronicle were controlled as under Burnham, and as now under the PPP. Hoyte did nothing to change the real content of the Burnham era and he took for himself an extra two years by messing up the electoral list and it is within these two years that he negotiated with the IMF and had the Washington Consensus thrust down our throats.

The McIntyre report states that real wages fell by 50%, and there was no audit of public funds for the years of Hoyte’s rule. Then there is the crudest of rigging of the 1985 elections (landslide votes in Albion and Port Mourant). Hoyte ordered the arrest of over 250 members of the PYO, PPP and GAWU in the wee hours of the morning. This was during the six weeks strike of bauxite and sugar. Those arrested were shifted to different jurisdictions so that the families would not be able to contact them. I barely escaped the dragnet as I left minutes before they came to my home as I was informed.

The army raided and seized goods stored in GAWU Headquarters that were destined for the bauxite workers on strike.

The position of the Alliance for Change is clear. It came into existence because of the collective actions of the PNC and the PPP to keep this country in a racially polarized state. None other than Tarron Khemraj referred to the PNC as a political dinosaur while Gerhard did his fair share in lashing out against the atrocities of the PNC during the 2011 national elections.

The AFC will continue to act independently supporting whatever positions of the parties seem to be more progressive. It obviously has to work along with the APNU ever so often because of the very nature of the PPP’s corrupt rule and its autocratic form of governance. But it also on occasion voted with the PPP.

Yours faithfully, 
Rajendra Bisessar

Unfamiliar with day-to-day politicking?

Posted By Staff Writer On June 17, 2014 @ 5:05 am In Letters |

Dear Editor,

I refer to a letter by Mr Gokarran Sukdeo in SN of June 14, headlined, ‘Green and the PPP are the problem not the solution.’ He wrote the following of Dolly Hassan: “I always admired her writings – always refreshingly interjected with creative metaphors and imagesâ€ĶDolly admitted she was not conversant with the day-to-day politicking in Guyanaâ€Ķ she still cherishes the memories of the indomitable Cheddi Jagan and what was then the PPP.”

First, I confess that before the letters in the press came out on the Opposition Leader’s visit to Richmond Hill, I didn’t know who Dr Dolly Hassan was. Forgive me if I sound chauvinistic, but I have spent my entire adult life in academia reading people’s writings on Guyana, and I am familiar with a majority of those productions.

But I have never read an analytical piece on Guyana by Dr Hassan. It could be that Mr Sukhdeo meant writings by Dr Hassan on subjects not related to Guyana

Secondly, it would be impertinent for any human to deny someone their right to admire another person. If you are African-American and you admire Chinese music and don’t listen to Beyonce that is your right. So I would not comment on Mr Sukhdeo’s admiration for Dr Hassan, but as an educated man (he wrote that he went to UG) one would expect him to be capable of detecting analytical weaknesses and fictions in people’s polemical exchanges of people. If Mr Sukhdeo read what Dr Hassan wrote then he would know that it was not quite accurate when she told him that she was not familiar with the “day-to-day politicking in Guyana.” Or maybe she was, but chose to write silly things about the two opposition parties and the Mayor.

For a person not familiar with Guyana’s politics, Dr Hassan is bold to make the following statements: (1) The PNC destroys its credibility by criticizing “every single act of the PPP” and blaming the PPP for every problem. (2) Both the PNC and AFC are parties that do not have the maturity and wisdom to govern. (3) Guyana has a garbage problem and Mayor Green is to be blamed for it. (4) The parliamentary situation is one in which the politicians are running around like bullying schoolboys.

How does Dr Hassan know all these things if she does not take an interest in what happens in Guyana? If that is true then how can she write these things? She must know that she opens herself to the charge of penning nonsense. Surely Mr Sukhdeo cannot be that naÃŊve. My motive for writing this letter is to point out to Mr Sukhdeo that Dr Hassan has a credibility problem that he must face up to. On a related matter, Dr Hassan did say in her letter that she knew Dr Jagan from the seventies and eighties. This is the problem with the folks in Richmond Hill. These people left in the seventies and eighties and took with them the memories of a brave Dr Cheddi Jagan fighting an unpopular PNC government. And they have been stuck in that world for the past forty years. They see Guyana in 2014 with the identical lenses that they viewed it forty years ago. And it doesn’t matter if you are as educated as Dr Hassan or just a semi-literate labourer.

Yours faithfully,
Frederick Kissoon

For a person not familiar with Guyana’s politics, Dr Hassan is bold to make the following statements: (1) The PNC destroys its credibility by criticizing “every single act of the PPP” and blaming the PPP for every problem. (2) Both the PNC and AFC are parties that do not have the maturity and wisdom to govern. (3) Guyana has a garbage problem and Mayor Green is to be blamed for it. (4) The parliamentary situation is one in which the politicians are running around like bullying schoolboys.

Being PNC is not bad. We need a strong and viable opposition.  What is bad is the radical Afro racists like Caribj, Redux, etc who wants nothing less than a return to the old order.

i see baseman now reduced to peltin wan wan pebble in meh general direction while hiding 'cleverly' behind the bushes innocuous

ah tink i will continue to rest mah whip arm until ah get a more substantive target

har harrr

QUOTE: "The AFC will continue to act independently supporting whatever positions of the parties seem to be more progressive. It obviously has to work along with the APNU ever so often because of the very nature of the PPP’s corrupt rule and its autocratic form of governance. But it also on occasion voted with the PPP.

Yours faithfully, 
Rajendra Bisessar"

Thanks for saying it, Rajendra. I support this line.

QUOTE: "The AFC will continue to act independently supporting whatever positions of the parties seem to be more progressive. It obviously has to work along with the APNU ever so often because of the very nature of the PPP’s corrupt rule and its autocratic form of governance. But it also on occasion voted with the PPP.

Yours faithfully, 
Rajendra Bisessar"

Mr Gilbakka that is what Mr Rajedra Mr Singh and Mr Jaleel must do. And not react to Mr TK. Why they scare to say they must support black people party APNU sometime? They racial? 

Yours faithfully, 
Rajendra Bisessar"

Mek sense.