BREAKING NEWS:Gunshot fired at PNCR Congress

Rate this item
(0 votes)
BREAKING NEWS: Single gunshot heard in PNCR Headquarters Congress Place, Sophia as confusion mars voting process at Congressional Elections.

No reports of injuries but numerous persons were seen running after the sound of a gunshot at 12: 11 PM

Concerns raised that several Region 10 Delegates were being prevented from voting.

Ruckus at PNCR Congress, shot fired

There was a ruckus early this afternoon at the PNCR Congress at Sophia during voting for positions on the executive and a shot was fired into the ground by a bodyguard.

Sources say the alarming development came after some Region Ten delegates including Sharma Solomon were not accredited to vote. Region Ten delegates and officials then stormed the area where the voting was taking place and there was an attempt to stop the voting. At this point, sources say the bodyguard fired a shot into the ground in what appeared to be an attempt to restore order. The voting process has since been suspended.

All week there had been signs of mounting tension between Congress Place and Region Ten over the accreditation of delegates to the 18th Biennial Delegates’ Congress and other matters. In addition, PNCR member Aubrey Norton who is challenging incumbent David Granger for leadership of the party had complained on Friday during the opening of the congress of one of his supporters being abused by someone connected to Granger.

Region 10 delegates on Friday also mounted what was believed to be an unprecedented protest and march into the Congress Hall. The tension between Region 10 and Congress Place has been dramatised in the way in which the party has attempted to discipline popular Region 10 MP Vanessa Kissoon over an altercation she had with party General Secretary, Oscar Clarke.

Today’s occurrences will further entrench widely held views of shadowy internal elections in the PNCR, deep divisions in the party and conduct unbecoming of the main constituent of the major opposition in the National Assembly.

STABROEK NEWS, JULY 27 ---

Sources say the alarming development came after some Region Ten delegates including Sharma Solomon were not accredited to vote. Region Ten delegates and officials then stormed the area where the voting was taking place and there was an attempt to stop the voting. At this point, sources say the bodyguard fired a shot into the ground in what appeared to be an attempt to restore order.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

same old PNC...same PNC.

Aubrey Norton said: β€œI have always been PNC but for the first time I have to sit down and think through where I go. I can promise everyone that I have no interest in the PPP (ruling People’s Progressive Party). I was never PPP, I will never be PPP.”

Gil

With all due respect, you are losing credibility in defending the rotten actions of the PNC and Granger in rigging a Congress Leadership.

This is quite disgraceful.

same old PNC...same PNC.

Aubrey Norton said: β€œI have always been PNC but for the first time I have to sit down and think through where I go. I can promise everyone that I have no interest in the PPP (ruling People’s Progressive Party). I was never PPP, I will never be PPP.”

Nagamouthtoo one day said he will never be a nee-mack-a-ram today he is the mother of all the nee-mack-a-rams

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:

same old PNC...same PNC.

Nagamouthtoo one day said he will never be a nee-mack-a-ram today he is the mother of all the nee-mack-a-rams

Very true. Moses is the modern day version of a Neemakharam. Granger will use him and the AFC and then frog them.

The already left A.P.N.U, with the exception of the W.P.A, the rest of "coalition" parties exists only on paper, Granger seems set recall Kissoon, Linden faction in protest, is the writing on the wall for the P.N.C in the event of any snap elections?

The PNC will be left with a fractured party. It will never recover after this rigging.

same old PNC...same PNC.

Gil

With all due respect, you are losing credibility in defending the rotten actions of the PNC and Granger in rigging a Congress Leadership.

yuji, what part of this post says I am defending the PNC?

I quote Norton to show you PPP guys that while you're backing the Region 10 rebels, their leader Norton says clearly and loudly that he wants nothing to do with the corrupt PPP.

same old PNC...same PNC.

Gil

I quote Norton to show you PPP guys that while you're backing the Region 10 rebels, their leader Norton says clearly and loudly that he wants nothing to do with the corrupt PPP.

Gilly

Moses said that he would never become a Neemakharam and still joined the AFC. Politicians are like prostitutes, never swear for them because you never know what they will end up doing.

You are an honourable man, I do not see you condemning the  blatant rigging by Granger and his PNC rigging machinery.

The small "crew" were at play today that Norton once spoke of...

List of victims

1. James Mc Allister

2. Vincent Alexander

3. Faith Harding

4. Van West Charles

5. Aubrey Norton

6. Vanessa Kissoon

7. Eton London

etc....etc....etc

You dumb as political hacks mouthing the "small crew" refrain from the Reganite period and for nothing. The PPP has a smaller crew, small minded ones who give us two crooks as their leaders.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

List of victims

1. James Mc Allister

2. Vincent Alexander

3. Faith Harding

4. Van West Charles

5. Aubrey Norton

6. Vanessa Kissoon

7. Eton London

etc....etc....etc

You dumb as political hacks mouthing the "small crew" refrain from the Reganite period and for nothing. The PPP has a smaller crew, small minded ones who give us two crooks as their leaders.

Then you should have SHUT yuh STUPID TRAP when the PPP had their Congress!!!!!!!!!!

same old PNC...same PNC.

Gil

Gilly

Moses said that he would never become a Neemakharam and still joined the AFC. Politicians are like prostitutes, never swear for them because you never know what they will end up doing.

You are an honourable man, I do not see you condemning the  blatant rigging by Granger and his PNC rigging machinery.

yuji, we have to be fair. You are accepting the Linden rebels' side of the equation.

I have been reading the news reports carefully, and it says Region 10 submitted a delegates list that contained persons who joined the PNC less than a year ago.

The STABROEK NEWS has just published a PNC Statement as follows:

β€œAmidst some administrative difficulties over the delegate representation for Region Ten, a special effort was made by the leadership of the party and the accreditation committee to resolve all matters of concern that were raised. Finally it was agreed that irrespective of the difficulties concerning the issuing of delegate cards, all accredited delegates from Region Ten and/ or any other region whose names were on the lists would be allowed to vote in the elections.

β€œMr. Sharma Solomon Regional Democratic Council Chairman(Region Ten) was issued with a copy of the final lists of approved delegates and Mr. Aubrey Norton one of the other leadership candidates was also issued with the official list of Delegates so as to allow them to observe and scrutinize the process.

β€œEarlier in the day two busloads of persons from Linden arrived at the Congress venue, all claiming to be delegates. During the registration process they were advised that there were no Delegate cards for them. Being very dissatisfied they then proceeded to block the entrance to the auditorium where accredited Delegates were assembling to vote."

You cannot rush to judgement and say there was rigging.

And, BTW yuji, joining the AFC doesn't make Moses a "neemakharam."

For 47 years Moses Nagamootoo gave more to the PPP than he got back from the PPP.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

List of victims

1. James Mc Allister

2. Vincent Alexander

3. Faith Harding

4. Van West Charles

5. Aubrey Norton

6. Vanessa Kissoon

7. Eton London

etc....etc....etc

Then you should have SHUT yuh STUPID TRAP when the PPP had their Congress!!!!!!!!!!

You and smart are oppositex. That comes across very clear. Further, my comment at the PPP congress was limited to commenting on  their peculiar need for secrecy in shutting out the Press. At least the PNC are fighting their battles in the market square with the Press covering each knuckle sandwich.