GABF President Nigel Hinds

Businessman Nigel Hinds has withdrawn from Change Guyana as its prime ministerial candidate, citing health concerns and declaring that he is a US citizen.

See below Hinds’ statement, released Sunday night:

To my friends and supporters, it is with much sadness and disappointment that I now withdraw as a Candidate to represent Change Guyana as the Prime Ministerial Candidate, due to my current dual citizenship status and likely medical condition that I learnt of in November of 2019.

I was hoping that subsequent diagnostic tests would be favourable. However, the prognosis requires further medical intervention that is best done in the United States, where I’m also a citizen.

Guyana’s Constitution under Article 155 does not allow a dual citizen to be elected as a member of the National Assembly.

My commitment and involvement in the campaign to have Robert Badal elected as President of Guyana in General Elections scheduled for March 2, 2020 and to propel Change Guyana Party into becoming the leading political platform for all Guyanese, remains undaunted.

As a co-founder of Change Guyana, I will continue to do my utmost to ensure we keep working to unite Guyana towards a multiethnic, multicultural and multiracial society that focuses on inclusive and accelerated economic and social development across our beautiful country.

Funny that Jinnah didn't know about Hinds' US citizenship. Looks like Hinds didn't know either that he is a US citizen. Methinks he smell de rat dat Badal's money cyant even buy an election. 

Haha.  Maybe Jinnah will be the Prime Minister now.  

Until he is found to be a citizen of the UK. 

DJ proudly posted that Jinnah authorized the article which he posted. PPP tidal wave took down another opponent. 

Nigel Hinds was oblivious that the issues of dual citizenship was/is a major topic in the past months.

Eee izz ah prappa wan' fuh "Change Guyana" 

Only now this banna realized that he cannot run for PM because he is a citizen of another country?  I don't buy it.

He knew all along. Even filed a statutory declaration on nomination day that he was only a Guyanese citizen.

Only now this banna realized that he cannot run for PM because he is a citizen of another country?  I don't buy it.

He knew all along. Even filed a statutory declaration on nomination day that he was only a Guyanese citizen.

Seems like honesty doesn't exist in Guyana.

Don't expect people close to Badal to be honest.

No politician is Honest.  They come clean when they cannot cover up any longer.  Honest people stay away from politics and politicians!

This Nigel Hinds banna is either real stupit or he is a real hypocrite (I think its both)....he knew long before Nomination Day what his medical situation was (Was this a lie?) and he knew very well he was a US citizen.

He gave small parties a bad name.

Hypocrite...

Badal might not have his wife fill in the PM slot...or he should link up with another small party....rumor has it that he might join the PPP/C

Guyana gat too many joksters.

if dah is the case it's  Loser joining Losers.

Winners don't reject losers unless they are dishonest as in the case of Hughes. Hughes belongs in the PNC, dishonest losers.