Breaking News: PPP names Parliamentarians; Ramotar, Birkett, Dr Singh out

July 7, 2015 6:13 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-
PPP Members at a press conference.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The People’s Progressive Party/Civic has released the list of 32 parliamentarians that will represent the Party in the National Assembly during the life of the 11th parliament with some surprising exclusions.

Immediate past President, Donald Ramotar was excluded from the list as well as Former Foreign Affairs Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett and Former Finance Minister Dr Ashni Singh.

Former Local Government Minister Norman Whittaker and Minister of Human Services and Social Security Jennifer Webster have also been excluded from the list of parliamentarians.

The new faces include Bharrat Jagdeo, who is expected to be the Opposition Leader, along with Nigel Dharamlall, Collin Croal, Zulficar Mustapha and Charles Ramson Jr.

See below the full press statement from the Party.

After a series of consultations at various levels over many weeks, the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has concluded discussions on its parliamentary representatives. As customary and in-keeping with the Party’s policy, a number of factors were considered such as experience, youth, gender, ethnic composition, geographic-spread among others.

The PPP remains proud of its democratic tradition which allows the various tiers of our Party to make meaningful inputs in the decision-making process.

The PPP wishes to confirm that its decision of the Opposition Leader has been fully endorsed by the Party’s Central Committee. Full disclosure in respect of those parliamentarians who will fill the position of Leader of the Opposition and Chief Whip will take place at the swearing-in of the thirty two (32) PPP Members of Parliament.

The practically completed list of Members of Parliament follows below this statement. It represents a list of persons who have the capabilities of representing all Guyanese more particularly, the over 200,000 persons who voted for the Party. A number of new faces are expected to be heading for the National Assembly with a good blend of youth and experienced Parliamentarians.

However, the Party has not made a decision regarding when these Members of Parliament will take up their seats in Parliament. Consultations are still ongoing. 

Meanwhile, Former Foreign Affairs Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett and Former Finance Minister Dr.Ashni Singh who were being considered for Parliament have asked that their unavailability to serve the Party in the 11th Parliament of Guyana be made public to avoid any speculations.  

Ms. Rodrigues-Birkett said the following to the Party, “… I have decided to do some work overseas that will take me out of Guyana for extended periods and which will not allow me to do the required work of a Member of Parliament at this time. My new engagement doesn’t take away from my commitment to the Party.’’

Dr.Ashni Singh in his statement said, ‘’…I wish to thank the leadership of the PPP/C for inviting me to take up a seat among its 32 Members of Parliament, and for accommodating my reasons for declining that offer. As I explained, my personal and other commitments would make it difficult for me to discharge the obligations of a PPP/C MP in the manner I would like to at the current time. I remain firmly committed to the PPP/C, and I continue to be available to be of service to the Party in other capacities’’

So what's Ramotar's excuse? He has a big job in foreign too?

Well, the Venezuelan Government is probably advertising to fill the new civil government of their Essequibo Province; and he is from Essequibo and according to the Venezuelan Constitution he is a natural born Venezuelan and he's an uneducated communist loyal to Chavismo so the man has many viable foreign prospects

They just trying to preempt Ramotar because I let the cat out of the bag. Sorry Ram.  But ayuh wait for the list Ramotar as Represnetative of the List will present to Gecom. Then ayuh go see who is maan from boy.

Well, the Venezuelan Government is probably advertising to fill the new civil government of their Essequibo Province; and he is from Essequibo and according to the Venezuelan Constitution he is a natural born Venezuelan and he's an uneducated communist loyal to Chavismo so the man has many viable foreign prospects

Counsel, I taught yuh said Ramotar had to be an MP.  Yuh see how dis list bogus?

Jagdeo on PPP/C Parliament list

-no Ramotar, Elisabeth Harper

By , July 7, 2015, Source

The PPP/C has settled its list of 32 MPs for Parliament and former President Bharrat Jagdeo is on it, making him the likeliest choice for Leader of the Opposition.

As he had signalled to Stabroek News on Monday, former President Donald Ramotar is not on the list neither is his surprise running mate at the 2015 elections, Elisabeth Harper.

In a statement this afternoon, the PPP/C said it is still undecided on when it will return to Parliament.

Others on its list include former ministers Anil Nandlall, Priya Manickchand, Irfaan Ali, Dr Jennifer Westford, Dr Bheri Ramsaran, Dr Frank Anthony, Bishop Juan Edghill and Dr Leslie Ramsammy. General Secretary Clement Rohee and senior party executive Gail Teixeira are also on. Westford is under a cloud due to an investigation into the attempted transfer of state vehicles. Ramsaran was disgraced and sacked as Health Minister by Ramotar over the abuse of human rights activist Sherlina Nageer. Ironically, he had been replaced by Westford,

Former Foreign Affairs Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett has declined the offer to return to Parliament as she will be taking up work assignments overseas. Former Finance Minister Dr Ashni Singh has also declined. His explanation in the PPP/C statement said:

’…I wish to thank the leadership of the PPP/C for inviting me to take up a seat among its 32 Members of Parliament, and for accommodating my reasons for declining that offer. As I explained, my personal and other commitments would make it difficult for me to discharge the obligations of a PPP/C MP in the manner I would like to at the current time. I remain firmly committed to the PPP/C, and I continue to be available to be of service to the Party in other capacities’’.

The list follows:

GEOGRAPHICAL CONSTITUENCY

Electoral DistrictName of Candidate extracted
1CROAL, COLLIN DAVID
2DAMON, CARNEL
3ALI MOHAMED IRFAAN
3CHAND KOMAL
4NANDLALL MOHABIR
4NEENDKUMAR
4PERSAUD GILLIAN ROSEMARIE
5MANICKCHAND PRIYA DEVI
6MAHADEO VISHWA DEVA BUDHRAM
6MUSTAPHA ZULFIKAR
7WESTFORD JENNIFER REGINALDA ANN
9CHARLIE ALISTER SATURNIUS

NATIONAL TOP UP

#Name of Candidate extracted
1ANAMAYAH ADRIAN VENKATASUMA
2ANTHONY FRANK CHRISTOPHER
STANISLAUS
3CHANDARPAL INDRANIE
4DHARAMLALL NIGEL DEONARINE
5EDGHILL JUAN ANTHONY
6HAMILTON JOSEPH LINDEN
FITZCLARENCE
7JAGAN CLIVE RAMESH
8JAGDEO BHARRAT
9LUMUMBA ODINGA
10PERSAUD GANGA
11PERSAUD VINDHYA VASINI
HARSHKUMARI
12RAMSARAN BHERI SYGMOND
13RAMSON CHARLES SHIVA
14ROHEE CLEMENT JAMES
15SEERAJ DHARAMKUMAR
16SELMAN AFRICO ARCHIBALD
17SUKHAI PAULINE ROSE ANN
18TEIXEIRA GAIL
19RAMSAMMY LESLIE SATRUKEN
Originally Posted by VVP:

They just trying to preempt Ramotar because I let the cat out of the bag. Sorry Ram.  But ayuh wait for the list Ramotar as Represnetative of the List will present to Gecom. Then ayuh go see who is maan from boy.

Yuh ent finish smoking da pipe, bai?

Donald recuperating from Dr Bharrat's c-section operation and will spend the rest of his life as a lay-out duck in FreedomHouse Farm.

Counsel, I taught yuh said Ramotar had to be an MP.  Yuh see how dis list bogus?

Well, this is just the PPP's press release. They can get around that requirement and bypass him if he is declared "unwilling or unable" to extract the names and a "deputy representative" acts. I'd be curious to know if they did that.

Bharrat Jagdeo

Bharrat Jagdeo when he had some hair.  Read my lips; no parliament for me.

It is unacceptable; as per GNI rules and regulations; to change or alter a statement with a person's inkling.

Bharrat Jagdeo

It is unacceptable; as per GNI rules and regulations; to change or alter a statement with a person's inkling.

Whah wrang wid your "inkling" old man? At your age it's natural for a man's inkling to suffer some level of dysfunction. Be happy you have any inkling left at all

Bharrat Jagdeo

Which rule?  State the Article number and its contents.  I'll have my Counsel Shaitaan look over it and get back to you.

Donald recuperating from Dr Bharrat's c-section operation and will spend the rest of his life as a lay-out duck in FreedomHouse Farm.

Yuh mean Danal didn't call yuh?  You mus have done something wrang.

Bharrat Jagdeo

Which rule?  State the Article number and its contents.  I'll have my Counsel Shaitaan look over it and get back to you.

Either spend the time to understand GNI's rules and regulations or, perhaps, the Administrator may need to get you familiarize with same.

Bharrat Jagdeo

Either spend the time to understand GNI's rules and regulations or, perhaps, the Administrator may need to get you familiarize with same.

Go scratch yuh balls in some kana ole man.

Well, this is just the PPP's press release. They can get around that requirement and bypass him if he is declared "unwilling or unable" to extract the names and a "deputy representative" acts. I'd be curious to know if they did that.

Ramotar has to declare himself "unwilling and unable."  Nat going to happen.  Ramkarran is advising him.  They cannot turn in a list in without Ramotar's approval.

Yuh mean Danal didn't call yuh?  You mus have done something wrang.

Don't worry. I am planning to call him when his blood pressure returns to normal.

BTW, yuh notice Donald puppy Alexei not on the list? Dat's why he chataying Harmon's cheeks to keep de cable contract on de table.

Bharrat Jagdeo

Whah wrang wid your "inkling" old man? At your age it's natural for a man's inkling to suffer some level of dysfunction. Be happy you have any inkling left at all

He inkling, probably wrinkling

PPP/C nominated Parliamentarians

I see PPP list of MP's   Lamumba, Joe Hamilton & Africo Selman......wha happen to Manzoor Nadir.

What happen man, the PPP-UF Alliance Break Up......

or De Indian Party think Lamumba+Hamilton +Africo got more votes than Manzoor Nadir.

PPP/C nominated Parliamentarians

Hmmm.  During the election the PPP simpletons screamed about how 75% of the APNU MPs were African and how this indicated PNC racism.

I wonder why the PPP can be Indocentric and yet still think that they can accuse the PNC of being Afrocentric.

BTW the 8 blacks that I see are all either token soup lickers, with no constituency of their own, or the remnants of Hammie Green's thug force.