Originally posted by The Judge:
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Did the incident happen or not?

How would i know you're not quoting from the Jamaica Gleaner or Jamaica Observer....I could point you to a whole host of incorrect information published by blogs against international and regional artistes that have turned out to be false
Well go ahead and show where in the mainstream press the story was shown as false. The quote did come from the Jamaican Observer.

My questions to you remain, Judge. You are the one who engaged in this tirade, including telling me I have a dick in my mouth. Yes?

Now all I have said above is not a personal attack on anyone. So, please just answer my questions. And if you were asleep at the wheel, just say so. It happens to the best of us sometimes too.

Apparently you were alseep cuz i answered you long time
Come now Judge...would you like me to repeat them?

This happened before Mavado came to Guyana. Please share your thoughts with us.

Gerhard is soulrebel.org an authentic news source or a music blog?

And here is the original source: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com...596970#ixzz1I2I1qrDA

Again, if you were not so caught up in hatred, you'd take your time in this here little debate. Why are you so anxious to discredit and judge me, Judge? Do you know what I listen to?

So did the article say where and when Mavado's actions on stage and off led to the shooting in the parking lot after the concert?

Gerhard are you really this dumb?
Question 1:

Judge, you are not answering the million dollar question - Why was Vybz Kartel invited to Guyana?

What does that have to do with the discussion?
Wasn't it for Jamzone?
Judge, do you take the readers of GNI for fools? Even if you are trying to separate Jamzone from the Gov't, which even a school child can tell you is nonsense, why did you, yes you Judge, not raise an objection to when Vybz Kartel was advertised in Guyana? Further, why did Mr Goolsarran not say anything then? Was he sleeping at the wheel, just like you Judge? Yes?

This happened before Mavado came to Guyana. Please share your thoughts with us.

Gerhard is soulrebel.org an authentic news source or a music blog?

And here is the original source: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com...596970#ixzz1I2I1qrDA

Again, if you were not so caught up in hatred, you'd take your time in this here little debate. Why are you so anxious to discredit and judge me, Judge? Do you know what I listen to?

So did the article say where and when Mavado's actions on stage and off led to the shooting in the parking lot after the concert?

Gerhard are you really this dumb?
I quoted this article: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com...596970#ixzz1I2I1qrDA

Can you show where this has been refuted, other than trying to say it wasn't so?
Question 1 - repeated:

Judge, you are not answering the million dollar question - Why was Vybz Kartel invited to Guyana?

Wasn't it for Jamzone?
Judge, do you take the readers of GNI for fools? Even if you are trying to separate Jamzone from the Gov't, which even a school child can tell you is nonsense, why did you, yes you Judge, not raise an objection to when Vybz Kartel was advertised in Guyana? Further, why did Mr Goolsarran not say anything then? Was he sleeping at the wheel, just like you Judge? Yes?

In summary, I am asking why was there no objection to Vybz Kartel, before he did not show up to perform in Guyana.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by The Judge:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

DO YOU KNOW THAT MAVADO GOT HIS US VISA BACK AFTER THIS AND IT WAS REVOKED PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT?

Mavado's US visa returned

Krista Henry, Staff Reporter

Singjay Mavado is all smiles this weekend as he returns to the United States after more than a year's absence. The artiste recently had his United States visa returned.

In April of last year Mavado, whose correct name is David Brooks, was among four artistes who's US visas were cancelled.

According to a previous report in The STAR, the visas of deejays Bounty Killer, Mavado, Beenie Man, Aidonia and selector Ricky Trooper were cancelled by the Fraud Prevention Arm of the United States Embassy in Kingston.

At the time, a statement released was quoted as saying: 'The Embassy of the United States in Kingston, Jamaica, is in the process of revoking the visas of the following citizens of Jamaica. The people mentioned here currently hold a US visa that we have not yet been able to physically cancel. Do not allow these passengers to board any flights bound for the United States in reliance on this visa."

Mavado is the first artiste since the cancellation to have his US visa reinstated.

exclusive interview

The singjay arrived in New York on Saturday morning. According to his manager Julian Jones-Griffith, Mavado did his first exclusive interview on New York's Hot 97 FM with Bobby Konders and Jabba yesterday. Jones-Griffith told The STAR, "Since losing his visa in April 2010, Mavado hasn't commented on the situation, in media or on record. Now that the situation has been resolved we will retain that dignity and not comment on the issue, suffice to say, Mavado is looking forward to getting back to work in the United States where his army of fans will get to see him perform after a prolonged absence."

He continued, "We have a lot of projects in the pipeline that we will announce in due course. We would like to thank all of the people who reached out to us in troubled times, we will certainly not forget you, and for those who didn't, we won't forget you either."

Locally the artiste has kept himself busy with charity work, shows in Jamaica and Europe and releasing a number of singles. And despite not having his US visa, Mavado was still working with overseas entertainers musically. The singjay appeared on a remix from popular US producer DJ Khalid among others.

More recently Mavado released his first single from his own label, Mansion Records, titled Delilah.

http://jamaica-star.com/thesta...110704/ent/ent1.html
Question 1 - repeated again:

Wasn't it for Jamzone?

In summary, I am asking why was there no objection to Vybz Kartel, BEFORE he did not show up to perform in Guyana.

AND GERHARD VYBZ KARTEL ISN'T THE ONLY JAMAICAN ARTISTE WHOSE MUSIC WAS BANNED FROM THE LOCAL AIRWAVES. MAVADO WAS BANNED TOO.

DID GOOLASARRAN SAY ANYTHING WHEN MAVADO'S MUSIC WAS BANNED FROM THE AIRWAVES?

DID YOU MISS THE PART WHERE HE SAID THAT THE KARTEL BAN WAS DISCUSSED FOR THE PAST WEEK BY NCN MANAGEMENT?
Judge, I am asking this for the 9th time now:

In summary, I am asking why was there no objection to Vybz Kartel, BEFORE he did not show up to perform in Guyana.

ARE YOU AWARE THAT MAVADO PERFORMED IN GUYANA IN 2005 AND WAS THEN BANNED 2006 AND HIS MUSIC WAS LATER BANNED IN THE SAME YEAR FROM THE LOCAL AIRWAVES?

Hence the action against Kartel isn't unprecedented as you're suggesting and it makes a mockery of YOUR OPINION, which you are unable to prove, that it was as a result of the Government and Jamzone etc
Judge, I am asking this for the 11th time now:

Why was there no objection to Vybz Kartel, BEFORE he did not show up to perform in Guyana.

Remember, it was you, Judge, who so graphically showed in this thread why he should be banned. To disprove my contention that the Gov't was not involved, you must answer why Vybz Kartel was invited to Guyana in the first place, and explain why this was not noticed by the Gov't. You can only disprove my contention by showing that the Gov't had no idea Vybz Kartel was invited to Guyana by the Jamzone organisers. Remember, Judge, the banning of Kartel's music is coming from the Gov't. It is all elementary here, and so far, the only mockery you are making, is of yourself, so please try to stick the point. Thank you.

Why was there no objection to Vybz Kartel, BEFORE he did not show up to perform in Guyana.

To disprove my contention that the Gov't was not involved, you must answer why Vybz Kartel was invited to Guyana in the first place, and explain why this was not noticed by the Gov't. You can only disprove my contention by showing that the Gov't had no idea Vybz Kartel was invited to Guyana by the Jamzone organisers. Remember, Judge, the banning of Kartel's music is coming from the Gov't. It is all elementary here, and so far, the only mockery you are making, is of yourself, so please try to stick the point. Thank you.

The Government's involvement is merely to create the conditions necessary to encourage the promoters to provide high value entertainment during that time via tax breaks etc. It does not dictate which artiste must be booked which is left in its entirety up to the PROMOTERS

To disprove my contention that the Gov't was not involved, you must answer why Vybz Kartel was invited to Guyana in the first place, and explain why this was not noticed by the Gov't. You can only disprove my contention by showing that the Gov't had no idea Vybz Kartel was invited to Guyana by the Jamzone organisers. Remember, Judge, the banning of Kartel's music is coming from the Gov't. It is all elementary here, and so far, the only mockery you are making, is of yourself, so please try to stick the point. Thank you.

The Government's involvement is merely to create the conditions necessary to encourage the promoters to provide high value entertainment during that time via tax breaks etc. It does not dictate which artiste must be booked which is left in its entirety up to the PROMOTERS

Did the Gov't know Vybz Kartel was invited to perform in Guyana by the organisers of Jamzone?

How the heck would i know that? Can you say without a doubt that they knew it was him and were aware of his background etc? Can you prove it? Or you believe they did?
Now this is just silly!

You yourself just in a few seconds found all the reasons to ban Vybz Kartel! Are you saying the Gov't was so asleep at the wheel, that they didn't know this was THE Vybz Kartel? Does the Gov't not vet who performs at the National Stadium? Yes? No?

Question: Do you, Judge, believe the Gov't was unaware who was being invited to perform in Guyana, at the National Stadium, and not a private venue?

I have my opinion you have yours, however, they are only OUR OPINION, not facts. What is messed up is how you take YOUR OPINION and construe them as FACTS here

No sir. What I have said is not based on opinion.

It is a simple conclusion based on the fact that a famous controversial international artiste was invited to Guyana knowing to the Gov't, and when he did not show up, his music was banned from the Gov't radio station. Prior to his anticipated coming, his music was played by the very Gov't radio station.

You have not disproved these facts in any way, shape or form.

It is a simple conclusion based on the fact that a famous controversial international artiste was invited to Guyana knowing to the Gov't, and when he did not show up, his music was banned from the Gov't radio station.

Again you cannot prove that the government knew of the promoter's intention to bring Vybz Kartel nor were aware of his colourful history this is just your opinion.
So for you to base your pronouncement that NCN's banning of his music one month after he did not show up at a concert organized by private individuals that only received patronage from the state which is extended to every other promoter on his no-show is dishonest

It is a simple conclusion based on the fact that a famous controversial international artiste was invited to Guyana knowing to the Gov't, and when he did not show up, his music was banned from the Gov't radio station.

Again you cannot prove that the government knew of the promoter's intention to bring Vybz Kartel nor were aware of his colourful history this is just your opinion.
So for you to base your pronouncement that NCN's banning of his music one month after he did not show up at a concert organized by private individuals that only received patronage from the state which is extended to every other promoter on his no-show is dishonest
Judge, again you are taking people for fools. The advertisements for the Jamzone event, listing Vbyz Kartel as one of the performers, were aired on the Gov't radio and TV stations. A fact that Mr Goolsarran ought to have been aware of. If not, then the implication is that he was asleep at the wheel, for a long time to boot.

In any event, whoever you are Judge, you obviously know the Gov't well. Clearly, you are very verse in who Vybz Kartel is and in the local dancehall culture, as pointed out in this very thread. Are you saying Judge, that you were unaware that Vybz Kartel was being invited to Guyana, given you are so in touch with the local dancehall scene?
affront to people of African ancestry?

the PPP is an affront to people of African ancestry.......poor Luncheon cant even protect you all against your own racism.

Fix what you can fix and let others decide for themselves about Vybz. We dont need some Indian telling us about owrselves.
Vybz Kartel says he'd rather tour Iraq than visit Guyana
Written by Demerara Waves Thursday, 22 September 2011 16:14

(Examiner.com) Internationally acclaimed Dancehall artiste, Vybz Kartel has responded to a ban imposed on him by the Guyana National Broadcasting Association; ensuring none of his songs would ever hit the nation’s airwaves.

The ban was announced yesterday; just over a month after Kartel opted not to show up for a scheduled performance at the government-supported Jam Zone Summer Break show in the Guyanese capital of Georgetown. According to state-owned, National Communications Network spokesman, Martin Goolsarran, Kartel’s music was forbidden from being played on local airwaves given the obscenity & hardcore nature of his lyrics. Additionally, Goolsarran claimed that music from “Di Teacha” offered “nothing positive” to the entertainment industry.

Kartel, real name, Adidja Palmer has broken his silence regarding the indefinite suspension of his music in the South American nation; hinting that the officials are hypocrites for imposing the ban. "It's interesting, especially since that same radio station did a concert with me based on the fact that, and I quote, “The Guyana people don't want to see nobody but you.” Unfortunately, I didn't attend the show and that is the reason why the ban on my music was imposed. With that being said, I care zero about them and their ban because I won't be visiting Guyana ever,” Kartel intimated to the Jamaica STAR.

As for the implications the ban has on Kartel’s relationship with Guyana as a whole, he stated, "I refused to go there before the ban was imposed so that ban wasn't necessary. I banned myself. Big up the Guyanese Gaza fans but I would sooner tour Iraq than go to Guyana.” Kartel earlier implied that the reason he refused to board a Caribbean Airlines flight to the Jam Zone Summer Break event last month due to alleged death and kidnapping threats made against him by the Guyanese. Two years prior to this, Kartel cancelled another performance in Guyana for similar reasons.

Judge,' Teenage Pregnancy' is a bad example.ya head nah right bai! Without entering into this debate, i must say every country would benefit if such relevant and necessary issues were raised through commercially available music.Music can be the most effective means of education- irrelevant of Kartels intensions.You can not censor music- that is barbaric,perhaps Guyana and communism should go in the same sentence.Restrictions can and should be put in place, re age and access to explicit material(and label warnings). It is not up to the government to sensor, it is 100% the responsibility of the parents.NBN were completely out of order by singling out VYBZ alone.They just need to play explicit dancehall after 10pm or not at all.This is really a 'no brainer'.
Originally posted by albert:
Gerhard.....is that type of music you are supportive of????
i
Originally posted by caribj:
affront to people of African ancestry?

the PPP is an affront to people of African ancestry.......poor Luncheon cant even protect you all against your own racism.

Fix what you can fix and let others decide for themselves about Vybz. We dont need some Indian telling us about owrselves.

You are all over the map, you just like stroking yourself dont you?
J