As departure approaches Jagdeo warns against foreign intervention

Written by Kwesi Isles
Friday, 16 September 2011 20:44
Source - Demerara Waves

A section of those gathered at the stadium.

President Bharrat Jagdeo on Friday night called on Guyanese to guard against foreign intervention in national interests as thousands gathered at the national stadium to honour his contributions to Guyana’s development.

His call comes in the wake of several less than flattering revelations from US embassy cables leaked by whistle blower site Wikileaks, cables which have been dominating recent media headlines.

“We have to be careful that a foreign agenda doesn’t become our agenda in Guyana; we’re smart, capable, bright people who can lead our country ourselves. We’re not arrogant but we know what we want for this land and we know the path that we have to take,” Jagdeo said.

According to the president, in the “interplay of politics” some powers would be happy to have their interests become Guyana’s agenda.

“We must always fiercely defend national interests while recognizing that we live in a global community.”

He added that Guyanese need to recognise that their values may be different from those of the developed world and Guyana must be prepared to stand up for those values.

“We’re nobody’s slaves or indentured servants in reality or in thought anymore and so I fiercely believe in defending the national interests of this country,” Jagdeo declared

Among the more salacious information gleaned from the released cables was the fact that the US, EU and Canada had been against the appointment of Henry Greene as Commissioner of Police and had urged the government not to go through with it. At a news conference earlier this month the president had noted that the diplomatic missions had failed to provide any evidence to support their claims that Greene had ties to the drug trade.

Turning his eyes to the local front Friday night Guyana’s youngest president said his party, the PPP, was willing to reach out to the political opposition despite their reticence.

‘I ask you to ensure that political loyalty is not ranked higher than love for this country and this is why we in the PPP believe our country is first and our party is second. That is why even today as we speak we reach out to the political opposition of this country.

If they want to be negative let them be negative but we want to make sure that our party because ut believes in all of Guyana remains open to everyone,” Jagdeo.

He continued by asking Guyanese not to judge people by their politics and singled out mention for those who sought to downplay the appreciation ceremony. According to the president, they too were “our brothers.”

With general election constitutionally due by December 28 and polls likely in November he called on the political parties to enter the election with dignity while urging the populace not to view the election as an end in itself but rather part of the process of democracy.

“Today as I say farewell I hope that the country’s democracy will grow, that the political parties will conduct these elections with a dignity and in a manner that befits the changes in our land today; that people see elections as important but not the end of their lives, that the day after the election they will accept the result in a clean election and go back to improving their own lives,” Jagdeo exhorted.

Friday’s event saw a packed cultural programme of song, dance and other acts followed by tributes from several individuals including Chairperson of the National Toshaos Council Yvonne Pearson, Pro Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies, Professor Clement Sankat and PPP presidential candidate Donald Ramotar.

With general election constitutionally due by December 28 and polls likely in November he called on the political parties to enter the election with dignity while urging the populace not to view the election as an end in itself but rather part of the process of democracy.

“Today as I say farewell I hope that the country’s democracy will grow, that the political parties will conduct these elections with a dignity and in a manner that befits the changes in our land today; that people see elections as important but not the end of their lives, that the day after the election they will accept the result in a clean election and go back to improving their own lives,” Jagdeo exhorted.

Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
Originally posted by baseman:

The more he talk, he sound like Gadhafi.

Sounds and realities are different ourcomes. Big Grin

Perhaps, perhaps not.
I have to say that the aFC supporters are brave individuals to keep showing up every day on this forum despite their party's impending doom to the political graveyard. The problem is not that the aFC is a bad party or even have a bad approach to governing the nation. The real issue is that the PPP have brought prosperity to the nation despite all the challenges and blunders. The AFC need to go after the PPP when they are vulnerable, this year is a bad time.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
I have to say that the aFC supporters are brave individuals to keep showing up every day on this forum despite their party's impending doom to the political graveyard. The problem is not that the aFC is a bad party or even have a bad approach to governing the nation. The real issue is that the PPP have brought prosperity to the nation despite all the challenges and blunders. The AFC need to go after the PPP when they are vulnerable, this year is a bad time.

Will keep that in mind.
Originally posted by kidmost:
a people deserve the govt they elect and the political parties they support.

They know they have the back-track route anyway. I was surprised how many young people asking me about US immigration laws, they were more interested in that than any Guyana law. They all hope Obama does something to legalize their family here. They have no idea of the checks and balance in the US democracy. They assume it works the way of the Jagdeo Chinese naturalization edict.
His Excellency is right we dont want foreigners here in Guyana.

If we choose to hire drug dealers as policemen and law enforcement that is our prerogative.

We should guard against these foreigners who we does run to everytime dem is trouble in Guyana and only use dem when we want to use dem.

To hell wid carter and he dotish center.
J