BREAKING NEWS: Government Minister accused of threatening to kill Kaieteur News’ Publisher/Staff
By Kurt Campbell
[www.inewsguyana.com] –Amid tears, Kaieteur News’ Publisher, Glenn Lall scrambled to explain how fearful he is for his life and that of his family along with his employees following what he has interpreted to be violent threats made against him allegedly by Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs Anil Nandlall.
Lall had just exited the Police Commissioner’s Office at Eve Leary, Georgetown where he handed over to Deputy Commissioner Balram Persaud a package which contained a diskette of an interview between a senior Kaieteur News Journalist and Nandlall where the threats were allegedly made.
A voice purporting to be that of the Attorney General could be heard on the almost 20 minutes recording saying among other things: “I told Adam [Adam Harris, Editor, Kaieteur News] everybody don’t have a newspaper to use as a weapon, I told Adam people got weapons. If they continue to attack people like this and they [people] have no way of responding, they will just walk with their weapon into that same F**king Saffon Street office and wah come shall do.”
Though refusing to comment on the matter, Lall assured that he has already taken measures to improve his security.
The voice on the recording, supposedly that of the AG went on to say: “innocent people got to pay for f**king Paul… I tell you honestly, man to man, that will happen so the quicker you get out of there, the better for you.”
The voice allegedly that of the AG also noted: “there is a simpler way of dealing with this situation you know, I tell Glenn already. He knows I have capacity and I know his. I don’t have to go Court every day and issue press statements, I don’t have to resort to those methods…there are far more effective measures to which I can resort.”
Lall explained in a statement that he has been receiving a number of phone calls where he was cautioned to be careful in his daily movement. He said one caller went as far as to tell him that there is a plot to “shoot up your building and make it look like a robbery.”
He said he was again informed that a plot to execute him had been hatched by senior government functionaries and that people had already been approached to carry out the dastardly act.
The voice alleged to be that of Nandlall also said to the reporter: “My advice to you is to move out of there, it’s a dangerous f**king place to work…I am telling you, read between the lines.”
He said on Saturday last all of the threats seemed to have been vindicated by a conversation between the AG and his Senior Reporter.
“The utterances are disturbing to say the least. I am very concerned because it came from high quarters… based on the recording I there is a criminal conspiracy which should be investigated,” Lall told the media.
Meanwhile, Lall’s Attorney, Khemraj Ramjattan has described the threats as “state terrorism” which he says comes with a history.
“It is clear from the tape that the destruction of Kaieteur News and its proprietor has heightened to level where the state wants to do destruction to a dissidentand a very famous one in Guyana.”
When contacted by iNews, Nandlall neither denied nor admitted that the conversation did occur. He said he wanted to listen to the recording before offering any comments.
The full recording can be found here: