BERBICE BUSINESSMAN KILLED IN SUSPECTED HIT

January 7, 2016 11:00 am Category: Crime, Internet, latest news, Local News A+ /A-

A father of six was earlier this morning killed in what appeared to be a hit after two men entered his Belvedere Corentyne home in Berbice.

Dead is Patrick Mohabir, 42, of Lot 9 Belvedere Housing Scheme, Corentyne.  He was reportedly shot to his left leg and chopped to his shoulder and would have bled to death.

According to information received by INews, the two men who were armed with a firearm and a cutlass, entered the two storey building through a window on the upper flat. The now dead man reportedly heard sounds and went to check and in so doing, he was confronted by the two bandits.

However, despite his wife, Shabeena Ahmad offering them money, they reportedly shot and chopped the businessman then escape with two mobile phones. No arrest was made as police continue their investigations.

INews will bring you more details in a subsequent report.

Riff, yes, crime is on the rise. I am seriously thinking about returning to Canada until the situation eases. It is the constant worry about trying to stay safe, figuring out who is behind you all the time, locking doors by 5:30 PM and wondering if the grills on the doors and windows will sustain a determined attack, etc. At least I have an alternative. So many others in Guyana do not have any alternative and are left to live in fear. I looked at the comments by the Berbice police commander and it did not give much reassurance.  More vehicles? many in Guyana will tell you that it becomes more vehicles to be sent to buy fried rice, take kids to school, go shopping, etc. Many people, including me do not really trust the police to do a good job because of their history and current practices.   

Z

Berbice businessman executed during home invasion

A Berbice businessman is now dead following an execution-style murder at his Belvedere home in Corentyne, Berbice, Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne). Dead is 42-year-old Patrick Mohabir, the owner of a popular supermarket in Berbice.

Shabina Ahmad thinking of her next move

Dead: Patrick Mohabir

According to a Police statement, two men armed with a firearm and a cutlass, invaded the home of Mohabir and held him up, along with his 39-year-old wife Shabina Ahmad.

The incident occurred around 23:30h on Wednesday. During the ordeal, Mohabir attempted to fight off the perpetrators but was shot and chopped in the process.

The perpetrators then escaped with two cellular phones and a pair of shoes, leaving the wife unharmed but overly traumatised since she witnessed her husband being murdered in cold blood.

Police reported that Mohabir was rushed to the Anamayah Memorial Hospital where he succumbed while receiving medical attention. Medical reports suggest that the man died as a result of excessive bleeding from the injuries received.

At the home of the family on Thursday, Ahmad was visibly shaken as she recounted the horrifying experience. Speaking to  Guyana Times, Ahmad said on the night of the incident, she went to investigate a strange noise coming from another part of the house and was confronted by two masked men.

It is believed that the men gained entry into the house by climbing through an open window. “So I tell them don’t do us nothing, and since my husband hear that, he get up, he and one of them had a scuffle and then they shot he. When they finish they come back to me and I pull out one of them mask off ah them, but me ent see he face because he duckâ€Ķ”

The woman related that her husband was shot to his left leg. After he fell to the floor, one of the assailants swung the cutlass, chopping him in his right shoulder.

On thursday morning residents flooked ontside the home where the incident occured

Ahmad said she pleaded with the intruders and even offered them money to leave her family alone but they refused. At the time of the attack, there were four children in the house; ages 12, 10, eight and five. The couple had six children. The two eldest are overseas.
After rendering the man immobile, the perpetrators fled with two cellular phones and a pair of shoes which were lying around the house.

When they left, Ahmad immediately alerted the Police.
Meanwhile, Ahmad strongly believes that the men did not come with the intent to rob.

“Because they didn’t ask for anything; I offered them, ‘I said don’t do us anything, what you want,’ but they didn’t say anything,” Ahmad told this publication. She noted also that the men spent less than five minutes in the house.

According to a source close to the investigation, the matter is being treated as a robbery/murder; however, Police have not ruled out the possibility of an execution.

Mohabir was in business for more than three years. In 2007, he, along with two others was charged for the fatal chopping of Police Officer Yuborn Quinn. The matter was dismissed in the High Court five years later.

Zed posted:

Riff, yes, crime is on the rise. I am seriously thinking about returning to Canada until the situation eases. It is the constant worry about trying to stay safe, figuring out who is behind you all the time, locking doors by 5:30 PM and wondering if the grills on the doors and windows will sustain a determined attack, etc. At least I have an alternative. So many others in Guyana do not have any alternative and are left to live in fear. I looked at the comments by the Berbice police commander and it did not give much reassurance.  More vehicles? many in Guyana will tell you that it becomes more vehicles to be sent to buy fried rice, take kids to school, go shopping, etc. Many people, including me do not really trust the police to do a good job because of their history and current practices.   

Zed, I am from Belvedere and often stay here, even during other attacks and murders.  We know this family well, including the two youth that committed suicide.  

Among some on GNI, you seem to mean well and in time if you are still in GY,  I will make contact. But reality is, I don't know you and your don't know me. This is the mistrust that exist in Guyana.   

Trust is big thing lacking in Guyana, as well as on GNI, you don't just ask about information regarding people and expect it repeated in public.  It shows that you are naÃŊve about the reality of Guyana, where almost anyone can access the internet.    

With the government initiative regarding suicide prevention, this is a busy time with the Canadian, British and US  Embassies.

I believe many on GNI don't fully understand the dangerous situation in Guyana and ask for information that might be unsafe to divulge, including our work and presence in Guyana.

The people you are trying to help, could be the ones set you up for a robbery, or be killed.

Some might say its insane to continue in Guyana, but this is their opinion based on where their life is at. Put your money where your mouth is, or just shut up.

In the years we are in GY, we find its better to say little and try doing what we can, while trying to maintain a low profile, because as overseas persons, we are constant targets and have to be double careful.

A person can be killed for less than the tips some leave in a Canadian restaurant and I believe many on GNI don't have the faintest  idea what Guyana is like.     

Zed, you return to live here, we return by choice to help others and as you know, unsafe conditions could exist anywhere.

Contrary to some on GNI, I believe you mean well regarding our work in Guyana.

Since the time when past officials demanded bribes from our foundation and was nasty and vindictive when we were unable to pay. Our  committee members decided to have a lower profile in the work we do. So quit asking and try finding out by yourself, because Guyana is not like the comfort behind your computers.

It might also be helpful to the country, if you talk less and try finding ways to do more, because Guyana will continue to have numerous challenges and might  be better with you being brave enough to assist.

All our committee members are  volunteers. Any additional money we get through our skills[photography/video recording, etc] are donated to the program. We all cover our own expenses.

We strongly believe the administrators  of GNI have  a responsibility to stand  firm and make this site a place to build Guyana and  not allow those with negative agendas to destroys it.

We should be proud as one Guyanese people.   

Bibi, na get too tuff wid me bro. He ah try hard. Gyam lil kredit nah.

We strongly believe the administrators  of GNI have  a responsibility to stand  firm and make this site a place to build Guyana and  not allow those with negative agendas to destroys it.

Like dis Tola bhai wan fuh pracitse Burnhamism pun abie or wah?

I wonder why he did not ask the administrators of this site to stand firm when he and the others were doing the same during the PPP era. How soon we forget.