Bibi Ali new chair of Deeds and Commercial Registries Authority

BIBI SHABENA ALI has been appointed Chairperson of the Deeds and Commercial Registries Authority by Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams.

Prior to her appointment, Ali was the Legal and Compliance Manager of Demerara Bank Limited, a post she had held since 2014. During the period 2012 to 2014, she served as Deputy Registrar of the Supreme Court of Judicature, and acted in the position of Registrar at that court for three years. She has also served respectively as Assistant Company Secretary and Company Secretary of the Guyana Sugar Corporation Inc., from 2005 to 2009; and was a Legal/Administrative Officer at the Ministry of Agriculture.

The newly-appointed chairperson held her inaugural board meeting on Friday in the Boardroom of the Ministry of Legal Affairs.

In her current post, Ali’s duties include monitoring compliance with the financial institution’s Anti-Money Laundering/Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) programme; training staff at all levels in the area of AML/CFT; and liaising with the Bank of Guyana (BoG), the Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) and the Special Organised Crimes Unit on matters pertaining to AML/CFT.

By virtue of her new post, the new chairperson of the Deeds and Commercial Registries Authority becomes an ex-officio member of the Anti-Money Laundering/Countering the Financing of Terrorism Authority in Guyana.

this is one of the most important posts in the nation from the standpoint of democracy. The proper management of property rights is one of its main pillars. This is one of the most corrupt areas of the state as many guyanese are actively engaged in thieving other people land. I hope the registry is being digitized and there is a sound archive for historical documents. Here we also need deeds with anti forgery craft embedded in them and strict protocol as to what constitute evidence to change titles.

BIBI SHABENA ALI has been appointed Chairperson of the Deeds and Commercial Registries Authority by Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams.

Unfair.  Ethnic cleansing.  No Indians getting any top jobs.

. I hope the registry is being digitized and there is a sound archive for historical documents. Here we also need deeds with anti forgery craft embedded in them and strict protocol as to what constitute evidence to change titles.

Let us hope so because loads of poor and aged people were being defrauded of their lands under the fascist Jagdeo/Ramotar regime.

I guess u not only ugly u also blind

warrior posted:

I guess u not only ugly u also blind

Bhai what wrong with you,Carib made a joke.

Bayney Karran to China and now Bibi Ali appointed to a big post. Like The Coalition forgot how to cleanse. 

Racism in reverse. Rescind the appointments. This is not India; this Africa(for now).

LOL.. don't know how to please alyuh,the gov't is for all Guyanese.

Roti seh they gat them own events fuh celebrate the 50th Independence anniversary.

Supprise at u that is the best u can come up with

It must really enrage you that APNU/AFC isn't ethnically cleansing as the PPP did.

Moral of the story.  High performing Indians have a place in top positions.

Pity that the PPP screamed that blacks aren't qualified so shouldn't be entrusted into top slots.  Only useless stooges like Juan Edghill, or thugs like Kwame.

Thought that someone would have argued that the exception(s) prove the rule.

on a serious note, I am amazed at some of the comments by some of the posters who see some merit in the young lady' qualifications and experience for the job when previously, they continually argued that all PPP government-appointed functionaries did not have the requisite experience or education for their positions and only received their positions because of nepotism or/and PPP largesse. I am going to have some fresh coconut water to celebrate their enlightenment. None of that canned stuff from the Far East that you guys from foreign drink.

Z
Zed posted:

posters who see some merit in the young lady' qualifications and experience for the job when previously, they continually argued that all PPP government-appointed functionaries d

Funny thing.  While I have heard screams and cries of "ethnic cleansing" and "black man a kill ahbe" when other PPP functionaries were dismissed, I haven't heard any one show evidence that these incompetent, and allegedly corrupt folks were actually a positive element.

Was Guysuco well run?  Was the GRA well run?  Was GPL well run?  NO!

I have NEVER seen any one on GNI claim that Bayney Karran was incompetent, or an inappropriate appointee.  This even though, as the US Ambassador, many of us here are some what familiar with him, as he has made frequent visits to NYC, and has always exposed himself to the diversity of the Guyanese community here.

APNU/AFC, unlike the PPP, is retaining some PPP officials who show that they are competent and not corrupt!

This is unlike the PPP, which cleaned house, dumping highly regarded people like David Hales, who was well thought of in Brussels by other Caribbean nations, and the EU itself!

baseman posted:
susan posted:

Am happy for my friend, Bibi Shabena Ali. She will do well in this capacity as she has done in all other professional posts that she held. 

Another good choice. 

You seem to be happy at anything coming from this incompetent regime!

And what about the PPP regime that made it any less incompetent?  All the problems which exist now certainly existed then.

baseman posted:
susan posted:

Am happy for my friend, Bibi Shabena Ali. She will do well in this capacity as she has done in all other professional posts that she held. 

Another good choice. 

I respond to this because I chose to click on "reveal post" - you see I, like the smart Carib, choose  to filter what I read here and your posts are among those that I typically filter. 

Now to the substance of your post - I AM happy about my friend's appointment and I do think that the government did well to choose her. When I see things done by any government that are, in my opinion, laudable, I will say so! 

baseman posted:
susan posted:
baseman posted:
susan posted:

Another good choice. 

I respond to this because I chose to click on "reveal post" - you see I, like the smart Carib, choose  to filter what I read here and your posts are among those that I typically filter. 

Now to the substance of your post - I AM happy about my friend's appointment and I do think that the government did well to choose her. When I see things done by any government that are, in my opinion, laudable, I will say so! 

You are amusing!!!

Thank you. Or rather you should thank me that you find me amusing so you are not on verge of popping a blood vessel again. 

Zed posted:

posters who see some merit in the young lady' qualifications and experience for the job when previously, they continually argued that all PPP government-appointed functionaries d

Funny thing.  While I have heard screams and cries of "ethnic cleansing" and "black man a kill ahbe" when other PPP functionaries were dismissed, I haven't heard any one show evidence that these incompetent, and allegedly corrupt folks were actually a positive element.

I have NEVER seen any one on GNI claim that Bayney Karran was incompetent, or an inappropriate appointee.  This even though, as the US Ambassador, many of us here are some what familiar with him, as he has made frequent visits to NYC, and has always exposed himself to the diversity of the Guyanese community here.

APNU/AFC, unlike the PPP, is retaining some PPP officials who show that they are competent and not corrupt!

This is unlike the PPP, which cleaned house, dumping highly regarded people like David Hales, who was well thought of in Brussels by other Caribbean nations, and the EU itself!

When?

Zed posted:

When?

You missed out on peeping the man when he was exposing himself.

When?

I see that you lust so much for men that you are kicking yourself for thinking that you missed an incident which can sexually titillate you.

No Bayney exposed himself by attending  a full range of Guyanese events. Unlike most PPP officials, he didn't go to only PPP events, or try to imply that those who showed up to events where he was invited, did so to show support for the PPP.

No he acted as a GUYANESE. Not a concept that PPP types know about, given that their entire campaign plank last time was "MOSES IS NOT AN INDIAN!".