Source  Berbice bridge toll to be reduced from Jan. 1
Bridge

Berbice bridge toll to be reduced from Jan. 1

AFTER months of deliberation, the government and the Berbice Bridge Company Incorporated (BBCI) have struck a deal to reduce the toll for crossing the bridge. The agreement, which covers the provision of a Government subsidy to BBCI, will take effect from January 1, 2016, allowing for the bridge toll to be reduced from $2200 to $1900 for passenger cars and buses, along with a 10 per cent reduction for other classes of vehicles.

In an interview with Guyana Chronicle on Saturday, Minister of Public Infrastructure David Patterson explained that the agreement provides for BBCI to receive three months in advanced payments, as such, it will have access to a percentage of the $36M provided for in the budget.

Though the percentage is still to be “worked out,” it was explained after the first three months – January, February and March – BBCI’s financial data would be audited to determine whether the subvention was sufficient.

Back in August, the BBCI had rejected Government’s offer of financial subsidies to cover loss of tolls that would result from the government’s measure to reduce the toll on the grounds that its shareholders were not consulted on the matter. The government, in an effort to relieve the travelling public from paying high tolls, allowed for the use of river taxis for those who preferred that cheaper option. This mode of transportation was far cheaper and very successful, resulting in thousands of people, including school children utilizing the boats.
The reduction in the tolls to cross the Berbice Bridge was announced in the August budget.

Rates for Crossing the Berbice Bridge

CategoryPresent RatesNew Rates
Motor Cars$2,200$1,900
Mini buses$2,200$1,900
Motor Cycles$200$180
Four Wheel drive/SUVS/Pick-ups$4,000$3,600
SUVs and Pick-ups pulling a boat for recreational activities$4,000$3,600
Four-wheel drive, SUVs and pick-ups pulling horse buggies$4,000$3,600
Four-wheel drive, SUVs and pick-ups transporting BBQ grills and coolers$4000$3,600
50-Seater Bus$12,800$11,520
30-seater bus$7,200$6,480
Large trucks$13,600$12,240

redux posted:

Instead of subsidizing, the govt should just outright nationalize the bridge a la the dark Burnham days, and call it GuyBridge. 

barefoot, bereft, bankrupt and stupid, abee buggered idiot now wishing aloud, pulling down he pants and begging Granger to penetrate him

old habits and all that . . .

Is there anytime you respond to a non PNC poster and you do not insinuate buggery?

I often wonder why he responds with references to "buggery".  for a while it was "antiman". I mentioned to him that he was pimping his aunties and that he used these words when he had no valid response to issues and points raised. I think he tries to derail the discussions. 

Z
 Source  Berbice bridge toll to be reduced from Jan. 1
Bridge

Berbice bridge toll to be reduced from Jan. 1

AFTER months of deliberation, the government and the Berbice Bridge Company Incorporated (BBCI) have struck a deal to reduce the toll for crossing the bridge. The agreement, which covers the provision of a Government subsidy to BBCI, will take effect from January 1, 2016, allowing for the bridge toll to be reduced from $2200 to $1900 for passenger cars and buses, along with a 10 per cent reduction for other classes of vehicles.

In an interview with Guyana Chronicle on Saturday, Minister of Public Infrastructure David Patterson explained that the agreement provides for BBCI to receive three months in advanced payments, as such, it will have access to a percentage of the $36M provided for in the budget.

Though the percentage is still to be “worked out,” it was explained after the first three months – January, February and March – BBCI’s financial data would be audited to determine whether the subvention was sufficient.

Back in August, the BBCI had rejected Government’s offer of financial subsidies to cover loss of tolls that would result from the government’s measure to reduce the toll on the grounds that its shareholders were not consulted on the matter. The government, in an effort to relieve the travelling public from paying high tolls, allowed for the use of river taxis for those who preferred that cheaper option. This mode of transportation was far cheaper and very successful, resulting in thousands of people, including school children utilizing the boats.
The reduction in the tolls to cross the Berbice Bridge was announced in the August budget.

Rates for Crossing the Berbice Bridge

CategoryPresent RatesNew Rates
Motor Cars$2,200$1,900
Mini buses$2,200$1,900
Motor Cycles$200$180
Four Wheel drive/SUVS/Pick-ups$4,000$3,600
SUVs and Pick-ups pulling a boat for recreational activities$4,000$3,600
Four-wheel drive, SUVs and pick-ups pulling horse buggies$4,000$3,600
Four-wheel drive, SUVs and pick-ups transporting BBQ grills and coolers$4000$3,600
50-Seater Bus$12,800$11,520
30-seater bus$7,200$6,480
Large trucks$13,600$12,240

Some of these reductions add up to a bottle of water.

redux posted:

Instead of subsidizing, the govt should just outright nationalize the bridge a la the dark Burnham days, and call it GuyBridge. 

barefoot, bereft, bankrupt and stupid, abee buggered idiot now wishing aloud, pulling down he pants and begging Granger to penetrate him

old habits and all that . . .

CONGRATS REDUX,  it's been coming, you are now openly GAY, you can continue your ****** language, don't be shy, if you are Gay is Gay.It's OK.

u sound fraustrated deh

lol lol

This nominal reduction shows the PNC had no real credible alternative to what was there.  This is nothing more than shame face.  They average commuter will hardly notice the change.  PNC/AFC is a con-game!

baseman posted:

This nominal reduction shows the PNC had no real credible alternative to what was there.  This is nothing more than shame face.  They average commuter will hardly notice the change.  PNC/AFC is a con-game!

10% reduction instead of an increase is "nominal" and a "con-game" . . . hmmm?

bray dankey bray

redux posted:
baseman posted:

bray dankey bray

Yes, for all the mouthing, one would think the PNC/AFC would have waltz in and chop it in half.  Losers, bunch of losers!

baseman posted:
redux posted:
baseman posted:

bray dankey bray

Yes, for all the mouthing, one would think the PNC/AFC would have waltz in and chop it in half.  Losers, bunch of losers!

is 50% what u and the rat recommend?

how about we do that and hold the subsidy at 10% . . . that should work for y'all, rite?

bray dankey bray

baseman posted:

The AFC/PNC is the biggest con job that Guyanese have ever experienced.

redux posted:
baseman posted:
redux posted:
baseman posted:

bray dankey bray

is 50% what u and the rat recommend?

how about we do that and hold the subsidy at 10% . . . that should work for y'all, rite?

bray dankey bray

Hey pigmy, it's nominal to the average man, not worth the rest of the baggage they [people] got and for all the rant and rave they [PNC/AFC] did.  One would think there was a huge low-hanging fruit, but obviously, they had to hide shame face and give 10%.  Another exposed con of the PNC/AFC.

Sure it would be nice with a larger decrease but it will still be cheaper than would have been. In this day and age everything rises in price. dropping prices by 10% is far better than raising the price.

If prices were dropped by 50% you miserable ole goats would still find something to bleat about. All this just because PPP LOST.

baseman posted:
redux posted:
baseman posted:

bray dankey bray

I was thinking the same about the reductions.  The reductions are minimal and would not make much  of a difference to someone traveling across the bridge. It was just an election ploy. They next time you hear a promise like this please insist on your politician telling you the actual amounts.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin
redux posted:
baseman posted:

Hey pigmy . . .

so, exactly which part of me is too small for your mouth, eh?

how long does sperm survive in your stomach baseman?

Now, I see you only left to your wild imaginations.  Not everyone has your tendencies!

baseman posted:
redux posted:
baseman posted:

Hey pigmy . . .

so, exactly which part of me is too small for your mouth, eh?

how long does sperm survive in your stomach baseman?

Now, I see you only left to your wild imaginations.  Not everyone has your tendencies!

The man is an expert on homosexuality. He must have been out of the closet for a long time. You might have passed him on the road and not recognise he was Guyanese.

Sure it would be nice with a larger decrease but it will still be cheaper than would have been. In this day and age everything rises in price. dropping prices by 10% is far better than raising the price.

If prices were dropped by 50% you miserable ole goats would still find something to bleat about. All this just because PPP LOST.

So true.

So true.

Why promise what you cannot deliver?

So true.

Why promise what you cannot deliver?

Let's be thankful for small mercies.

Let's be thankful for small mercies

I agree. Ask the pardoned crimminals. They will be out relieving people of their hard earn cash.

You seem to be in the know, you close with dem tiefmen nuh?