Burma Road canal tragedy … Govt. to foot all funeral expenses

February 23, 2015 | By | Filed Under News, Source - Kaieteur News

The Government of Guyana will be covering the funeral expenses of the victims of the Burma Road canal tragedy which claimed the lives of six children and their teacher on Friday afternoon as they were returning home from children’s pre mashramani celebrations.

the-Burma-victims
The victims were identified as 41-year old Shaundell Duke of Lot 9 Burma Housing Scheme, Mahaicony; Martina Persaud, seven, of 70 Burma Housing Scheme; Justin Abel, nine, Asiyah Abel, 10, and Raydon Abel, seven, all of Lot 8 Burma Road; Adeshe Woolford, nine and Azikia Fraser.

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand, yesterday reaffirmed the Government’s commitment to stand by the families in their grief and to continue to support them in any way possible.

“We’re committed to standing with these families. We are a part of this family and we will support them in any way we can, including offering counseling to them,” she told Kaieteur News.

The car in which the victims lost their lives

The Minister, along with President Donald Ramotar had visited Burma on Saturday to offer their condolences to the grief stricken parents. This was a follow up to the visit the Minister paid to the families at the Mahaicony Hospital, hours after the tragedy occurred.

On Friday at around 15:30hrs, the teacher and the six students, all from Husburg Primary, were returning home from the children’s pre Mashramani celebrations when the car veered off the Burma Road and overturned into the canal. They were retrieved from the vehicles and taken to the Mahaicony Hospital Mortuary.

Post mortem examinations are scheduled to be done on Tuesday.

WOW!!  What a caring, compassionate and humane Govt.  GOD BLESS THE GOVT OF GUYANA!!

sure help kill them and then bury them  

wHAT A BRILLANT ANALYSIS!!!

WOW!!  What a caring, compassionate and humane Govt.  GOD BLESS THE GOVT OF GUYANA!!

tell that to the ppp that is responsible  for the road 

This idiot thinks it's fine how it is as long as the Government is helping with the funeral costs for the kids who get killed.

they do not see pass their nose 

It's another vote buying scheme. Look at how they will want to speak at the funeral and push their propaganda.

I wonder how these PPP automatons here would react if their pickney, sister, niece, nephew etc. had been killed.

Would they be happy for the free funerals at government expense?

Or would they be livid and cussing out the Government for the state of the road?

Any of you IDIOTS know how the families feel about the Govt paying for the Funeral?? Or is Al YUh usual spewing of HOT AIR!!  

I'm sure this is sooooooooooooooooooooo much better than a decent road which could have PREVENTED these deaths.

Remind me when any of my relatives get killed in Guyana to be grateful for a free funeral.

Any of you IDIOTS know how the families feel about the Govt paying for the Funeral?? Or is Al YUh usual spewing of HOT AIR!!  

All they are saying is, fix the roads,this should lessen accidents. Yes there are other factors involved in an accident,but there is always a cause.

Could the condition of the road be the cause? If this is the case, the Ministry involved should have done something about it.

There has been many accidents in the past. How many of these were Govt assisted?

I'm sure this is sooooooooooooooooooooo much better than a decent road which could have PREVENTED these deaths.

Remind me when any of my relatives get killed in Guyana to be grateful for a free funeral.

Why dont you address my question rather than jumping like a monkey!!!

All they are saying is, fix the roads,this should lessen accidents. Yes there are other factors involved in an accident,but there is always a cause.

Could the condition of the road be the cause? If this is the case, the Ministry involved should have done something about it.

There has been many accidents in the past. How many of these were Govt assisted?

THis road has been there for decades and was never is a better condition than present.

You know this for sure right?

Yes Sir, before 1992 it was impossible to drive there. You had to park and take the Boat.

you is a ass Burma road always good the factory in Burma was the  most important rice factory on the east coast stop lying  

Now dem paying for the funeral, its fair 'erection' game wid de voters.

How come the PPP not paying for funerals that are not so public.