Bribery and harassment — City vendors complain; Chief Constable says needs official report

Some vendors are allowed to vend on a 24-hr basis, while others have to pack up and leave at a certain timeSome vendors are allowed to vend on a 24-hr basis, while others have to pack up and leave at a certain time

VENDORS at the various municipal markets in Georgetown continue to complain about the harassment they regularly experience at the hands of City Constables, but even so, they prefer not to make reports as they claim that those in the higher authority also accept bribes.“So how you gon try the devil case in hell?” one vendor told to the Guyana Chronicle on Sunday.

http://guyanachronicle.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/1-1.jpgChief Constable Andrew Foo

She was making reference to the fact that some who should provide security to the sellers are the ones who also demand bribes.

But Chief Constable Andrew Foo is adamant that those vendors who are affected by bribery on the part of the constabulary officers ought to lodge official reports, and he guaranteed that such will be investigated.

Provision is made in the law that even those who give a bribe can be charged, Foo told the Chronicle when contacted on Sunday.

The vendors, though, said life on the market is quite hard at the moment and they prefer to stay quiet to avoid victimisation. Those who spoke to this newspaper chose to remain anonymous.

One woman, who has been vending for close to 50 years, said the issue of bribery started when the market operated on a first come first served basis. Constabulary officers then started to take advantage of those vendors who came late and could not find a legitimate spot to sell on.

“After they see the money in it, they start to harass people. It became a steady thing and they start to put their friends in certain spots all the time. So every week, you (the vendors) give me $1500 and a bag of greens, or $2000 and a bag of greens, or if something happen and they (the officers) late with their mortgage, if you (the vendors) give me half my mortgage, you more secure and nobody can’t move you at all; nobody can’t talk to you at all. Or you just make a phone call,” the vendor related.

The authorities make it a point to remove certain vendors off the streets after a certain time in the evening, but their friends are allowed to vend even throughout the entire night.

“This big boy got he clique and they can sell whole day; that big boy get he clique and they can sell whole day. But if you ain’t willing fuh pay, you gotta move.”

The woman continued that it makes no sense to report the matter, even calling the names of some in authority who also demand bribes.

WAY OF LIFE
“It has become a way of life now that the officers don’t even have to demand the money; they are given it. Even if they are transferred, they still come back for the money.”

http://guyanachronicle.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/2-1.jpgVendors pointed out how some business operators are allowed to sideline the laws on the basis of a bribe. Photo shows how one business is taking up road space

This vendor said from the very beginning, she did not allow herself to be intimidated by the corrupt officers, and she believes that if all of the vendors follow suit, the officers will stop harassing the sellers.

“Four times in one month they carry me to court. They said I was encumbering the place and all because I didn’t want to pay a bribe. When they see you frighten, they does intimidate you. I think we need a nice shake up at City Hall. All them who deh up deh, they time gon come to move. They up there doing whatever they feel.”

Another woman, vending for about 40 years, told this newspaper that many of the vendors feel that when they pay the bribes, the officers will defend them or shelter them if need be.

NOT MONEY ALONE
“But this don’t happen. He (a senior officer who takes bribe) don’t do nothing for nobody. Sometimes I see them (vendors) does give he (the senior officer) $5000. They (the constabulary officers) ain’t want money alone; they does have to get goods too. Every Friday they does come or send other constables to collect for them. Sometimes they carry you in and make you pay a fine of $5000 but don’t give you any receipt,” the woman further related.

She too refuses to pay a bribe and the officers subsequently back off. “Selling out here is tough. I don’t have anything to give them. They don’t do me that cause my mouth ain’t easy. I ain’t taking nonsense because me ain’t working out here for them.”

Meanwhile, the Chief Constable said the law is very clear on the issue of bribery.

He explained that the City Council has over the years relaxed the laws governing vending and having done so, the issue has become unregulated.

“Now vendors who start emerging are aided by constabulary officers and are given spots,” he said.

Foo said vendors need to understand if any officer demands a bribe, they have a responsibility to report it.

COME FOWARD
“But they don’t come in. There is an agreement between the vendors and officers, but whenever the officers have to act, the vendors come up with all sorts of allegations. Now that there is a large-scale movement of people, they are now raising allegations. People who give and receive a bribe can be charged. But no one is coming forward to make official reports. They go to the politicians instead to lodge their complaints but that’s not right. So it remains just an allegation if no one comes in. Why do the vendors do business at the level of a constabulary officer?” Foo questioned.

Just recently, scores of vendors who turned up at a City Hall meeting accused officers of the City Constabulary Department of making their lives miserable when they refuse to pay them a bribe.

City Hall’s compound was filled to capacity as the vendors turned out to voice their concerns. Topping the list of their worries was the harassment they experience at the hands of constabulary officers, who reportedly are always looking for bribes.

The names of several officers, who create problems for vendors who do not want to pay them, were called. In fact, one vendor complained that the stall-owners are not able to open their businesses on some occasions, if they have no money to pay on that day.

But Mayor Patricia Chase-Green chided those vendors who pay bribes, but complain only when they experience a problem.

“The constables don’t push their hands in your pocket,” Chase-Green said to loud applause.

“Not because you know the Chief Constable or some other officer in authority, it means you will disrespect the constables in uniform. Don’t be no big boy or big girl and jump on your phone.”

Chase-Green had also noted that it is equally important for the constabulary officers to be respectful to the vendors and not just break up their stalls and carry away their items without proper explanation.