The government has dismissed the CEO of Guysuco Raj Singh and instructed all board members to hand in resignations.

Here are the names of board members as of August 2014: Shaik Baksh, Dunstan Barrow, Dindyal Permaul, Keith Burrowes, Badri Persaud, Geeta Singh-Knight and Raj Singh

Here is the press release

“Chief Executive Officer of the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) Dr. Raj Singh was dismissed this afternoon. GuySuCo has been suffering increased losses over the years. In 2014, the sugar corporation received a $6 Billion bailout. For this year, the corporation has requested a $16 Billion bailout package.
On the directive of Cabinet, Agriculture Minister Noel Holder issued the letter of dismissal to Dr. Singh and it takes immediate effect.
In addition, members of GuySuCo’s Board of Directors have been instructed to send in Letters of Resignation with immediate effect.
Over the years GuySuCo has been sinking further into debt due to ineffective operations both at the financial and production levels.
To ensure that the Corporation continues to survive, the Government will be putting in place an Interim Management Committee that will take effect from June 4, 2015 and which will oversee the Corporation for at least six months.
Before the end of this month, the Government will establish a Commission of Inquiry to look in to the operations of GuySuCo and chart a way forward.
The Government wishes to assure workers of GuySuCo that they will be paid and there will be no closing of the Sugar Corporation.

http://gtmosquito.com/mozzy-ne...ard-asked-to-resign/

They must also fire the Skeldon Manager, the alcoholic who stops the Guysuco vehicle in the middle of the road and urinates in public.

He was charged for riotous behavior and the cop was transferred.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Very good!  I was going to nominate TK for the job but he wants to close down the industry

Can't close it down...just make it a multiproduct corporation.  Anyhow...glad to see the new govt shaking things up there.

Maybe change name to Guyana Agricultural Corporation as they diversify and add agro industries, canning, etc. They need to add some technocrats to the Board not useless people and known failures.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Maybe change name to Guyana Agricultural Corporation as they diversify and add agro industries, canning, etc. They need to add some technocrats to the Board not useless people and known failures.

Why the name change???,does not make sense.

Originally Posted by Django:

They should take a peek and see why the Brazilians are

successful,guys what is your thoughts on this ????

I am certain they will save tons of money just by eliminating corruption-people who doan work and collect a pay pocket and give the Junior staff his cut. Then, there are those who go to work but doan work. That is the biggest problem for that corporation-waste. Trim it and see the Corporation turn around. 

I am hoping the new board comprises of individuals with know how. CBJ gave GUYSUCO to a misfit Georgetown businessman. The company was already in trouble and he bleed it more.

Very good!  I was going to nominate TK for the job but he wants to close down the industry

GUYSUCO produces sugar at almost twice the cost of world market prices. How can they ever break even? The new mill takes 19 tons of cane to produce one ton of sugar while the old mill at albion only took 11. TK may be right, lacking a rise in sugar prices or an alternative use for the produce that would enhance its value we are stuck with a money sink hole for an industry.

Ow bai, all dem things wha mi old bai propose to Dr Reid in the 70's and what Burnham try fuh do (Other Crops) is now "new thinking".  If Burnham was a "c00lie" things would be so much better in Guyana.  But a Blackman propose it and is bad fuh abie canecutters.

* I am sure you have done some reading up on the Brazilian sugar industry. Using technology and modern agronomic management practices, they are light years ahead of Guyana. More importantly the Guyana government doesn't have the will to modernize sugar operations and diversity GUYSUCO.

* I am sure you have done some reading up on the Brazilian sugar industry. Using technology and modern agronomic management practices, they are light years ahead of Guyana.More importantly the Guyana government doesn't have the will to modernize sugar operations and diversity GUYSUCO.

Why they pumping so much money to keep it a float???

does not make sense.

* I am sure you have done some reading up on the Brazilian sugar industry. Using technology and modern agronomic management practices, they are light years ahead of Guyana. More importantly the Guyana government doesn't have the will to modernize sugar operations and diversity GUYSUCO.

Brazil also don't produce sugar in a polder system, so their average cost is lower. They do the ethanol thing very well. Read the 2011 AFC Action Plan. They had a good vision for sugar as a feedstock.

Why they pumping so much money to keep it a float???

does not make sense.

* Politics my friend.

* The way I see things---Politicians should run governments and businessmen should run businesses----but politicians should not run businesses---that's always a recipe for disaster.

* As long as the government is in charge of the sugar corporation it will continue to fail.

LEMME DIVERT AND TALK ABOUT THE 200 MILLION US SKELDON FACTORY

* There was no real economic, technical and financial feasibility study that was done for Skeldon---the Chinese provided the financing and engineering---and Jagdeo and his cronies pocketed tens of millions.

RE: AMAILA HYDRO

* I am all for hydro if a proper feasibility study shows the project will be financially and technically feasible----the deal proposed by Blackstone was secretive----Jagdeo and his cronies along with Wall Street Blackstone would have profited immensely----the Guyanese people would have been screwed.

* I am curious to see what plans this new government has for Guyana---I rather suspect they will be just as incompetent and corrupt as the PPP.

Ow bai, all dem things wha mi old bai propose to Dr Reid in the 70's and what Burnham try fuh do (Other Crops) is now "new thinking".  If Burnham was a "c00lie" things would be so much better in Guyana.  But a Blackman propose it and is bad fuh abie canecutters.

Agree the idea of other crops for Guysuco is an old idea, but still valid.

Originally Posted by TK:

Where is the market? How to get the goods there?

Labour costs in Guyana are very high. Mostly because of incompetence, the lack of mechanization and the desire of a work force not be productive.

Guyana does not have a large consumer base. So an export drive economy is necessary for the improvement in peoples lives.

The government must lead the way with investments.  

Originally Posted by TK:

Labour costs in Guyana are very high. Mostly because of incompetence, the lack of mechanization and the desire of a work force not be productive.

Guyana does not have a large consumer base. So an export drive economy is necessary for the improvement in peoples lives.

All you nemakharams in Queens and New Jersey should be having a party,rum and duck curry, to celebrate Mr Singh's sacking.Stupid crabs.I hope that when they put one of their "own people" and Guysuco still continues loosing money,the crabs in Queens and New Jersey will be vociferous in calling for resignation,But as usual they can only cuss they mattie.As in the 70s and 80s when the PNC boys destroyed Guysuco,Guybau and others as documented in many reports,yahall nemakhrams were so afraid to even cough at the atrocities,you all ran in your holes and hid through fear of a sound beating. I was glad to see how Burnham treated most of you.Yahall sit by your rum bottles and talk and talk like women all day.Bad talk every man jack who is making  progress.Reason why East Indians will always be in the position as they are today.Jealousy among themselves will always cause them to be divided and feel oppressed.

The blackman will always be your rulers reason being that you behave like crabs.You have lost the Government because most of you still believe that Guyana was backdam,something that is reflected in your behaviour and utterances by Ministers and yourselves.

East Indians will be in a wasteland for the next 20 years all because of because of crab fighting ,trying to get richer than the neighbour,Wealth at any cost even resorting to massive corruption.

The East Indians especially those from the rural areas who have established thriving businesses in Georgetown have no social conscience,they would not blink an eye at the poverty around them as long as their family can shown how wealthy the were.Well those days are gone.They will have to pay their full income tax ,electricity and water as everyone else.

East Indians are not the only ones who want to see their children successful,black people want that too.Yet you deprive them of a decent job in your businesses.Reason being that you will have to pay them a decent wage, a wage that they can live on.Instead of paying a living wage the East Indian businessmen prefer to hire some poor Eat Indian and pay them just enough to get by without them fainting.Indian on Indian oppression.

Perhaps the East Indians in Guyana cannot remember why Amin threw them out of Uganda.They did not have a social conscience all because of their quest for wealth.

Until you start acting  civilised ,assist people irrespective of race,help the poor in the society,black or Indian who are struggling to make a better life for their children, if not you will continue being like  pariahs in any society you live in.

George DaSilva

Originally Posted by george dasilva:
Originally Posted by TK:

All you nemakharams in Queens and New Jersey should be having a party,rum and duck curry, to celebrate Mr Singh's sacking.Stupid crabs.I hope that when they put one of their "own people" and Guysuco still continues loosing money,the crabs in Queens and New Jersey will be vociferous in calling for resignation,But as usual they can only cuss they mattie.As in the 70s and 80s when the PNC boys destroyed Guysuco,Guybau and others as documented in many reports,yahall nemakhrams were so afraid to even cough at the atrocities,you all ran in your holes and hid through fear of a sound beating. I was glad to see how Burnham treated most of you.Yahall sit by your rum bottles and talk and talk like women all day.Bad talk every man jack who is making  progress.Reason why East Indians will always be in the position as they are today.Jealousy among themselves will always cause them to be divided and feel oppressed.

The blackman will always be your rulers reason being that you behave like crabs.You have lost the Government because most of you still believe that Guyana was backdam,something that is reflected in your behaviour and utterances by Ministers and yourselves.

East Indians will be in a wasteland for the next 20 years all because of because of crab fighting ,trying to get richer than the neighbour,Wealth at any cost even resorting to massive corruption.

The East Indians especially those from the rural areas who have established thriving businesses in Georgetown have no social conscience,they would not blink an eye at the poverty around them as long as their family can shown how wealthy the were.Well those days are gone.They will have to pay their full income tax ,electricity and water as everyone else.

East Indians are not the only ones who want to see their children successful,black people want that too.Yet you deprive them of a decent job in your businesses.Reason being that you will have to pay them a decent wage, a wage that they can live on.Instead of paying a living wage the East Indian businessmen prefer to hire some poor Eat Indian and pay them just enough to get by without them fainting.Indian on Indian oppression.

Perhaps the East Indians in Guyana cannot remember why Amin threw them out of Uganda.They did not have a social conscience all because of their quest for wealth.

Until you start acting  civilised ,assist people irrespective of race,help the poor in the society,black or Indian who are struggling to make a better life for their children, if not you will continue being like  pariahs in any society you live in.

George DaSilva

What! What Nonsense.  Who had more of a social conscience. Those Indian followers of the Aga Khan that got kicked out or Idi Amin.  Who has done more for Africa than the Indian followers of the Aga Khan. Certainly not that fat boy Killer Amin.  

Amin wanted those indians assets so that he could have pay for his coup.

GUYSUCO produces sugar at almost twice the cost of world market prices. How can they ever break even? The new mill takes 19 tons of cane to produce one ton of sugar while the old mill at albion only took 11. TK may be right, lacking a rise in sugar prices or an alternative use for the produce that would enhance its value we are stuck with a money sink hole for an industry.

We need to find out why the costs are so high.  Is it driven by inefficiencies and corruption or it driven by high operating costs due to stuff like poor quality sugar cane; poor soil; excess drainage and irrigation costs etc.  Why the new mill takes 19 tons of cane to produce one ton of sugar while the old mill at albion only took 11?

Since the PNC days, nobody paid any attention to the sugar industry. It ran by itself, simply because it was there and there was a market. Bauxite had a limited market, suh when the prospects dried up. The choice was made for the government. Close it up. Besides, they had to pay for their sins of beating up the cooolie people living among them.  

Without the revenues from Sugar, rice and bauxite, where would the Government get money to run the country.  I doubt whether these new ministers have the ability to govern because they are trying to rule Indians.

Originally Posted by Gupta:

It was criminal to pay the CEO Raj Singh US $25,000 a month when he was sinking GuySuCo further and further in debt.

A CEO in the Unites states gets more than that. That is chicken feed compare to them.

Whom so ever the AFC/APNU puts in charge of Guysuco will be a very rich dood. 

It was criminal to pay the CEO Raj Singh US $25,000 a month when he was sinking GuySuCo further and further in debt.

A CEO in the Unites states gets more than that. That is chicken feed compare to them.

Whom so ever the AFC/APNU puts in charge of Guysuco will be a very rich dood. 

They get their worth, in Raj's case, he was being overpaid.

Also a CEO in the USA goes to jail for corruption within his/her company

Pointblank

How has Raj Singh improved sugar?

The PPP killed sugar.

Jagan called it "Bitter Sugar."

Hope the new board has people with sense, not more like the newbies Cabinet.

Let's see what Komal Chand does.

Dr Harold Davis former CEO of GUYSUCO under the PNC received approximately $60,000 per month not including perks.Did anyone of you mice squeeked about it.Afraid of the blows form the PNC goons.Now with a bottle of rum in your mouth you are prepared to say anything.Typical coolie crab.

Now they are talking about Hanoman and Bhim Singh - two men who have made a mint from Guysuco.

This government is scraping the bottom of the barrel.

My question has been always,how can a political party (APNU) whose members are not in the productive sector control the people who own the majority of  businesses,banks agriculture and gold/diamond mining operations?

Owning a snackette,Mash everyday,dancing and singing and knocking two drum dont bring in much money to fill the treasury.

George DaSilva

Dr Harold Davis former CEO of GUYSUCO under the PNC received approximately $60,000 per month not including perks.Did anyone of you mice squeeked about it.Afraid of the blows form the PNC goons.Now with a bottle of rum in your mouth you are prepared to say anything.Typical coolie crab.

Now they are talking about Hanoman and Bhim Singh - two men who have made a mint from Guysuco.

This government is scraping the bottom of the barrel.

My question has been always,how can a political party (APNU) whose members are not in the productive sector control the people who own the majority of  businesses,banks agriculture and gold/diamond mining operations?

Owning a snackette,Mash everyday,dancing and singing and knocking two drum dont bring in much money to fill the treasury.

George DaSilva

You are a racist ass hole. GFYS!

Originally Posted by TK:

All you nemakharams in Queens and New Jersey should be having a party,rum and duck curry, to celebrate Mr Singh's sacking.Stupid crabs.

I hope that when they put one of their "own people" and Guysuco still continues loosing money,the crabs in Queens and New Jersey will be vociferous in calling for resignation,But as usual they can only cuss they mattie.As in the 70s and 80s when the PNC boys destroyed

Guysuco,Guybau and others as documented in many reports,yahall nemakhrams were so afraid to even cough at the atrocities,you all ran in your holes and hid through fear of a sound beating.

I was glad to see how Burnham treated most of you.Yahall sit by your rum bottles and talk and talk like women all day.Bad talk every man jack who is making  progress.Reason why East Indians will always be in the position as they are today.Jealousy among themselves will always cause them to be divided and feel oppressed.

George DaSilva

Sir, take a moment to compose yourself and reflect on what you just stated.  It is to put it mildly, a display of childish pouting for no reason.

Apparently you do admire Mr Singh. That is your right. But he has overseen an industry that has failed miserably. It may not be all his fault but he was there at least for a couple of years so some blame will fall on his shoulders.

That he is decidedly and predictably incompetent is hardly in doubt. Not one change for the better occurred under his watch and had he been a good steward, he would be sounding warnings of its dire state. Instead only a couple of weeks ago he was chiming the industry's salutary state and speculating on a turnaround soon. Instead we find the patient is not only diseased its  the doctors are out to lunch.

I do not know why you feel inclined to call anyone crabs etc. It is our country and in the presence of cronyism...definitely the case here...incompetence...partly the case here...and false reporting on the status of the industry...definitely the case her; Dr Rag Singh ought to be kicked to the curb. It is prudent administrative procedure.

Was not Raj Singh one of "our own" Who is their "own people" you are talking about? The sugar industry belongs to the state so them and ours crapola needs to be removed from your vocabulary.

The rest of your rant is your own disease. Seek a cure.

Without the revenues from Sugar, rice and bauxite, where would the Government get money to run the country.  I doubt whether these new ministers have the ability to govern because they are trying to rule Indians.

Well the PPP ran Guysuco into the ground. Were they too trying to rule Indians, eh drunkie? We are dealing with 3 dead industries - sugar, rice and bauxite. Proper leadership will search for and define new opportunities in new industries for the people. We need to look at what similiar countries have diversified. Whether APNU/AFC can provide that leadership remains to be seen.

The Caribbean has a huge food import bill.

Guyana labor costs are very low.  Where did you get the notion that it is high?  This is why Guyanese flee to Grenada and St Vincent.

There will need to be greater efficiencies in sugar.  Just as thousands of bauxite workers lost their jobs, so the same will occur in sugar. 

I already hear the screaming from the PPP about Indians being victimized.  They told blacks in Linden and Kwakwani, tough.  But that is life.  The PPP should have begun to transition sugar workers to other industries, as they were told to do.  Now this task will be the responsibility of the coalition gov't, more drastic as there is now less time to do so.