Business community scared of criminal attacks – says former PSC Chairman

Oct 06, 2016, News, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....former-psc-chairman/

“Police statistics are one thing, fear is another thing”

With the national economy expected to grow by four percent by the end of this year, everything might not be so peachy, especially with the sector that is regarded as the “engine of growth” being concerned over the level of crime.

Past Chairman of the Private Sector Commission (PSC), Ramesh Dookoo, stated that one of the things bothering the business community is crime.

“There is a lot of fear in the business community despite all the statistics being quoted. Statistics are one thing, fear is another thing. There is a high level of it in both small businesses and medium sized.”

Dookoo said that the fear needs to be eliminated and to perhaps focus on some incentives for certain sectors in the Private Sectors so that they can create employment very quickly.

“Because as we know, many people draw the nexus between crime and unemployment – that is a very popular theory so we need to be able to create a lot of jobs; we need to perhaps work with the government.”

He was asked if the Government’s economic growth projection from his perspective is attainable.

Dookoo said that the results for the last quarter were not “too encouraging”.

“As a responsible Private Sector person, I would like to say let us all put our hands and feet and head to the grind and make sure that it happens.”

Meanwhile, the Guyana Police Force (GPF) maintains that serious crime is on the decrease. The Commissioner of Police (Acting) had stated that as of September, serious crimes are down 19 per cent across the country with a 62 per cent clear up rate (investigation to prosecution).

According to recent reports, Murder is down 11 per cent; robbery under arms with the use of firearms is down by 10 percent; Robbery underarms where other instruments were used is down by 19 percent; Robbery with violence is down by 20 percent; Larceny from the person down by 38 percent; Break and enter and larceny is down by 28 percent; and Rape, down by 22 per cent.

Divisionally, the ‘D’ Division (West Demerara, East Bank Essequibo) is reporting a nine per cent increase in serious crimes. Commissioner Ramnarine pointed out that, “some work has been done” to bring it down from 15 per cent two months ago. “It has to come a lot lower than that,” Ramnarine added.

“Some revision has been done, some additional work has been done, and some more manpower has been given to all the Divisions,” the Acting Commissioner said.

The acting Commissioner called for the support of the public, acknowledging that the public has a negative perception of these statistics.

“There is a little perception out there but I think some people are taking the perception too far to say there’s a crime situation. It’s not a crime situation,” Ramnarine had stated.

Everyone is scared of the PNC and their criminal Associates!!!!!!!!!!!

Speak for yourself. You should have known me when we were living in Guyana, but we were never friends then. 

Bhai, I am speaking of those living there now. You Rass never frighten GADAHAS.

May I remind you that I was head of a vigilante group protecting my village from scums? We didn't had gun in those days. We had a thing called picket. If you do not belong to our village after hours, we will walk you to your family house let them identify you. If not......?  

Release another 60 convicted criminals from prison and they will find jobs and deter others from becoming criminals. That's the Granger Doctrine.

Doing what? Teaching other lazy criminals how to commit a crime and be pardoned by Granger mamoo.

The PNC noted fuh bruk Iron as my neighba would say. !!  He also said Donkeys dont have brains.!!!!!!!!!

He knows you quite well.

I got to give props to you, you are one barefaced chap. With the PNC tekking blows these days with their incompetency, you are one of the few who dare show their face here.

The PNC noted fuh bruk Iron as my neighba would say. !!  He also said Donkeys dont have brains.!!!!!!!!!

He knows you quite well.

I got to give props to you, you are one barefaced chap. With the PNC tekking blows these days with their incompetency, you are one of the few who dare show their face here.

Cain is the only Putagee man standing up and defending this corrupt and criminal AFC/PNC organization.

The only reason why he does this is because he hates Indos. It is slowly beginning to emerge.

Release another 60 convicted criminals from prison and they will find jobs and deter others from becoming criminals. That's the Granger Doctrine.

Grainjaw is a Jackass:

Unknown

• Unknown

He knows you quite well.

Bhai, with a head pack with SHIT and the Dope up his Kakahole, how would he know what is sensible. Al YUh dont be hard on dope, shit head. Hey the Banna trying.

Until the day comes when we East Indians of Guyana can be in our own country our brothers and sisters in Business will be under murderous attacks.

So says this man who lives in daily terror of his creole wife, and his creolized kids.

Great horse shyte from Ramesh here.

Where was he when Roja Khan was murdering over 300 young blackmen?

Is there no value to their life too?

Only the Ramesh's have value in Guyana?

No crime is acceptable and yes RUMjattan sitting down on his fat ass all day doing very little, but Guyana is safer today than under Roger Khan.

Until the day comes when we East Indians of Guyana can be in our own country our brothers and sisters in Business will be under murderous attacks.

So says this man who lives in daily terror of his creole wife, and his creolized kids.

I am a progressive man. I don't fight with my wife. I like all African cultures also. I enjoy going to African buffet restaurants with my family regularly. I go to African drum shows.

You should embrace the cultures of Africa instead of being an artificial Englishman mimic.

KishanB posted:

Great horse shyte from Ramesh here.

Where was he when Roja Khan was murdering over 300 young blackmen?

Is there no value to their life too?

Only the Ramesh's have value in Guyana?

No crime is acceptable and yes RUMjattan sitting down on his fat ass all day doing very little, but Guyana is safer today than under Roger Khan.

Some say RK did Guyana a favor by terminating the wicked from among society.  A cleansing after which we say the taming of the PNC and economic prosperity, despite being immoral.