Bai Shan Lin came to Guyana specifically for large-scale logging

August 10, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

- brought in over 200 trucks, 60 bulldozers, 40 loaders, luxury vehicles all duty-free

As questions continue to swirl over the arrangements between the Government of Guyana and a Chinese company regarding the export of large quantities of logs, there are revelations now that an unprecedented number of duty free concessions were granted. These concessions include for luxury vehicles like Lexus’ and even an Infiniti Q model. It did not stop there. Bai Shan Lin, the company in the midst of controversy, was reportedly granted permits that allowed it to also import scores of heavy trucks, bulldozers and loaders. In terms of the hauler trucks, Bai Shan Lin was able to import more than 200 of them, Kaieteur News was told. This is in addition to more than 50 bulldozers and a significant number of loaders that the company has in its fleet.

Chairman of Chinese-owned, Bai Shan Lin, Chu Wenze

While it is not unusual for Government to waive taxes and duties on vehicles, equipment and building materials for certain types of investments, in the case of Bai Shan Lin the questions would be many. The fleet of equipment that was shipped is mainly what is known as primary processing equipment. In other words, equipment associated with harvesting or logging activities. The number of vehicles brought in would also be unprecedented for one foreign company, industry experts said. Government had initially not made known what exactly are the arrangements with Bai Shan Lin. Rather it was the company’s Chairman, Chu Wenze, who made a presentation in November 2012, at the Second World Congress on Timber and Wood Products Trade in Taicang, China. Those plans were announced even before Guyana knew of it. The country became aware of what was happening only when Bai Shan Lin officials visited Guyana and held discussions with President Donald Ramotar and other Government officials, in January 2013. Bai Shan Lin is now facing investigations by the Opposition after revelations that it is involved in large-scale logging, even allegedly hiding behind third parties to mask the exports. There have been questions over the company’s involvement in Guyana with the Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment appearing in Parliament to answer questions. The Guyana Forestry Commission, which regulates the industry, has said that Bai Shan Lin has “invested” in a large fleet of skidders, log loaders, bulldozers, logging trucks and generators. There was no mention of equipment which would be involved in value-added timber products. Guyana has been vocal in pushing for a phased reduction in log exports but the Bai Shan Lin experience would signal a contradiction. A look at export figures, unofficially supplied, indicated that for the first half of 2013, some 30,000 cubic meters of timber products were exported. For the first half of 2014, this figure rose to over 50,000 cubic meters. This would be significant as Guyana has introduced what is known as a disincentive scheme – a gradually increasing tax and royalty scheme. Despite the increase in tax, the exports have shot up. GFC itself has not explained the rise in the exports but industry insiders said that Bai Shan Lin is playing a major part in this. The deals with Bai Shan Lin were reportedly signed during the period when former President Bharrat Jagdeo was heavily promoting his Low Carbon Development Strategy which among other things targeted increased tracking of illegal logging. Guyana has a groundbreaking, US$250M five-year agreement with Norway to protect its forests. It is unclear whether Norway and its monitoring agencies have been paying attention to the increasing exports to determine the impacts. Bai Shan Lin has been granted a large swath of land at Providence and has announced plans to set up what it is called a Guyana-China Timber Industry Economic and Trading Corporation Park plus a 400-acre real estate development. Commissioner of the Guyana Forestry Commission, James Singh, had said that the company is planning to construct Linden Wood Processing Factory which will be an integrated factory, beginning with log/lumber intake and resulting in the large-scale production of high-end furniture; flooring (parquet, multiple layered, outdoor quality); veneers; doors; mouldings; finger jointing and lumber, among others. However, he has not given any timelines by which Bai Shan Lin intends to move into the different phases of its operations. The Bai Shan Lin case would bring the spotlight sharply on how the Government of Guyana negotiates deals with foreign investors and the checks and balances to ensure that its resources are not raped.

Would be good to know, what Guyana is getting for allowing Bai Shan Lin to rape Guyana of its vital resources.

If they were given tax free concessions, to export our lumber, then this would mean that some Scumbags from the GOG is getting kickbacks.

I have some insight to the agreement thru my OP connections, it was done largely with the commitment to Norway in mind.  A nation can exploit your natural resources in a sustainable way.

Originally Posted by asj:

Would be good to know, what Guyana is getting for allowing Bai Shan Lin to rape Guyana of its vital resources.

If they were given tax free concessions, to export our lumber, then this would mean that some Scumbags from the GOG is getting kickbacks.

You don't know how things work, so shut yuh batty.

The smartest thing ever to come out of your mouth was a penis. That's why you shouldn't speak until you're spoken to.

GFC boss misrepresents the law in favour of Bai Shan Lin

August 9, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

…wants public to believe only two containers of logs exported daily

While it is for the courts to interpret the laws of Guyana, Commissioner of Forests, James Singh, in an attempt to defend

Bharrat Jagdeo

Bai Shan Lin’s exportation of logs out of Guyana seems to have misrepresented it. Singh, in response to an article carried by this publication, said that “Bai Shan Lin has two State Forest Exploratory Permits (SFEP’s); Section 9 (2) (b) of the Forests Act 2009 allows for the harvesting of forest produce from SFEP’s for limited commercial purposes and BSL can then export this produce in log form if it so chooses, in accordance with the National Log Export Policy.” That section of the law however does not explicitly permit exportation and further limits the commercial activities related to any logs harvested under the permit. Section 9 (2) (b) of the Forests Act 2009 states: “The Commission may on application grant an exploratory permit to any person –to cut and take specified kinds and quantities of forest produce from the exploratory area for testing, research and limited commercial purposes to the extent necessary to recoup no more than the appointed percentage of costs and expenses (excluding capital expenditure) incurred in the exploratory operations during the life of the permit.” This essentially means that Bai Shan Lin can engage in commercial activity with logs harvested to recover a percentage of its expenses related to exploring its concessions and not its actual investment. It also means that Bai Shan Lin is limited to specified types of wood with which it can undertake any commercial activity. What the company is instead doing is harvesting woods of every type, trucking and shipping them out of the interior and

James Singh

James Singh

exporting them on a massive scale. This has been the case since 2007, under the tenure of the then President Bharrat Jagdeo. It must be noted, too, that the permit allows Bai Shan Lin to recover exploratory costs only from the concession it has but the company has been exporting logs from concessions owned by other people. Containers Singh in his response to this publication’s report on the activities of Bai Shan Lin, had also said that contrary to the false impression portrayed, Bai Shan Lin and its joint venture partners have exported a total of 375 containers for the period January – June 2014. This claim by the Commissioner of Forests would mean that for the 181 days he referred to, only two containers of logs were shipped daily, not only by Bai Shan Lin but its partners with whom it has entered into joint venture arrangements. Contrary to the assertions made by Singh, on Wednesday alone there were 24 containers of logs on the public road at the John Fernandes container terminal ready for shipment. This is in addition to the numerous trucks witnessed by a team from this newspaper coming out from Kwakwani heading to Georgetown. Residents of Kwakwani estimate that no less than 30 container trucks belonging to Bai Shan Lin pass through the streets of

Robert Persaud

their community daily. Region Ten Chairman, Sharma Solomon, has estimated the figures upwards, to an average of 50 trucks within a 24-hour period. Critics have observed that Singh in his response to Kaieteur News failed to mention one word about Bai Shan Lin using boats to ship out lumber. Some are even questioning whether he is even aware that the company is using freighters to ship out logs. This publication, when it reported on the 24 containers outside the John Fernandes facility to which Singh responded, had reported on a limited number of companies with whom Bai Shan Lin had entered into joint venture arrangements. This publication subsequently learnt that the Region where the majority of the logging is taking place is unable to track the number of Bai Shan Lin’s partners or the amount of land under its control. Regional Chairman, Solomon, subsequently told this publication that it is difficult to ascertain the concessions under which Bai Shan Lin is operating, given that outside of what is registered officially at the Guyana Forestry Commission “there is a new arrangement that exists in the Region now where many associations and many loggers with concessions are in essence, sub-leasing.” According to Solomon, there is a lot of intertwining of the holders of concessions and those who are

Two trucks belonging to Bai Shan Lin about to leave Kwakwani on Wednesday evening in addition to the numerous that a team from this publication witnessed heading to Georgetown

exploiting the concessions. He noted too that many of those who would have collaborated with companies such as Bai Shan Lin are not reaping the benefits they would have signed on to.

The smartest thing ever to come out of your mouth was a penis. That's why you shouldn't speak until you're spoken to.

Stinker, who ask you to speak, yet you babble shit all day.  So, tell abie bout dem tax-free concessions nuh.

Not only in containers… Chinese vessel exporting logs in bulk

August 8, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

- Company moves like thieves in the night- Residents

The largest logging company in Guyana, Bai Shan Lin, is doing way more than the public knows and is doing so without the permission of relevant authorities. This newspaper paid a visit to Kwakwani, Region Ten, and found that—in the words of a Kwakwani resident—Bai Shan Lin is “taking all it can get and using every way dem can think of to carry lumber out of this country.” On the journey to Kwakwani, Kaieteur News noticed a number of loaded trucks, carrying Bai Shan Lin’s logo, making their way to Georgetown. Then there were 24 containers of logs that were shown on the front page of this newspaper Thursday August 7 edition as they waited to be exported. But when Kaieteur News finally arrived at Kwakwani Waterfront, something else was discovered. A short distance from Edward’s Crossing, was a freighter already loaded with logs ready to be shipped. On land, just beside where the vessel was anchored, lay hundreds of logs that were already marked and ready to be shipped. Information received is that Bai Shan Lin, in addition to the numerous containers of logs it sends out every day, uses that vessel to export the merchandise.

Caption for video above: A  Chinese freighter already loaded with logs in the Berbice River at Kwakwani. On land, just beside where the vessel was anchored, lay hundreds of logs that were already marked and ready to be shipped

The vessel is named Yuan Heng Freighter. Kaieteur News was told that when one boat goes another comes, and so it rotates. Residents of Kwakwani estimated that no less than 30 container trucks pass through the streets of their community daily. But a worker at the toll booth of Edward’s Crossing told this newspaper different. One person said that 12 trucks pass daily while another said it was about 15. Kaieteur News has been told that each truck has a toll cost of $50,000. Residents said that about 10 to 15 trucks pass out through the day, but explained that the greater amount, as many as twice that amount, would leave in the night. “They move like real thieves in the night. Every religious night when you sleeping you does hear dem passing through, one after de other. But de sound don’t affect we that much no more, we get accustom to it,” said one resident. Another resident said, “One thing you can’t stop dem Chinese with; dem does wuk hard. Is nah easy fuh prepare all them logs fuh shipment. You got to cut it, mark it and all duh. Me husband use to wuk with dem. Don’t think is no li’l operation. Dem does cut down everything dem lay eye pon.” In June, Bai Shan Lin submitted an application to the Environmental Protection Agency seeking environmental authorization to undertake a large scale logging and sawmill operation.

Caption for video above: A Bai Shan Lin container truck laden with logs at Kwakwani

According to the public notice, the company asked for the authorization for several areas including the Left Bank Essequibo River, Right Bank Berbice River, Right Bank Essequibo River, Left Bank Corentyne River, Left Bank Lysles River, River Bank Berbice River, and Right Bank Powis River, Regions Nine and Six. One official from the Guyana Forestry Commission explained that Bai Shan Lin International Forest Development does not have an actual licence for the exportation of logs. What the company has is a Spate Forest Exploration Permit. Bai Shan Lin was asked before to comply with statutory rules of the relevant agencies. Earlier this year it was found that Bai Shan Lin, even though it is such a major company, did not have the statutory regulatory blessings of Lands and Surveys, Geology and Mines or the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Yesterday Kaieteur News confirmed that the EPA has not given Bai Shan Lin permission to operate in the Berbice River. This is the same river that runs through Kwakwani. Bai Shan Lin has been granted a forestry concession that amounts to close to one million hectares of rainforest, from which it plans to extract logs and ship them out of Guyana. The company estimates that it will make US$1,800 from each hectare of land, giving it profits totaling US$1.7 billion, according to redd-monitor.org.

Stinker, who ask you to speak, yet you babble shit all day.  So, tell abie bout dem tax-free concessions nuh.

If a Bugga Batty like would do your homework you will find answers,
The workers and Pensioners in Guyana are given starvation wages, and yet this ***ed up Government are giving away Guyana as if it belongs the them.

The faster you use your god given brains, the better understanding will come your way.

If a Bugga Batty like would do your homework you will find answers,
The workers and Pensioners in Guyana are given starvation wages, and yet this ***ed up Government are giving away Guyana as if it belongs the them.

The faster you use your god given brains, the better understanding will come your way.

Stinker, stick to the duty-free concessions, how does this rob the Govt of export revenues nuh, tell abie.

Guyanese need to see the devastation left by logging

August 8, 2014 | By | Filed Under Letters

Dear Editor,

The people need to see the devastated areas caused by the massive log cutting and how it squares up against the much touted Low Carbon programme. Follow this up and you will see an end to this foolishness. Can anyone imagine Guyana helping to make China rich? John De Barros

Stinker, stick to the duty-free concessions, how does this rob the Govt of export revenues nuh, tell abie.

u actually need sumbady to hold yuh haan and explain . . . huh?

Which true Guyanese would want to make China become rich from their plunders of Guyana?

I think that only the PPP/C and those scumbags that lend their voices to the Corruptions of the PPP/C

Nah, he needs someone to climb on his back, and then he will get the answer that he is looking for

Oh, the cavalry to the rescue of dunce goat assjack.  Don't erase the operative word "export".  I think you know the model, just trying to salvage your dunce friend.

Nah, he needs someone to climb on his back, and then he will get the answer that he is looking for

Come assjack, don't hide behind your batty-boi padna Redux skirt tail.  Tell abie nuh how you figure what you represented.

We should have a team investigators to investigate who and why was concessions given, when Guyana is starving under the Corrupt PPP/c

Tell us bout these tax concessions nuh dunce boi.

We should have a team investigators to investigate who and why was concessions given, when Guyana is starving under the Corrupt PPP/c

Very simple question 4 u Bro. U think all this story about the Chinese is benefitting Guyana? And if u r against this rape of the country, then u should be serious and  try to stop it.

That wasn't the question.

I have some insight to the agreement thru my OP connections, it was done largely with the commitment to Norway in mind.  A nation can exploit your natural resources in a sustainable way.

You are that class of scumbag who would sell you agee for a jill. There is clear cutting going on and Norway has nothing to do with this. Sustainable harvesting of timber is problematic at best and the cost prohibitive but to the more conscientious since it involves seeking our individual trees, felling them in unique ways and hauling them out with minimal damage to the system. The chinese are clear cutting. The pictures are coming out soon so you can swallow your lies.

Oh, the cavalry to the rescue of dunce goat assjack.  Don't erase the operative word "export".  I think you know the model, just trying to salvage your dunce friend.

lord knows ASJ doan need me to slap u around

i struck out "export" solely because it is a fake context invention of YOURS to make a fake-ass point . . . let me re-post the quote u hanging yuh hat on suh u can deconstruct and prove me wrong:

ASJ: . . . If they were given tax free concessions, to export our lumber, then this would mean that some Scumbags from the GOG is getting kickbacks.

remember, in your own words, "duty-free concessions" is what we are talking about

over to u punk

i struck out "export" solely because it is a fake context invention of YOURS to make a fake-ass point . . . let me re-post the quote u hanging yuh hat on suh u can deconstruct and prove me wrong:

ASJ: . . . If they were given tax free concessions, to export our lumber, then this would mean that some Scumbags from the GOG is getting kickbacks.

remember, in your own words, "duty-free concessions" is what we are talking about

over to u punk

Read the original article.  Ever dunce goat assjack doesn't know what they were saying.

over to u punk

Read the original article.  Ever dunce goat assjack doesn't know what they were saying.

You always claim to know much but dispense only distilled bunk. Our wood is a unique product. It exist nowhere. We do not need to give tax concession for others to want them. We can price them ten times as high and others will come. It is in the realty they cannot be gotten elsewhere. Robert Persaud and the PPP are small minded fellows whose only concern is their personal enrichment. These concessions are given away because these crooks are getting rich on kickbacks.

over to u punk

You always claim to know much but dispense only distilled bunk. Our wood is a unique product. It exist nowhere. We do not need to give tax concession for others to want them. We can price them ten times as high and others will come. It is in the realty they cannot be gotten elsewhere. Robert Persaud and the PPP are small minded fellows whose only concern is their personal enrichment. These concessions are given away because these crooks are getting rich on kickbacks.

Well go and eat it buckman.

over to u punk

soon you will be eating kwame dick

over to u punk

hmmph . . . unlike alyuh ignar loudmouths, i always read before i comment

u made a cheap attack on the man and now u left stumbling around holding yuh limp dick in yuh haan . . . [half]trying lamely to find a dignified way to avoid addressing what i just stuck to the wall for everybady to see

slinking quietly into a carna to escape the spotlight might likely prove less embarrassing . . . but u can't help yuhself

smh

over to u punk

u made a cheap attack on the man and now u left stumbling around holding yuh limp dick in yuh haan . . . [half]trying lamely to find a dignified way to avoid addressing what i just stuck to the wall for everybady to see

slinking quietly into a carna to perhaps avoid the spotlight might likely prove less embarrassing . . . but u can't help yuhself

smh

Let the (anti) man respond.  What are you, his "mother hen"?

over to u punk

slinking quietly into a carna to escape the spotlight might likely prove less embarrassing . . . but u can't help yuhself

smh

Let the (anti) man respond.  What are you, his "mother hen"?

i want YOU to stop running and "respond" . . . my post was not addressed to ASJ

is ME who strip off yuh panty hay and run it up de flagpole

over to u punk

As I said...dalitdom is a place where the victims of operant conditioning cannot but remain tethered. Some like you cannot get out of the caste shackles so see it as meaningful everywhere....pitiful.

An example of damage caused by reckless clearcutting of Tibetan forests. It is estimated that approximately 50 percent of Tibet's forests have been cut down, with little or no attempt to restore the devastated land. Consequences include extensive erosion, flooding, and the silting of many Asian rivers that arise in Tibet (Kham). [John Ackerly]

Which part of Guyana was this?

He said Tibet to illustrate Chinese practice. What is happening to our forests is no different from the 90's Note Mrs J excused one company from fines due when they even went off their "exploratory lease concession" harvest thousands of trees. The point being made is the PPP is rather casual with our resources and the only reason for this is because like leaders in  the west African plantain republics they are having  a feast on kickbacks. This cannot be otherwise.   Note the have a moratorium on logging in China!.

Guys, we all know that the Chinese are bad for Guyana, or any part of the world they "invest" in. Guyana is no exception. They poison their own people from pollution. Why we think that Guyan is an exception? The Chinese should not be allowed to carry out any activity in Guyana. SAVE GUYANA FROM THE CHINESE...

barat de tiefman and the gangsta gov't u support in all things are 100% responsible for this

methinks your EXHORTATION is 'slightly' misdirected . . . nah suh bai?

barat de tiefman and the gangsta gov't u support in all things are 100% responsible for this

Wah you expeck me fuh taak about you sexual deviation? Nah dah you want me fuh taak obout?

Regardless who is in power, the Chinese should not be welcome in Guyana.

Wah you expeck me fuh taak about you sexual deviation? Nah dah you want me fuh taak obout?

good . . . i prefer u in 'authentic' mode suh everybady can see yuh disease

this fitful posing of yours can get annoying

Proposed tree plantation can threaten historic sites – archaeologist By  Stabroek editor

proposed-tree-plantation-can-threaten-historic-sites-archaeologist

Archaeologist Louisa Daggers has expressed concern that China Paper Corporation’s proposed tree plantation in the intermediate savannahs of Berbice could impact significant archaeological sites.

“As a concerned citizen and a professional in the field of archaeology and cultural heritage protection I am a bit concerned about the China Paper tree-plantation project in the intermediate savannahs and its potential impact on locally and internationally significant archaeological/cultural sites within the Berbice river area,” Daggers wrote in a letter to Stabroek News.

“I will not give myself too much liberty as neither of the agencies specified the exact location of this development; however, from my personal research I am almost sure it is within the confines of the proposed study site for archaeological research in the coming years,” she said.
The anthropologist who is attached to the Amerindian Research Unit of the University of Guyana questioned why the issue is not being addressed by the media and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) after several headlines by the cultural sector on the significance of the Berbice sites. She also pointed out that a Memorandum of Understanding was signed earlier this year with the University of Florida encouraging several years of research in Berbice.

“The EPA Act mandates that a cultural assessment be conducted whenever a project is being considered; this goes hand-in-hand with the EIA and the ESIA, so why has this not been addressed and is being ignored by the EPA,” Daggers questioned.

Earlier this year, Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport, Dr Frank Anthony, in reviewing his ministry’s highlights for last year, said that a major archaeological find in the Berbice area, which has attracted foreign researchers, was a high point. Anthony had said the ministry would be partnering with a number of universities and other institutions to carry out research work at the archaeological site.

The site stretches beyond the Fort Nassau area where there is a huge savannah and Anthony said researchers had noticed a number of mounds rising up in the savannahs that might date back before the birth of Christ and was possibly the home of an ancient civilization. He had noted that since the site has attracted foreign researchers, the ministry would be monitoring all archeological excavations.
China Paper Corporation proposes to invest US$205 million in a tree plantation in the intermediate savannahs and has applied to the EPA for authorization. The EPA had said that Standard Agro-Forestry Inc. – which is wholly owned by China Paper – submitted an application for Environmental Authorization to develop a Tree Plantation and Agricultural project on 52,995 hectares of intermediate savannahs situated west of the Berbice River. The parcels of land are located in Regions Five and Ten.

“This development will entail cultivating fast-growing trees of the Acacia species which will be harvested to produce pellets for export. The site will also require the construction of houses and roads, felling of trees and the development of a Landing on the west bank of the Berbice River. Tree logs will be transported down the Berbice River to New Amsterdam where they will be processed into pellets,” the EPA said. The agency said that an Environmental and Social Impact Assessment is required for the project before any decision to approve or reject it since the development may have significant impacts on the environment.

dont worry about it,put mala around robert neck,you prapa love them ppp bais