Commander-in-Chief, President Donald Ramotar mingles with some of the Army’s top brass ahead of the working sessions of the Officers’ Conference that opens yesterday. At left is Army Chief of Staff, Brigadier Mark Phillips. [Vishwanauth Narine photo)

Commander-in-Chief, President Donald Ramotar mingles with some of the Army’s top brass ahead of the working sessions of the Officers’ Conference that opens yesterday. At left is Army Chief of Staff, Brigadier Mark Phillips. (Vishwanauth Narine photo)

Armed Forces placed on ‘High Alert’ for May 11 Elections …as Commander-in-Chief orders action against any security threats.

COMMANDER-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, President Donald Ramotar, has placed the rank and file of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) on high alert, in anticipation of the May 11 General and Regional Elections.President Ramotar delivered the charge to the top brass of the Guyana Defence Force yesterday as they congregated at the Officers’ Complex at Base Camp Ayangana for their Annual Conference.

OFFICIAL PHOTO: Commander-in-Chief, Donald Ramotar and Army Chief of Staff, Brigadier Mark Phillips with the top brass of the Army, yesterday.

FORCES OF REACTION

Emphasising the importance of, and challenges accompanying an election, the President in his address to the ranks, surmised that as “we approach elections, my fervent hope is that the climate is one of peace (and where) good sense will prevail, even as contesting political parties and their supporters, as is their democratic right, vigorously conduct their campaign.”

Speaking also in his capacity as Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, the President was stern in his edict and warned that in such an election climate, “forces of reaction and fragmentation must not be allowed to fester in our society.”

“Any attempt to create a feeling of insecurity and fear among our citizens or in any segment of our population, based on rumour, subjective gutter politics or worse, must be publicly frowned upon and action taken by the security forces to arrest any such tendency.” – President Ramotar

The President used the opportunity to remind the army’s ranks that voting is their democratic right enshrined in law and early voting will afford them the opportunity to cast their ballot for a leader of their choice.
Early voting is meant to ensure that the ranks of the Armed Forces are able to stand guard on May 11, when the rest of the electorate take to the polls.

Having emphasised the need for the Armed Forces to play its part in any event that may require their input in the maintenance of law and order, President Ramotar directed: “Any attempt to create a feeling of insecurity and fear among our citizens or in any segment of our population, based on rumour, subjective gutter politics or worse, must be publicly frowned upon and action taken by the security forces to arrest any such tendency.”
This, he said, must be done through the application of the “full weight of the law and our Constitution,” against those culpable.

ELECTIONS DIVISIVE
Reminding the chieftains of the armed forces of their role when it comes to the nation and its security, the Commander-in-Chief reminded too that an election can be divisive in a multi-ethnic society, since ethnic insecurities can be aroused.

Commander-in-Chief, President Donald Ramotar being greeted by his Chief of Staff, Brigadier Mark Phillips, at the Army’s Camp Ayanganna headquarters yesterday. [Vishwanauth Narine photos)

Commander-in-Chief, President Donald Ramotar being greeted by his Chief of Staff, Brigadier Mark Phillips, at the Army’s Camp Ayanganna headquarters yesterday. (Vishwanauth Narine photos)

As such, the Commander-in-Chief charged his subordinates to conduct themselves in a manner becoming of a GDF rank.
“You will do your duty with the highest level of professionalism,” President Ramotar charged.

He cautioned that the GDF is a professional and non-partisan entity and while the Officers and ranks of the Force participate in the democratic process through voting, “you are not allowed to participate in acts of political propaganda or militancy.”

The President, in his exhortation, also called on the ranks to seek to inspire confidence in the citizenry.
“Demonstrate to Guyanese and the world, that while as individuals in uniform, you exercise your democratic right to vote as members of the GDF. As an institution, you will carry out your professional responsibilities in accordance with the Constitution and respect the legitimate outcome of the electoral process.”

NO LESS
The President, who addressed the ranks for the fourth time as Commander-in-Chief and mere days before the General and Regional Election said, “I as Commander-in-Chief expect that your leadership will be exemplary and your image as a national army will be unsullied…you have sworn an oath to carry out your duties without fear or favour, affection or ill will and in the execution of those duties, honour and uphold the Constitution of the Republic of Guyana, I expect no less of the officers and ranks of the GDF.”

JUBILEEE STAMP
The GDF’s Annual Officer Conference this year is being held under the theme: ‘Towards Greater Operational Readiness For National Defence and Security’ and also marks the GDF’s Jubilee (50th) Anniversary.
President Ramotar was welcomed to the venue for the Officer Conference by Chief of Staff, Brigadier Mark Phillips who also accompanied him for the Ceremonial Salute before addressing the Army’s top brass.

President Donald Ramotar and Brigadier Mark Phillips viewing a depiction of the GDF’s 50th Anniversary Calendar

Commander-in-Chief, Donald Ramotar and Army Chief of Staff, Brigadier Mark Phillips taking the ceremonial salute

Brigadier Phillips, in his remarks, firstly assured the Commander-in-Chief that the 2015 Conference will be guided by the theme (Towards Greater Operational Readiness For National Defence and Security). The army’s top ranking military officer also reminded that the GDF is committed to safeguarding democracy in Guyana.

Addressing the Commander-in-Chief, Brigadier Phillips proclaimed that: “As military officers, Your Excellency, we subject ourselves to the rule of law…we look forward to your continued support and guidance as we work with your government and other stakeholders to achieve greater operational readiness for national defence and security in Guyana.”
The 50 year anniversary of the GDF was also marked with the unveiling of a special Postal Stamp and Calendar.

(By Gary Eleazar)

President Donald Ramotar speaks like a real Commander-in-Chief. 

“Any attempt to create a feeling of insecurity and fear among our citizens or in any segment of our population, based on rumour, subjective gutter politics or worse, must be publicly frowned upon and action taken by the security forces to arrest any such tendency.” – President Ramotar

Bhai, Abee Commander is the man to run Guyana.  sweet Laka sumutooo. All the way to the MOON. Ah keeping a spot  for your cousin Shaitaan on the PROGRESS and PROSPERITY Rocket.

First it was a train to the moon. Now it's a rocket. I suppose that's a kind of progress

If yuh want I can make space on the Train for you. Cobra Cousin is like my cousin.

I will only come if the in-transit meal is finest curry of aloo

I am a chat-3. I doan eat curry breadfruit like a peasant

I am a fine English Gentleman, I eat Potato curry only.

LMAO

Seriously dude, that is one one the most unexpectedly funny stories I've ever heard on GNI

I first had fried breadfruit in America and I believe it's far more expensive than aloo. And I certainly didn't think it possible to curry a breadfruit.

Correct, and as it should be.

LMAO

Seriously dude, that is one one the most unexpectedly funny stories I've ever heard on GNI

I first had fried breadfruit in America and I believe it's far more expensive than aloo. And I certainly didn't think it possible to curry a breadfruit.

Bhai, The battle of Aloo VS Breadfruit is only one of thousands of Battles.  Ask yuh Aja and Agee Dem.

LMAO

Dat Daag Bunham mek Abee put Curry Powder pun every and anything.

Bhai, The battle of Aloo VS Breadfruit is only one of thousands of Battles.  Ask yuh Aja and Agee Dem.

Dude,

I'm not even trying to be funny but no matter how much I hear words like "aja" and "agee" or "mamoo" used on GNI, I can never remember what they mean. They sound so damn odd.

Dude,

I'm not even trying to be funny but no matter how much I hear words like "aja" and "agee" or "mamoo" used on GNI, I can never remember what they mean. They sound so damn odd.

Yuh is one Kanta Guyanese Banna. You dont kno to lime  by the Sea dam and whistle at Gals. Yuh Rass really need some Lessons on Guyanese Traditions.

Actually Shaitaan, because of bunham i had Yam Curry but that was ok on deh belly.

Wow! I think the worse/weirdest thing I ever ate in Guyana was cow skin. Not because I had to but because I was curious.

I traded my actual lunch of real food with real meat and rice for the piece of cow skin.

Dude,

Yuh is one Kanta Guyanese Banna. You dont kno to lime  by the Sea dam and whistle at Gals. Yuh Rass really need some Lessons on Guyanese Traditions.

Well, two things really. Muslim and Christian families don't really use hindi words to refer to relatives. And I left Guyana at a pretty young age.

Also, not many sea dams in NYC and I'm almost certain it's not socially acceptable to catcall women unless you work at a construction site

Dude,

Well, two things really. Muslim and Christian families don't really use hindi words to refer to relatives. And I left Guyana at a pretty young age.

Also, not many sea dams in NYC and I'm almost certain it's not socially acceptable to catcall women unless you work at a construction site

Deh first time I came here and went to a Bar I whistled at the waitress she wa mad. But I gave her a big Tip next thing yuh kno she invite me later dat night fuh some Spagetti and Meatballs.

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

The best curry innovation I had was curry lobster...

Was it good?

I confess a love of crustaceans and all seafood but I doan like them curried. I prefer them the American way. Boiled in a big pot and thrown on a table

Dude,

Deh first time I came here and went to a Bar I whistled at the waitress she wa mad. But I gave her a big Tip next thing yuh kno she invite me later dat night fuh some Spagetti and Meatballs.

LMAO LMAO

I believe that's called prostitution and is still illegal

Dude,

LMAO LMAO

I believe that's called prostitution and is still illegal

Spagetti and Meatballs illegal???  HEHEHE  Butta Bing Butta bang Butta FooKOO.

Correct, and as it should be.

Was it good?

I confess a love of crustaceans and all seafood but I doan like them curried. I prefer them the American way. Boiled in a big pot and thrown on a table

Was awsom..just swap the heavy cream for a curry sauce using a lobster bisque reciepe..

Last edited by sachin_05

Was it good?

Was awsom..just swap the heavy cream for a curry sauce using a lobster bisgue reciepe..

LMAO@curry sauce. I like that. We are now fully Yankee Coolies when we start cooking our foods in a "curry sauce"

Was it good?

Was awsom..just swap the heavy cream for a curry sauce using a lobster bisgue reciepe..

LMAO@curry sauce. I like that. We are now fully Yankee Coolies when we start cooking our foods in a "curry sauce"

HAHAHAHAHA  Oh Sir that is an egg wrapped in Potatoes.  Is a damn egg ball.

Was it good?

I personally do not eat "bhunjal." I do however occasionally dine on verious meats prepared in a curry reduction

Was it good?

I personally do not eat "bhunjal." I do however occasionally dine on verious meats prepared in a curry reduction

HEHEHEHE  HAHAHAHAHA  Neva see come to see

Was it good?

HEHEHEHE  HAHAHAHAHA  Neva see come to see

On a semi serious note, I always take great pride in serving Guyanese fare to all my non-Guyanese friends and acquaintances. They seem to like it. And if they don't, F 'em!

Actually Shaitaan, because of bunham i had Yam Curry but that was ok on deh belly.

Wow! I think the worse/weirdest thing I ever ate in Guyana was cow skin. Not because I had to but because I was curious.

I traded my actual lunch of real food with real meat and rice for the piece of cow skin.

You exchange your food for a leather belt?

LOL yea

I was a very peculiar child. I was jealous of my black friend whose family had the "luxury" of eating cow skin while my family would feed me boring meat. My family never cooked such delicacies. (Being an innocent clueless child, I didn't make the link with their poverty)

Also around like age 6 (while living in a Muslim household), I used to sneak to our black neighbors and buy black pudding from them as soon as they killed a fresh haag. I didn't understand why I should hate pig meat and why it was any of Allah's business

LOL yea

I was a very peculiar child. I was jealous of my black friend whose family had the "luxury" of eating cow skin while my family would feed me boring meat. My family never cooked such delicacies. (Being an innocent clueless child, I didn't make the link with their poverty)

Also around like age 6 (while living in a Muslim household), I used to sneak to our black neighbors and buy black pudding from them as soon as they killed a fresh haag. I didn't understand why I should hate pig meat and why it was any of Allah's business

Since you a wan lil bhai you wutliss eh.

Originally Posted by Django:

LOL yea

Since you a wan lil bhai you wutliss eh.

Basically!

My mother will never be one of those mothers on TV when their son gets indicted for murder bemoaning "Meh son innocent. I don't hundastand. He was always wan good bai"