Berbice Bridge Company wants $50,000 per page to release public documents - Brassington may have tendered falsified documents to conceal info – Chris Ram

October 10, 2013, By Filed Under News, Source

The Berbice Bridge Co. Ltd. yesterday sent a letter to Christopher Ram, Financial analyst, demanding $50,000 for access to documents of the company.

It all began when Ram discovered that certain documents filed by Winston Brassington, Secretary of the company, may have been deliberately falsified to conceal information on the stakeholders of the company.

berbice bridge company

Ram told Kaieteur News that alternative sources of information suggested that one of the stakeholders is a company headed by Winston Brassington who also heads NICIL, the government-owned company.

He suggested that a possible reason for falsifying the record (the amount returned) is to cancel the fact that the government company annually waives approximately $115 million of the dividends due on the preference shares it holds.

Ram noted that as a member of the public he has a right to inspect certain documents of the company, a right that the company conceded in a letter to him on October 1. One week later the company secretary wrote Ram telling him that access to the records would attract a reasonable fee of $50,000 per record, payable in advance or upon presentation.

The majority of the documents to which Ram sought access would be single page documents such as the articles of incorporation and amendments thereto, and notices of changes in Directors and Secretary.

Another record is the register of shareholders which would probably consist of no more than eight names. The BBCI is notorious for the late filing of records and filed its 2011 doctored annual returns two weeks ago.

That return should have been filed since August 2012. The 2012 annual return due to be filed no later than August 2013 has still not been filed.

brass

Ram expressed disgust at the craven conduct of the board of the company whose directors include former Chancellor of the Judiciary, Cecil Kennard, and respected engineer Egbert Carter.

The Chairman of the board is Keith Evelyn, a colleague of Winston Brassington while the Ramroop Group was recently given two board positions, including Deputy Chairman.

The Ramroop group has two board positions for its 12 per cent shareholding while Hand in Hand shareholding in the company is three per cent.

The government has one Director for its 71 per cent shareholding.

The Berbice Bridge Co. Ltd. yesterday sent a letter to Christopher Ram, Financial analyst, demanding $50,000 for access to documents of the company.

A simple matter that exist in all countries of the world ...

1. Organizations place a cost for providing copies of documents.

2. There are situations when certain information are deleted/removed from the presented information.

sounds like they are hiding something

Most legit organizations don't charge a fee for such info

Originally Posted by raymond:

That is the practice of companies and there is nothing to hide.

I guess the BRB company's dealing is a state secret. You knee benders have absolutely no shame it these transparent dissimulation of thief. You need to be more circumspect with jeopardizing your immortal soul with bargaining with the devil.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

I guess the BRB company's dealing is a state secret. You knee benders have absolutely no shame it these transparent dissimulation of thief. You need to be more circumspect with jeopardizing your immortal soul with bargaining with the devil.

Whether governments or private enterprises/industries, there is a process and fee for accessing information, whether in Guyana or other parts of the world.

The BRB is not fully controlled by the State as yet.

It is a crucial transportation infrastructure project into which the government dumped most of the up front cost. It is a leech scheme. That being said even as a BOOT project there must be reporting to validate the pirate's booty they are asking of poor people to cross.

Imagine you having to pay a days salary to cross over into Manhattan and then you see why there is a need to validate the cost. Every municipality supplies that to their respective public service committees when they want to qualify a rate increase. Only in banana republics as ours these things can happen when a necessary public oversight obligation is resisted by people squatting on crucial national assets.

Whether governments or private enterprises/industries, there is a process and fee for accessing information, whether in Guyana or other parts of the world.

I almost forgot you learned crookishness well under Burnham

If they are hiding something why they are willing to release the company documents for a small handling fee? If the want is badly just pay and get it.

I am sure there would be other excuses if ram comes up with hndling fee

Can you base your facts on speculation? We have no choice than to give the offer to release the documents on the term outlined the benefit of doubts.

Idiocy and indulgence with misinformation seem to be your trait.

If they are hiding something why they are willing to release the company documents for a small handling fee? If the want is badly just pay and get it.

Can you base your facts on speculation? We have no choice than to give the offer to release the documents on the term outlined the benefit of doubts.

they fulla shit...bet yuh ass they say is over 2000 pages

they are crooks!

Idiocy and grave deviations from issues seem to be your trait.

a love for crooks seem to be yours

Deal with facts and real issues rather than your fantasies.

it is a fact you learned crookishness under Burnham, thus you support the crookishness in the article you posted.

ha ha ha...that man is talking of fantasy when he is dancing on the edge of a clown!!! Senility is a bitch...he cannot be that crooked ...but then you say he has training in the dark arts!

they fulla shit...bet yuh ass they say is over 2000 pages

they are crooks!

Then pay $50,000 per page times 2000. That is all.  

This is so moronic. 

Go easy on him, he is old as a prune,  deaf in the ear, blind in one eye walks with a walker. Additionally, he lives in an industrial park in an upscale loogie or what looks like a loogie.

Correct! The ole fool got it all wrong.

Thank you. I now understand y his comments are warpped. The ppl of that era were physiologically damaged. Lack of good nutrition. Explains the state of mind of alot of Guyanese. During that period, thiefing was the norm, nothing was safe. Even, if it was anchored into 3 feet of cement. It is not difficult now to understand y many on here support the PPP corruption. People and product of the period.

BBCI justifies $50,000 per page for public documents - says process requires staff searching archives

October 11, 2013, By Filed Under News, Source

The Berbice Bridge Company Inc. (BBCI) is claiming that the $50,000 ‘per record’ that it has asked Chartered Accountant, Christopher Ram, to pay in order to access its records, is because it would require a staff member having to search its archives.

Company Secretary Stephen Rambajan, and a man who described himself as the “CEO” but refused to give his name, yesterday initially resisted providing answers on the $50,000 request.

Rambajan told Kaieteur News that the company cannot divulge any further information without permission from Ram.

When contacted, Ram said that it was absurd for Rambajan to say that he, Rambajan, could not give out the information.

“I cannot tell them who to talk to nor do I have to give permission for them to speak to anyone,” Ram said.

Another call was then placed to Rambajan. However this time he said he could not speak on the matter and directed the reporter to question the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Berbice Bridge Company Inc.

As instructed, the reporter called back and requested to speak to the CEO. The telephone call was transferred to a man who identified himself as the Company’s CEO.

“I’m the CEO. Do you have to get my name?” asked the man on the other end of the line.

According to the man, the Berbice Bridge has remained professional with Ram, and that it was he who should be the one querying why he has to pay that amount.

It was maintained by Kaieteur News that once the information is out in the public domain, one has the right to question the Berbice Bridge Company.
The “CEO” insisted that it was Ram who has the right to question them, not Kaieteur News.

He then said, “I don’t know if you would be quoting this, but if you must know, there is a cost that the BBCI has to endure because staff would have to be taken to look and get information from the archives.”

The Berbice Bridge Company Inc. on Wednesday last, sent a letter to Christopher Ram demanding $50,000 for access to documents of the company.

The fiasco began when Ram had discovered that certain documents filed by then Company Secretary Winston Brassington may have been deliberately falsified to conceal information on the stakeholders of the company.

Ram told Kaieteur News that alternative sources of information suggest that one of the shareholders is a company headed by Brassington who also heads NICIL, the government-owned company.

That is the practice of companies and there is nothing to hide.

Raymond.....like yuh vex because

Burnham never recommend you as a thief.

and give you a personal Card dat ee sign.

BBCI justifies $50,000 per page for public documents - says process requires staff searching archives

October 11, 2013, By Filed Under News, Source

The Berbice Bridge Company Inc. (BBCI) is claiming that the $50,000 ‘per record’ that it has asked Chartered Accountant, Christopher Ram, to pay in order to access its records, is because it would require a staff member having to search its archives.

Company Secretary Stephen Rambajan, and a man who described himself as the “CEO” but refused to give his name, yesterday initially resisted providing answers on the $50,000 request.

Rambajan told Kaieteur News that the company cannot divulge any further information without permission from Ram.

When contacted, Ram said that it was absurd for Rambajan to say that he, Rambajan, could not give out the information.

“I cannot tell them who to talk to nor do I have to give permission for them to speak to anyone,” Ram said.

Another call was then placed to Rambajan. However this time he said he could not speak on the matter and directed the reporter to question the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Berbice Bridge Company Inc.

As instructed, the reporter called back and requested to speak to the CEO. The telephone call was transferred to a man who identified himself as the Company’s CEO.

“I’m the CEO. Do you have to get my name?” asked the man on the other end of the line.

According to the man, the Berbice Bridge has remained professional with Ram, and that it was he who should be the one querying why he has to pay that amount.

It was maintained by Kaieteur News that once the information is out in the public domain, one has the right to question the Berbice Bridge Company.
The “CEO” insisted that it was Ram who has the right to question them, not Kaieteur News.

He then said, “I don’t know if you would be quoting this, but if you must know, there is a cost that the BBCI has to endure because staff would have to be taken to look and get information from the archives.”

The Berbice Bridge Company Inc. on Wednesday last, sent a letter to Christopher Ram demanding $50,000 for access to documents of the company.

The fiasco began when Ram had discovered that certain documents filed by then Company Secretary Winston Brassington may have been deliberately falsified to conceal information on the stakeholders of the company.

Ram told Kaieteur News that alternative sources of information suggest that one of the shareholders is a company headed by Brassington who also heads NICIL, the government-owned company.

this is a real cowboy operation....I still maintain that they fullashit

Whether in the US_of_A, Canada, Britain, Guyana, etc., the process is the same.

dude, plenty folks can get info in the countries you speak of without paying...suh ress up

Correct for non-payment of fees for certain information.

However, for the specific data in this instance, whether in the US_of_A, Britain, Canada, Guyana, etc., a fee is required.

Bullshit!  If those filthy rotten scumbags have nothing to hide, they should be happy to show the documents and prove the opposition wrong but NOoooo.  These are filthy lying thiefin creeps. shame on those who support them, phoeey!

Go to an organization in Canada; seek the same type of information and you will receive similar reply.

Publicly traded companies must by law provide the information. 

D_G, you are an extraordinarily stupid, poorly informed and poorly educated man attempting to be 'disingenuous' in service to a notorious criminal enterprise

i suggest you get up off your arthritic knees and wipe your mouth; leave that lowdown stuff for kwame

More disinformation. 50K per record. A record comprise of an entire document. We must never let the likes of Chris Ram and his cabal attain power as they are pseudo intellectuals and would not be able to interpret a simple request on an international arena. 

Calling you a jackass would be an insult to that breed.