Some folks want a balanced army/police but they don't want to be honest as to why this isn't the case.
Why this isn't the case?
Indians don't want to join. Maybe they don't like taking orders from black people.
Its quite simple. If mainly blacks join then the armed forces will be mainly black. Folks will have to accept that fact.
You're a jackass. In almost every Guyanese Indian family in NY and the rest of the Diaspora, it is considered a great honor for your son or nephew or other relative to serve in the military. I don't know any Guyanese Indian family without a servicemember in the U.S. military. My uncle at the Pentagon is a GOD in my mom's family. All the rich family members bow to him.
And FYI, most Drill Sergeants and NCOs are Black. I had no problems with mine. You know why chap? Because they were tough but they were tough so that I could succeed and meet the standard not because they wanted me to drop out. My Drills "punished" me especially over other Soldiers not because they hated Indians but because they thought I had potential. And guess what? In 18 months after enlistment, a Pentagon Board selected 400 new officers to gazette from the ranks and I was on that list. So syar yuh rass dah side chap.
There is inherent anti-Indian bias in the GDF and GPF designed to make Indians drop out.
I wanna quote the great Afrocentric scholar Dr. Ivan Van Sertima "if it's not a such a big deal then why do you care so much?"
So Caribj, if the GDF isn't so important then why do you care so much to spend so much time and internet ink behind defending the status quo?
We're not all as schupid as you seem to think chap.
The PNC/GDF alliance will guarantee perpetual dominance over the Guyana political landscape.
I had several uncles in the police force all who were forced to leave after independence. They wanted to join the fledgling GDF but never got the response. One, a known PPP, was told to rot in Brickdam. They migrated to the US and their kids served in the US military. I met umteen Indo Guyanese many of whom have children in the US military. So, I find it strange that Guyana seem to be the only country where the Indian is somehow "unfit" or don't want to join, for military duty. It's not unfit, it's just "inconvenient" and "uncomfortable" for some.
Them bais think they smart, then again, they got the "mudheads" with them to gain access to keys to the kingdom.