The usually quiet community of La Jalousie, West Coast Demerara was thrown into a state of shock on Saturday night (July 04) when 48 – year – old Ganesh Ramlall was gunned down outside his house.
The businessman, who owns the Multiplex Mall on Regent Street, Georgetown was shot some five times, including once to the head. Reports reaching iNews indicate that the businessman had just arrived home from a BBQ and was approached by two men on a bicycle as he was about to enter his yard when he was brutally gunned down, execution style.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/bus...n-la-jealousie-home/

May he rest in peace. I hope the killers are arrested promptly and executed. Guyana has gone rogue and is like living in the wild west. You have to thank God everyday for making it through another day.

Originally Posted by Observer:

May he rest in peace. I hope the killers are arrested promptly and executed. Guyana has gone rogue and is like living in the wild west. You have to thank God everyday for making it through another day.

this is the fellow who stole a 50k transformer from GPL and plug it into his mall with nothing ever happening to him. Some poor fellow only have to seal a bicycle to end up doing hard time for years.

In any event, that he can be so casually be executed by people on bicycle tells us that the killers do not fear being caught.

Originally Posted by Observer:

Gyal,

PPP mek Guyana super safe. Shooting coolie people only began on May 12th 2015.

Ramjhaaaatan is a House Slave AND an IDIOT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe so but he's there because the PPP has no credibility on anything especially on crime. I recall you saying how crime wasn't that important for years. So what's the problemo now?

I said Crime wasn't important?? YUh smokin Crack early or what???????????????????

An ass braying as usual. Ramjhattan is facing a culture inculcated by 20 years of PPP negligence. He definitely does not have the technical capacity or the funds to address the entrenched criminality and has to seek outside help. If he sits back and wait and not massively overhaul the police, their practices indeed we would be in for more of the same. Idiots like you who simply spout partisan bullshit does not help.

I said Crime wasn't important?? YUh smokin Crack early or what???????????????????

It is clear you are either the bloody crackhead or the idiot if this is your commentary at this point. Show us one post from you chastising the PPP for their negligence in this area. You were here from inception and the board currently has historical depth of about 5 years. Find one post where you ranted as above. Instead you were here giving Rohee virtual blow jobs as the crime spiraled about him.  It is amzing that you have the integrity to speak as a gentleman of any worth on anything. You are that backward ass dalit who can only function in the comfort of kissing the behind of some other dalit.

An ass braying as usual. Ramjhattan is facing a culture inculcated by 20 years of PPP negligence. He definitely does not have the technical capacity or the funds to address the entrenched criminality and has to seek outside help. If he sits back and wait and not massively overhaul the police, their practices indeed we would be in for more of the same. Idiots like you who simply spout partisan bullshit does not help.

So it is safe to say you were the mother of ALL IDIOTS prior to May12.  CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rumjattan too busy closing rum Shap at 2am on a Saturday. Doh is where crime is. Jackass!

Why didn't Granger gee de jaab to one of his many many ex security guys?

There are many sociological reasons why crime is out of control.  It isn't as easy as "hang dem". 

Granger decided that crime fighting was too risky to be an APNU portfolio. Stick it on the AFC so they will get the blame.  The AFC decided to stick it on these Berbician interlopers who thought that they owned the AFC (they know better now, much to Jay's anguish).

Ramjattan might prove no more able to handle it than Rohee was.

Pity as the coalition will be judged first and foremost by how it deals with crime.  We have yet to hear strategies that sound as if Granger is involved in the discussions. I know that he knows better than to think that shutting down bars at 2 AM will solve the problem.  The vast majority of the crime occurs during the day, or in the early evening.

This might have been a sure fire way that Trotman concocted to rid him of Ramjattan.

True, but nonsense like shutting down the bars at 2 AM is hardly the priority.  I am sure that this didn't happen after that hour.

In any case this looks like a contract killing, something that the PPP can be blamed for.  This began under the PPP and no where else in the Caribbean (except maybe Jamaica) is this type of killing as rampant as it is in Guyana.  Now that the phantoms are unemployed expect more of this.

Rumjattan too busy closing rum Shap at 2am on a Saturday. Doh is where crime is. Jackass!

There are many sociological reasons why crime is out of control.  It isn't as easy as "hang dem". 

Granger decided that crime fighting was too risky to be an APNU portfolio. Stick it on the AFC so they will get the blame.  The AFC decided to stick it on these Berbician interlopers who thought that they owned the AFC (they know better now, much to Jay's anguish).

Pity as the coalition will be judged first and foremost by how it deals with crime.  We have yet to hear strategies that sound as if Granger is involved in the discussions. I know that he knows better than to think that shutting down bars at 2 AM will solve the problem.  The vast majority of the crime occurs during the day, or in the early evening.

This might have been a sure fire way that Trotman concocted to rid him of Ramjattan.

I said from Day 1 that Ramjattan is the last person that should be appointed to that Ministry. This appointment should never have happened.

And I accept your post here of the reasons as to why this may have occurred.

You Sir, owe me an apology as a gentleman of some honor when I expressed to you repeatedly ad nauseum my extreme disgust and distrust of the AFC Mosaic Faction. From their sheer incompetence in administration, to their lack of political savvy, to their just general fresh of the estate behaviors.

I have more justified faith in the PNC and the PNC's Indos.

Originally Posted by Freaky:
watch dis odda auntyman jus crawl out some rat hole

one less tiefin coolie, no one cares!

Are yoi not the King of Auntymen. You paying BIG BUCKS for KAAK!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shutting down bars at that time is a step. Here in the US and Canada it is to allow the streets to be free of traffic so the delivery people, the garbage men and clean up crew can get a chance to use the streets. It is also prudent to make sure the young goes home.

Ramjattan is no dunce and no less competent than any of us armchair pontificators. The task he has is to get the vast infusion of cash necessary to curb criminality which means also getting rid of the criminals in the police, and other ancillary judicial agencies that are presently  infested with criminals hence compromised completely.

The Police needs a functioning 911 system. They need dozens of radio cars and other communication facilities that makes them able to reach databases for criminals on the fly. And this is only a part of the process. The other part include producing a new culture where the ordinary citizen know how to obey the rules. Presently, citizens only complain when they are robbed. Everyday life for them is skirting the law.

You Sir, owe me an apology as a gentleman of some honor when I expressed to you repeatedly ad nauseum my extreme disgust and distrust of the AFC Mosaic Faction. From their sheer incompetence in administration, to their lack of political savvy, to their just general fresh of the estate behaviors.

I think that I apologized to you when Harmon began to open his mouth.  This is in fact why I pose the question to the Moses cultists as to what administrative expertise that Moses has.  We know he speaks passionately and is a decent man (more so that Granger is as evidenced by his petty anti Linden politics).

But can he RUN things as the Accord suggests that he does.  If he cannot and Harmon fills the gap, should Granger be blamed.  He bailed out Nagamootoo during the campaigns, when Nagamoootoo was speaking to 90% black crowds in PPP strongholds, and on election day when BOTH the PNC and the PPP, but NOT the AFC, had massive voter turn out, maybe at record levels for the PNC.

Is he bailing out Nagamootoo again? 

Update: Businessman gunned down; family criticize police for slow response

July 5, 2015 12:40 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The family of well-known businessman, 48 – year – old Ganesh Ramlall, who was gunned down early Sunday morning, is still trying to come to grips with his death and at the same time, decrying the slow response from the Guyana Police Force.

Ramlall, a.k.a Boyo, who owns the Regent Multiplex Mall on Regent Street, was shot some seven times by four armed men who invaded his Lot C La Jalousie, West Coast Demerara home, mere minutes after he had arrived from a ‘wake house’, relatives told iNews.

His brother, Samsundar, known as Sugrim, found the businessman lying in a pool of blood on the floor, just outside his back door. Sugrim told iNews that his brother received a bullet wound to the head, while he was also shot in the abdomen and chest several times.

The area where the body was found. [iNews' Photo]

The area where the body was found. [iNews’ Photo]

He said the gunmen also took away the dead man’s gold band and chain along with his daughter’s school bag from inside the house. Relatives told iNews that the businessman left the ‘wake house’ at Herstelling, East Bank Demerara and brought home some Bar – B – Que.

He opened his back door and ventured out to use the washroom when he was confronted by the armed men, who also took away his firearm. According to Sugrim, who lives nearby, he heard the gunshots but was too scared to look out and had no idea that it was his brother

The businessman’s wife locked herself upstairs when she heard her husband’s screams. Following the gruesome murder, the family found what they described as “straps” lying around the yard, opining that the gunmen may have wanted to tie up the business.

“Dem’ walk with strap fuh tie up this man; we find them all ova the road deh,” the distraught brother told iNews.

He criticized the slow response from police, whom he said turned up at the scene nearly two hours later, when the body was already removed. It should be noted that the Den Amstel Police Station is nearby.

It took iNews approximately five minutes to drive from the Den Amstel Police Station to the businessman’s home, while stopping to ask for directions.

“Over an hour and a half, near two hour, none police nah come hay, none police nah come. When we call the police, the lady nah find paper; we done keer he way at the parlour, then them come and ask weh de body deh,” Sugrim told iNews.

The man’s sister, Bibi Sukdeo told this online news service that he has no enemies and she is at a loss as to the motive behind the killing.

“He is honest, loving, kind; he is like a sweetheart to anyone, good in everyway. He has no problems with anybody,” the tearful woman told iNews. The businessman’s wife was at the funeral parlour during the time iNews visited the house, which was already filled with relatives, neighbours and friends of the family, who turned up to sympathize.

He also leaves to mourn his two daughters, aged 16 and 18.

Ramjattan and Divisional Commander need to give some

answers,why the police did not show up in time.

Shutting down bars at that time is a step.

Bars in NYC shut down at 4 AM.

Closing down clubs early doesn't mean that the youth go home.  It might mean that they lime on the streets, creating environments where petty brawls become homicide events.

Ramjattan should be focusing on;

1.  upgrading the capacity of the police to respond to crimes.  Why not a public private partnership where leading corporations are encouraged to fund specific capacity building aspects, like more police cars, improved telecommunication, etc.  Isnt is the business community which suffers mightily from crime?

2.  A thorough training of the police force, upgrading the standards of those recruited. Police men go to court and do not provide adequate evidence.

3.  Crime detection rates are low.  If criminals know that they will not be caught, they engage in criminal behavior.  What is worse is that people who are mere "bad boy bullies", and not hardened criminals, engage in this activity.   Proper detective work, evidence collection, forensics, etc., is needed.

4.  A community based policing should be employed. Communities need to know who their police men are, and the police men need to know who they various people within the community are.  the criminal elements will be kept under surveillance, and their activities recorded.

5.  Guyana has 40% youth unemployment, with many of the remaining 60% being under employed.  yet employers report a severe shortage of certain types of labor, and I am not only referring to the "digging ditches" kind. 

There needs to be a public private partnership where by the educational system can be revamped to provide the type of talent which Guyana needs.  Right now the top 5% are catered to, with another 20% getting by.  75% are discarded by the system.   There also needs to be a focus on ongoing adult education.

6.  There needs to be funding of community based programs to allow tasks which need to be performed to be performed, and youth who lack skills to gain them. 

We don't need another Kimbia type national service.  We need one which is embedded within the communities.  Example being the guy who is hired to dig ditches becomes exposed to managing the project of digging ditches, so it isn't "hard work in the hot sun at poverty wages", but a ladder up. Eventually those who are especially effective can even be awarded small contracts, so it enables people to become entrepreneurs.

This is what I expect of Ramjattan, as he develops programs, working with Bulkan, Roopnarine, and Gaskin.  And Amna Ally, who is supposed to be also engaged in community building.

Also Guyana needs to move away from being a cash based economy.  Certain folks need to learn to PAY TAXES.  Hording cash and other valuables in their homes because they want to hide assets can become a death sentence.  In addition one CANNOT demand services from the government unless one contributes revenues to the best of one's ability.

Gaskin needs to lead the business entities to move away from a cash based system.  More use of debit cards.  The banks will have to get their acts together to devise systems to deal with stolen cards.

Originally Posted by Django:

Some good points Caribny....business should start using

credit and debit card processing system,i am not sure if

it is available in Guyana.

It is available every where else in CARICOM.  Why not Guyana?

What do we read every time there is a home invasions?  Thousands of dollars worth of currency (GY and US) and jewelry.  When I travel to the Caribbean I take enough cash to pay the taxi fare to the airport and some petty cash when I get there. All my other transactions I use credit cards, or I use the ATM to get local currency.

Guyanese going home must walk with thousands of dollars.  Then we wonder why so many get targeted minutes after they leave the airport.

We don't need another Kimbia type national service.  We need one which is embedded within the communities.  

very good point. They need to start small and there are enough community centres in Gy to provide vocational training to many disenfranchised youth and adults.

However, it also seems that one of the issues in Gy right now is a lack of confidence on the part of businesses. Some of the business people I know have reported a slow down in business activity before the elections and it is still continuing. 

It will be tough but the government needs to instill confidence in the business community to continue their business activities. Perhaps they can offer some kind of incentive like a suspension of some of the VAT for a 6-12 months period. 

Also, people are very scared over the apparent escalation of crime in the country since the new government came into office. The government cannot downplay these crimes and must appear to be doing something tangible about it - I do not know the answer but they have to seriously address it. 

Ramjhattan is facing a culture inculcated by 20 years of PPP negligence. He definitely does not have the technical capacity or the funds to address the entrenched criminality and has to seek outside help. If he sits back and wait and not massively overhaul the police, their practices indeed we would be in for more of the same.

Situations indeed do show that he has no capability to manage his portfolio.

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

Also, people are very scared over the apparent escalation of crime in the country since the new government came into office. The government cannot downplay these crimes and must appear to be doing something tangible about it - I do not know the answer but they have to seriously address it. 

The answers are there, but Ramjattan is too intellectually lazy to pursue them.

And yes I agree that, for a whole host of reasons, crime is Guyana's biggest problem.  If citizens, and visitors do not feel safe within their homes, and lack confidence in the police force and the courts, then little else matters.

As to the lack of confidence of the business community.  If they weren't engaged in corruption, what do they have to feel uncertain about?  The PPP was totally inept at running the economy, and was blatantly corrupt to boot. We are now discovering the massive levels of waste and theft that occurred. 

Given the state that the PPP left Guysuco, GGMC, and the Consolidated Fund, I will challenge any business man to prove to me that the coalition government can do worse!

An ass braying as usual. Ramjhattan is facing a culture inculcated by 20 years of PPP negligence.

True, but as we ridiculed the PPP for its endless "28" years, even as they reached their 23rd year, the coalition will establish no credibility if every problem is faced with "23 years".

They knew that there was a problem when they ran for office.  Just over 50% of the population elected them to solve the problem.  They need to craft and implement solutions, if for no other reason than to win over the just under 50% who voted against them.

I do not expect a solution, but I expect more sense than 2 AM bar closures.  The formal and informal entertainment sector generates economic activity, and reducing this doesn't make sense at a time when evidence suggests that the economy is slowing.

At 2 AM many are not ready to go home, and the ideal recipe for violence will be half drunk and idle people roaming the streets looking for something to do. Implement a 4 AM closing time, because that is when most young folks will be out in any case.