1. Apan jhaat means to vote for your own or keep it in the family. In a political sense - Indians only.
2. In the 50's before independence and the PNC, the PPP consisted of both Burnham and Jagan and also Mr. Rai.
3. There was a faction of PPP Indians who advocated apan jhaat and did not see black folks having any place in government or even in Guyana. Personally, I do not believe Dr. Jagan was one of those but he had to deal with elements in his party who advocated apan jhaat. Was Mr. Rai one of them? I don't know. Furthermore, remember that his wife Janet came from the US where segregation against black folks was common place. What was her feeling about blacks?
4. Forbes got wind of this apan jhaat talk. It was going on at bottom house meetings, screamed loudly that Indians were to vote for Indians only. DG listed some of the names in his earlier post. What effect did calls for apan jhaat have on black people and Forbes?
5. But why Apan Jhaat? Why Indians only when BOTH races struggled against colonialism and massa's whip? It is my opinion that Indian castism brought from India was at the root of it, where the dark skinned (dalits) were considered sub human. The black man, because of his complexion fell into this category. In the view of those who practiced castism, he was a subhuman not worthy to have any role in government or in the country and certainly inferior to the light skinned chatree / rajput Indians who were peddling apan jhaat and wanted to subjugate the black man.
6. The average Indian followed along. In that era many people (blacks and Indians) were uneducated and did as they were told. The Indian laborer class followed their light skinned chatree/rajput leaders.
7. This Indian only, apan jhaat mentality is what gave rise to the PNC. Burnham, realizing that blacks were outnumbered and would become an underclass in Indian rule, formed coalitions with the UF to gain power. I believe the apan jhaat of the Indians never left his psyche. No excuse for the racism Burnham practiced against Indians, but he experienced their racism first hand.
8. The PNC ruled for 28 years. You know the history.
So pre dating Burnham was this mindset among the chatree / rajput Indians that they were superior to black people. They and only they deserved to rule and black folks were to survive at their mercy. I concur with Redux when he says this racism among some of these Indians runs deep and has NOTHING to do with Burnham. It all pre dated Burnham!!!!
This mindset is still with us today and the reason for this post. As long as we have the basemans, shaitaans, cobras, ramas, skeldon man, sachins, prashads, yugis, revs and sadly now Seignet who feel that black people are an inferior class to them then there will always be another Burnham.
The medium has changed from bottom houses to the internet. And the cry has changed from Apan Jhaat to "daag fuh daaag". Guyanese - take note of the fruits of the racist operators in the 50's because they are still with us today. And their fruits will be just the same. End the vicious cycle of apan jhaat and racism toward blacks just as I implore blacks to abandon any racism against Indians.
Itaname, I have highlighted the relevant parts for my comments.
1. In 1953, both Cheddi Jagan and Forbes Burnham were together in the PPP as Leader and Chairman respectively.
2. After the constitution was suspended in 1953, the PPP was divided in to two separate political organisations --
a. PPP-Jaganite, and
b. PPP-Burnhamite.
3. Both political parties contested the 1957 elections under the respective names; PPP-Jaganite and PPP-Burnhamite.
4. After the 1957 elections the PPP-Burnhamite change its name to the PNC.
5. Cheddi Jagan never got involved with nor promoted the term Apan Jhaat.
6. In the early 1950's Balram Singh Rai was never with the PPP, and he not only lost the seat he contested but also lost his deposit. It was only when Balram Singh Rai joined the PPP in the latter part of the 1950's that he won a seat in parliament.