Bank of America cut ties with Guyana – but Ganga says no need to panic

July 7, 2016 11:48 am Category: Business, latest news, Regional A+ /A-

As foreign banks, particularly those in the United States continue to sever ties with financial institutions in the Caribbean over money laundering concerns, the Bank of America has ended its relationship with “indigenous banks” in Guyana.

INews understands that the Bank of America sent a notice indicating that it was severing its corresponding relationship with “indigenous banks” in Guyana. The notice was sent about a month ago.

bankHowever, Governor General of the Bank of Guyana, Dr Gobind Ganga, has assured that there was no need to panic about the situation, since Guyana’s economy would not be impacted in any way. He clarified too that contrary to reports, the Bank of America was the only corresponding bank that has cut ties with Guyana to date.

He explained that Guyana was currently in talks with several other banks that were willing to form new corresponding banking relationships with local financial institutions.

“We have had other foreign banks that have shown interest in providing the kind of corresponding banking relationship to fill the void that the Bank of America is causing… These are banks from Europe and North America,” Dr Ganga stated.

When asked how far along were the discussions with these banks, Dr Ganga said that the talks were ongoing and projected that the negotiations should come to fruition shortly.

“So, at this time, there is no cause for concern, because the banks do have corresponding relationships and they are seeking others. The Bank of Guyana is assisting these banks in finding new corresponding banking relationships,” Dr Ganga reassured.

This matter was on the agenda for discussion at the 37th Caricom Heads of Government Meeting held in Guyana July 4 to 6, as Caribbean leaders try to tackle the cut-off of regional indigenous banks, referred to as de-risking – a situation that poses dire consequences for the Region, including crushing impacts on the wider economy.

De-risking is when international banks withdraw from their relationships with indigenous banks because of fears of money laundering and questionable sources of funds which would cause the international banks to receive heavy fines from their regulators.

Caribbean banking institutions rely on such relationships in order to allow residents to conduct international financial transactions. However, since last year, the Region has been facing the impact of de-risking and the issue has been occupying the attention of regional policy-makers, following signals by international banks that they were unwilling to continue carrying the business of regional banks.

Of course Bank of America is done with them.  One of their first order of business was to change the primary hard currency from the USDollar to the British pound.  Well, now with Brexit and the devaluation of the British pound they are sitting on a pile of schitttt!

Of course Bank of America is done with them. One of their first order of business was to change the primary hard currency from the USDollar to the British pound.  Well, now with Brexit and the devaluation of the British pound they are sitting on a pile of schitttt!

Doesn't make sense,are you sure about that??

You don't "change" primary hard currency. Suppliers invoice Guyanese importers in the currency they stipulate in their banks' LC (Letter of credit). On the Guyana export side, our sugar, bauxite, gold etc., would have the payment currency of the export corporation. Rice is mostly in "soft" currency to offset oil imports from Trinidad, except to other countries. The GoG would have influence on the ecport corporations where the State controls. Im not sure about gold exports. And then in that instance it would be a major change and be public.

Well the switch was made to use the British pound as the primary hard currency for future trade of goods and services.  And it was NOT made public.  Not all suppliers stipulate in their Letter of Credit which currency they would like to be paid in.  Foreign exchange is fluid in today's world market among the countries whose currency is used for trade, mainly the USDollar, the British pound, the Euro, the Swiss Franc, and the Japanese yen.

Soft currency was used with PetroCaribe until the end came of that.  Watch out for shortage of foreign currency at Bank of Guyana to be followed by the devaluation of the GY dollar.

The Central Bank of Guyana keeps its reserve currency and its accounting in US dollar.....until someone with inside knowledge says that that ain't so.

Most of the world's trade is done in US currency among the clearing banks. Most of the Guyanese imports take place with US suppliers and they would stiff their Guyanese counterparts if they have to invoice in British Pounds. Imagine these suppliers now have to be participants in foreign currency markets - just to sell their goods.

The PetroCaribe deal was barter basically but guess which accounting currency was used. The Trinidad rice purchases usually offset fuel imports from Trinidad in the books using EC Dollars (the soft currency I referred to).

Of course Bank of America is done with them. One of their first order of business was to change the primary hard currency from the USDollar to the British pound.  Well, now with Brexit and the devaluation of the British pound they are sitting on a pile of schitttt!

Doesn't make sense,are you sure about that??

Take that girl with a bucketload of salt (not a pinch). She's talking through her hat as usual.

Kari posted:

What's the status of the anti-laundering bill?

Despite what the PPP chorus will scream indigenous banks throughout the Caribbean are losing ties with big North American money centers.  The volume of revenues generated are not worth the potential penalties if a majo9r money laundering issue is discovered.

As of now only the Canadian banks have a significant presence in the English speaking Caribbean.  The US banks were never really that interested, except at the corporate and sovereign levels in T&T and Jamaica, and the UK banks (meaning Barclays) have gone, replaced by First Caribbean.

So Bibi can scream and wail but indigenous Caribbean banks are in trouble, and countries like Guyana, which depend heavily on them, are in deep shyte.

asj posted:

Caribbean banking institutions rely on such relationships in order to allow residents to conduct international financial transactions. However, since last year, the Region has been facing the impact of de-risking and the issue has been occupying the attention of regional policy-makers, following signals by international banks that they were unwilling to continue carrying the business of regional banks.

This is for Bibi, who will scream that her lover boy Bharat would fix this, but he cannot.

Kari posted:

The Central Bank of Guyana keeps its reserve currency and its accounting in US dollar.....until someone with inside knowledge says that that ain't so.

).

I am sure that the GUY$ trades against the US$ as that is what most trade is priced in.  Aside from sugar what do we export to the UK?  How much do we buy from that source?

If the PPP was in office then you guys would have said it was because of money laundering from the drug trade.

I wouldn't do that as clearly this isn't a Guyana problem.  It is a Caribbean problem.  I hope that you realize this too.

If the PPP was in office then you guys would have said it was because of money laundering from the drug trade.

I wouldn't do that as clearly this isn't a Guyana problem.  It is a Caribbean problem.  I hope that you realize this too.

I know you too well to give any credence to your statement.

Educate us in what else you know Billy Beee.....Another know-all Noel

I am not stupid, and never make comments that would make me look stupid.  Blaming the Guyana gov't, regardless as to which party is in power, is stupid if the problem clearly is Caribbean wide.

I leave that nonsense to you.

The PNC crooks in office has to own this. I one year, one of the biggest banks of the world abandoned Guyana. All you pnc crabdogs should be ashamed of jackass Granger and how he run down the nation in a mere year. 

ba$eman posted:

The GOG, in switching the national reserves from USD to GBP just costs the hard working man and woman of Guyana maybe USD 100 Mil due to Brexit.

I  see you bought the anansi story too.....hehehe....stupidy Bill....hehehe...suh whey yuh pull dat figga fram....yuh BT?

Kari posted:

Educate us in what else you know Billy Beee.....Another know-all Noel

Whether if it's a Guyana problem or a Caribbean problem your take on issues has everything to do with scoring political points against the PPP.  Do I believe that you would have given the same reason for Bank of America's departure from Guyana had the PPP been in power??  Most certainly not!

The PNC crooks in office has to own this. I one year, one of the biggest banks of the world abandoned Guyana.

OK this is the nonsense that I expect from a PPP moron.

Banks in places like the Cayman Islands and Barbados are experiencing this problem.

It is a major item for discussion at the CARICOM heads.

But the racist moron that you are reduce this to your usual anti blackman diatribe.

.  Do I believe that you would have given the same reason for Bank of America's departure from Guyana had the PPP been in power??  Most certainly not!

When you can point out that you have made comments critical of Jagdeo as I have made critical of Granger then you will have credibility.

You scream what FreeDUMB house tells you to scream and aren't capable of better.

Kari posted:
ba$eman posted:

The GOG, in switching the national reserves from USD to GBP just costs the hard working man and woman of Guyana maybe USD 100 Mil due to Brexit.

I  see you bought the anansi story too.....hehehe....stupidy Bill....hehehe...suh whey yuh pull dat figga fram....yuh BT?

Just as he peddles the hilarious lie that the PPP left Guyana a wealthy nation bursting in reserves.