BREAKING: JetBlue to operate flights out of CJIA

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

Reports are that US carrier, JetBlue is expected to operate flights between the Cheddi Jagan International Airport and New York in the coming months.

The Guyana Chronicle understands that on Wednesday the company informed staff of the airline’s plans , including flights between the JFK airport and the CJIA.

The Guyana Chronicle will provide more information on this story.

The oil industry will provide enough passengers for sustainability.  If a few international hotels set up shop in Guyana, they are in business.

Not sure of the extra volume due to oil. Day over day will require at least double the volume for another carrier to enter the fray. Or maybe they intend to push out AA and CAL.  

I flew Guyana Airways a few times in the late 80’s and I was terrified. They overloaded the plane and I remember the plane landing at Timehri (sp) in total darkness. I prayed to Allan, Krsna and Christ every time that I boarded it.

I saw people taking bribes for overweight suitcases to be loaded back to Toronto. The risk was unbelievable but GA and BIWI were the only two options back then and the delayed and cancelled flights were another story.

I guess those Max planes will be back in full swing in a few months and taking passengers to Guyana. 

Now why would you say this..twice ?

them men wish bad on Guyanese because of who is in power....sick, I tell yuh

Look how politics mek all you think. I meant that these airlines will use their fleet of Max to developing countries route. 

All you two relax deh. PNC is already in a very bad situation, no one has to wish dem bad. They are proven bunch of bad minded people. Jagdeo putting fire πŸ”₯ on their balls.

Jagdeo ain’t flying on any Max, he left that to dem PNC fools.  

Why cant Guyana have its own planes and call it "Guyana Airways" or "Fly Guyana" or something like that...they should put the oil money to good use, especially since a lot of people will be flying to and from Guyana...why they keep depending on these foreigners?

Very foolish proposal.  Read what Drugb wrote about the financial difficulties the airline industry faces and think whether it makes sense for a corrupt government to venture into such business.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Look how politics mek all you think. I meant that these airlines will use their fleet of Max to developing countries route. 

All you two relax deh. PNC is already in a very bad situation, no one has to wish dem bad. They are proven bunch of bad minded people. Jagdeo putting fire πŸ”₯ on their balls.

Actually they cannot use these planes until cleared by the US as they will take off and land in the US. Other countries have also grounded them so I doubt they can fly anywhere!

And I agree, BJ putting fyah in dem wyah!

Why cant Guyana have its own planes and call it "Guyana Airways" or "Fly Guyana" or something like that...they should put the oil money to good use, especially since a lot of people will be flying to and from Guyana...why they keep depending on these foreigners?

Very foolish proposal.  Read what Drugb wrote about the financial difficulties the airline industry faces and think whether it makes sense for a corrupt government to venture into such business.

Why?  GAC was there with a population of 350k and much poorer.  And yet there were BWIA, BOAC/BA, PamAm going to Guyana.  The people of Guyana today travel much more than back then.

If East Timor could try for a flag carrier, why can’t Guyana?  

I agree though, is it worth the while given alternatives!

My dream is to see GAC back in service!

Actually they cannot use these planes until cleared by the US as they will take off and land in the US. Other countries have also grounded them so I doubt they can fly anywhere!

And I agree, BJ putting fyah in dem wyah!

I actually meant that when they are deemed β€œsafe”’to fly. They are already claiming that a software fix has been completed and are currently testing for FAA approval. 

They should consult with the two PNC judges on the mathematical calculations for the software upgrade and give PNC MP’s free flights on those planes. 

Jagdeo continues to light fire πŸ”₯ on the PNC backside. He already charmed the US ambassador to Guyana. 

Dat banna already 500 steps ahead of the PNC. 

Jet Blue uses Airbus 

Pointblank

I flew Guyana Airways a few times in the late 80’s and I was terrified. They overloaded the plane and I remember the plane landing at Timehri (sp) in total darkness. I prayed to Allan, Krsna and Christ every time that I boarded it.

I saw people taking bribes for overweight suitcases to be loaded back to Toronto. The risk was unbelievable but GA and BIWI were the only two options back then and the delayed and cancelled flights were another story.

How do you over load a plane. Were there people standing holding on to hand bars

Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

How do you over load a plane. Were there people standing holding on to hand bars

Bai, read na. I was referring to overweight suitcases. 

Pointblank posted:

Jet Blue uses Airbus 

Thank God.

Word is that the PNC plans to buy a couple of Max at a deep discount and start APNU Airlines for Volda’s PNC supporters at discounted members only rates. 

Guyana airways was always making money it took the PPP to put it out of business too much drug runnings Uner the PPP every time any flight landed from Guyana in the US it was searched with sniffer dogs

Pointblank

I guess, Fly Jamaica is over.

Yes.  The Jamaican gov'y has withdrawn their certificate to operate and Guyana is a cat 2 country so an airline based there cannot fly to the USA.

You don't mess with Jamaican people's money, use their name, mess up and then expect not to be punished.  Guyanese tolerate nonsense like an illiterate man selected to be the presidential candidate by a thief. 

Even their least educated PM had to rush to Florida to some little college, and graduate before she could even talk about being selected to be the PM candidate.  And in Jamaica the party membership decides who will be the PM candidate.  Not a bully with an oversized ego!

The airline industry requires deep pockets, much less a fly by night pnc operation. Even delta fled, hope jetblue has sustainability for the long. Most of these airlines only look at the bottom line, once it don't fit their business model, they are out. 

Delta fled because the PPP had one of their fly by nites charging $2 and causing everyone else to lose money into Guyana.

Yes is the Guyana syndrome.  Fly Jam started service under the PPP but they are the "PNC" airline because they aren't Indians.

If Jamaica with their much larger and better travelled population and huge tourist industry don't have their own airline why should Guyana.  Who knows how long T&T will tolerate sinking funds into Carib Air now that their milk cow, the NY GEO route, will now be more competitive, meaning a sharp drop in fares.

Pointblank posted:

Guyana airways was always making money it took the PPP to put it out of business too much drug runnings Uner the PPP every time any flight landed from Guyana in the US it was searched with sniffer dogs

If GAC was making $$ under the PNC its only because they had a virtual monopoly.  I remember that the GY gov't used to give BW a hard time forcing all of their flights into POS and also restricting the # of seats that they could supply.  The result being that hardly anyone visited GY unless one had to.

GAC with that Russian plane was not a pleasant experience from what I heard.  I never used them because I don't board any plane with Tupolev as its name.  Those Russian planes used to love randomly dropping out of the sky in those days.