Bristol Mall opens in New Amsterdam – as investments proliferate across the country

Government has created an enabling environment that encourages investment both local and foreign and will continue to support those who wish to invest locally, Prime Minister Samuel Hinds said on Friday as he formally opened the Bristol Mall in New Amsterdam, Berbice.

The Bristol Mall in New Amsterdam, Region Six

The owner of the multi-purpose establishment, Charles Bristol, was congratulated by the Prime Minister for his perseverance over the last 30 years to make his dream a reality, and for overcoming any bureaucratic hurdles he may have faced during his efforts.

The re-migrant was also cited as an example for others to follow by the prime minister, who described the multi-million dollar investment as a timely one for the Berbice community.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, Entrepreneur Charles Bristol [left), Vice Chairman of Region Six Bhupaul Jhagroo at the Bristol Mall during its commissioning

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, Entrepreneur Charles Bristol (left), Vice Chairman of Region Six Bhupaul Jhagroo at the Bristol Mall during its commissioning

“The life we live is the life we make for ourselves. This is what government is about; helping all persons regardless of their race, creed or religion, to develop themselves, and in so doing, develop the country. We want growth and development for all,” the Prime Minister said.

Entrepreneur Bristol, in brief remarks said the multi- storied building was the culmination of a dream he harboured as he worked long hours, saving his funds to eventually make it a reality. He thanked the Prime Minister for attending the ceremony, stating that it was an indication of government’s recognition of the role re-migrants can play locally to boost development and the economy.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds being shown the Bristol lounge at the Bristol Mall, New Amsterdam

He also expressed gratitude to all those who helped to make the business a reality and pledged to offer first class service in the Bristol Lounge and the Canje Pheasant Restaurant, situated on the upper floors. The lower floors have been rented to persons for businesses.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds looks at a photo in the Bristol Mall in the company of the mall’s owner, Charles Bristol

Vice Chairman of the Berbice Chamber of Commerce, Mr Bhupaul Jhagroo also welcomed the new business and reminded the owner of the need to ensure that customers are always offered the best service possible.

GUYANA TOO SWEET, SWEET LAKA SUMUTOO, SWEETER THAN BUXTON SPICE AND SWEETER THAN SUGAR CAKE.

Bai, you so predictable, sumutoo become a "low hanging fruit".

Giftland mega mall set for October opening

All systems are in place for the grand opening of the Gifland Mall in October of this year. Speaking with BIZNOW on Saturday, April 6, Marketing Manager of Giftland OfficeMax, Leslie Bonner, said work is continuing to progress at the facility, located at Turkeyen, East Coast Demerara.

“Everything is on schedule as we speak, and from all indications, the mall will be opened in October, as planned, despite an earlier delay,” Bonner said.

Located on over 500,000 square feet of land, a significant portion of the building will be enclosed and fully air-conditioned. More than 140 vendors are expected to occupy the mall including a large number of international franchises such as Church’s Chicken, Mario’s, Quiznos and Caribbean Cinema.

Bonner said a 12-lane bowling alley, 8 state-of-the-art 3D cinemas, a British-styled pub and more than 23 eating facilities will be located at the mall.

Caribbean Cinemas, a cinema building and distribution company based in Puerto Rico will be constructing the eight Cineplex cinemas.
“When they open their doors with the first selection of films in October, there will be a renewed adventure and excitement of cinema-going in Guyana, never before experienced. Each of the eight cinemas will be able to simultaneously show films,” Bonner stated.

An agreement has also been signed with SBA Entertainment Inc. for the leasing of space at Giftland Mall for bungee jumping, rock climbing and a kids playground within a 4,400 square feet area.

Chief Executive Officer of Giftland, Ian Ramdeo, had indicated that with the current signings and those being negotiated, the mall is over 60 percent filled and it is expected that all concessions will be taken up by October.

All dem malls do not project a booming economy. What it does is to project an economy based on imports. The purchases are mainly made with money sent to Guyana through reparations. The actual local economy is weak in agriculture and manufacturing. 

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

All dem malls do not project a booming economy. What it does is to project an economy based on imports. The purchases are mainly made with money sent to Guyana through reparations. The actual local economy is weak in agriculture and manufacturing. 

Really, I did not know Caribj won his case!

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

And your point is????

GUYANA TOO SWEET, SWEET LAKA SUMUTOO, SWEETER THAN BUXTON SPICE AND SWEETER THAN SUGAR CAKE.

Bai, you so predictable, sumutoo become a "low hanging fruit".

Watch out for some of dem sumatoo on that smelly shitta-battie GW face.....

this is a mall 

Yes, why you ask?

at first i though it was a storage space for the mall then my friend told me its a house i wonder if you guyanese know what a mall is

this is a mall 

Yes, why you ask?

at first i though it was a storage space for the mall then my friend told me its a house i wonder if you guyanese know what a mall is

Abie know bai.  Nuff nuff abie a come ova deh and goa alyuh mall.  Alyuh gatt bigg bigg mekka caaz is nuff nuff alyuh and alyuh cyan prapa spend pon Credit Cyard till di bank man tek way yuh house and cyar.

Laas time mi come ova deh wid mi homan, me tek she wan mall in new jersey name Shart Hills mall, den abie goa Queens mall.  Dem place nice, but too bigg.  Dem white man gi alyuh bigg mall up deh, abie c00l1e mek lil mall donk hay.  Remember "small is beautiful".  Mi tink a wan ****** man bin seh datt.