- Stabroek News - http://www.stabroeknews.com -

Troubled Skeldon factory to use old punt-dumper

Posted By Pushpa Balgobin On August 11, 2014 @ 5:14 am In Local News | No Comments

The troubled Skeldon sugar factory will soon be relying on the punt-dumper from the old factory which had been decommissioned in 2009.

This is another setback for the US$110M flagship factory which has encountered a plethora of problems leading to huge losses since 2009. For the last few years, GuySuCo has been trying to rectify the shortcomings of the factory.

Chief Executive Officer, Rajendra Singh told Stabroek News on Thursday that some of the in-house work that was done on the problematic factory included the replacement of all of the hydraulic seals while arrangements were being made to transfer the punt-dumper system from the old factory to the new factory.

GAWU SPEAKS!  RAMU nah listen!

Shut down Skeldon factory and remedy defects – GAWU

Posted By Staff Writer On November 19, 2010 @ 5:14 am In Archives | No Comments

With reports of problems piling up at the Skeldon factory the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU) yesterday called on the sugar corporation to consider shutting it down until the costly defects are remedied.

GAWU, in a short statement, said that operations at the factory have worsened over the past few days.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

GAWU SPEAKS!  RAMU nah listen!

Shut down Skeldon factory and remedy defects – GAWU

Posted By Staff Writer On November 19, 2010 @ 5:14 am In Archives | No Comments

With reports of problems piling up at the Skeldon factory the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU) yesterday called on the sugar corporation to consider shutting it down until the costly defects are remedied.

GAWU, in a short statement, said that operations at the factory have worsened over the past few days.

this factory is the ppp coffin  

This is one stinking shame Jagdeo can never get over. A Bloody Shame.  I have never heard of a 200 M US project that is broken from the beginning and no penalty handed down!!!!

You think any one would buy that...you trying to tell us you cant stand the Jagabath/ppp stench? Yuh nose stuck in dem bt...who yuh trying to fool... Maybe yuh run out of rum...try tek wan shat rubbing alcohol or methelated spirit might help....

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

This is one stinking shame Jagdeo can never get over. A Bloody Shame.  I have never heard of a 200 M US project that is broken from the beginning and no penalty handed down!!!!

You think any one would buy that...you trying to tell us you cant stand the Jagabath/ppp stench? Yuh nose stuck in dem bt...who yuh trying to fool... Maybe yuh run out of rum...try tek wan shat rubbing alcohol or methelated spirit might help....

Sach, China likes buy junk. Do you think, it might want to buy this back as scrap metal?