Bouterse sends two Ministers packing

JUNE 13, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

- One for giving government contract to family, other another for stalling land distribution

Two senior ministers in the Desi Bouterse administration have resigned as the administration of that Surinamese government announced sweeping changes.
Public Works Minister, Ramon Abrahams has resigned for reportedly non performance, the De Ware Tijd newspaper reported yesterday.  He has had some successes. The road to Albina was one of the biggest successes under his supervision.
But Abraham was a big failure in many other fields and could not live up to the expectations the

Forestry Ministry, Ginmardo Kromosoeto

Bouterse-Ameerali administration had created. Works on the Waterkant, Paramaribo’s promenade to which the entire nation is emotionally attached, cannot seem to be completed. The site is important for tourism. Abrahams even diverted funds intended for the construction of a dike in Commewijne to the project. The uncertainty of the Commewijne project caused a political dispute with District Commissioner Ingrid Karta-Bink and major concerns among Commewijne residents.
The OW Minister also has much more to answer for. Urban development could not keep up with Paramaribo extensive growth due to a booming economy. In the three years at the helm, Abrahams could not present a vision on development of the city. “He limited himself to repairing roads and placing speed bumps. Traffic safety did not improve and the number of fatal traffic accidents kept rising,” the De Ware Tijd report said.
The cancelled bridge at Carolina and the plans for the bridge across the Corantijn River were major debacles, which cost the state millions of Euros. Abrahams managed to foil what could have been President Bouterse’s most ambitious projects.
Mounting criticism on Abrahams’s Ministry did not cease. Middle-class citizens fumed over the department stores and warehouses erected in residential areas. Private land development projects were useless and citizens suffered long flooding after the slightest rain shower.
Two months ago permanent secretary Lloyd Kotzebue admitted that he was powerless against the excessive building frenzy and the Public Works Ministry was quite corrupt.
Abrahams had no clean image too. He was barely in office when he ordered the renovation of his office. The contractor was his son-in-law. Pimping his car drew heavy criticism from the opposition. A firm owned by him and his children was allowed to supply his ministry with ICT products, while his daughter got part of the contract for renovation of the presidential palace.
In Parliament, Abrahams was almost untouchable. He managed to duck all accusations on his policy to award contracts to firms affiliated to him or his family. Attacks by VHP legislators Mahinder Jogi and Asiskumar Gajadien were useless because somehow Abrahams always managed to come out unscathed.
Also gone is Forestry Minister, Ginmardo Kromosoeto. He was considered one of the best Ministers on Zonal Planning since the Ministry was officially created in 2005. Environmental organizations were happy with the minister because he was always open to find a solution to their problems and he was a man who was always in the field.

Public Works Minister, Ramon Abrahams

But it has been land distribution issues that cost him his job. Former Minister Michael Jong Tjien Fa (Pertjajah Luhur) created the first mess, and none of his successors have been able to do better. Kromosoeto is the latest victim of this politically laden job.
Obstruction and sabotage by remaining Nieuw Front officials continued to block land distribution. The problems at RGB were a major obstacle in Bouterse’s housing plans. With barely two years to go, Bouterse will not be able to produce the promised 8,000 houses.
Kromosoeto created a lot of enemies even in his own political circles. He refused to issue land to friend and sympathizers and his advice that they should follow normal procedure set some bad blood. Pressured by his political party, he has no other choice than to resign.
Reportedly, a total of nine ministers have now been replaced by Bouterse, a former military strongman, who won the Presidency in July 2010.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

God like you forgot Bout is a wanted man

Ha Ha.

God is confused and choses to attack the PPP without having an in depth political knowledge.

I'm well aware of who Bouterse is and his current status. That does not have any bearing on my question in regards to this issue.

Again I'll ask it since it takes low IQ peeps a while to comprehend simple English.

When will the PPP do this with their own bunch of corrupt and incompetent ministers?

Originally Posted by God:
Originally Posted by Prashad:

God like you forgot Bout is a wanted man

Ha Ha.

God is confused and choses to attack the PPP without having an in depth political knowledge.

I'm well aware of who Bouterse is and his current status. That does not have any bearing on my question in regards to this issue.

Again I'll ask it since it takes low IQ peeps a while to comprehend simple English.

When will the PPP do this with their own bunch of corrupt and incompetent ministers?

You're wasting time with this querry. Being god and al you already know the answer to this question, so why bother?

I was in Suriname last August and those speed bumps that they placed on the highways are annoying and a total waste of time.

I have done a little bit of travelling  in a few different countries but have never experienced this stupid , annoying and time wasting road bumps anywhere else in the world.

That Minister needed to be fired because the "dremples" as they are called did not reduce road fatalities.

Why these AFC fools glorify Bouterse? He is a drug lord, coup leader and killer.

Returned to Power, a Leader Celebrates a Checkered Past

Tomas Munita for The New York Times

In Paramaribo, Suriname, a bus carried a portrait of Desi Bouterse, who took part in a military coup in 1980 and was elected president last year by Parliament.

PARAMARIBO, Suriname — Desi Bouterse has been a soldier, a coup plotter, the military ruler of this former Dutch colony, a convicted drug trafficker and, for more than a decade, a fugitive from Interpol. He remains on trial here for the killing of 15 top opponents by his military government in the 1980s

A monument in Paramaribo commemorating the coup of Feb. 25, 1980.

Ronnie Brunswijk, a 1980s guerrilla leader, outside a former military building in Paramaribo.

Now, Mr. Bouterse, 65, is leader of this small South American nation yet again, stirring fears of a possible return to the time when Suriname, once a magnet for Western mercenaries and Colombian drug cartels, was renowned for its openness to criminal enterprise.

Rather than playing down his past, Mr. Bouterse has defiantly celebrated it since his election last July by Parliament. He has designated Feb. 25, when he and other soldiers carried out a coup in 1980, as a national holiday, calling it the “day of liberation and renewal.”

And while Mr. Bouterse has said he will not interfere in the murder case against him here, he named one of his co-defendants in the trial as ambassador to France, showing little deference to the legal cloud hanging over them.

Mr. Bouterse has also begun remaking Suriname’s governing institutions, sometimes with his own family. He put his wife, Ingrid Bouterse-Waldring, on the government payroll, paying her about $4,000 a month for her duties as first lady.

He also named his son, Dino Bouterse, 38, convicted here in 2005 of leading a cocaine and illegal weapons ring, as part of the command of a new Counter-Terrorism Unit. Dino Bouterse, released from prison in 2008, had also previously been arrested in connection with a 2002 theft of weapons from Suriname’s intelligence agency.

“We are witnessing the return of immorality to our small country,” said Eddy Wijngaarde, 67, whose brother, a prominent journalist, was among the 15 dissidents killed by Mr. Bouterse’s government on Dec. 8, 1982.

Those killings, known as the “December murders,” represented a searing episode in this nation of 500,000, which gained independence in 1975. The killings opened the way for the creation of a police state supported by Cuba and Libya, which endured through the 1980s.

The Dutch government was so concerned about Mr. Bouterse’s government at the time that it drew up an invasion plan to remove him, with logistical support from American forces, according to comments made last year by former Prime Minister Ruud Lubbers of the Netherlands. A State Department official would neither confirm nor deny the plan.

Mr. Bouterse, who declined several interview requests, accepted “political responsibility” in 2007 for the December murders, but has denied direct involvement. Mystery still shrouds what happened, and rights groups warn that he could engineer a pardon for himself if found guilty.

He returned to office by forging a coalition with Ronnie Brunswijk, his old nemesis in the Interior War of the 1980s, a conflict that devastated the Maroons, descendants of escaped slaves in the hinterlands.

Since becoming president again, Mr. Bouterse has scoffed at his 1999 drug conviction in absentia in the Netherlands, for smuggling more than 1,000 pounds of cocaine to that country, saying it was “almost a joke.”

Still, Mr. Bouterse remained free, benefiting from Suriname’s lack of an extradition treaty with its former colonial ruler. Now he has gained further immunity as head of state, with Interpol shelving its arrest order for him. He has tentatively begun traveling abroad, visiting Brazil, Guyana and the United States, where he attended the United NationsGeneral Assembly.

The encore for Suriname’s former strongman has led to new unease with the Netherlands. Reacting to his election last year, Maxime Verhagen, the Dutch foreign minister at the time, said, “He is not welcome in the Netherlands unless it is to serve his prison sentence.” The Dutch also ended security aid for Suriname after Mr. Bouterse’s return to power.

But Dutch officials have recently taken a softer approach, to preserve ties. The Dutch ambassador, Aart Jacobi, declined to comment specifically on Mr. Bouterse, saying only that the Netherlands would continue monitoring drug trafficking and human rights issues here.

Mr. Jacobi will also continue attending a yearly ceremony remembering the December murders.

“By keeping the memory of that event alive, we may also prevent something similar from happening in the future,” he said.

Such stances matter little to Mr. Bouterse’s supporters, of which there are many, particularly among young voters who have little or no memory of his first government.

“He’s actually socially minded, with a soft heart,” said Raynell Fraser, 25, a public administration student at Anton de Kom University. “He is one of the few people able to develop the country by bonding all ethnic groups.”

No other politician here is as skilled at tapping into Suriname’s populist vein, partly by denouncing the Dutch. As a light-skinned Creole who claims indigenous ancestry from Suriname’s American Indians, he has bridged ethnic divisions here.

He is known to dance at rallies while singing Sam Cooke’s “A Change Is Gonna Come.” Before his election, he wore a Che Guevara shirt, which he has now exchanged for dark business suits.

And he is a master in communicating not just in Dutch, the official language, but inSranan Tongo, the language of the street. Bouterse supporters often respond to criticism of him with “Neks no fout,” which roughly translates as, “It doesn’t matter.”

Officials here essentially made such a shrug at Dutch reports in January, based on United States diplomatic cables, contending that Mr. Bouterse continued illegal activities long after his 1999 conviction by arranging protection for a Guyanese drug lord’s smuggling operations.

The State Department noted in March that cocaine found in sea cargo from Suriname was recently seized in Britain, Pakistan and the Netherlands, after Mr. Bouterse returned to office. But antinarcotics officials here say he is against trafficking.

“Mr. Bouterse doesn’t want this government somehow giving space to drug-related criminals,” said Krishna Hussainali-Mathoera, a top Surinamese antidrug official.

In a twist, Mr. Bouterse’s return was made possible through an alliance with his old enemy, Mr. Brunswijk, a Maroon who led a guerrilla war against Mr. Bouterse in the 1980s, now a king-making legislator and one of Suriname’s richest men.

Mr. Brunswijk, 50, also knows what it means to be a fugitive from international justice. In 1999, a Dutch court sentenced him in absentia for cocaine trafficking. France has a warrant for him on drug trafficking charges. Now, both men have rights groups and anticorruption organizations here on edge.

“It floods your mind,” said Sharda Ganga, a Surinamese political analyst, “to think that we’ve arrived back at this point.”

 Works on the Waterkant, Paramaribo’s promenade to which the entire nation is emotionally attached, cannot seem to be completed. The site is important for tourism.

From all the spots I have visited around the world, the Waterkant (which means water front) is the most memorable one for me. I too am emotionally attached to it and would have loved to own even a flat overlooking the water front. I have extremely fond memory of that place. I even use it as a handle on a forum.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:
 Works on the Waterkant, Paramaribo’s promenade to which the entire nation is emotionally attached, cannot seem to be completed. The site is important for tourism.

From all the spots I have visited around the world, the Waterkant (which means water front) is the most memorable one for me. I too am emotionally attached to it and would have loved to own even a flat overlooking the water front. I have extremely fond memory of that place. I even use it as a handle on a forum.

Waterkant is lovly just like you Brader T i am emotinally attached to certain places in Suriname. One of such place is Nieu Amsterdam however when I visited last year I was dissapointed to see that it is not well kept as it used to be.

I ave not been to Mongo neither Albina since in the late 70's hopefully  on my next trip(do not when) i will be able to go visit those two places.

I was in Suriname last August and those speed bumps that they placed on the highways are annoying and a total waste of time.

I have done a little bit of travelling  in a few different countries but have never experienced this stupid , annoying and time wasting road bumps anywhere else in the world.

That Minister needed to be fired because the "dremples" as they are called did not reduce road fatalities.

Now, is what the rass dis story you got have to do with Boutaseria story. You throw Iman right out my zone while reading.

Seein yall talkin about Suriname. Iman remember a family deh who owned Ful-A-Pep Feeds. Tman you know dem fowl food people dem?

How bout you chief, or you only use to tief the people dem fowl?

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

What is puzzling is why you are on this forum when you have such affection for Suriname and hatred for Guyana? Isn't the Surinamese forum good enough for you or did they chase you out because you are a pretender?

Originally Posted by BGurd_See

What is puzzling is why you are on this forum when you have such affection for Suriname and hatred for Guyana? Isn't the Surinamese forum good enough for you or did they chase you out because you are a pretender?

You have intense hatred for Guyana, considering it to be mud, malaria, mosquitos and criminals.

You love the PPP crime family.  Please do not mistake this for love for Guyana.

You have intense hatred for Guyana, considering it to be mud, malaria, mosquitos and criminals.

PPP bring milk to Guyana while the PNC/AFC brought black tea. The Jungle of Guyana has all the above you stated, this is a fact, go to the beach and see the mud as it  flows down the Demerara and deposits on the foreshore.  The interior has malaria, this is a fact, the CDC says so too.  The AFC/PNC bandits wait for visitors to rob them, this is a fact. Especially on the trail in the interior your folks wait to rob and kill. Linden and Agricola were recent examples. hahahaah

The interior of Brazil and many African nations have malaria and worse, and yet have thriving tourist industries.  The type of people who go to these places know full well that they must be prepared.  And indeed the tour operators prepare them properly.  Which is why Guyana is not ready because we do not have this infrastructure in place.

Jamaica and the DR and Brazil and even Belize are way more dangerous to visitors than Guyana is.  Yet Jamaicans, Dominicans, Brazilians and Belizeans dont run around like you telling people not to visit because they are too embarrassed about their countries.

Guyana is a fascinating country if you are not Guyanese as we Guyanese take lots for granted. 

To us Stabroek market is nothing much.  To an Islander or a European its quite a sight.  And this while it is dirty. Imagine if they cleaned it up and made it tourist friendly.  You will be surprised about how many will be fascinated watching those jewelers making their products.  And about all the fresh fruits and vegetables arriving from the Pomeroon.  Even the experience of sailing in the Demerara River.  Of the many cultures which exist side by side in Guyana.  Not only entities to themselves, but the way that most Guyanese share and combine aspects of these cultures.

And how fascinating that visitors find Guyanese themselves, a very vibrant and creative people.  And usually genuinely curious about foreigners and eager to share their country.

But to you Guyana is malaria, mosquitos, bush, and criminals.  A country which embarrasses you and which you can only favorably view through the lenses of the private militias staffed by corrupt ex army and police men and criminals.  I guess your folks owe their wealth to this so you endorse it.  Because when the ex PNC thug, now PPP thugs said that the PPP puts milk in the tea, this is what he was referring to.

It might shock you to know how often the Caribbean Airlines inflight magazine have articles on Guyana, and how often Caribbean news media feature Guyana.  And these are aimed at islanders who are way more sweet skinned and afraid of bush and snakes than your eco/adventure North Americans and Europeans.

Its a pity that the only virtue that you see in Guyana is the PPP Crime Organization and the fact that they employ criminals rather than to develop an effective criminal/judicial system to fight crime.  Now that is something that ought to embarrass you asa Guyanese, because they is not one nation on earth which operates like this, and avoid crime and mayhem.  Just look at Rio if you dont believe me.

Want to see Guyana's future look at Rio today.  Run by big time bandits who have corrupted its police force and judiciary.

The interior of Brazil and many African nations have malaria and worse, and yet have thriving tourist industries.  The type of people who go to these places know full well that they must be prepared.  And indeed the tour operators prepare them properly.  Which is why Guyana is not ready because we do not have this infrastructure in place.

Jamaica and the DR and Brazil and even Belize are way more dangerous to visitors than Guyana is.  Yet Jamaicans, Dominicans, Brazilians and Belizeans dont run around like you telling people not to visit because they are too embarrassed about their countries.

Guyana is a fascinating country if you are not Guyanese as we Guyanese take lots for granted. 

To us Stabroek market is nothing much.  To an Islander or a European its quite a sight.  And this while it is dirty. Imagine if they cleaned it up and made it tourist friendly.  You will be surprised about how many will be fascinated watching those jewelers making their products.  And about all the fresh fruits and vegetables arriving from the Pomeroon.  Even the experience of sailing in the Demerara River.  Of the many cultures which exist side by side in Guyana.  Not only entities to themselves, but the way that most Guyanese share and combine aspects of these cultures.

And how fascinating that visitors find Guyanese themselves, a very vibrant and creative people.  And usually genuinely curious about foreigners and eager to share their country.

But to you Guyana is malaria, mosquitos, bush, and criminals.  A country which embarrasses you and which you can only favorably view through the lenses of the private militias staffed by corrupt ex army and police men and criminals.  I guess your folks owe their wealth to this so you endorse it.  Because when the ex PNC thug, now PPP thugs said that the PPP puts milk in the tea, this is what he was referring to.

It might shock you to know how often the Caribbean Airlines inflight magazine have articles on Guyana, and how often Caribbean news media feature Guyana.  And these are aimed at islanders who are way more sweet skinned and afraid of bush and snakes than your eco/adventure North Americans and Europeans.

Its a pity that the only virtue that you see in Guyana is the PPP Crime Organization and the fact that they employ criminals rather than to develop an effective criminal/judicial system to fight crime.  Now that is something that ought to embarrass you asa Guyanese, because they is not one nation on earth which operates like this, and avoid crime and mayhem.  Just look at Rio if you dont believe me.

Want to see Guyana's future look at Rio today.  Run by big time bandits who have corrupted its police force and judiciary.

Have you actually been into the interior of Guyana? If you did you would not be making these ignorant statements. There is not much to see except at the water falls.  Tourists to Iwokarama always complain that they came all that way but did not see the wild life that was advertised. The proof is in the pudding, many tourist operators advertise Guyana  but do marginal. Maybe you and your travel consultant friend can do a better job, go ask Goveia and other tourist operators who have invested money in the tourism industry and get credible feedback. You from your armchair in the west are just hypothesizing based on success somewhere else without even examining all the factors germane to each country. 

In fact druggie a woman called Felicia Persaud organized a Guyana Day at Bowling Green several years ago.  She wa stired of the fact taht every one in NYC knows about Jamaica and to a lesser degree the Eastern Caribbean islands, and the larger South America countries, but remain ignorant of Guyana.

I met a reporter from NPR who was walking by and saw what he thought was quite unusual and so stopped by.  What was unusual was the fact that the Africans there were comfortable with Chutney and some even danced to it.

What made him even more curious were the young Indian girls dancing to various types of Indian dances.  The thing that most intrigued him was that, according to him, they danced using moves that he would imagine from an AFRICAN woman dancing to Bollywood. And its not shocking when you consider that most of those girls spend their weekends dancing to reggae, soca and hip hop and club music, so unconsciously have incorporated Afro moves.

To some one already heavily exposed to Jamaican culture this is something new and intriguing.

But you think that Guyana is mud and malaria and nothing else.  And you will rather Trinidad and Suriname capitalize on their multi cultural societies while Guyana contents itself with being acriminal enteroprise wher wealthy business people (usually Indians) buy off criminals and corrupt army and police men to use as mercenaries.

Have you actually been into the interior of Guyana? If you did you would not be making these ignorant statements. There is not much to see except at the water falls.  Tourists to Iwokarama always complain that they came all that way but did not see the wild life that was advertised. The proof is in the pudding, many tourist operators advertise Guyana  but do marginal. Maybe you and your travel consultant friend can do a better job, go ask Goveia and other tourist operators who have invested money in the tourism industry and get credible feedback. You from your armchair in the west are just hypothesizing based on success somewhere else without even examining all the factors germane to each country. 

Druggie the PPP is spending millions building Marriott to attract tourists.  They want to spend US$ 150M to expand GEO airport, again with the aim of attracting tourists.  Thyey have this notion that jumbo jets will arrive in GEO bringing thousands of tourists from China, India and Europe.  They are desperate to get KLM to fly to GEO.

So if Guyana is a hell hole with no tourism potential I urgently suggest that you tell Ramotar so that he stops wasting tax  payers dollars.  As you can see that PPP advertorial was quite packed with the PPP babbling about tourism.

BTW eco/ADVENTURE tourism is more than animal watching.  Thats why they call it ADVENTURE.

The issue is that the type of infrastructure development that the interior needs to encourage tourism will also help Guyanese.  Can you imagine how the Rupununi will boom if it got proper roads to coastal Guyana?  How Guyana will capitalize on Roraima being landlocked and too remote from the rest of Brazil?

Druggie in a few decades coastal Guyana might be under water. Already we are seeing the impact of global change withe the freak tides and flooding.  So unless there is some plan to lopcate more ecomic activity in the interior Guyana is in serious trouble.  Gold cannot be all that there is or Guyana will become a desert once all the trees have been cut down.

Oh and by the way PBS and BBC specifically locate documentaries in Guyana because in the Rupununi grasslands animals are easier to find.  Indeed there is the claim by PBS that the animals in Guyana are bigger than elsewhere and less shy because they have been less targeted by humans than in other more populated countries.

And if Iworkrama is useless why does every one, the PPP, the BBC, PBS, etc continue to feature it.   People I know living in the UK report that Guyana is well covered there.  Of course when some one has their interested stimulated there are no packages to buy for Guyana.

, many tourist operators advertise Guyana  but do marginal.

Which tour operators LOCATED in Europe or North America heavily feature Guyana?

I showed you a site where one can get all the info one needs on the Pantanal in Brazil, way more remote than the Rupununi.  Where is this for Guyana?   No one will go to a remote region unless all arrangements can be made PRIOR to travelling.

And again I restate.  Guyana only wants 50,000eco/adventure  tourists.  Basically the same number who travel to St Vincent, which is hardly a well known Caribbean tourist island with its black sand beaches.  Indeed fewer than the tourists that Dominica gets, yet another island with black sand beaches, and no big resorts.

, many tourist operators advertise Guyana  but do marginal.

Which tour operators LOCATED in Europe or North America heavily feature Guyana?

I showed you a site where one can get all the info one needs on the Pantanal in Brazil, way more remote than the Rupununi.  Where is this for Guyana?   No one will go to a remote region unless all arrangements can be made PRIOR to travelling.

And again I restate.  Guyana only wants 50,000eco/adventure  tourists.  Basically the same number who travel to St Vincent, which is hardly a well known Caribbean tourist island with its black sand beaches.  Indeed fewer than the tourists that Dominica gets, yet another island with black sand beaches, and no big resorts.

Like i said, I am the wrong person you are arguing with, go tell this to the tourist operators in Guyana. Or in fact invest your own money and set up an operation in Guyana rather than pontificate from your armchair in the West.

Druggie here is what you do.  tell the PPP to stop babbling about tourism in Guyana because you fear that one of your white friends might visit and then laugh at you.

All you wish for Guyana are rich business men building malls and multiplexes and exploiting their workers.  Only recycling money earned from remittances and gold.  And getting private armies to protect their interests, and being allowed to do so by the PPP.

I mean look at how much money the PPP plans to spend on tourism once they build the Marriott and that huge airport with SEVEN jetways when only one airlines flies there four times daily.  And the most jets on the ground at any one time are THREE!

Do you know that the PPP wants a bigger terminal than ST MAARTEN!  And plan to serious incur debt to do so.

And put it this way druggie if there are better roads and air access and still no tourists arrive dont you think that Guyanese will benefit.  The biggest challenge tod eveloping the interior is its poor infrastructure.  he biggest impedimant to Guyana benefitting from Roraima's landlocked status the ppoor transportation.

I see more gain from Guyana by improving roads and air access to the interior than wasting money on ahotel which is not needed and an airport bigger than one of the Caribbean's largest tourst destination.

Druggie here is what you do.  tell the PPP to stop babbling about tourism in Guyana because you fear that one of your white friends might visit and then laugh at you.

All you wish for Guyana are rich business men building malls and multiplexes and exploiting their workers.  Only recycling money earned from remittances and gold.  And getting private armies to protect their interests, and being allowed to do so by the PPP.

I mean look at how much money the PPP plans to spend on tourism once they build the Marriott and that huge airport with SEVEN jetways when only one airlines flies there four times daily.  And the most jets on the ground at any one time are THREE!

Do you know that the PPP wants a bigger terminal than ST MAARTEN!  And plan to serious incur debt to do so.

I welcome tourism, however I am not convinced like that Guyana has the potential to become another Barbados. The ecotourism will be marginal. The real tourism is what I have been advocating for years, getting the expat Guyanese to come back and visit instead of wasting energy trying to lure foreigners who are afraid of contracting malaria.

The Marriott was not built for eco tourists, why would an eco tourist hotel be built in the city? It was built for the high rollers who do business in Guyana as well as affluent Guyanese who have been avoiding returning because of the piss poor accomodations at the princess and pegasus. You have much to learn, but I never get tired of educating you.

I welcome tourism, however I am not convinced like that Guyana has the potential to become another Barbados. The ecotourism will be marginal. The real tourism is what I have been advocating for years, getting the expat Guyanese to come back and visit instead of wasting energy trying to lure foreigners who are afraid of contracting malaria.

The Marriott was not built for eco tourists, why would an eco tourist hotel be built in the city? It was built for the high rollers who do business in Guyana as well as affluent Guyanese who have been avoiding returning because of the piss poor accomodations at the princess and pegasus. You have much to learn, but I never get tired of educating you.

Druggie Guyanese who left as adults will not need encouragement to visit and will not visit Guyana just because there is a Marriott. 

Its simple.  If they have friends and family they will visit.  If they dont then most likely they will not. Locating marriott in Guyana will not make a Guyanese who isnt interest in visiting go, becasue at the end of the day if they see nothing that interests them in Guyana, aside from marriott then they will stay at some Caribbean marriott resort.

Second and especially third generation Guyanese will not be attracted in the same way that the immigrant generation will be, unless they have close family ties.  In that case they will NOT stay in a hotel.

1.  If Marriott isnt being built to develop new sources of tourism then it is NOT needed.  The existing facilities in Guyana are empty and most overaeas Guyanese stay with relatives, or in homes that they own.

2.  This is another moment of druggie idiocy.  Just as you do not know that 10% of 43% is not 10%, you do not know that 50,000 (which Guyana can get) is very different from the 550,000 which Barbados already gets. 

Even the most starry eyed person has no interest in Guyana becoming a tourist mecca, crawling with tourists.  Even were this possible then it will destroy the very basis of Guyana's attractions with thousands of toursts trampling through our eco assets.  Gold and timber are already destroying the interior and a massive tourist industry will do the same.

3.  The rhetoric of the PPP is that they justify using PUBLIC DOLLARS because this is needed to develop tourism. When they talk about tourism the focus is on bird watching and Amerindian culture. This is why every one execpt you and the PPP question whats the point of the Marriott in Gtwn. 

Just as how the owner of Princess took a chance let the would be owners of Marriott do the same.  It does appear as is they do not exist as the PPP is now admitting that they are hoping to sell their interests in the hotel if it works.  This in their advertorial.