Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

One speaker said, "in the words of the Negro spiritual, Free at last, free at last, thank God almighty we are free at last."

Does he think slavery still exists?

They have to be more sensitive making such blatantly racist remarks.

Did they not invite any Indo leaders to speak?

Martin Luther King used those words in Washington DC more than 100 years after the abolition of slavery to aticulate a vision of America unshackled from the evils of counting by race

what's so freakin "blatantly racist" here?

One speaker said, "in the words of the Negro spiritual, Free at last, free at last, thank God almighty we are free at last."

Caribj must be proud.   AFC dirty Indians save dem rass from whom?  Is it Ramoutar or Jagdeo?

Jay also must be proud because he supported then and now I sensed something he does like with their happiness...

Last edited by Ramakant-P

Martin Luther King used those words in Washington DC more than 100 years after the abolition of slavery to aticulate a vision of America unshackled from the evils of counting by race

I think you missed the main part; what was the reason for using the word "Negro"?

Our resident Kari might be there too...  He love those gatherings.

So this is where Granger goes for his first official business trip.  And poor Nagga get left out, hope he 'keeps the house well'  before massa comes back.

Still don't get it why a Guyanese Government is holding a victory parade in the US.

Last edited by alena06
Originally Posted by VVP:

I think you missed the main part; what was the reason for using the word "Negro"?

??

that was quoting directly from MLK's speech:

"And if America is to be a great nation, this must become true. So let freedom ring from the prodigious hilltops of New Hampshire. Let freedom ring from the mighty mountains of New York. Let freedom ring from the heightening Alleghenies of Pennsylvania . . .

And when this happens, and when we allow freedom ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God's children, black men and white men, Jews and gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual, "Free at last! Free at last! Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!""

again, what is the freakin problem?

I agree the statement warrants a clarification. Are they freed from Indo Guyanese?  The statement should be clarified so we know collective punishment of Indos will not become the norm. Will Indos be punished because of Jagdeo's PPP?

Originally Posted by TK:

I agree the statement warrants a clarification. Are they freed from Indo Guyanese?  The statement should be clarified so we know collective punishment of Indos will not become the norm. Will Indos be punished because of Jagdeo's PPP?

as MLK intended it, this is a metaphor pointing to injustice and inequality . . . would not have been out-of-place in 1992

. . . unless there is more in the speech/"statement" from Brooklyn that is not posted here

separately, what exactly is the "collective punishment" being meted out by the Coalition to Indos that you hope "will not become the norm"?

Originally Posted by TK:

as MLK intended it, this is a metaphor pointing to injustice and inequality . . . would not have been out-of-place in 1992

. . . unless there is more in the speech/"statement" from Brooklyn that is not posted here

separately, what exactly is the "collective punishment" being meted out by the Coalition to Indos that you hope "will not become the norm"?

This inequality idea is a tricky one. My hunch is if the data were available you will see that rural Indos and Indigenous folks are largely in the bottom percentile. I am keeping a close eye on things. There is punishment at the middle level. I will give the President one year before I say the buck stops on his desk.

Originally Posted by TK:

This inequality idea is a tricky one. My hunch is if the data were available you will see that rural Indos and Indigenous folks are largely in the bottom percentile. I am keeping a close eye on things. There is punishment at the middle level. I will give the President one year before I say the buck stops on his desk.

the Gov't has effectively been in place a scant 2 weeks

what is this collective punishment of Indo-Guyanese because of their race  at "the middle level" you are talking about?

this is a very serious charge . . . to make such an assertion without any proper evidence is the height of irresponsibility

Originally Posted by TK:

what is this collective punishment of Indo-Guyanese because of their race  at "the middle level" you are talking about?

this is a very serious charge . . . to make such an assertion without any proper evidence is the height of irresponsibility

It will be done in public after I raise my concerns with the AFC.

Originally Posted by TK:

It will be done in public after I raise my concerns with the AFC.

i don't need names . . . how many people have been fired?

i'll hazard a guess that if there was any credence to this, the Guyana Times would have been raising the roof

besides, at the "middle level" this is simply not credible . . . look what happened when minista Broomes peremptorily sent home a rude staffer for 30 days

"collective punishment" by race is a dutty, bloody flag to wave like this . . . more than sad

Originally Posted by alena06:

So this is where Granger goes for his first official business trip.  And poor Nagga get left out, hope he 'keeps the house well'  before massa comes back.

Still don't get it why a Guyanese Government is holding a victory parade in the US.

I drove on Church Ave, past Schenectidy Ave where the Band Stand was erected. The march was just past Nostrand Ave so the cops were re-routing traffic. I went on Linden Blvd towards Flatbush en route to Manhattan (I went to a native pow-wow in the northern tip of Manhattan - Cuban and Dominican country).

The crowd was unbelievably large and in the spirit of the Labor Day carnival. It was reminiscent of Liberty Ave in 1992 when the PPP won after 28 years. Now the PNC through APNU and the AFC coalition is experiencing the same euphoria. There were Indians in the march - even with APNU green and not AFC yellow. There were lots of the latter though.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Read between the lines. Rickford Burke and friends are hoping to get hotshot jobs, diplomatic postings, etc.

Originally Posted by TK:

Go and interact with people on the ground. PPP corruption = X. Every time KN and Freddy Kissoon make it 10X the grass roots find it hard to disentangle propaganda from facts. People are saying see how dem coolies tief. We have to see whether the management model of President Granger will allow for this kind of perspective to percolate.