My brother died in police custody in 2008. After George Floyd's death, I can't be silent.

My brother died because of a nonviolent offense and for want of competent counsel. The police displayed no empathy toward Ravi's suffering or ours.

Ryan D. Budhu
Opinion contributor

Twelve years ago, at the age of 32, my brother died in the custody of the NYPD.  A few days prior, he had crashed into a parked car while driving under the influence, suffered minor abrasions, and was conscious when admitted to a hospital in Queens.  Five days later, he was dead — when we found him, he was naked and his hands and feet were handcuffed so tightly that his wrists and ankles were still bleeding. It was Father’s Day. A nurse later told us that before he died, my brother cried out for our mother. I often wonder what his last thoughts were. I wondered the same as I watched Derek Chauvin kill  George Floyd.

By chance, I found myself in Minneapolis when Mr. Floyd died, and my proximity to the brutality has forced me to discuss the lessons I learned from my brother’s death. Eradicating violence inflicted on Black communities is the moral imperative of our moment, and uncertainty about how his story fits within this larger movement has kept me quiet for over a decade. I recognize now that silence is not an option because, despite data to the contrary, the disparate impact of systemic racism is still in dispute. I write not to prove these disparities; the data does that. Instead, considering the continued confusion and outright denials, I write about what suffering through systemic racism felt like to my family, and our shared obligation to address the issue. 

Apathy, cruelty and racist stereotypes

My brother was born in Guyana, South America, one of the poorest countries in the Western Hemisphere. Guyana’s culture is the fusion between African and Indian Diasporas, melded together by the colonizing force of the British Empire through slavery and indentured servitude. It is where my grandmother, a single mother, worked as a sharecropper on a sugar cane plantation while raising my father. 

Dreaming of a better life, my parents left Guyana to settle in Queens, New York.  Shielded by the diversity of Queens, I never thought we were poor, and largely unaffected by issues of race; we were living the American Dream. To my family, my brother was a generous, gentle giant, and the successful founder of a tech startup with dreams of revolutionizing the investing world. But to the police, he was an alcoholic and a potential problem prisoner. Years later, I learned from a police officer I knew that the police considered Guyanese immigrants a problem minority group.

Certain snippets paint the larger picture. For instance, after my brother unexpectedly slipped into a coma, the New York Police Department insisted that he still be handcuffed by both his wrists and ankles despite being unconscious and intubated. When my mother begged an officer to unshackle my brother because she didn’t want her son to die in handcuffs, he just walked away.

Ryan Budhu [left) and his brother Dhruvanand “Ravi” Budhu at home in Queens, New York, in 1986.

The lack of circulation triggered by the cuffs caused a blood clot to develop in his leg, and my brother suffered a heart attack. When he went into cardiac arrest, we weren’t able to go to the hospital directly. Instead, we were forced to visit a police precinct to get visitation permits. I won’t ever forget the smirking desk sergeant who deliberately moved more slowly after my parents begged for swiftness, dooming my brother to die alone. Similarly seared into my memory is the sound of my mother shrieking when she saw my brother’s dead body and the image of officers with their hands on their guns threatening to arrest her as they wheeled him away. 

Black people have died for rights that you immigrants are enjoying. Show some empathy

Oh, I'm totally against police brutality and excesses and when they do, they should be punished.

Don't give me shit, Blackman gave me rights.  I'm in America because of Blackman behavior in Guyana aided and abetted by Blackman in America.  And look, they still trying to do it again.  But Trump said NO!

I met two Indo-Guyanese whose parents came to the US prior to the Civil Rights movement.

America, and the world, was changing and it was going to happen anyway.

When growing up in British Guiana, Black people always stressed upon me, "dress neatly, speak quietly, be respectful, have on polished shoes and get a good education."

It applies to American blacks. Dey tink being disrespectful is a cool ting. Juss listen to their rap music. And those who become millionaires get there with White ppl as patroons. Why hate White policemen, dey have bad Black policemen as well.

I agree the cpos are bad, but BLM have it all wrong. DEy want the police to watch them do criminal acts and do not act. That is anarchy.

Please, you are so surprisingly naive. Nothing was going to happen "anyway". That is such BS!

It took countless lives and massive protests for change.

Black people died for you to have rights in America! You and your kind don't have the guts to fight for rights, that's why you left Guyana!

Fine, if yuh seh suh!  Now move on!

@seignet posted:

When growing up in British Guiana, Black people always stressed upon me, "dress neatly, speak quietly, be respectful, have on polished shoes and get a good education."

It applies to American blacks. Dey tink being disrespectful is a cool ting. Juss listen to their rap music. And those who become millionaires get there with White ppl as patroons. Why hate White policemen, dey have bad Black policemen as well.

I agree the cpos are bad, but BLM have it all wrong. DEy want the police to watch them do criminal acts and do not act. That is anarchy.

Have ever gone to the Cinemas and see how they behave.  In school, Behaving good is putting your hands on your knees and shut up.

@seignet posted:

Black cops are just as bad.  It's a policing thing, not a race thing.  But Blacks commit 50% of all violent crime in America, so it looks they and always being picked on, and yes, sometimes they do get unfairly profiled.

Look, it happens to me too, and I hate it.  In Switzerland they would always ask if I'm a new Doctor at the local hospital.  In America they always ask if I'm the IT Engineer and in India that never want to believe I'm OBC.

I hate that shit!

Black cops are just as bad.  It's a policing thing, not a race thing.  But Blacks commit 50% of all violent crime in America, so it looks they and always being picked on, and yes, sometimes they do get unfairly profiled.

Look, it happens to me too, and I hate it.  In Switzerland they would always ask if I'm a new Doctor at the local hospital.  In America they always ask if I'm the IT Engineer and in India that never want to believe I'm OBC.

I hate that shit!

That's why I don't wear a purple suit.