Aspiring doctor from Belvedere Primary is Region 6 top student

Jul 03, 2017 News, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....egion-6-top-student/

A twelve year old boy of Belvedere Primary, located along the Corentyne, is this year’s top student for his region at the recent National Grade Six Assessment Examination.

Matthew Ramlochan of 154 Belvedere, Corentyne, Berbice, was all smiles when this publication spoke with him last Friday.

The young lad copped the top student slot for Region 6 with 515 marks, securing him a place at Queen’s College.

The elated youngster expressed his gratitude to his parents, siblings and teachers for believing in him. β€œI would like to thank my mom and dad, my two sisters, and all the teachers that helped me from grade one to six, to prepare for all the exams…also my former headmaster, β€˜Sir’ Hiralal Goberdhan and my former headmistress,” Ramlochan said.

He expounded on the sacrifices that were necessary, and that contributed to his success, and noted that hard work was the main ingredient in his accomplishment.

β€œI worked hard before the grade six assessment – stayed up late, all my teachers helped. I feel very happy and excited,” he said, while adding that Queens College has always been his choice of school.

His mother, Yasodra Ramlochan, said that the journey to her son’s success was not easy, but he maintained discipline and exhibited much determination on the road to his exams. According to the woman, her son has always been a top achiever.

β€œI felt very proud, very happy. I expected him to do well.”

It is her hope that her only son, who aspires to one day to be a doctor, will continue to keep up the good work.

The lad stated that it is a desire of his to help the sick and will be working towards his goal.

Meanwhile other students securing top spots in the region include: Yadram Totaram of No. 56 Primary, who scored 510; John Ramdin of Cumberland Primary with 510; Aliyssa Griffith, Cropper Primary with 510; Denis Somai, Tain Primary with 508; Dimitri Williams, All Saints Primary, 508; Sherisa Chaturi, Port Mourant Primary, 508; Nick Rama, Crabwood Creek Primary, 508; Purnima Totaram, Sheet Anchor Primary 508 and Medeina Lionel, All Saints Primary with 506 marks.

Matthew you make me very proud  of helping to build Belvedere school in the 1960s, just a few yards from our house. I would normally lie in my bed in the back room with a cool sea breeze blowing and listen to the students singing. Oh, what beautiful memories !!  

Bhai abie time done, now its your time to kick butts as a doctor  and mek you parents and school proud of your achievements. 

Me not so proud of me fren Neck, burying  the night watchman tea/teeth cup in the school concrete foundation. Second from right concrete  pillar.

I would give anything to relive my teenage years at Belvedere, but many of my friends have passed on. .