http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/apps/pbcsi.dll/storyimage/JO/20200721/ARTICLE/307219990/AR/0/AR-307219990.jpg&maxh=332&maxw=504

Cuban health professionals who volunteered to travel to Kuwait, where they will assist with the treatment of coronavirus patients, walk in the rain after attending their farewell ceremony in Havana, last month. (Photo: AP)

July 21 2020

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) — Barbados says it has no intention of ending a programme through which Cuban nurses are engaged in the fight against the coronavirus (COVID-19) on the island, despite a threat by the United States to target countries benefiting from the “medical missions” from Havana.

“Barbados is a sovereign country and we make decisions in the interest of the country, just like other countries large and small. We have engaged the nurses from Cuba. Barbados had diplomatic relations with Cuba when other countries were trying to do the same...and we are not going to buckle under the pressure of any other nation,” said Health Minister Jeffrey Bostic.

He told a branch meeting of the ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in St Phillip, south-east of the capital, on Sunday evening that Bridgetown would maintain its policy of being “friends of all, satellites of none”.

Florida Republican Senator Rick Scott has introduced a new Bill that would target countries which hire Cuban doctors through the “medical missions” controlled by the island's Government.

The Cut Profits to the Cuban Regime Act of 2020 requires the State Department to publish the list of countries which contract the doctors through the Cuban Government, and to consider that factor when ranking them in the State Department's annual Trafficking in Persons Report.

Scott is being supported by Florida and Texas Republicans, Senators Marco Rubio and Ted Cruz. He said the Cuban Government was participating “in the human trafficking of doctors” and that any country which requests medical assistance from Cuba is aiding such efforts.

Rubio also called the missions “a form of modern-day human trafficking” but the Cuban Government, which has almost 30,000 health care workers contracted in more than 50 countries — including in several Caribbean Community countries — has dismissed the accusations and insists that the missions are examples of cooperation and solidarity.

Bostic said that Barbados was doing what was in the interest of its people and the nurses would remain here, “because we expect we will have more cases and we are a tourism-based country which depended on almost 40 per cent of GDP”.

Guyana has been benefiting from Cuba's medical missions non-stop since the 1970s. Cuba has rendered immense humanitarian services to poor people in Asia, Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean.

Personally I benefited from them. Two Cuban doctors delivered my baby son at the Public Hospital Georgetown 28 years ago. Another two operated on me for sinusitis in 1995. 

Trump's policies regarding Cuba is not significantly different from those of other US administrations since the early 1960s. Both Republicans and Democrats maintained an ignominious embargo against Cuba. Facts are facts. Barbados is right to resist. 

However, APNU+AFC people must not opportunistically find common ground between the US attitude towards Cuba and US attitude towards general elections in Guyana. 

Guyana has been benefiting from Cuba's medical missions non-stop since the 1970s. Cuba has rendered immense humanitarian services to poor people in Asia, Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean.

Personally I benefited from them. Two Cuban doctors delivered my baby son at the Public Hospital Georgetown 28 years ago. Another two operated on me for sinusitis in 1995. 

Trump's policies regarding Cuba is not significantly different from those of other US administrations since the early 1960s. Both Republicans and Democrats maintained an ignominious embargo against Cuba. Facts are facts. Barbados is right to resist. 

However, APNU+AFC people must not opportunistically find common ground between the US attitude towards Cuba and US attitude towards general elections in Guyana. 

U had 2, I had 4 at Georgetown Hospital on March 10th. 1985. Brought me back from certain doom. I'll always remember this.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Delivering babies is nothing to be bragging about. Midwives do that job.

True. However, 1991 at Georgetown Hospital was a terrible place to deliver a baby. My wife was in fetal distress for over 12 hours in the Maternity Ward. The local nurses were indifferent to her plight.

I had to summon 2 off-duty Cuban doctors at their home to check on my wife. They responded promptly and delivered my son by C-section. Then they advised me to rush to a drugstore for painkillers. Maternity Ward didn't have painkillers for my wife. 

The next day when I visited her, she said the patient on the next bed had lost her baby. Both she and my wife were waiting to be attended to before delivery. I often wonder if my wife would have suffered the same fate if I hadn't appealed to the Cuban doctors.

It appears as though the person who posted this thread did not read the article before writing the topic line.

And this person say he cyan read better than me. America, we have a problem!

Before taking pot shots , it's advised to check Source of article.

At time moment of time the US would be very happy to get all the medical help from any foreign country and because of lack of health professionals many hospitals are stressed to breaking point.  I know of two doctors that live in Windsor, Ontario that travel daily to work in Michigan hospitals, they are treated like Royalty .

Cuba has the most doctors per capita than any country.

@Sheik101 posted:

His cancer went into remission maybe. Or he geh banned. One or the other.

I grew suspicious after hearing he rebuffed the US on Venezuela. Maybe it was a hoax and he went to help organize the rig and solicit Cuban support. I don’t believe anything about granger any longer. 

@kp posted:

At time moment of time the US would be very happy to get all the medical help from any foreign country and because of lack of health professionals many hospitals are stressed to breaking point.  I know of two doctors that live in Windsor, Ontario that travel daily to work in Michigan hospitals, they are treated like Royalty .

Cuba has the most doctors per capita than any country.

Cuban doctors are not allowed to practice in the US or Canada without further qualifications.

Thanks. So you experienced both?  Tough life. 

You playin stupidy nuh? Some of my female clients mentioned this to me way back, they said the pains of a bad kidney stone attack feels like a delivering a baby, I had a kidney stone attack which felt as though I got that kick. I put two plus two together to come up with what some might call a perfect summary.

@cain Your old buddy was summoning you here.

Banna, I got nothing against Ray, I thought he did a fine job and was fair but I barely got enough time fo one board yeh, I hear dah is the spot where all who got ban does run to. Maybe if ma gurlfriends dem start post there I might have to visit, leh me know if hotmouth Marcy join.

@cain posted:

You playin stupidy nuh? Some of my female clients mentioned this to me way back, they said the pains of a bad kidney stone attack feels like a delivering a baby, I had a kidney stone attack which felt as though I got that kick. I put two plus two together to come up with what some might call a perfect summary.

Bai Cain, I had kidney stones and it was the most painful experience. It had to removed surgically due to it's large size. They blasted it up to be broken into small pieces. I don't wish that on anyone. I was in the hospital for three days rass.

I don't know if it's hereditary but my grandfather, father and then I had it.