Bandit dies in shoot-out with cops at Meten-Meer-Zorg - two others captured; gunmen posed as GPL employeesPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Savitri Laikram   

Monday, 16 September 2013 21:32

A bandit was shot dead yesterday morning at approximately 10:00hrs at Meten–Meer–Zorg, West Coast Demerara, after police intercepted a gang of armed men who were about to commit a robbery at De Willem, a neighbouring village.

alt

Dead: Kirk Bacchus

The man who died in the shoot-out with the police has been identified as Kirk Bacchus of Paradise, East Coast of Demerara.
Reports indicated that four men were cornered by the police at the community’s burial ground and then they fled to Tarla Dam where one of the men was shot as he tried to escape.
Bacchus was wearing a Guyana Power and Light (GPL) T-shirt at the time and residents who spoke to the media indicated that they were informed that the gunmen had posed as GPL employees and were intending to rob a business in the area.
The man received gunshot injuries to his upper chest.
A resident who lives in close proximity to the area said that she was in her home when the incident occurred and she closed all doors and stayed with her grandson inside.
Another resident said she witnessed the police running after two men, one of whom had a “big gun” and was on a bicycle and the other (Bacchus) was on foot when the man on the bicycle opened fire on the police.
She said further that the police apprehended the gunman who was on foot and he stumbled while running and that’s when the police shot him to the chest.
She told the media that the police retrieved a gun from the dead man.
This publication was informed that the police used a car from a nearby taxi service to follow the gunmen.
Meanwhile, the Guyana Police Force (GPF) in a press release issued yesterday confirmed that one man was shot dead, while two others are in police custody and another on the run after they invaded the Kastev Housing Scheme, Meten-Meer-Zorg, with the intention to commit a robbery.
Police have identified the dead man as Kirk Bacchus of Paradise, East Coast Demerara.
According to the police, ranks acted on information received which indicated that an armed robbery was planned and staked out an area at Kastev Housing Scheme.
The police related that at about 10:00hrs, two motor vehicles, bearing number plates HB 7644 and PPP 9366, drove up and four men, two of whom were armed with handguns, exited the vehicles.
Police ranks said they challenged the men who responded by opening fire on them resulting in the fatal wounding of Bacchus.
Police said a 9mm pistol with two live rounds was recovered while the fourth man who is yet to be apprehended is armed with the other firearm.
As word of the chase went through the community, children of the Meten–Meer–Zorg Primary School were sent home.
When this publication visited the school, teachers and parents gathered with the students and explained that they heard gunshots in the area and the students were asked to stay low while teachers locked the doors and windows of the classrooms.
Those gathered at the school said that it is alarming and dangerous for shootouts in the area of the school where small children come and go everyday and so better protection is needed in the community.
One teacher said that the chase and shootout started from the seawall and passed through the street where the school is located. She said the incident had a negative impact on the community and the school as parents came to collect their children shortly after to take them home, which is a disruption to their education.
One parent said that he is fearful to send his children to school as the place has become very unsafe.
Other residents of the scheme told the media that the men appeared to have been staying at the “Gary Hotel” and they opined that this is a regular spot where thieves and all sorts of people go for a hideout and just to spend a night or two and come out later to commit their crimes.
When contacted, the proprietor said that he does not know the men or anything about where they came from but his business was unharmed and he does not know much about the matter.
Residents locked themselves in their houses as the incident unfolded. This incident comes one week after 27-year-old Zulficar 'Vicky' Namdar was gunned down in the community.

Good job by the Police. Wonder why they didn't use the helicopters?

Nah, I think that the Police could have saved the taxpayers a lot of moolah by killing all three thus rid the community of scumbags.

Originally Posted by asj:

Nah, I think that the Police could have saved the taxpayers a lot of moolah by killing all three thus rid the community of scumbags.

Better yet leave them where they falls and let the dogs feed on them, a detterence to other would be murderers.

This must be a reversal of fortunes for the afc/pnc mo fiah slow fiah campaign as their fund raising activity is disrupted. However they have many more such campaings in the works as we see they win some and they lose some but somehow they always come out ahead.

QUOTE: "She said further that the police apprehended the gunman who was on foot and he stumbled while running and that’s when the police shot him to the chest."

==============

The Guyana Human Rights Association may question the killing of this man. They may say the police acted as judge, jury and executioner.

QUOTE: "She said further that the police apprehended the gunman who was on foot and he stumbled while running and that’s when the police shot him to the chest."

==============

The Guyana Human Rights Association may question the killing of this man. They may say the police acted as judge, jury and executioner.

THe GHRA can go to BLOODY HELL!!!!

==============

One of these days you will come crying when the system turns against you. 

==============

YOu are really that stupid and ignorant. I thought you were faking it!!!

==============

They say you live in NY. If you undermine systems it will come back to bite you. 

Originally Posted by asj:

You say that because you do not think...that is an alien process to fundamentalists. We are however trying to forge a democratic society where the rule of law prevail. We do not want Judge Dreads in the streets.

==============

You simply mouth words. It would be nice if you try to explain so we can get the benefit of your wisdom if you are as gifted as you claim. Alas, you have been here 15 years and your posts are limited to two sentences of abject drivel. Any of your responses to any post over any period could be placed above and no one would know a difference. It would be the same bilge.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

==============

You simply mouth words. It would be nice if you try to explain so we can get the benefit of your wisdom if you are as gifted as you claim. Alas, you have been here 15 years and your posts are limited to two sentences of abject drivel. Any of your responses to any post over any period could be placed above and no one would know a difference. It would be the same bilge.

D2, is is present and was is the past. Keep asking and I will Heducate you.

D2, Dem Bannas seh you gat the RECORD for writing pages of FILTH Daily. 

Duh duh duh duh....filth...duh duh lamata duh duh duh Jack ass...dud dud nimakaram...duh duh duh....stupid...duh duh duh ignorant....duh duh

Originally Posted by Danyael:

D2, Dem Bannas seh you gat the RECORD for writing pages of FILTH Daily. 

Duh duh duh duh....filth...duh duh lamata duh duh duh Jack ass...dud dud nimakaram...duh duh duh....stupid...duh duh duh ignorant....duh duh

Haha. Mr Danyael messed up that king of ignoramuses.